Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation
Springhill Farm
Seahouses
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE68 7UR
Tel: 01665 721820
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 187 Reviews
                9/10 from 187 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  187 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Motley 26 reviews from this member

Great bits first! The site has very large pitches, larger than some super pitches Iíve been on. Most of the pitches are quite level, we managed to park up and that was it.

Bad bits. The toilets and showers are woefully inadequate. Not enough for the number of pitches, very scruffy and impossible to keep clean due to the state of decoration.

In the gents there wasn't a single coat hook in showers and other areas to hang clothes, towels etc.

The gents had some strange swing doors on the entrance which kids thought it was great fun to be able to run in and out of.

Reception is on the other side of the site to the main entrance, which is permanently open so there was no way to monitor the coming and going of traffic.

The roads and pathways were of a lumpy hard rock surface which was difficult to walk on, even with jellyís, very uncomfortable.

There was a dog which barked 24/7.

I got the impression it was not a guests dog, but on the farm. Noise can be expected but not all night. Iím a light sleeper so this was a real problem.

We normally use the site in Beadnell Bay, but thought this one was worth a try. I firmly believe that caravans, tents, pods and bunkhouses do not mix as there totally different factions involved.

The area is lovely. Seahouses and Bamburgh are close at hand with Alnwick and Amble just a short drive away. A sea trip to the Farne Islands is not to be missed.

We shanít be going back to this particular site, but always to the area.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: G1-J03 1 review from this member

Enjoyed 2 and a half weeks at SpringHill Farm this summer, the site is well managed by a permanent site warden and reception staff.

The site can get busy (we visited at peak season between July/August) but I have to say that everything quietened down by 9pm most nights and the evenings were very peaceful.

You will read various comments on the Toilets, for a site this size I would have expected to see more toilets and showers, just one or two occasions where we had to wait for a shower, and the site staff did a brilliant job checking and cleaning all the way through the morning and day time, but there just isn't enough.

Generally the site is very well kept with friendly helpful staff and its location is perfect for walking/cycling between Seahouses, Bamburgh and the coast line in between.

Wouldn't hesitate to return, but expect a busy well run site at peak season.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ged600 6 reviews from this member

Arrived around 2 pm after driving up from Lancs, booked in at reception & pitched up on a hard standing with EHU. Lovely site with Seahouses only a short walk away. They take vans motorhomes and tents. There is a section for pod type accommodation plus a big apartment above the shop ( see website).

In my opinion the male toilets and showers could do with an update they were a bit tatty, I never had to wait though. There are 4 male showers two toilet cubicles and some basins for washing hands plus urinals etc. Can't comment on the female ones.

There's no recycling as the owner has an incinerator and burns everything? There is a bottle bank though.

The lovely beach is around a mile away and further up the coast Bamburgh Castle. Holy island, Berwick upon tweed all worth a visit plus the Farne islands which boat trips run from Seahouses.

There's a CO OP nearby in Seahouses with loads of local shops and two Chip shops.

Not many public foot paths from the site all roads but usually quiet.

Overall a lovely site no plans to do this area again, but if I did I would certainly return.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woolliness 9 reviews from this member

Nice site. Very clean toilets, shower room cubicles a bit on the small side.

Not sure why the chemical waste and the grey waste at opposite ends of the park?

Nice walk into sea houses and plenty to see there. Didn't really see any staff except the girl in reception.

Plenty to see around and about will definitely do a return visit

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Atkinbrown 16 reviews from this member

This was our second stay at Springhill Farm site. Just spent a wonderful three nights there. Well organised site with excellent facilities. Plenty of showers so no queuing in the morning. Large level pitches. The site was almost full when we visited but felt very comfortable, quiet and peaceful. Lots to do there. Walk into Seahouses in about 20mins and Bamburgh Castle about 30mins. Gorgeous beaches here which stretch up to Bamburgh Castle and certainly not busy. Very pretty harbour in Seahouses and plenty of coffee shops both there and in Bamburgh. Staff very friendly and helpful.

A definite site to visit and we will be back again very soon.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Outfortheweekend 2 reviews from this member

Easy to access, name & pitch number clearly marked on the board at the reception. No staff around when we arrived but not a problem.

Good sized hardstanding pitch, plenty of space for awning and for two dogs on cork/leads to lounge about.

Good facilities, water warm in the showers - noticeably cooler Saturday morning when the site was busier compared to Thurs/Fri/Sun.

Added bonus Saturday evening as a brass band played a selection of tunes, we have no idea whether this was a regular event or a special occasion. Plenty of talking but not bad at night after 10/11pm.

Close to Seahouses, the beautiful beach is accessible via a quiet road to the sand dunes & free parking on the grass.

Being a working farm you could hear the cows in their sheds - wasn't a problem for me.

Would return and would invite family without caravan/tents who could stay in the wigwam or holiday cottages. Great days out within distance, Bamburgh/ Low Newton by sea/ Craster/ Beadnell/ Farne Island/ Holy Island/ Berwick to name a few.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SteveWain 3 reviews from this member

Good bits. The site pitches are a good size for caravan, awning and car. And very well laid out. Site well located to visit tourist attractions. Although flat, itís a walkers paradise. The beaches are also a dog walkers paradise. We didnít find any restrictions on beaches for dogs, not even the usual May to September banishment. Car parking is dirt cheap or if you looked hard enough, even free. The local people are very friendly and polite.

Bad bits. As other posters have written, given the size of the site and itís ability to take over 50 + pitches plus 10 wigwam cabins( who did have their own private facilities kept separate) the toilet and shower facilities are seriously under numbers. There is only 1 chemical waste point and 1 grey waste point 100 yds apart. Whilst here over a bank holiday weekend, ( full pitches ) we only saw 2 members of staff and as previous posters have said, not exactly customer service focused. Only ever saw the male on his lawn mower. I know this site doesnít like personal criticism, but in all my years caravanning, this guy was by far the worst warden Iíve had the pleasure to meet. Is that his fault or the site owners ? The site is next to a working farm. 2dogs are kennelled there. And are constantly barking even through the night. Extremely annoying after 4 nights. Owners fault.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 482 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site, about 1. 5 miles from Seahouses along quiet lanes and a cycle track.

Large pitches, well kept facilities and welcoming staff.

Excellent value, particularly in the winter season.

Will certainly return.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dmsplat 16 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a week at Springhill Farm.

It is very conveniently located just outside Seahouses, with a beach about a twenty five minute stroll / five minute drive away.

Getting to the site is far easier using the coast road rather than turning at the A1, which leads you down a fairly long narrow road with no passing places. It's not single track, but I imagine it found get pretty awkward pretty quickly if you're towing!

The site itself mainly caters for caravans and motorhomes, with gravel roads leading to hardstandings with EHU. There are also a handful of camping pods near the reception and toilet block. Tents are mainly located on one field, which has some seasonal hardstandings for caravans at the top end. The field has twenty big pitches and your pitch number is on a board at the reception.

Our tent is huge but it still (just!) fit on the pitch with about a metre to spare.

There is a small play area with two swings and a slide. They say that kids should be supervised, but I never saw a parent there (apart from me the one time I bothered to go over there!) It would be handy if there were a bench or two for parents to sit on.

The toilet block is a few minutes from the camping field. I can't comment on the ladies, but two urinals and two cubicles didn't seem sufficient for the size of the site. There were four showers which were fine, but pretty small. They were always clean and there was always plenty of hot water.

Also in the loo block were four sinks for washing up, a washing machine and dryer (takes old £1 coins) and an iron. Finally, there's a family/ disabled bathroom which I didn't go in, but apparently it has a toilet, shower and a bath.

There's also a CDP and a drying room.

Water taps & bins are located at the toilet block and also at the entrance to the camping field.

So that's the site. Fairly regimented but basically fine.

I didn't see much of the staff (apart from the chap mowing the grass) and when there was an issue with where we should pitch they didn't seem interested in helping and it took three trips to reception to sort - it would have been nice if they had just walked to the field to understand the situation, but they didn't seem that bothered. I tried to ring the warden once to report an issue with a blocked toilet at about 9pm (this meant one working toilet for the gents for the whole site), but the phone wasn't answered, so I had to text. The toilet wasn't unblocked until 10am the next day (I happened to be there - it took two minutes with a plunger).

In conclusion, it's a lovely site, but they don't seem that interested in the customer service aspect, which is a shame as it's the one thing that stands out as being poor.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SueM12 2 reviews from this member

A well organised and busy site. We had a particular problem whilst staying here with noise from the people staying in the bunkhouse and moved pitch at 3am, but to the credit of the manager the people concerned were spoken to the next morning and asked to leave, which they did. Our second night was much quieter and more enjoyable. Great location and lovely walk to Seahouses along a quiet road and footpath. Lots of facilities provided, including books, games, information about local area etc. Only negative was no drive over motorhome waste disposal as the one provided was inadequate and impossible to use due to its location.

Previous     187 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2702 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019