Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Craftynclothy 3 reviews from this member

We spent two nights here during early August. It was raining when we arrived so my husband checked us in. Luckily by the time we had driven to the Hawthorn field to pitch the rain had stopped. Hawthorn is the non-electric field and we had no problems pitching, though our tent is small. I do think the pitches weren't huge but it was our first experience of camping for years so I wasn't sure what to expect.

There were plenty of cold water taps around the field and a few portaloo cabins. As someone else has mentioned there was no water in the sinks for these though.

Pot washing facilities were by the main shop & toilet block area. I think this was perhaps our only disappointment as it was quite a way from our field down some rather large steps (they were hard work for our 2 & 4 year olds when it was wet). The main toilets were generally ok but one evening the loos were particularly dirty. There was a laundry room but we had no need to use it.

The shop had a good range of products and the staff were helpful and friendly. My only complaint about the shop is it didn't open very early (9am I think) and it meant waiting for bacon for breakfast. I think there was a place you could buy breakfast but it wasn't very well signed and we didn't use it.

We did visit the playground but didn't stay long because it was aimed at older children.

There were plenty of supermarkets a short drive away as well as numerous outdoor activities. We did struggle to find things to do on our second day when it rained pretty much all day. We ended up going mountain biking and putting the kids in a buggy that was waterproof as the youngest didn't like getting wet. We went to Sundown Adventureland on the way down which was fantastic.

We would certainly stay here again and would most likely book for the same field, in part because the other camping areas seemed to be near water.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aspiring Parisienne 1 review from this member

We (4 adults) stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend in July.

Location

The site is very easy to find, though the website indicated that SatNav's will lead you astray so we downloaded directions from Google Maps and found it no problem at all. The site is big, and located just a few minutes from Sherwood Forest (the Major Oak, etc. ) and so it in a good place for days out off-site.

The Site

The campsite itself is very nice. It is big and consists of 13 fields, most of which offer electric hook-up. The site is well kept, and the wardens had a very visible presence, which was reassuring. The site has a well-stocked shop which offers rental services for electric hook-up cables as well as selling most things that you might need when camping. The site also has a children's play area, a nice river which runs through the site, and has fishing facilities at the end of the site (past Oak field). There are 5 toilet blocks, which also have dish-washing facilities. The toilet and shower blocks have 4 toilets and 2 showers, and therefore have the potential to get very crowded. Be aware though, if you choose the field with non-electric hook-up (Hawthorn) there is no shower block here, and just a couple of porta-loo cabins in the middle of the field. Hawthorn field is set-aside from the rest of the site, and so it would be a good walk to the shower blocks as they are not close to this field. It was for this reason that we paid be to be in a field with electric hook-up even though we do not use this.

Facilitates

The toilet and shower block was clean and the hot water was constant and free. However, the temperature of the water is really quite hot - a little unconformable even for me, and so I suspect that it would be too hot for small children. Also, there is no way to alter the temperature of the water. Additionally, the shower blocks do not have plug sockets in, and the hairdryer in the Ladies shower block that I used had been ripped out of its socket and completely destroyed. This wasn't a massive issue as it was a hot weekend and so hair was dry quickly from just sitting outside, but if it was cold and you had no electric hook-up then this could be a bit of a nuisance.

The Pitches

There are lots of permanent caravans on site, but still plenty of room for those just visiting. The pitches are quite small though compared to other sites, and in some cases, people were pitching up and then having to sit pretty much on the road through the site because there was not enough space for their tables and chairs. Additionally, some of the tents had to be pitched very close together because of the size of the pitches, and so separate parties were pitched with only 3 or 4ft between their tents. Our biggest issue was the ground itself. We stayed in Oak field, and frankly, the ground was not suitable for camping in a tent. We have a 6 man tent, with additional porch area, which usually takes about 40mins to pitch. This weekend it took us 2hrs to pitch up because the ground was so hard it was like trying to hammer a tent peg into granite. The mallet we used was all but destroyed by the time we had finished - as was our good humour!

Other

This certainly a family-orientated campsite, and there were lots of children all having a wonderful time. However, if you are a couple looking for a quiet and relaxing weekend, then you might want to reconsider, or look at visiting outside of the school holidays.

Overall

This is a nice, generally well-kept site, and we had a nice weekend, but I'm not sure that we will be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ah1975 8 reviews from this member

We chose this site for our first ever camping experience & it did not disappoint, was less than an hour from our home so perfect location for us, check in at reception was very smooth, given a map of your pitch & directions as to where it was located, we pitched in the non electric field, Hawthorne.

As soon as we arrived a friendly warden arrived to explain fully where to pitch & to point out the nearest services, water toilets showers etc. Plenty of room around our pitch & the middle of the field is left empty which was good for kids etc.

The site is perfectly located for Robin hood county and is ideal for kids my oldest is 8 & I felt confident to let him out of sight on his bike & to explore ( with a phone in his pocket so he could be checked up on).

The facilities on Hawthorne are basic but perfectly adequate for a short weekend stay, running water & portaloo's, the full toilet facilities were a short walk away & very well maintained, lovely hot showers which even being the 1st weekend of the school holidays we did not have to queue for and pot washing facilities.

The wardens are round every few hours cleaning loo's filling up loo rolls and emptying bins. This is a lovely site which we will not hesitate to go back to, we came back from a 2 week holiday to Greece last week and my 2 kids said they enjoyed this weekend camping more!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Edwards clan 1 review from this member

Just returned from this beautiful site- wonderful setting. Three young ladies with six children ranging from age one to eleven. Pitches were spacious and well kept. Site staff were more than helpful. We stayed on the Cedar field which is ideal and safe for young children. Toilet blocks, with free showers were immaculate- water a little too warm for the younger children. Lovely enclosed playground. Stream ideal for dipping nets. Well stocked shop for very competitive camping equipment- limited groceries but only a five minute drive to local small supermarket. We have already booked to return.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camper_K 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a weekend here and there isn't really anymore I can add to what has been said already.

The booking procedure was simple and efficient, the person I spoke to when I called was unable to book me in but I did receive the promised return phone call within 15mins.

Although it was late in the evening when we arrived and reception was shut booking in was easy as the wardens tents are close to reception and clearly marked. As we had not been before the warden showed us to our pitch and explained how we needed to layout the pitch. I did find that the area within our pitch where we were to erect the tent was very bear and I'd recommend bringing a footprint or extra groundsheet.

The site itself is divided into different areas, we were on Beech which was recommended at booking as near to one of the playparks, there was a block with toilets/showers and pot wash close by (there are several blocks divided between the different areas). The water was always piping hot and both the toilets, showers and pot wash were very clean (i think the wardens cleaned 3 times a day).

There were lots of other families with children and my daughter soon met some new friends and they spent a lot of their time riding their bikes around the site, while a very busy with lots of groups there for the weekend everybody was very respectful with very little noise after 10. 30.

There is a national cycle trail within 5 to 10 mins ride from the site which gives access to Sherwood Forest and Forest Pines (your not allowed to ride on the path to the major oak). There are plenty of other attractions in the area and reception as a stand with various leaflets explaining whats on offer.

At the time of booking I did feel that the price was slightly on the expensive side, although I'm use to a more basic campsite, but I would not hesitate to return and would recommend this campsite to others.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Showbedo 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a two night stay. Fab campsite, one of the best we have been to.

Friendly staff, spacious pitch, Showers and toilets clean. Lovely park for the kids and they loved paddling in the lake with their fishing nets.

The shop stocked many items as well as toys for the kids to purchase.

We had a chinese from the local takeaway which was lovely and delivered to our pitch!

We didn't travel far as we live local so the location was ideal for us with lots around to see and do. Cant wait to go back.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pbriddy 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend break at Sherwood Forest Holiday Park and had a fantastic time.

Brilliant Hot weather probably helped a great deal, but the overall experience was second to none.

On arrival the staff are very friendly and helpful and you are presented with a site map which clearly identifies plot locations. The site itself is extremely long and thin from one end to the other, which provides a good walk in itself. There are very good walks around the site and good dog walking areas.

The camp shop is well stocked with accessories and very reasonably priced.

At the weekend there is also a portable food stall which provides good food at a reasonable price.

We were pitched opposite the children's play area at the side of the river and found this to be a perfect location for ourselves and our two children aged 10 and 8. Due to the hot weather the children had a whale of a time playing in and out of the river.

We didn't find the play area excessively noisy at any time during our stay, however as we have two children and came with other friends, we are used to a degree of noise anyway.

The toilets and showers/wash facilities were always clean and tidy with plenty of hot water.

There are a lot of seasonal pitches, and the residents were very friendly.

The only down side from our experience was that we overheard of bicycles being stolen at 3am in the morning. Just a note to the owners that they should consider placing wardens at the entrance area. However chaining bikes by the owners will probably deter theft.

One excellent point for the Site is that checking out time on a Sunday is 7pm which means that you can take full advantage of the weekend, and not have to rush to pack and be away from site early in the morning. We made the most of this facility and thoroughly enjoyed the additional time provided.

Overall Excellent site and facilities. We will be back soon.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happytourers 6 reviews from this member

Our week here was an experience of two halves really. The weekend was filled with many of the negative things that have been mentioned previously around behaviours and the breaking of the site rules.

The site was full to the brim, but a totally different tranquil place when the busy weekend campers disappeared at late booking out 7pm time on Sunday.

Facilities are a little dated and could do with some upgrading. Always clean and tidy but hot water, altho in abundance, cannot be adjusted. Disabled shower room is only really a larger room that does not have the proper facilities.

We were a little surprised at the lack of concern when we mentioned the presence of Mr Rat. Been to many a campsite and never laid eyes on a long tailed rodent before.

Overall we're left a little unsure about this site. So many good points that can easily be over shadowed.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BarnsleyBelle 12 reviews from this member

The site itself was lovely and the location was great for Sherwood Forest (although the map of the area they provided was not to scale). We were pitched on the non electric camping field which, whilst having lovely elevated views of the forest, was slightly spoiled by the power lines crossing the upper part of the field.

We were at the top of the field so unfortunately the toilets and washing up facilities were quite a walk away; however there were 2 portaloos in the middle of the field but had no running water - luckily we had a plentiful supply of antibacterial wipes and gell!

The major disappointment was the shower blocks which definitely needed updating and the hairdryers (and the majority of the hand dryers)were broke.

Putting everything into perspective though, we enjoyed our weekend which at 35 from Friday PM to Sunday evening was good value and because it's within an hour's drive we would consider going back but would request a pitch on the main site.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maxine1970 5 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have been here for the weekend. The location is excellent for Sherwood forest, clumber park, Thoresby Market, etc.

The showers could do with a little bit of brightening up but always kept very clean. The shop is very well stocked as we forgot a chair and we purchased one from the shop on arrival.

The play areas are excellent we stayed in the cedar area and was great for young families. Staff are great very very helpful.

I would definitely recommend this site and we will certainly be going back in the near future.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth 149.99 Win a OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2924 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


Black Friday SALE
Black Friday SALE
OLPRO have masses of amazing Black Friday offers EVERY DAY throughout November. Prices slashed on inflatable awnings and tents





0.0977