Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Seahouses > Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation Reviews

Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation
Springhill Farm
Seahouses
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE68 7UR
Tel: 01665 721820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 202 Reviews
                9/10 from 202 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  202 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doggies On Tour 28 reviews from this member

 On arrival it felt like we were pitched in a car park next to a very actively working farm with vehicles whizzing past behind us constantly. There is only one toilet block and cdp point, all by reception which was a long walk for some, so people did drive to the block. We did complain about our pitch and the wardens did eventually manage to move us and we were then by the toilets and playground which did get quite busy, but thankfully shut 9pm-8am. The lookout was mainly used by schools during the week and large family/friends gatherings at weekends, and to be honest both were generally well behaved. There are no sea views from the caravan pitches which was disappointing and the walk to the beach was a good twenty minutes road walk with no paths, but was worth it. Over the weekends a lot of groups descended onto the site and could be quite vocal and jolly, but apparently this is normal for the area. The toilet block was closed during the day at some point for an hour or so, but you didn't know when it would close! The block was also very warm generally and the water could get far too hot, so supervise children using the taps and showers. Also, although there was a radio in the toilet block, it appears it was only allowed to be used by the cleaning staff. It would've been nice to have it on generally as the toilet doors were left open, due to the heat in the building, and the washing up area was right outside. The shop didn't really sell much but there was a co op in Seahouses, but that doesn't have a car park, so you either have to park on the road outside, whilst someone waits in the car, or carry your shopping to the car park at the other end of town. The wigwams looked popular and they have their own toilets and kitchen facilities that campers were not allowed to use. Only 2 water points on the site, so again a bit of a trek for some people. There was some heavy rain one night and we woke up to flooded gravel pitches and in some cases the water had come in under the floor of the awnings. They did try to put in extra drainage to rectify this. The wardens were quite off with us, but we put that down to us complaining on arrival about the pitch and not being northerners! We are glad we moved pitch as it turned out the farm dogs are left in cages in the barn by our original pitch and they barked a lot at night. We could still hear it from the other side of the site, but at least we weren't right next to it. The beaches in the area were beautiful, and the facilities were good. I just think they could've been better thought out, from a campers point of view. We may well go back to the area as the beaches were so nice but I don't think we would go back to this site. There are plenty of other sites around, even a CL right by the site which would've probably suited us better, but not if you have kids and want the luxuries of a play ground and toilet block. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barkspoor 32 reviews from this member

 This site has thought of everything for campers

Generous flat pitches with or without ehu

Welcome reception upon arrival giving a map on where to pitch

Immaculate clean toilets and plenty hot water

Fridge freezer microwave and even iron and ironing board provided

Washing up area housed in toilet area and always kept clean on our visit

Lovely views from site and only about twenty mins walk to seahouses and forty min walk along back road to bamburgh

Fully recommend this site and look forward to visiting again 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nosh2275 1 review from this member

 Been many times and never had an issue, but the last visit with the number of units on site and it wasn't full there is definite lack of gents toilets. Always a queue sometimes with 3 or 4 bursting punters making idol chitchat outside the 2 cubicles trying to keep their mind off the imminent catastrophic event. This needs to remedied as it spoils a good site. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Riddlers duffy 10 reviews from this member

 A very clean and tidy site with most everything thought of for the campers and glampers it caters for. A good toilet and shower block, plenty of waste areas, washing up facilities, a laundry, small children's playground and a well stocked on site shop. The views from the camping field were great on a sunny day which thankfully we got and it was only a 20 minute walk down to seahouses harbour. Price was 12 per night based on 2 people sharing a tent which you can not argue with at all and I have paid more for much less. I would definitely recommend the place and hope to visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Two Terriers 20 reviews from this member

 Very good 'find' in beautiful Northumberland although a little further away from the coast than we thought - it takes 20 minutes fast walking to get to the beach at St Aidan's Bay but brilliant when you get there.

Very friendly & helpful on arrival, were able to change pitch allocated so we could put up our awning easier.

Pitch was a generous size & easy to get awning pegs in.

Toilet block was adequate. It was kept clean but could probably do with a revamp. Drying room was excellent.

Excellent area for walking but it is a good walk to the shops in Seahouses. We could only find one dog friendly pub.

Can't comment on child friendliness as just 2 adults but playground etc looked very good. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mikebull 3 reviews from this member

 In an AONB this site fits perfectly. Situated on a working farm the buildings blend well, yet are practical and well laid out. The reception/shop was always pleasant to visit, the shower block was clean and very well provided for, (soap dispensers, shaver points, plenty of hangers in the shower cubicles etc, and all sparklingly clean. Lots of washing machines and space for dish-washing and adequate grey water/chemical loo disposal points too. Friendly advice from the wardens and a good 'low noise' policy. All in all a very good site. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hath 9 reviews from this member

 Great site in a great location, the pitches are very large with plenty of space between them, the showers and toilets were always clean with plenty of hot water the only downside to the showers were they were on the small side when your 6. 4 foot I had to stoop under the shower head also care has to be taken not to knock the on/ off/ hot/ cold handle I knocked it and had to jump out quick as I nearly scolded myself, although I found it perfect the wife was a bit put of by the lack of lights we were near the entrance and when it was dark it was really dark lol she wouldn't walk over on her own to toilets/ showers. Wardens were really hard working keeping the site clean and tidy but they did leave the motor home grey water waste drain blocked for all the time we were there and it was overflowing not nice if you were pitched close by. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Muddtfunkstarr 22 reviews from this member

 A perfect spot for a tranquil holiday break, Lovely clean facilities, free hot showers.

Level hard standings with 16 amp hook ups.

A mile & a bit walk via quiet country lanes and bridle paths into Seahouses. Bamborough Castle is an easy 3 mile walk away and is well worth the entrance fee.

Well stoked shop and firepits available to rent.

Pitch black at night, Bring a torch. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freddiegreg 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from Springhill Farm campsite and would recommend it to anyone. It is set in a stunning location overlooking the sea in one direction, Bamburgh Castle in another and farmland or open countryside in every direction.

The site itself is compact but never felt overcrowded. We had a pitch on the edge, which is probably the place to be. The pitches are generously-sized and ours had hard-standing with plenty of room for the caravan, awning and space to sit, BBQ etc and enough grass for the pup tent and car. We never felt crowded or too near our neighbours.

Other reviews mention noise and mess from the farm but it is a working farm - what do you expect? We felt this added to the charm and it was lovely waking up to the cows mooing. It definitely wasn't too noisy or too messy.

The wash block was always clean and the showers are the best we have ever come across in a campsite and are free! My husband said that ideally there could be more urinals and toilets in the men's as he had to wait a couple of times (there were only 2 toilets) but in the ladies' this was not an issue. There are also washing machines, tumble dryers, a microwave and a drying room - an ingenious idea, although not needed when we were there as we had perfect weather.

The owners and staff were always friendly, chatty and helpful. Every evening they placed an updated weather forecast for the next 2 days in the reception window along with causeway crossing times for Holy Island, which was particularly useful when planning your day's activities.

There is a big field on the edge of the site for a children's play area with a small swing/slide in it, which appeared well used. Our children are too old now so did not make use of it but in past years would have been there all day.

The area itself must rank amongst the UK's most beautiful areas, it is absolutely stunning. We were extremely lucky with the weather and had sun every day, unlike the rest of the UK that week, so were able to go wherever we wanted. Seahouses has the most amazing beach, miles and miles of sand and rock pools. Try the walk from Seahouses to Bamburgh - perfect for children and dogs. All the beaches are dog-friendly (at least, we didn't find one that wasn't) and are just simply wide expanses of sand. The sea is freezing but the children assured me you got used to it!

Beadnell Bay, just next door to Seahouses is another pretty beach with Dunstanburgh Castle on the far edge. Park at Craster and walk to the castle but beware, it is a deceptively long walk but again, beautiful scenery and worth it.

Seahouses itself is a lovely, little town with a picturesque harbour, tourist shops and fish & chip shops. We ate fish & chips on the tiered benches overlooking the harbour - perfect!

Bamburgh Castle is well worth a visit - get reduced price tickets from Seahouses Tourist Information Centre and there are several good pubs or tea-rooms while you are there. Don't park in the castle car park, use the one as you come into the village on your left below the castle - its free!

Holy Island is another place well worth visiting although we were too mean to pay to go in the castle or abbey, preferring to wander round the island.

You must take a boat out to the Farne Islands. There are several options but to land on the Islands themselves incurs a National Trust landing fee for non-NT members of about 6/person (very expensive for a family on top of the boat fee) so we went on the seal trip around the islands. The skipper gave a very informative talk about the birdlife, seals and the islands themselves.

Alnwick is a must for Harry Potter fans - Alnwick Castle is where Harry Potter was filmed, or bits of it anyway! We did not go this time, having been previously but Alnwick is a lovely town with a market several days a week. It is also worth visiting Barter Books, the biggest second-hand book shop in the country, situated in the old railway station. We spent hours wandering around and even had tea and cakes in the old station waiting room.

Would we return to the area and the campsite? The ONLY reason we would not return is that we like to go to different parts of the country every year. We would certainly recommend Springhill Farm and Northumberland is outstanding and if you are lucky with the weather you cannot have a better holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulie01 5 reviews from this member

 Hi once again my nephew and I returned to your wonderful site, and got quite a surprize we turned up to find that we had been given a site number that was free for us to pitch and camp, we found that both the showers and washing up was clean and tidy any time night or day. And the staff gave both myself and my nephew great advice on the best pizza lace to shop, It did save on a night of cooking.

We cannot give enough praise to the two members of staff that we saw.

Well done to the staff

We did pay a visit to Bambough castle and after a good cup of tea all was well,

Paul & Dylan 


Previous     202 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seahouses      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2882 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement