Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW   See Map
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <5 miles 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ah1975 8 reviews from this member

Returned from our final trip of the year once again at Sherwood. As previously we cannot fault the facilities. Lovely clean showers toilets up at Cedar where we pitch. Friendly helpful wardens and reception staff. One thing to mention which nothing the site can do to prevent but as a warner to others, we had bikes and scooters stolen this weekend at somepoint between 1. 30am & 7. 30 am Sunday morning. Bikes and scooter were locked together and between 2 tents but still stolen in the dead of night. Please please be aware of this, would hate for other children to be as upset as ours were this morning.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ukea 4 reviews from this member

We have always took our caravan to the coast for holidays and weekend breaks, that is until our daughter bought a caravan, we now have visited four different locations within 1. 5 hours from us, This is by far one of the best, we were given a choice of pitches, both hard standing and grass, the hard standing ones we had were at the side of the small river maun that runs through the campsite, (parents please be aware there are water hazards on this site and children must be supervised) most of the pitches are separated by small hedges. The toilets and showers are always clean and the ground staff are bight and friendly. There is also at the side of the campsite Sherwood Forest Fisheries where day tickets can be purchased on the bankside.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jan/phil+holly 25 reviews from this member

Visit this site lots of times for short w/e outings as it's only 20 mins away, and don't always leave a review but just thought we need to endorse our previous ones. Once again very friendly reception staff and as always patrolling wardens acknowledge you when they go past doing their jobs. Cleaning staff also polite when you see them arriving to do full, thorough cleans twice a day. Excellent family and dog friendly site, with a nice dog walk alongside of a river and a couple of play areas for the kids. Would definitely recommend the Chinese takeaway in nearby Church Warsop, [Jins], as they deliver right to your pitch and you will find a menu in reception. Hopefully be returning again soon.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Creamcrackered2 1 review from this member

We enjoyed our stay at your site so much at the weekend (Friday 9th to Sunday 11th August). It really completed our time at the Sherwood Forest Festival for us.

Your site is clean, tidy, well kept and well laid out. The Reception and Shop was well staffed with nice, friendly people. The shop - well stocked and very reasonably priced for an on-site shop. The 'Food Van' is a fantastic idea - ideal for folk who can't be bothered cooking, or just don't have the facilities.

The washroom/toilet blocks were spotlessly clean (and smelled clean) and plentiful, and water taps and bins were everywhere but very unobtrusive.

We loved the fact that the laurel? hedges on 'Beech' gave each individual pitch a little privacy from the neighbours, without being too high to stop conversation if wanted. Plenty of play areas for the kids, and a fantastic dog walk all around the campsite, with plenty of dog bins.

Before posting a comment about a site, I always try to find out everything about it, to find the weak points, so that my post is fair but completely honest. The only things I can say about Sherwood Forest Holiday Park is A: Although there is a book share in the Launderette, it's not advertised, B: There are no statics available to rent, for those unlucky enough not to have their own van or tent, and C: Almost no phone signal (Not entirely sure this is even a minus).

Not exactly minus points but it's the only thing I could find that wasn't 100% positive. You may be just about the Best site we have been on (and that's saying something as we take ten holidays a year).

Very local for many places of interest - Sherwood Forest and Pines, Clumber Park, Nottingham, to name a few. The site is surrounded by shops, petrol stations, cash machines, chippies - highly recommend the one in Old Clipstone - Pisces Fish Bar - chinese, McDonalds, Pubs that do pub grub.

The closest campsite to Sherwood Forest, with a fishing lake behind, a car boot in the next field, and an indoor pool just down the road.

Overall, an absolutely fantastic site, which, although slightly higher in price than our normal haunts, we will be back to visit on more than one occasion. Definitely for next year's Sherwood Forest Festival, if not before.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 940S 7 reviews from this member

Spent a weekend here. You can arrive anytime after 12pm on Friday and leave by 7pm on Sunday.

Checking in is very easy, a warden shows you where everything is, then leaves you to it. Next to the EHU is a tv aerial point. If your planning on watching tv you will probably need this!

The toilets were clean, but the showers were not very powerful. The shop was filled with lots of camping/caravan stock, it also stocked a small amount of food essentials.

We had a hard standing pitch enclosed by laurel, which was nice. Enough room for caravan, awning a car. However the road through the site was right in front, then a pitch opposite. The road is single track so it doesn't feel like you had much space around you. Not all pitches are like this though.

There is a pub not far away called The Robin Hood, we had Sunday lunch here and it was lovely, and reasonably priced!

Overall it is a nice site, but probably not for me.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingwaldorf 3 reviews from this member

There are a lot of positives about this site, and its always nice to start with the good stuff.

We were pitched up on Hawthorne, which is the non EHU field above the site reserved mainly for tents. It was a big field, and whilst the pitches were quite close together sideways, they are around the edge of the field, so there is always a big open space in the middle for the kids to play in. Our 8 year old loved making new friends and playing, a real plus for us.

The field itself has water points a couple of portaloos and is flattish (although on a general downward slope).

The site has a lovely stream running through it, and my son and I had great fun swimming in the bit where the 'rapids' shoot out under the weeping willow. This was great fun.

The showers and washing up facilities are great, located near the well stocked shop. The taps all have the buttons you have to press in every 10 seconds, but I just kept hold of it. There was plenty of hot water (although my wife said her showers were always cold).

The site has two children's play parks, which are good, and has some superb fishing lakes at one end. The lakes are not owned by the site, but you can fish on a day permit for £6 for adults and £4 for kids. Barbless hooks no bigger than 12 allowed. We fished on the first lake, and it was hammered with fish, we were catching every cat on maggot / caster / corn / pellets you name it.

Location wise the site is OK, Clumber Park is about 15 minutes drive away, Sherwood Forest visitor centre (Major Oak) is about 10 minutes drive away and Rufford Park (best of the lot) is 20 mins away. For shops, Edwinstowe (10 mins away) has some quirky shops and a couple of really good butchers, Clipstone (new) (5 mins away) has a massive Co-op food, a really good Indian Takeaway (really good, what looks like a good chippy and a fishing tackle shop.

There is a massive Tesco Extra about 20 mins away near Mansfield.

The staff on site are very helpful and friendly.

Now the negatives.

The Hawthorne field really needs proper toilet and washing up facilities, there are 2 portaloos only, and they don't have running water, relying instead on sanitising spray. It didn't happen to us, but what if someone gets there hands 'very dirty' using the toilet. You know what I mean. You can't clean that off with antibacterial spray.

With just two single portaloos for a field that can hold c. 50 tents, you can imagine that even though they clean them frequently, they are going to get very messy especially overnight. On the Sunday morning we were there, they were frankly unusable until they'd been cleaned.

I think for £17 per night, plus extras for a dog etc, they should provide full facilities within the same hemisphere as your tent!

I found myself driving my washing up to the facilities as they are 1/4 mile (I used my gps device to measure) from the bottom of the field, if you are at the top, you are talking about half a mile to lug your stuff to do the washing up, or use a proper toilet!

The field would be excellent if it had proper facilities.

The café was closed, I am pretty sure we weren't told of this when we booked, and the fact that it was closed due to staff holidays. During school holidays, surely they could have planned better?

This last one isn't the fault of the owners, but be aware that Hawthorne is separated from a large farmers field by a small hawthorne hedge. We were there at harvest time, which meant a massive combine harvester passing up and down the field. Every time it did, our tent was filled with wheat dust, flies and ants. Be aware of this and if you go in mid to late August, pitch your tent sideways so your doors are not facing the crop field!

We will go back, but we'll stay on the main site in an EHU pitch, even though we don't need it, some of the pitches there are lovely, right next to the lake or river.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nfresh 2 reviews from this member

Our first impression on arriving at the site was that it looked good, was well-maintained and the staff were well organised & welcoming. Shower / toilet facilities were also clean. However, it depends what you want from a camp site and this one really wasn't for us.

This is a very large site with pitches that are virtually on top of each other, crammed onto every available inch of space. There is no open-space for kids to play - except the brook through the site which was fun - and there is constant car traffic through the site, with pitches less than 6' from the roadway, and other pitches on the other side too.

There were a few large groups when we were there & they partied late into the evening, well past curfew, with no consideration for other families, nor intervention from the wardens.

While there are some nice walks within 20-30 mins drive (eg Clumber Park, Sherwood Forest), there are few local attractions of interest to younger or older children.

For us, two families with six children aged 6-14, this was not a relaxing weekend, as there was no open-space & little opportunity to relax & even when playing on the pathways (the only available space) - the kids had to keep dodging the cars coming to & fro. It was a noisy, crowded / cramped site - albeit very well-maintained.

It would have been much improved (for us) if it had been a little more spacious, with less traffic & with a field left for kids of all ages to play, including ball games.

The play areas were suitable for younger children, so perhaps the site might be more suitable for young families.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindy1904 2 reviews from this member

This is our favourite site. I realise everyone has different needs from a campsite, but we have been here with children (10 & 14) and as a couple. I love it, facilities are great and clean. Shop is usually well stocked, excellent for camping goods. The best thing about this site is the way there are different sections/areas for different needs. Spaces near a park for younger families, spaces that tend to be away from lots of children for couples. There are lots of permanent caravans but all are kept very nice, clean and tidy. I have also been to this site in a tent as well as a caravan the setting is so lovely. Oh I forgot to say, I love the way you can stay late on a Sunday for no extra cost - so no rushing around early on Sunday, unless you want to of course.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marclewis 17 reviews from this member

As soon as you come down the beautiful driveway, you get the impression the site is going to be nice. Upon arrival at reception, the staff are very friendly and once you Fi d your pitch, someone is there to assist you and let you know where things are. We were pitched by the stream and it was a lovely location. The front part of the site is really nice, but the new area did it look so welcoming. We always use our shower and toilet and I would say that the shower block on the older part needs updating. The other thing that let the site down a bit, is the toilet waste disposal and the bins and especially the smelly skip behind the shower block. Other than that, I would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kirsty33 2 reviews from this member

We have had a great 10 night stay on this site, lovely clean facilities and plenty of them an on site shop that sells everything you could need.

Great location for Sherwood forest and would recommend and visit to Clumber park it's beautiful. We visited the robin hood festival which was excellent.

Pitches are spacious and close to toilets, pot wash and water. If going to the area again we would definitely us this site we had a lovely stay

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth £239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9220 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016