Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Seahouses > Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation Reviews

Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation
Springhill Farm
Seahouses
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE68 7UR
Tel: 01665 721820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 228 Reviews
                9/10 from 228 Reviews

Photos (22)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  228 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Patterdale 4 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic campsite. Have been all over the uk and I can say this is the best site we have visited in our motorhome. Great facilities, fantastic location and views and a short walk into seahouses which is a lovely little town.

This is a gem of a site, not big with a lovely atmosphere. If you eat out go to the bamburgh castle inn in seahouses. Good food, beer and lovely view.

Never been this far north before but we will be back soon,brilliant for adults and kids alike. On top of that went out for a morning fishing on the boat Guide Me and it was a great mornings fishing, well recommended and the skipper was a right good bloke. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Physics34 1 review from this member

 We stayed here on a very windy and rainy August night but had brilliant fun and would recommend it to other campers. The facilities including the play park were great and the toilet block was spotless.

The views were beautiful and we enjoyed visiting the cows in the morning as we awoke very early and didn't want to disturb the other campers.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We appreciated the microwave since we were unable to light our stove in the windy conditions ! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poppy popsocks 2 reviews from this member

 I was at Springhill Farm caravan and campsite a couple of weeks ago and found it to be a very relaxing break, the ground was quite flat which is always helpful if you have a tent and the noise level (minimum) after 11pm was adhered to which I was very grateful for.

I was there with my husband and my daughter, there is a small play area for children which is good and the little shop at the reception area was very useful and not too pricey.

One night the weather was quite bad with high wind and rain, the next morning when people started to use the toilets and showers etc we found that there was no electricity and no hot water in the showers, no wardens seemed to arrive on site that morning until 8.45 am when I informed them of the situation which was then resolved quickly.

Overall a good campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nibbles1 11 reviews from this member

 Had a four night stay during fantastic weather.

Pitch had been allocated on booking but had changed when we arrived, check the board at reception.

Pitch was lovely, plenty of room.

Site was very busy at the week-end, seems to be the sort of place family and friends meet up as there were several big groups. Quietened down on the Sunday. Facilities were good and always clean. Freezer and microwave available for campers to use. Liked the idea of the wigwams and their separate kitchen / dining area.

Staff on site very friendly, full of advice and always helpful.

One of the few places we never used our car for 4 days. Cycled to Bamburgh, Seahouse and Beadnell Bay all on quiet roads or cycle paths, mostly flat and not too strenuous.

Would return and would recommend bunkhouse or wigwams for non campers 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Familycamper020 9 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely weekend in Northumberland.

There was a mix up with the booking as we thought we had booked but the site had treated it as an enquiry only. A week before we went I thought to double check and was glad I did as we must managed to get a pitch on the overspill pitch.

The site has a spectacular location with views over Bamburgh Castle and the Farne Islands. After being woken at 3.30am by our youngest we had the usual trip to the loo and were rewarded by the most amazing views of the floodlit castle, the light of the lighthouse on the Farne Islands and the sun rise over the horizon. The loo block is situated at the top of some steps and the perfect place to sit and admire the view!

The site has 50 pitches for caravans and tents and they are arranged round a roadway so there is not much privacy. The site is quite open and it feels like the tents are quite cramped and facing onto eachother.

The site also has 5 wigwam type accommodation units and a bunkhouse. The weekend we were there coincided with a loud group of people in the bunkhouse and it is unfortunate that there is a balcony at first floor level. It must have lovely views of the castle and the sea but also projects over the site and as the evening progressed the number of beers consumed increased, so did the noise level. This was made worse by the fact that the group were up high and the way the acoustics worked, there was no way of avoiding them.

Having said that most of the people staying on the site were very friendly and our boys had a great time playing football and cricket on the play area which also had a small playground.

There was a group of boys and before long a full game of cricket was in progress - one of the great things about camping is the way the children mix and play together.

The area is beautiful and we had a lovely day at Bamburgh castle, only 4 miles away.

There was a debate on site about the best fish and chips. We were directed to Lewis's but were disappointed but there are plenty more places to try in Seahouses.

The site owners and wardens were all lovely and friendly and were keen to help out in any way they could. You can hire fire pits for 2 a night and you need them in the Northumberland evenings!

If the pitches could be separated out or made to feel a little more private and the bunkhouse groups were not allowed to be so noisy it is close to being a pretty perfect site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nigel.taylor3 4 reviews from this member

 Spent very enjoyable 9 nights here during June. This part of the UK is always stunning but when matched by an extended period of warm sunny weather it is truly unbeatable.

When booking this campsite I had been very surprised to be asked for 10 per night deposit and the balance six weeks in advance. In over 20 years of caravanning I have never before encountered such an emphasis on the campsite owner getting their cash upfront. However on arrival at the site there were plenty of good points to balance my earlier reservations.

We had an excellent pitch (No 2) very close to the washrooms etc and with marvellous views over towards the Farne Islands and Bamburgh Castle. The Washrooms were modern, regularly cleaned and fully up to the best standards of the CCC. For those that required them there were washing machines, sinks and a family bathroom. This site also offers 5* and 4* self catering facilities, Wigwams and a Bunkhouse so there is no shortage of choice.

The Reception was only open for limited hours and these posted times were not always observed.

Seahouses is an enjoyable 1 mile walk away and the town is much improved from what I remember 20 years or so ago. There are plenty of eating places (Recommend the Restaurant at the Links Hotel for a smarter meal and The Bamburgh Castle Inn for good 'pub grub'). The Bamburgh Castle Inn also has a very nice outside terrace where you can enjoy a coffee (or stronger) overlooking the harbour.

Boat Trips mainly to The Farne Islands are regular every day. I recommend the all day trip to Staple Island and Inner Farne for anyone with an interest in photographing the birds but naturally the breeding season of June / July is best. Billy Shiels Trips are well known and they are very helpful.

We travelled to Berwick for an enjoyable walk round the old city walls but the shopping area was disappointing. Much nicer was Alnwick where a full day can be filled round the Town and Gardens. The Treehouse Restaurant in the gardens is well worth a visit but booking is wise particularly for an evening. Finally in Alnwick don't miss Barter Books, one of the biggest second hand book shops in the country, housed in the old station building. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Glenalk 3 reviews from this member

 I am writing this review whilst on our last night at this site. After a great deal of research & reading reviews of all the sites in the local area by my dear wife, we selected Springhill Farm & we were not disappointed. In fact this site is the best in the area & probably one of the finest we have toured. We stayed for 9 nights & it was very windy the day after arrival to the extent that it broke the awning poles, however the very friendly & efficient warden assisted & sorted the problem out with rapid jubilee clips repairs! Thanks very much, I was away scuba diving at the time.

Although fully booked, the very spacious pitches, which are allocated on booking, meant that you didn't feel cramped. Ultra clean toilets & showers with plenty of hot water, although the showers are quite narrow. Pot washing area indoors with microwave & washing & drying machines. Also heated drying room which was great for drying off my dive kit.

Dog walk area in adjacent fields. Surrounding area is fantastic with probably the most natural & unspoilt beaches in the country. Full range of activities in the area from beach walks to castles, sight seeing & of course boat trips to the Farne Islands from Seahouses Harbour. Wide range of chip shops in Seahouses about 30 mins walk & pubs serving great food, some of which are dog friendly.

In conclusion a great site & highly recommended 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Geordieknights 3 reviews from this member

 We are a family of four and have just returned from a lovely weekend at this site.

The facilities were very clean and never full. Under cover dishwashing with a microwave provided for campers.

The kids play area was small but there was plenty room around it for ball games and a goal was provided.

The pitches were very large and flat, giving the site a roomy feel. Wardens patrolled at 11pm reminding people to reduce noise and this was adhered to.

Would definitely return to this site and were only disappointed we were only there for two nights. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Nicola28 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed in one of the wooden wigwams on this site and had pretty much the most perfect week of camping ever. The wigwams are great, cool and airy and really comfy.

There is a kitchen and a shower block solely for the 5 wigwams so no queueing and spotlessly, flawlessly clean night and day. The view of the sea from the campsite is fantastic.

I pretty much refuse to camp anywhere that you can't have a campfire, seems like a fundamental misunderstanding of the rules of camping to me - the firepits were fab and no overa nxious bucket-of-water rules to accompany.

The owners were really friendly and relaxed, available any time for the sake of a phone call. It's an incredibly gorgeous part of the coast with lots to see and do, being dive-bombed by nesting terns on Staple Island was fairly amazing. Even on the campsite itself the wildlife was impressive, lots of birds, including owls, hares running past the wigwam late in the evening and my erstwhile companion managed to get hit on the head by a bat while sitting by the campfire!

You can walk into the centre of Seahouses from the campsite in about 20 minutes where you can reward your minimal exertion at several good pubs. Generally this is one of the loveliest campsites we've stayed at, we'd come back again in a heartbeat. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JAS1233 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely family friendly site. Owner very helpful and came round to make sure that everyone is ok.

The toilets are of a high standard and spotlessly clean. Showers are large enough for family.

Site has a park for children and plenty of room for children to play.

Would recommend this site if you would like a relaxing break. In a lovely setting. 


Previous     228 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seahouses      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2920 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement