Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Seahouses > Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation Reviews

Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation
Springhill Farm
Seahouses
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE68 7UR
Tel: 01665 721820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 202 Reviews
                9/10 from 202 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  202 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Annie rowley 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent a wonderful week here. Facilities very good, plenty of hot water, toilets/showers very clean. Friendly welcome. Perfectly situated for visits to local attractions, very dog friendly. Wardens extremely helpful when our tent sprung a leak! Will return next year! Not the sort of place to go to if you want entertainment/children's daytime activities. But perfect for a quiet relaxing holiday. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mobene 5 reviews from this member

 We recently camped at this site and was a little disappointed, firstly with the toilets as they were not always in a good order. The hairdryer was not working in one of the female toilets and the toilet roll was quite often just left out and it was obvious they are not checked on a regularly basis as the toilets bowls needed cleaning on more than one occasion. On one occasion I had a shower in the dark as the lights had all failed in the washing up and toilet areas, (this had nothing to do with the sensors) But the main problem was managing the noise levels at night even though there was a wardens caravan near by we had to ask people to be quiet at 12. 30 and even 1 in the morning. If you go at peak times be prepared for noise around the wigwam and BBQ areas. Some people are quite happy with this and with children on the play area, if so it is a nice site with very large pitches. But we wouldn't go back for the above reasons. Not the sites fault, we should have thought about it before we booked. My Mother in law stayed in one of the hides whilst we were camping and was very pleased with this but the last two days no one came to clean and the floor needed a good sweep. One thing I feel the campsite needs is more staff as we only ever saw the warden and his partner. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Varaderoxlv1000 29 reviews from this member

 This site is conveniently placed for boat visits to the Farne Islands which we could see in the distance from our pitch on this site. The only downside of the pitch we had was that it was close to the bunkhouse which on the 1st night of our 4 night stay was producing a rather lively drinking session from the incumbents but the noise did go before 11:00 pm nevertheless. So no problem.

Unfortunately during our stay, person(s) managed to rip one of the paper dispensers from the male toilets and damage a shower cubicle door so that it wouldn't close. This doesn't detract from the facilities which in the main were very good bar the grey water disposal point near the main block which needed a heave to lift it up onto a concrete step. This is not so good if the container is full and where the person emptying is not particularly strong or physically handicapped.

The site was fairly quiet except for the obligatory grass mower (job has to be done I know), so yes we would stay they again.

The WiFi is far too expensive at the daily rate charged so we didn't use it as we weren't that desperate! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claire and Paul 2 reviews from this member

 An excellent campsite. Beautiful location about 30 minutes walk to Seahouses/20 minutes to nearest beach. Showers and toilets were immaculate, well stocked with loo roll and hand gel, and nice touches like free hairdryer. You have use of a fridge, freezer and microwave. Pitches flat and sheltered. Fabulous views. Staff very friendly. There's a children's play area and plenty of space for the kids to run around. Alnwick Castle a good trip out for Harry Potter fans. Cost was reasonable: it is per pitch, so we shared one big tent between 2 families, with cost of 27 or so per night, including EHU. Pitches are huge and electric hook up worked fine. There is a no noise tolerance policy at night which is policed well, which is positive. Hence a really good choice for families. We recommend the Shippe Inn at Seahouses. Avoid Neptune fish and chips - truly awful; there were others that looked better. Several eateries are recommended at campsite, not Neptune, we realised too late! Thanks Springhill staff - we had a great time despite the weather (thanks to your lovely warm showers). 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lainey7071 4 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a weekend at Spring Hill, we went as part of a large group, some in wigwams, tents, campervan and caravan. On arrival we called into reception to find out our pitch but this was also displayed in the window, we weren't given a map or directions to nearest water points etc but managed to figure things out.

We had a grass pitch, there were a good mix of tents, campers, caravans on the field and pitches were marked and you were able to choose direction etc, no regimental rows!

Toilets/ Showers were modern and clean, they were muddy but we did have 1 day of torrential rain. There was a separate toilet/shower block for those staying in the wigwams, they also had use of a fantastic fully equipped kitchen, complete with tables, chairs and a TV which we made use of as a large number of our party had hired wigwams.

You can hire fire pits from reception for 3 per night, they also sell kindling etc.

There is a 'very quiet after 11pm' rule, there was a large hen party hiring the bunk room and they were asked to close the doors as they had music playing but our group sat up late into the night, quietly chatting and enjoying a drink and there were no complaints from the wardens or other campers.

We had a big group of 5/6 year olds with us who had a great time in the play park and generally enjoying the freedom to explore the site.

Seahouses is 1 mile away and has a good choice of shops, pubs, takeaways and best of all fantastic beaches.

We are already planning our next trip, we loved the location and the relaxed atmosphere, the wardens were there if you needed any help and to keep an eye on things but were happy to let folk just enjoy their holiday.

I have a feeling this is going to one of our favourite sites for a weekend trip as only 1 hour away from home :-) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frog 7 reviews from this member

 A well equipped site with areas for tents with and without electric hook up, hard standings, wigwams (pods) and even a bunkhouse. Situated on the outskirts of Seanhouses, a walk into the village is only about 30 mins but there is a short section walking on a narrow road without a path, we had no problems though.

The staff are friendly and helpful and where very approachable.

There is a play area in a separate field with swings, climbing frame type thing and a football goal. The toilets are comprehensive and clean with washing and drying facilities on site as well.

Overall a nice site, perfect for exploring the Northumberland countryside. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alitone 25 reviews from this member

 This is a very nice site which we have stayed at a few times before. Its had a change of wardens and now seems to be run by two young couples. The two lads are fine but I have to say the two ladies are a bit blunt and lacking in good manners. I. E. How to welcome, address and serve customers. The grounds are well maintained but sometimes I wonder about the need for disturbance at 9 am in the morning. The site in general is in a remote country location but it is also a working farm and that means early morning farm machinery noise for all. Also we have noticed a drop in standard of the cleanliness of the shower block and toilets since our first visits. No times posted 'for cleaning showers' so you wonder if its done ?. Certainly the Tiolet Block entrance/mat is always covered in grass cuttings, and you will find a pile of washing from the Yurts stuck on the machines every time you pass. The mens toilets for the whole site (poss 200 campers ) just three showers and two toilets so its going to mean queuing at busy periods. We would go here again but feel female wardens in particular are a bit blunt when it comes to serving visitors, certainly not Caravan Club standard. As posted by others you can walk to Seahouses in 20 minutes down quiet country lanes, the beach in 10 minutes and if you turn right at the site entrance a small quiet country lane leads directly to Bamburgh village which has two pubs ( 2 mile walk ). 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GillaEveritt 7 reviews from this member

 When we arrived we were met by 3 early 20 year olds (the wardens) who directed us to our pitch. Although we were staying for 7 nights they had placed us right by the entrance by a very dusty track and under trees that gave off a sticky sap. We then pointed out to them that there was already a tent on that pitch and to be fair this was dealt with promptly and with much apology although I cant help thinking another better run site might have already noticed this. It seemed that they had been appointed to run the site by the owners and as such the site is not being very well looked after. The facilities, whilst inadequate for a site this large, only 2 toilets in the mens!, were not very clean at any time during our stay. They also struggled to maintain the quiet after 11 rule with a 40th party going on well into the early hours and when a dog belonging to a neighbouring house wandered into the site daily doing its business all over the place they said there was nothing they could do. On talking to our neighbours it seems that this is a new development and that in previous years the site had been run by a couple who had it immaculate at all times although that wouldn't make up for the lack of facilities.

It was a shame because the area is absolutely stunning and the site has great views. It could be a wonderful site with a bit more money spent and better management. They also had wooden wigwam huts, a bunk house and various holiday cottages on site and clearly that is where the owners priority has been spent. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Hubs 3 reviews from this member

 We are a family of 5 (two adults, two children and a well behaved golden retriever) and we have just returned from this lovely site.

We originally chose it as the reviews were great and it was only an hours drive away from where we lived. We were not disappointed in the slightest.

We found the campsite really easily. As we drove on to the site the pitch markings and directions to the Reception were well marked. We were late arriving (1830hrs) and our name was on a board displayed in the office window along with our pitch number and a contact telephone number if we had any difficulties.

The pitch was very spacious and free from debris. My only complaint would be that it was a little undulating and on a very slight incline. But, all things considered, it was actually pretty perfect :-) We were on pitch 23 which was right next to the bins and the water - this was not a problem as it was separated by a line of bushes (we weren't bothered in the slightest by noise/smell etc).

We had hook up which was brilliant.

The shower/toilet block was about a 2-3 minute walk away and was spotlessly clean. There was never a queue even though the site was completely booked out on the Friday night. We did't use the washer/dryers but other people seemed to be using them quite happily. The washing up facilities were also great.

My two children (aged 11 and 8) loved the playground and there was plenty of open grassed areas for them to play too.

The site allows firepits - we took a folding BBQ and used this as a pit (we bought kindling and wood from the Camp shop which stocks nearly everything under the sun). Our evenings were toasty warm :-)))

It was about a 30 minute walk into the beautiful Northumbrian town of Seahouses. We had great fish and chips from a couple of the local chippies and we had a great afternoon at the Bamburgh Inn; sitting on the upper terrace looking out at the Farne Islands.

The dog had a great time too. Seahouses beach is dog friendly and we timed it just right for low tide. There was masses of space for the kids and the dog to run about and plenty of rock pools for plodging.

We did have a slight issue at first on site as there was a large group (youth football team) who caused a bit of a nuisance at the play area. The Wardens on site were FANTASTIC and helped out immediately and all was sorted VERY quickly.

Having been to many sites over the years both my husband and I agreed the the site Wardens were the BEST we have ever come across. The could not have been more helpful, even to the point of opening up to sell us more wood when we had run out.

All in all a great site in a great location. The cost for two nights was also incredibly reasonable. The site was very family and dog friendly. We WILL BE BACK! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Marcuslw 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from an overnight stay at this site and we would recommend it to anyone.

The site itself is very well maintained the Toilets, Showers and pot washing facilities were spotless at all times with plenty of hot water.

The on site shop had all the basics and the owners/staff were very helpful and friendly.

We stayed on one of the hardstandings which has hedging planted all around giving a nice feeling of privacy but with plenty of space for an awning.

The location and views are great and a nice easy walk takes you down past Shoreston hall across to some sand dunes onto a beautiful beach.

We will definitely stay here again 


Previous     202 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seahouses      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6663 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement