Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louwill 1 review from this member

Oh my gosh, what a lovely little site! We stayed for three nights, and we were blessed with glorious weather! The site was clean, well maintained. The showers had an endless supply of hot water. The shop was great for forgotten items, and ice creams for the kids. There is a lovely little stream running through the site which was great for cooling off and safe enough for the kids to play in. We will definitely be going again and have no hesitation in recommending this site!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jan/phil+holly 25 reviews from this member

Yet again another short stay [3nts] at this fantastic site. Chose a lakeside pitch on Lime [33] only just able to get our Invader 800 on but with approval of wardens was ok.

Mostly very peaceful location other than the dawn chorus which includes peacocks [screaming] but by 7. 30am all quiet again.

As on all other visits all facilities were clean and tidy and all staff very pleasant with a friendly nod and a wave as they go about their duties through the day and evening. Will be returning again soon.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ernie1 6 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights at this site. Had a great time, its very clean and the staff are nice. We were on Hawthorne the tent field, which although not that close to shop/reception and dishwashing was good.

I was slightly nervous of having portaloos but they were cleaned at least three times a day and didn't smell at all, although it would be nice to have some permanent facilities on that field.

The campsite is well placed for the sherwood forest visitor centre and there is a fab little miniature train down the road, we also did the huge car boot in the field near by on Sunday.

Try the Dog and duck for food, fantastic decoration and they let us take the dog in.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zbedfred 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend getaway at this site, our unit is a tent and even with the awful weather that there has been I cannot fault the site at all.

The site is only 45 mins away from us in Notts but we could have been in a completely different part of the country apart from the accents of the staff giving it away.

The site has lots of character and is not just a bunch of fields to pitch in, it is set in a beautiful wooded area with a pond and shallow river and is very well kept.

The site has a small reception and shop which is fantastic for gear, but will just get you by for rations.

The toilets and showers were always kept clean and were of a pretty high standard, the showers themselves were free and hot, they work like a swimming bath shower where you have to keep pressing the button for the water to flow, the wife said it was a bit of a bind keep having to press the button every 15-20 seconds when you are trying to rinse your hair etc, but to me this was no problem whatsoever.

On arrival the layout of the site was explained to us and where our pitch was, on nearing our pitch we were met by a ranger who directed to the exact spot and then explained where all the facilities were, considering the rain we have had the pitch was well drained and by no means a mud bath, it was just big enough to accommodate our Monty 6 and car although larger pitches are available.

The staff were always very pleasant, polite and friendly, even when on their rounds the rangers quite rightly asked us to turn our ipod down although not loud it was 11:00pm

The site was great for the kids we have 2 boys age 8 & 11 they made friends straight away and were off exploring, feeding the ducks playing on a rope swing somewhere in the park and generally having a great time.

There are plenty of things to do around the area we visited the major oak and sherwood pines, more adventure for the boys.

In all this is great site with great staff and on our visit nice guests, I would definitely recommend this site and it is a certainty we will be returning

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jessica Wilberforce 3 reviews from this member

I visited this site with my five year old son. I was a bit nervous about camping on my own with my child, but the lady I spoke to on the phone was very helpful and reassuring, and placed me close, but not too close, to other tents. On arrival I was greeted at reception where a male member of staff showed me to my pitch. He again reassured me that any noise or disturbance on the site would not be tolerated and that he would be patrolling at night (which gave me peace of mind).

The weather was truly awful, but there is so much to do locally that we still had a fab break. The site was really clean, there were portaloos on the field I was in and it was only a three-minute walk to the main reception area (with nice, clean, free, warm showers and washers/dryers that were very reasonably priced and open 24 hours a day - much to my relief on getting back late from a day out with soaking wet clothes, shoes and coats!).

There is a children's play area but it was so wet and our stay so short that we didn't have time to check it out. We did get to feed the ducks though!

The staff were helpful and pleasant throughout and my son and I really enjoyed our stay. We'll be returning!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Queen71 3 reviews from this member

We have many friends that have used this campsite on a regular basis so we finally decided to give it a go. We were lucky to pick a fantastic weekend weather wise, which added to fantastic weekend overall.

On arrival we were shown to our pitch and the warden stayed with us until we were happy with understanding the area. We were in the Cedar area directly in front of the park which was great for the children but we were worried about the noise this might cause.

The noise restrictions were quite clear on the booking sheet but usually these are ignored by most campers. Very surprised that by 10. 30pm everyone was back at their own pitches and the noise levels were not a worry at all.

Unfortunately some parents did allow their older children onto the under 8 play area which we then discovered the following day the park had been damaged. The owner was made aware and he was straight down to make the area safe.

Couldn't fault the toilet block, always clean and plenty of hot water and although we didn't use the pot washing area this also looked very clean.

The campsite overall was great for our children and especially the little stream with its clear water and sandy bed which made it wonderful to paddle in. Don't forget to take swimwear because even though there isn't a swimming pool the kids will play for hours in the streams.

We have booked to go back again with friends and fingers crossed we get the weather to go with it!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bramley-apple 6 reviews from this member

This is a very good site. Upon arrival we were shown to our pitch by one of the wardens. Then 3 other wardens arrived at the pitch and proceeded to manoeuvre our caravan onto into place for us. This was a real help because it was only our second trip out!

Facilities were warm and always spotless, despite the bad weather.

The on site shop is a real find - an Aladdins cave of all manner of equipment at really unbeatable prices.

Good play area for the children.

Sherwood Pines is good for a visit as is the Sherwood Forest miniature railway, just up the road.

A weekend booking is from 12pm Friday until 7pm Sunday so really good value for money - no getting up and then having to dash off home on the Sunday morning.

We really like this site and hope to be back soon.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Upsydaisy 4 reviews from this member

Just a quick review to let people know how lovely this site is.

Good for dogs, enough walks round the site and then loads in sherwood pines about a mile way.

Great for kids, we stayed in cedar area.

Facilities never full even though the whole site was full, showers always warm and so were the whole shower blocks. Even though we used one of the older books the floor was still ok under foot, warm enough. Always clean.

Wardens extremely helpful

We booked another visit before we left we we so impressed.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lisapayne72 7 reviews from this member

Oh my goodness what a fantastic site! Mainly statics or tourers that have became permanent fixtures but I can see why! Lovely warm welcome on arrival, staff very friendly and gave good clear directions to our pitch. Met at the pitch by another member of staff who assisted with getting hooked up (Also had Digital TV arial hook up). Toilet and shower facilities in good clean working order, very clean and well maintained site. Loved the peacocks that wonder the site as well as lots of other wildlife. Lovely private pitches (3m distance all round)edged with Laurel bushes. Handy for the two fishing lakes, we even walked to the Great Oak at Sherwood forest (4. 5 miles and very sore feet later) but well worth it. We will be returning to this site in the future.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kie68 36 reviews from this member

Just returned from Easter weekend break. What a lovely site, checked in very easy, shown to our pitch. We were on 'The Pines' on a hard standing pitch, which are pea gravel. The pitches are really big and where separated by laurel hedges.

There was a toilet block close by which only had 2 toilets and 2 showers in the ladies and gents but this didn't seem to be a problem as there are plenty of other blocks around the site. The toilet blocks are cleaned regularly at least twice a day and where always spotless. I noticed that the bins are emptied everyday as well. It certainly is a well kept site.

It is a great site for kids, there were loads riding bikes, playing on rope swings, the 5mph speed limit is a must. Even though there are a lot of kids the site isn't noisy. It asked for quiet after 10. 30pm and before 8. 30am and this is adhered to. It is a nice place to relax.

The shop on site is well stocked and very reasonably priced esp on camping equipment. Staff are very friendly.

Sherwood Forest Visitor centre is only 3 miles away, Sherwood pines about 2.5 miles.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2892 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0957