Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW   See Map
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <5 miles 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Morris62 2 reviews from this member

The drive up to the site was lovely, at reception we were met by very friendly people, checking in was a doddle.

We were shown to our pitch and was helped to site the caravan in place. The pitch was large and idyllic backing on to the river.

The site was beautifully clean and very well kept. The toilet and shower blocks (we did have a choice) were very clean and well appointed. The shop on site was well stocked, with both forgotten essentials and caravanning equipment.

The site is in a very good position for visiting Sherwood Forest, Culmber Park and many other attractions.

The only downfall is there was no mobile phone/internet connection or TV, even though the site does have a plug in TV connector next to the mains hookup point which is free of charge unless you don't have the cable to connect, but they do sell this cable in the shop at a very reasonable price.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cwoolley 1 review from this member

Just come back from a weekend 2 night break at this great site. Only 30 minutes from home but could be a world away. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good shop for caravan essentials on site and reasonably priced too. Very clean and tidy site. Shower/toilet blocks in great condition and spotless. Pitches have plenty of room for caravan, car & awning. 2 playparks on site both had fencing around. Our little boy is only 4 but it was safe for him to be left within eyesight of the park while we sat and watched him play. Lovely river running through with some pitches that back straight on to it. Lots of ducks geese swans and peacocks too. Sherwood Forest Major Oak only a short drive away. Small kiddies fairground rides next to the carpark. Weekend deal is from 12 noon fri til 7pm Sunday which is great as you don't have to rush off your pitch early Sunday morning. Lots of seasonal tourers on this site but lovely friendly people. One couple even invited us in to look at their set up ! Nothing for us to moan about on this site apart from my husband says you have to lift your waste water up to empty it which can be a bit of a struggle.

We will certainly be returning again to this site.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: T07zombie 20 reviews from this member

Just spent 4 days at sherwood forest and what a fantastic place. We had hard standing right beside the river and it was lovely. Cant fault it at all. Showers heated and warm. Pitches large clean tidy and private. Loads of space for the kids. 2 nice parks, I think there's about 5 shower blocks around the site.

The site is set in beautiful forest and country side beside the river idel/maun. Not far from mansfield or southwell. Plenty of pubs around within reach. Good one at kings clipstone dog and duck 5 mins drive. Plenty of walks around the site in the trees and side of river. Great for dogs as well. Lovely place fantastic people. Will be back soon.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aquaplsh 8 reviews from this member

I love it here. Only about 20 minutes from home, but could be anywhere.

Extremely well kept site set over around 40 acres. The site accepts tents, Motorhomes and caravans and most of the pitches are level with EHU (although there is a grass non-electric camping field). Very generously sized pitches with laurel hedging separating each one, all roads are tarmac and well kept.

There are two playgrounds for the children (one either end of the site), a reasonably well stocked shop (no booze) and some lovely walks. The River Maun runs through the site but is generally fairly shallow. Several toilet/shower blocks throughout the site all of which are very clean - push button showers though

There are a lot of seasonal pitches here and the site is large, but personally think it is one of the best in the country. I have been many times and have never had a problem. It can get a bit noisy as it is a family site with lots of kids, but all calms down at a reasonable time and it becomes a haven.

Don't hesitate with this one, you won;t be disappointed!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shandyboy 6 reviews from this member

What a lovely site.

We only live 30 mins away so thought we'd try it out for a weekend but will definitely go back again.

We had a lovely pitch at the side of the river opposite the playground. Great for the kids to play, feed the ducks etc. Not an ideal pitch if you don't have young kids as it can get a bit noisy. We didn't use the toilet block so cannot comment. Shop is well stocked and there was a mobile cafe on Sat night which sold takeaway food.

5 min drive to Sherwood Pines which is great for cycling. Also Sherwood Forest only 5 min drive away.

They also do a weekend deal which means you can arrive anytime after 12 on a Friday and leave any time Sunday.

Nice Nottinghamshire retreat.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jax1076 2 reviews from this member

Visited this lovely site last weekend. I cannot fault it. I had perfect weather, which always makes it better. The facilities are excellent. There are lots of wardens patrolling and always ready to offer assistance if required.

The toilet blocks are exceptionally clean and well maintained. Always plenty of hot water. I do not have children, but it was great to see them enjoying themselves on scooters and in the play area. Will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EMJT 3 reviews from this member

This is our second visit within 6 weeks - this is a fantastic site - we have an 8 year old and from the minute we pulled onto site - she had made friends and was off, it is so safe for kids, everyone looks out for them. There are two playgrounds, and the kids love the swing over the stream.

The weather was fantastic, showers were spotless, wardens cannot do enough for you - we shall be visiting again.

Good dog walking facilities

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pjaz 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 night break and and its a really nice site. This was our first camp at a 'proper' site - we've previously stayed at smaller farm type sites - and it was a positive experience. There is a farm next door and there is some traffic noise in the mornings from that and the fishermen turning up early to the fishing ponds.

We were on Oak, which we can recommend, especially if like us (Horizon 8 tent) you have a large tent - they have a 7m max but we phoned and they allowed us on and we weren't the only large tent there. The Oak field was also very quiet, with a maximum of 5 tenst on a field that can accommodate 12 large tents easily - all with EHU.

There are a range of tree named areas, some are larger and busier than others and some dedicated to seasonal caravanners - Cedar and Riverside being the busiest, but having the river close by on a hot is a bonus.

The reception was well organised and they had a print off of the booking and site plan etc ready and a warden was there to make sure we were in the right spot before we got out of the car.

The shop is also good, competitively priced for camping and caravanning equipment.

The facilities were good and there are plenty on site (5 across the site), with 2 showers per gents/ladies facilities and fully enclosed pot washing facilities on the whole. The showers were dirty at times, but this was due to individual users and not the site staff who were in there at 5.30am according to them. There is a mop and bucket in the facilities for campers to use if necessary.

Plenty to do in the area. Can recommend a visit to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rabble 15 reviews from this member

Had a great time at this site facilities were great and never any queueing despite the site being full. I did have to ask for a key for the disabled facilities, they were using the Radar system, and not being disabled just injured (have a brace on my leg) obviously I didn't have a Radar key but they did find me a key and I was able to use them.

The wardens were very friendly and sorted any trouble out very quickly. The pitches were of a generous size. The children loved the river and jumping in it! The little ones enjoyed feeding the ducks, the dog walk was good even without a dog.

Despite the site being busy and lots of children there (I had 5 with me) it was very very quiet and the rules about noise after 10. 30 were enforced.

The only one small down side to this site would be that to bike or walk anywhere off the site you have to go near a busy road with no path.

Will definitely be back. When the leg has mended!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beckett-family 3 reviews from this member

Our camping tends to be with other members of the family in 2 or 3 tents, none of which are small. We were allocated 3 pitches on Cedar and all were of such a large size that we had loads of room between our tents where we could gather together to play games or eat.

We were close to 2 toilet/shower blocks both with pot washing and cannot fault either of them. The hot water was just that 'Hot' unlike some sites where it barely gets above warm. I'm not too worried about that for a shower but its nice to be able to get your pots and pans clean after the camping fry-up breakfast. They were also very clean with mops in them for you to clear up after your shower but I am sure that they are cleaned regularly during the day.

The staff are very friendly and are constantly seen around the site including a patrol late at night to just check everyone is being courteous and respecting the noise curfew which to be fair everyone does.

I must also make a comment on the state of the pitches we were allocated. After all the rain over the last couple of months I must admit to being a bit worried about what state the ground would be in. Yes there were a couple of wear spots on each pitch where tents had been pitched but no more that you would expect even in good weather.

The ground was well drained, our tent pegs were easily pushed into the ground with hardly any stones and the grass was cut and nice and green. You could tell the ground was still quite damp as you could start to see the grass wear at the entrance to the tents from all the traffic of people going in and out but I doubt this would have gotten much worse had we been staying longer.

In summary a lovely site that I have already recommended to others and would visit again.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth 239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9019 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016