Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Seahouses > Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation Reviews

Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation
Springhill Farm
Seahouses
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE68 7UR
Tel: 01665 721820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 202 Reviews
                9/10 from 202 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  202 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andydon 3 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have visited Springhill and it is a great site.

Located only a 2 minute drive or 15 minute walk from seahouses centre and beach on a well run farm this is a great place to stay with a family.

The separate tent field is fairly flat and free of debris. The views are spectacular of the coast and Bamburgh castle. The showers etc are clean and well managed.

One of the best things about this site is that you can hire a firepit and buy logs for it on site.Will definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Islahogg 1 review from this member

 The directions to this site are excellent and I would recommend following them otherwise you will end up on a single track farm road.

This site is excellent. It is not your bog standard caravan club site and offers different styles of pitches to suit all. The wardens were extremely friendly and helpful. The children's play area is small but more than adequate with a nice field for ball games and kite flying.

The toilet blocks are very clean and spacious and the family bathroom is superb. This offers a full size bath as well as a separate shower.

The views are amazing and the site is well situated for exploring the Northumberland coast. We will definitely be back for another visit.

Seahouses is a nice town with a good bakers and a decent sized Coop supermarket. There are several take aways and the local fish and chips are good. The town is about a mile and a half from the site. The beach between Seahouses and Bamburgh is lovely. There are excellent cycling opportunities with the site being on National Cycle Route 1. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grapefruitmoon 23 reviews from this member

 Returned to this site for the second time. Lovely dry and sunny weather but very windy - we thought the tent was going to take off.

The site is exposed but they are developing tree boundaries around the pitches. Non EHU tents have best pitches! Beautiful views and stunning starry night skies.

Playground but no football goal this time. Plenty of space for ball games and kite flying in recreation field, though. Kids loved the lambs in the adjacent fields.

There is a new bunk barn and wigwams - have their separate loos and kitchen. There is a bicycle storage room and a drying room.

We walked down to the wonderful beach and along to Seahouses and then back through town and along the lane to the site. Nice circular route about 5miles altogether perhaps. Co-op closes at 4pm on Sunday but garage is open.

Probably more going on in high-season. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: G.G. 6 reviews from this member

 Another fabulous season on this amazing site.

We have had a seasonal pitch for two years now, and we are about to embark on our third.

Everything about this site is perfect. The toilets and showers are spotless, efficient and plentiful, the other facilities: iron and ironing board, drying room, washers and dryers, freezer and microwave are fabulous.

The pitches are flat and very well drained and very widely spaced. So many sites these days have a 'cram-them-in' attitude, but this site is the total opposite.

The site shop is great for basic essentials, information, or a chat with staff. The owners, Julie and Sarah are wonderful people and so friendly and helpful.

The wardens, Mark and Josie are also wonderful people. Helpful, friendly and such good fun to have around. Mark can solve just about any problem you may have.

The locality is fantastic. The beaches here would grace any tropical island, and the harbour is delightful.

Eating out is expensive, the Curry Leaf offers traditional Indian Food at a reasonable price, and the Bamburgh Castle Inn offers fairly good but expensive pub meals.

My only criticism of this site is that it does not open all year round. The second it does, I'm moving in! 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tazz070299 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent a thoroughly enjoyable 5 nights on this site (3 nights + 2 nights)

The site is very well laid out, well kept, and nicely landscaped. Tourer and tent pitches on grass, with ample EHUs. I was fortunate enough to secure a gravel standing normally used for the seasonal pitches, which helped when leaving the pitch as we had torrential rain most nights.

The site warden and his team were extremely helpful, particularly when we lost mains power. (The van's fault not the site supply)

The site has male/female & family toilet/shower areas which were kept clean (despite the mud) and well supplied. There is also a separate drying room for coats & boots.

This is not a site to use if you want everything on your doorstep. Only limited, essential supplies can be bought on site from the reception e.G. Pot noodles; jam; tins of tuna etc. But with careful planning this is not a problem and Seahouses is only a mile away.

The upside is the view out to sea and of Bamburgh Castle in the distance.

There is a small playground area with facilities for children.

Washing machines and dryers are available (2 per wash & 20p for 5 mins drying)

The only drawback I found with the site was the grey water disposal. No problem if you have a detachable or separate water container, but impossible to use if like me, you have an on-board container. There is a second disposal point on the exit to the site, but is located up a grassy slope and the very rain sodden ground just meant lots of wheel-spin and a risk of getting the motorhome stuck.

Definitely worth another visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Hobblits 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site!

We spent three lovely nights here last week. The site has generously sized pitches so no feeling of being cramped. The toilets were always spotlessly clean with the bonus of having a large family bathroom.

There was a good number of showers and although we were there at a quiet time I can't see them being an inadequate amount at peak times. The needs of guests were carefully thought out with a microwave, freezer, washing machines and dryers all available.

My children enjoyed being nearby the children's play area- a large field for ball games including a picnic area, swings and a climbing frame. Site wardens were friendly and helpful. Loved the fact that firepits were available to hire, we thoroughly enjoyed sitting around it at night and toasting marshmallows.

Seahouses itself is a lovely base to see Northumberland and its beautiful beaches. We visited Alnwick Gardens which provided a great day's entertainment- unfortunately we felt the castle itself was seriously overpriced. Beadnell Bay is beautiful (even on the freezing day we visited it!)

Will def go back and highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andydon 3 reviews from this member

 Having read previous reviews decided to camp at this site. Found it an excellent camp site, the best one we have stayed at to date. The tent pitches were in the top field and you could choose where to pitch.

The field is level and has panoramic views of the coastline and Bamburgh castle.The field was flat and dry.The facilities were good also. The toilet and shower block was clean although still 500m from the top field. You could hire a fire pit and buy logs for a nominal fee which we did and enjoyed.

The site itself is only a 5 minute drive from the centre of seahouses. The children's play area was small, well kept and closed at 9.30pm which suited our needs.Only thing that I would improve about this site is the proximity of the toilet and shower block to the top field for tents. Overall and excellent camp site. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Warbulator 10 reviews from this member

 As others say, a nice site with lovely views.

We were out of season so site reception only open 8.30-11.0, as we had to prepay online and landed after lunch, a sign in shop window with our name and pitch number did the job, from that point on over 2 days we never saw or met any staff / wardens. Our pitch had obviously had an awning on 1/2 of it for a long long time and the grass was gone, just soil. Literally. Not great site wardening / rules

Toilets have no windows at all, just auto on lights (didn't test how long they stay on for!). 2 toilet cubicles seems to few if it gets busy, but all clean (paint etc getting a little bit tired though)

Wash up area is also in the toilet building and again no windows (weird). Always plenty of free hot water.

Do follow their suggestion to follow their map to the site as satnav takes you down some very thin/long back roads with high hedges, I would not have wanted to meet anything coming the other way towing, as there really are no passing places at all for miles! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Julie Taylor 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights during our mini tour of Northumberland (12 per night including hook-up). It was a lovely spacious site, flat with good facilities.

I particularly liked the provision of a microwave, and the 'green' lighting in the toilet/ shower blocks that was motion-activated to save energy. Washers and dryers were available too. Free hot water for showers.

Anyone who wanted a lie-in past 8.30am may be disappointed as the tractors start up around then (it is a farm after all) but we didn't mind. You can hire fire pits and buy logs, although we found the logs to be a little damp and smoked a lot. Still got a nice blaze going.

The site shop opens between 8.30 and 9am, and sells basic provisions. It's around 30min walk into Seahouses, although I wouldn't recommend doing it at night as there's no lighting on the country roads and some drivers go very fast. We picked the Curry Leaf for a meal, but can't really recommend it (and we were the only ones in there!) The Indian Brasserie along the High Street was packed, in contrast. There's a Co-Op on the High Street that's open till 10pm.

The crazy golf is quite good fun on the seafront, but Seahouses itself seems to rely mainly on the boat trips out to the islands. We had fantastic burgers for lunch at the Bamburgh Castle Inn, with some good real ales! Bamburgh Castle is only 5min drive away, and is definitely worth seeing.

There's an excellent deli in Bamburgh village and some nice tea rooms. We also drove up to Holy Island and had fun feeding dozens of sparrows on the village green. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tenttime 4 reviews from this member

 Great views from the site of Bamburgh Castle and the Farne Islands. Saw amazing sunset from the site. Facilities were good and clean, and microwave appreciated. No queues for showers and no charge/tokens for good hot showers.

The site is within easy walking distance of Seahouses, which has good facilities. The children's playground was well used, and there was a community atmosphere at the campsite. The campsite should have better signage for pedestrian access. It is set up for directing vehicles round the road entrance, but those on foot should be shown the quick, shortest, route to reception.

The shop is not open in the evenings. The site is on a good bus route to all the main tourist sites along the coast. The bus services should be advertised at the campsite. The walk from Seahouses to the site is not recommended in the dark, even with a torch.

We were allocated a pitch, but the grass was very well worn, and it was right by the road entrance, with no views and suffered from dust from the track from passing cars. We pitched in the unallocated field, which is strongly recommended. It was virtually empty and had lovely views and green grass, and was well away from the road.

I recommend the Ship pub at the Harbour, the crazy golf at Seahouses, The Lodge for excellent food in North Sunderland (closest pub to the campsite), and the boat trips to the Farne Islands, where we saw a Sea Eagle and plenty of seals (too late in the year for the puffins). I recommend Serenity Farne Island boat tours, the guide was excellent, and found us the sea eagle. 


Previous     202 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seahouses      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3490 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement