Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Seahouses > Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation Reviews

Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation
Springhill Farm
Seahouses
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE68 7UR
Tel: 01665 721820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 202 Reviews
                9/10 from 202 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  202 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SJDD 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weeks stay at Springhill Farm.

Site location is excellent, with lovely views across to the Farne Islands and Bamburgh Castle. It is approx. 1 1/2 miles into the centre of Seahouses, which has a nice harbour and the usual fish & chip shops, plus arcades, and a well stocked co-op.

Site facilities are good, they are kept clean by the wardens, who are very friendly and keen to help.

Pitches are generous in size, and level, at reception you can hire a fire pit and purchase logs, this is a enjoyable addition to the facilities.

For us there were a few bad points to our stay, firstly our pitch (02) was used as a path through to the play area from the residents of the wigwams, adults thought it perfectly acceptable to walk straight through our pitch while we were sitting outside, and obviously their children followed suit.

Do take a boat trip to the Farne Islands, we used Serenty boat trips in Seahouses, who went out of their way to ensure we got good sightings of the seals and a visiting black eagle.

Do go in the Olde Ship Inn in Seahouses, the beer and atmosphere are excellent. If you fancy a takeaway then the Indian Spice House does an excellent curry. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gooners77 3 reviews from this member

 Spent just over a week at this campsite on pitch 12 which is quite secluded and sheltered.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

The shop had a few basics-- bread, milk, biscuits,tinned food, and sweets, which helped if you didn't want to go to the Seahouses Co-op.

The clothes washing machines and dryers were good.

The use of a microwave was a great idea.

There are 4 sinks for dishwashing with hot water all day/night.

In the gents toilet there are 4 showers with, again, hot water all day/night,4 sinks,but only 2 toilet cubicles which when site is busy were not enough.

The playground was open until 9.30pm which was fine, but straight after that time all the kids/parents descended on the toilet block until about 10.30pm. So maybe best to avoid this time if there are lots of kids about.

There was a bit of noise in the evening from both the Wigwams and the Bunkhouse but it tended to stop just after 11.00pm.

In Seahouses most of the fish and chip shops were good.Wasn't overly impressed with the food at the Bamburgh Castle pub, but The Links Hotel bar food was excellent.

Overall the site and surrounding area is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sallyandalex 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a fabulous week at this site.Facilities are excellent. Toilets and showers always spotlessly clean and never had to wait for a shower. Always plenty of hot water too. The owners seem to have thought of everything, freezer and microwave available near washing machines and dryers.

There is also a cylce store and a great drying room, which was really useful for drying towels and wetsuits. We had one of the electric grass pitches surrounded by hedges, which was private and large.

There was some noise one night from the bunkhouse, but the warden soon sorted that out! Generally a very peaceful site. Lots of children and their fun mainly focussed on the play area, where there is plenty of space to fly kites and play games. Our son cried when we left!

The area is spectacular, this was our first visit and we are smitten. Beautiful beaches, great castles and generally a fantastic holiday for all in a very old fashioned kind of way.

This is a gem of a site and I would thoroughly recommend it. There is nothing to criticise. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Titch192 1 review from this member

 Although this site was very busy the lovely large level pitch we were given gave you plenty of private space.

All the facilities were of a very high standard.

Toilets and showers were kept spotlessly clean and tidy.

Childrens playground was a little small but lots of space for ball games.

A warden came around every evening to make sure everything was okay and reminding everyone to keep the noise down which was adhered to.

Beautiful surroundings and close enough to walk into town where there are plenty of shops, cafes and pubs

Would recommend to anyone.

We only stayed two night but wished it had been for longer.

We liked it so much we have booked to return later in the year. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Patterdale 4 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic campsite. Have been all over the uk and I can say this is the best site we have visited in our motorhome. Great facilities, fantastic location and views and a short walk into seahouses which is a lovely little town.

This is a gem of a site, not big with a lovely atmosphere. If you eat out go to the bamburgh castle inn in seahouses. Good food, beer and lovely view.

Never been this far north before but we will be back soon,brilliant for adults and kids alike. On top of that went out for a morning fishing on the boat Guide Me and it was a great mornings fishing, well recommended and the skipper was a right good bloke. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Physics34 1 review from this member

 We stayed here on a very windy and rainy August night but had brilliant fun and would recommend it to other campers. The facilities including the play park were great and the toilet block was spotless.

The views were beautiful and we enjoyed visiting the cows in the morning as we awoke very early and didn't want to disturb the other campers.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We appreciated the microwave since we were unable to light our stove in the windy conditions ! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poppy popsocks 2 reviews from this member

 I was at Springhill Farm caravan and campsite a couple of weeks ago and found it to be a very relaxing break, the ground was quite flat which is always helpful if you have a tent and the noise level (minimum) after 11pm was adhered to which I was very grateful for.

I was there with my husband and my daughter, there is a small play area for children which is good and the little shop at the reception area was very useful and not too pricey.

One night the weather was quite bad with high wind and rain, the next morning when people started to use the toilets and showers etc we found that there was no electricity and no hot water in the showers, no wardens seemed to arrive on site that morning until 8.45 am when I informed them of the situation which was then resolved quickly.

Overall a good campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nibbles1 11 reviews from this member

 Had a four night stay during fantastic weather.

Pitch had been allocated on booking but had changed when we arrived, check the board at reception.

Pitch was lovely, plenty of room.

Site was very busy at the week-end, seems to be the sort of place family and friends meet up as there were several big groups. Quietened down on the Sunday. Facilities were good and always clean. Freezer and microwave available for campers to use. Liked the idea of the wigwams and their separate kitchen / dining area.

Staff on site very friendly, full of advice and always helpful.

One of the few places we never used our car for 4 days. Cycled to Bamburgh, Seahouse and Beadnell Bay all on quiet roads or cycle paths, mostly flat and not too strenuous.

Would return and would recommend bunkhouse or wigwams for non campers 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Familycamper020 9 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely weekend in Northumberland.

There was a mix up with the booking as we thought we had booked but the site had treated it as an enquiry only. A week before we went I thought to double check and was glad I did as we must managed to get a pitch on the overspill pitch.

The site has a spectacular location with views over Bamburgh Castle and the Farne Islands. After being woken at 3.30am by our youngest we had the usual trip to the loo and were rewarded by the most amazing views of the floodlit castle, the light of the lighthouse on the Farne Islands and the sun rise over the horizon. The loo block is situated at the top of some steps and the perfect place to sit and admire the view!

The site has 50 pitches for caravans and tents and they are arranged round a roadway so there is not much privacy. The site is quite open and it feels like the tents are quite cramped and facing onto eachother.

The site also has 5 wigwam type accommodation units and a bunkhouse. The weekend we were there coincided with a loud group of people in the bunkhouse and it is unfortunate that there is a balcony at first floor level. It must have lovely views of the castle and the sea but also projects over the site and as the evening progressed the number of beers consumed increased, so did the noise level. This was made worse by the fact that the group were up high and the way the acoustics worked, there was no way of avoiding them.

Having said that most of the people staying on the site were very friendly and our boys had a great time playing football and cricket on the play area which also had a small playground.

There was a group of boys and before long a full game of cricket was in progress - one of the great things about camping is the way the children mix and play together.

The area is beautiful and we had a lovely day at Bamburgh castle, only 4 miles away.

There was a debate on site about the best fish and chips. We were directed to Lewis's but were disappointed but there are plenty more places to try in Seahouses.

The site owners and wardens were all lovely and friendly and were keen to help out in any way they could. You can hire fire pits for 2 a night and you need them in the Northumberland evenings!

If the pitches could be separated out or made to feel a little more private and the bunkhouse groups were not allowed to be so noisy it is close to being a pretty perfect site. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nigel.taylor3 4 reviews from this member

 Spent very enjoyable 9 nights here during June. This part of the UK is always stunning but when matched by an extended period of warm sunny weather it is truly unbeatable.

When booking this campsite I had been very surprised to be asked for 10 per night deposit and the balance six weeks in advance. In over 20 years of caravanning I have never before encountered such an emphasis on the campsite owner getting their cash upfront. However on arrival at the site there were plenty of good points to balance my earlier reservations.

We had an excellent pitch (No 2) very close to the washrooms etc and with marvellous views over towards the Farne Islands and Bamburgh Castle. The Washrooms were modern, regularly cleaned and fully up to the best standards of the CCC. For those that required them there were washing machines, sinks and a family bathroom. This site also offers 5* and 4* self catering facilities, Wigwams and a Bunkhouse so there is no shortage of choice.

The Reception was only open for limited hours and these posted times were not always observed.

Seahouses is an enjoyable 1 mile walk away and the town is much improved from what I remember 20 years or so ago. There are plenty of eating places (Recommend the Restaurant at the Links Hotel for a smarter meal and The Bamburgh Castle Inn for good 'pub grub'). The Bamburgh Castle Inn also has a very nice outside terrace where you can enjoy a coffee (or stronger) overlooking the harbour.

Boat Trips mainly to The Farne Islands are regular every day. I recommend the all day trip to Staple Island and Inner Farne for anyone with an interest in photographing the birds but naturally the breeding season of June / July is best. Billy Shiels Trips are well known and they are very helpful.

We travelled to Berwick for an enjoyable walk round the old city walls but the shopping area was disappointing. Much nicer was Alnwick where a full day can be filled round the Town and Gardens. The Treehouse Restaurant in the gardens is well worth a visit but booking is wise particularly for an evening. Finally in Alnwick don't miss Barter Books, one of the biggest second hand book shops in the country, housed in the old station building. 


Previous     202 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seahouses      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4019 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement