Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 263 Reviews
                9/10 from 263 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  263 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Luptons 1 review from this member

This is a campsite we keep returning to every year due to its relaxed but efficient service, and lovely surroundings. We have been a few times as a family with two young children, once with another family and once with the in laws, and each time it has been so relaxing. The staff are friendly.

Camping next to the River is amazing, it's so clear you can sometimes see the fish. Kids love the play area and freedom to scoot about. The shop has all you need plus more and there is a food van at times. It's near Sherwood forest, and Rufford Abbey is a nice afternoon in the sun. Edwinstowe is very close. Mansfield has a good swimming pool if there is rain!

We don't usually go back to the same place, but this site has become a comfortable easy weekend that we always enjoy and I would happily recommend. My only reservation is I'm not sure I could keep us all occupied in the surrounding area for longer than a long weekend.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Opal0313 23 reviews from this member

First time at this site. Had a 2 night break here. Staff lovely friendly, always sharing a joke. Arrived to a warm welcome, given a map to show where our pitch was. Pitch was gravel not a bad size but may have been tight had we put the awning up. Several toilet/shower blocks, all clean. Lovely site alongside rivers and ponds. Loads of geese and ducks who where very tame. Good shop with basics and lots of camping gear all reasonably priced. Nice scenic site. Only disappointment for us was the location. There is nothing within walking distance. No nice walks no pubs to call for a meal and drink. So you're stuck unless you go out in the car which we prefer not to. Would we return maybe but for no more than 2 nights and because it is within 1 hours drive for us.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul82 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a 4 night stay in the Cedar section with 2 kids, 2 and 5.

The site is large with good facilities, shower block is basic but very well kept, there was plenty of staff around keeping the site clean and tidy.

The parks were good and we played in the river. Although busy, with lots of kids around, the site went quiet from 10:30, as requested.

The site is close to Wheelgate theme park, great for kids under 9. Book online for discount

The site shop is well kept with camping gear at very good prices.

We'll be visiting again next year and bringing friends

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zebbieboo 3 reviews from this member

Lovely, quiet site, really helpful and friendly staff.

The site is dry clean and well maintained, the grass is kept short and neat, the toilets and showers are checked regular and also kept clean. We were pitched next to the river and loved seeing the baby ducks and swans swimming up and down.

Although the pitch was gravel (which we hadn't been on before, always grass) it worked really well and by the time we had set up and got the ground sheet down and the floor in the awning the gravel was not a problem at all. We were a bit worried to start with but there was really no problem at all.

On a Friday night there is an outdoor stone baked pizza shop thing where you can buy your tea if you want too. The on site shop has the basics that we all forget to take and there are plenty of shops a short drive away. ie asda morrisons Tesco Sainsbury's Aldi the staff will be more then happy to point you in the right direction.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Whatevers 3 reviews from this member

Nice site, several facility blocks throughout the site, all were clean. A lot of seasonal pitches. We stayed on Riverside, which has a very small play park for kids. Nice outlook from our van as there was only three other caravan on our side. Site is well kept, nice large level pitches separated with chest high beech hedges. It was very peaceful when we stayed although can imagine it being very busy in peak season. Because we stayed near the water it was a trek to the toilet/washing up facilities as you had to walk around the roadways if you did not want to get your shoes wet or slightly muddy. You could of course cut across the grass but in December when we stayed it was constantly wet. I presume when the site is full if you did want to cut across grass to the facilities you would be walking through tent pitches. A couple of dedicated shortcut pathways from water front pitches to facilities would help. Seasonal pitches and statics seemed closer to the facilities than touring caravans. If you were staying at the far end of riverside, I expect you could use the toilets which are on the adjacent seasonal pitch area as there is no barrier. I found the dog poo bins were not obvious when looking around the site, think an obvious (red?) poo bin on riverside somewhere in the middle may ensure people use it.

You are able to walk along a path from bottom of site which passes a couple of fishing lakes. Overall this is a very nice site especially at quiet out of season times. Would stay again.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dub68 5 reviews from this member

This is the most well maintained site I have been on, this is why I will review all the rest I have stayed on this year. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. We were met at our pitch by a helpful member of staff who gave us the run down on where everything was. The site was spotless, even down to the bins along the walks used for dog waste smelled of detol. The pitch was spacious along side the river, it looks as though they re gravel each site after it has been used. The shop was well stocked and very reasonable prices. The toilets and hot showers were spotless, the washing up area was well lit. There is a fishing pond within a short walk, which looked like it is mowed on a regular basis. I'm not into fishing myself but it was a sun trap to sit and read a book while my partner enjoyed the fishing. We didn't use the local pub so cannot comment. We only stayed for two nights so didn't get to go on as many walks as I would of liked. Perfect for our border collie who loves long walks. Will definitely be returning to this site, it is a credit to all that work there.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Time to relax 5 reviews from this member

Large site but split up nicely into smaller sections, all level pitches. Pitches were adequately wide but the depth was poor (small children's play area) with the front of your tent only a couple of metres from the service road. Without use of a windbreak, children run along on the grass right by your tent / guy lines & seating area (I have small 4 person tent). Noisy first night >22. 30hrs and children playing on the park at 07. 15! Different pitches offer greater depth for larger tents & of course if you're not in the area with lots of children it would be a different experience.

Being next to small children's play area & a facilities block was a double edge sword; you can see your child playing from your tent but it's obviously noisy and there was a lot of 'through traffic' to the facilities.

Facilities very adequate, large covered pot wash, clean toilet and shower area, lovely hot water, no queueing. Bins regularly emptied. Site shop well stocked & always good to have freezer available for freezer blocks. Staff all pleasant. Lovely little walk on trail around site. Lots to do in local area. We went on a small stream train next to site. Also South forest leisure complex on a rainy day, kids loved the swimming pool & slide.

We would return but probably choose a different section of the site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hollings 1 review from this member

We have just spent a very happy 4 days at this park and I think it has become one of our favourites. The pitch was spacious and the hedging surrounding the pitches at our part gives extra privacy. We have 3 boys age 8, 12 and 14 who were out and about riding their bikes and playing happily around the site, which felt safe. The wide shallow stream that the kids can play in was a big hit too. Access was really easy and the area was lovely and very quiet. There was lots to do round about, good cycle rides and Clumber Park National Trust site proved a lovely day out. The little shop is well stocked and all the staff were friendly. The site rules seemed to be observed re noise etc too. The dog walk was one of the best we've had on a campsite taking you along the stream and there was also a nice longer woodland walk to enjoy. Although in countryside there are plenty of larger facilities in near by Mansfield if you need them. All in all, we had a great trip and will certainly visit again. My only complaint would be that the toilet and shower blocks, although kept clean, are really due an update but it didn't affect our enjoyment.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SunshinecamperDR 15 reviews from this member

Second visit to this site, lovely site. Friendly staff. Clean toilets and showers. 2 parks, one smaller than the other. Stream running through the site with ducks and peacocks running freely, but no bother. Plenty of areas for walking and sherwood pines nearby for cycling. Plan to return again. Thank you.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Thoranna 8 reviews from this member

First visit to this site, we booked three nights attracted by the initial reviews on this website and the camp website, but only stayed for one night. For us the site did not live up to the reviews.

The site is long and narrow with no one way system which means when cars etc meet one needs to move off the road onto someone's pitch. Most pitches have a Laurel hedge in between each other, however, we were allocated an 'end' pitch which was at the fork of a road. Being at the end we had to put up with kids using it as a playground, vehicles turning on it and in one case someone parking their car on it. We phoned reception and asked if we could move to the next pitch along away from all of this, we were told that they were fully booked and we were stuck with it for the next three nights. Although site rules are clearly laid out they are sadly just words on paper which no-one paid any attention too (hard footballs being kicked about, drinks being carried by adults on roadways and 5 mph speed limit not adhered too by almost everyone including staff).

Toilets were clean but in dire need of upgrading. The block nearest to us only had four toilets and two showers available for a high number of people - more facilities required. There is a good dog walk around the site with waste bins available. With the site being full there were a lot of children and people sitting outside well into the evening so fairly noisy. Would we visit this site again - definitely not.

Previous     263 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2200 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019