Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 263 Reviews
                9/10 from 263 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  263 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrskeating 17 reviews from this member

We are regulars to this site and although only live 30 minutes away always feel like we are 'on holiday' when we stay here! we have always had a really nice break here, with spotless toilets and showers, friendly staff and nice pitches.

There is so much to do using this site as a base, south forest swimming baths is a lovely little pool for kids, and do nice meals too.

Rufford park and sherwood pines are both a short drive or cycle away too, and although the parking is a bit pricey, free amenities once in.

We don't usually bother visiting local pubs but have been in the dog and duck, and once you get used to the bizarre decor, its a lovely place to have a cosy pint or meal.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingkids 1 review from this member

Lovely site.Stayed there for the weekend.Great size pitches. Stayed in the cedar area of the site which was perfect-close to shower block and toilets which may I add were very clean at all times. Showers very good with warm water morning and evening.On site shop very good stocks most of your daily needs also stocks camping equipment.

Surrounding area lovely plenty of walks and lovely lakes.Kids loved paddling in the river. Very impressed with the map of the surrounding area we were given on arrival points out local areas of interest and local pubs and shops-came in very usefull.

Overall the staff were very friendly and helpful and as a family we had a very lovely weekend. Will definitely be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ettelocin 1 review from this member

Just returned from this great campsite. We booked the camping field and were warned in advance that there were only portable loos and a cold water tap in the field, which didn't bother us.

The pitches were spacious and pretty flat and although busy, we were very impressed with how spotlessly clean the shower blocks and toilets on the main site were. We used the shop a couple of times, prices were reasonable.

We had booked with another family with children ranging from 4 to 8 yrs old - they had a ball, and we felt quite happy to let them play just away from the field where they had found a tree swing. A very scenic and well maintained park, a big thumbs up from us - we will certainly book again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Habb 1 review from this member

Spent two nights in Willow area - a really great section of a large predominately long stay caravan site, very quite and tranquil spot.

Shower & toilets spotless at all times of day and hot water in the showers morning and night (didn't use them during the day).

Would definitely stay here again, on booking they were very helpful and nothing was a problem.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Twin Mum 1 review from this member

I took my husband and twin sons (aged 2 and a half) here for their first camping experience as it's only 45 minutes from home, and I was so glad that this was the site I chose.

The toilets/showers and pot washing areas were immaculately clean. The park area for under 8's was really good, with a large climbing frame (large area space not height!) swings and a couple of wooden teepees to sit inside.

The warden was really helpful in selecting the right pitch for us, close to the park and shower block. I was also very impressed to be given a map of the local area which highlighted a few pubs, supermarkets, petrol stations and local tourist attractions.

The shop on site has a selection of tinned & packet foods plus bread & milk. We purchased bottled water and callipo ice lollies and thought the prices were very reasonable.

Would definitely return to this site in the future.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Littleskink 3 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. We had booked to stay on the tent field as we don't use electric, but when we drove on site to book in it was so lovely down in the valley we asked if we could move. Staff were very helpful and friendly

The tent field is quite big, square and open, sitting along side the road as you drive in (but screened by trees) - with a good view of the trains at the top of the hill. Although slightly slopey with portaloos it is only a couple of minutes to the main site

As we had young kids the main site suited us much better. The roads are good tarmac and ideal for little ones to cycle around. Most of the site is along a valley and most pitches are close to (or on) small lakes or gently flowing river. Mostly it feels very safe though there there are a couple of areas where young ones need supervision

Play area 1 at the East end of the site is for younger ones but the older ones congregate and play there too. There is very little shade there so in hot weather sun cream is a must. Play area 2 is up the valley to the West and is more suited to 4 to 10+, it quite well sheltered by mature trees. At the far end is a big tent area which again is good for the kids to play. From here you can walk out of the site to the Farm Park next door

The on site shop is amazing. It does all the usual food items (including good quality free range eggs) but also an excellent array of camping and caravaning gear, and cheap too

We went in half term and it was busy with playing kids right up to 9:30/10:00pm but near silent by 10:30. We are early risers and had the place to ourselves from 6 am to 9am (when the shop opens). Quite a few people with radios (louder then we thought necessary, but always a tough call). Other main source of noise was the tractor pulling the cesspit tanker that always seemed to be on the move. We also had a couple of problems with people using bubble mixture (seriously bad for canvas) though I am not sure if it was sold in the shop

The facilities were mostly good with lots of them across the site. They got well used through the day but were clearly cleaned 2 or 3 times daily. The large family showers were great but there was no control over temperature as they were like those push button taps. The ladies side was a little cool and the gents very hot in our block

Local food sources were good. Excellent chippy in Clipstone a few mins drive away (and good sized Co-op with free cash machine next door). Dog and Duck nearby does fantastic food at a price, the early bird menu (if it is on) is good value though. Bargain of the week for us was 'South Forest' on the way to Edwinstowe - great carvery (with ok veg) for 7 and 4 for kids. Dont be fooled by the outside, its fab and the staff are great

Only you know if the location would suit your needs. We mostly wanted to stay put and let the kids run around and their is enough on the site for thay. If it had rained I am not sure what we would have done, but that is mostly as our kids are 5 and 3 - those with older kids should find plenty of local attractions

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bryanwilko 1 review from this member

Went for the weekend break. The first time we have used our new tent. Found the site very clean with adequate sized pitches. Toilet blocks were spotlessly clean.

Reception was efficient and welcoming and after finding our pitch was greeted by a warden who helped us with regards to parking of the car and explaining the site rules. Curfew with no noise after 10.30pm Sadly a large group nearby were raucus till 12.45. I and 5 other people complained in the morning and without any hesitation the offenders were asked to leave within 1 hour. The sort of response I welcomed.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adiekate 13 reviews from this member

We've been twice before and have now booked again for June. It's only 30 minutes or so from home but it could be a thousand miles. Sooooooo relaxing and we've had same pitch (as requested) near lake behind reception 3 times now and it's ideal.

If you can't enjoy and relax here you can't anywhere!

We recommended it to relatives and they have just come back home - my partners niece said it was 'magical'.

Clean, tidy, friendly what more do you want. But please keep quiet about it we don't want everyone to know!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tuff lufc 5 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip and we couldn't have picked a better place. The site is very clean, and the toilet / shower blocks are always getting cleaned during the day.

The shop is well stocked and the mobile food van is worth a try (they are both very friendly). The dog enjoyed the camp site as well ! The wardens are always about to help out if you need it.

Also I like the idea of the weekend package, where you can go from 12pm friday and don't have to leave while 7pm sunday!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AJ58WAG 7 reviews from this member

Yet Another Fantastic Holiday at Sherwood forest holiday park.

The place the people and the area are amazing and I will be going back again and again.

Shop is fantastic and stocked up great for any camping equip you don't have,

Walks around campsite are beautiful.

Toilets spotless always and this I believe help everyone camping take more care around the park.

Staff are always friendly and always smiling.

Even the ducks are friendly.

An all round Brilliant campsite and a pleasure to visit.

Previous     263 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


862 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019