Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW   See Map
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <5 miles 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scawbyboy 5 reviews from this member

Just got home after a fantastic 6 days at this site. The toilet block facilities and showers are second to none. They are cleaned at least twice a day. They are nice and warm,well lit and always plenty of hot water.

The booking in process was very efficient and we were shown to our pitch and offered help if required to get things sorted. There are 2 play areas for children - not that we had need of them and plenty of dog walking trails nearby.

The area where we were sited comprised of several semi permanent units and was overlooking a small lake. The approach to the site is impressive with well cut areas.

The staff were super to deal with and the people in the semi permanent units made us feel really welcome. We will be visiting again soon. Many thanks to all especially the receptionist from Guildford !

Asda is only a few miles away and there are some nice speciality shops in nearby Edwinstowe - try the local butcher !

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kn1te 7 reviews from this member

Spent 5 days here. Very impressed. The site is split into different sections. There is a small stream running through the site at one side that fills two wildlife ponds. Some pitches back on to them. We were originally supposed to be on one of these, but we asked to move due to having a toddler. The staff were more than helpful when we asked to move and personally showed us to the new pitch and explained exactly where everything was. The hard standing pitches are gravel, some are quite deep so bring long pegs. The toilet and shower blocks are a little dated but they are immaculately clean. The showers are the push button type, and need to be pressed every few seconds is seemed, but thatís just me nit picking.

The site shop is incredibly well stocked with camping equipment. You could quite easily come with nothing and just buy everything at the shop, and itís not expensive either.

There are a lot of seasonal pitches on the site, but the residents are more than friendly. The site has two play grounds, one for the older kids and one for the younger kids, which is a nice touch. The grass is regularly cut and the drainage is excellent on the grass pitches.

The fishing is brilliant. Sherwood forest fisheries is in the next field and can be access through a gate at the bottom of the site. The fishery web site is http://www.Sherwoodfishery.Co.Uk/

On a Sunday, next to the site there is a carboot sale and motocross going on, (you canít here either from the site so donít worry).The Sunday market at Thoresby, is really busy but a good for a trip out. Sherwood forest visitors centre and the Major Oak is very close, and considering its free (pay for parking) is brilliant.

There are a few shops in nearby market warsop, if you need anything.

All in all very impress with the site, and will be returning.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LiHall 3 reviews from this member

Just spent 4 days at this site. It was our first trip away in our motorhome (we are very new to it all!) The woodlands, wildlife, lake, river and site facilities made it a lovely spot. Though it was half term it was really peaceful. Everyone was pleasant and friendly.

The site shop was well equipped especially with caravan accessories. The toilets and showers were great with lovely hot water and a short distant from most places on the site.

We were on 'Willow 'which were hardstanding pitches with elec hook up - brilliant size with lovely views across the lake / river. There are two play areas for the children, though if the weather is bad there is not much for them to do. The roads around the site are ideal for cycling / scooters.

The staff were really friendly and helpful. The site is in a good location (please note: If you have a motorhome and do not want to move it, there are no buses close by to get you to the attractions.

The roads around the area have no footpaths so it made walking impossible for us - we have a 6 year old - We used taxi's which were good and prompt, but of course bumps up the price of your holiday).

We had a lovely homemade meal which was reasonably priced at The Forest Lodge Hotel in Edwinstowe village close to Sherwood Forest. We also spent a lovely day at Sherwood Pines Forest Park. Great for everyone, especially children as there are some adventure playgrounds. It was a great bonus that the attractions we went to were free!

Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philnliz 10 reviews from this member

We have used this site on a few occasions the staff are helpful, the facilities are clean, pitches are separated with bushes but are ample in size,

Two kids playgrounds one for under sevens and one for over sevens but if your not parked near to the playground of your choice then you have a five min walk on your hands so you wouldn't be able to keep an eye on the kids,

A 5 min drive takes you either to the great oak of sherwood or sherwood pines, a country park where you can hire bikes and ride the many trails through the forest.

Within a 20 min drive there is thoresby market every sunday which can take a couple of hours to walk round especially if you stop for a burger or two,

Also just down the road from there is clumber park also good for walking / cycling. All in all there is plenty to keep you going for a long weekend

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: T07zombie 20 reviews from this member

We have been before and decided to go last min` for a weekend break.It was great as usual and the site is lovely.Everything is kept well and everyone who runs the site are very helpful.

The kids have loads to do and loads to explore.It has the river maun running right through which is lovely. But the down side is if there is plenty of rain the entrance to the site gets cut off as the water comes over the bridge which is the entrance. Other than that this is a very pleasant site with everything you need. Including tv point for every caravan (be warned take a long tv cable as they are not next to the caravan)

Will be back in the summer.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nickrw 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here just for one night while in our hired motorhome visiting Twinlakes and Wheelgate Parks in the area. On arrival I was walked directly to our pitch and the chap was most helpful explaining everything to me, they even had an aerial hookup by the electric.

Facilities were immaculate, heated and very clean. Showers were not massive but certainly large enough to get a couple of your kids in there if required, and free, but have those push buttons that cut out after just 18 seconds so you have to keep pressing it! My wife thought the toilets/showers were excellent and it takes a lot to impress her! :) There are several toilet/washing/shower blocks around the site, I saw at least 3 on just a short stroll.

The site is large but everyone was very well behaved and it was so quiet even though it still looked busy. Most of the caravans appeared to be there permanently. The kids play area was small bu adequate, big wooden log type. Didn't get to check out the shop as we weren't there long enough. I thought the price of £19.50 a little high for the time of year, but you could see why as the site looked very well organised, clean and looked after. Would definitely visit again if in the area. Took a bit of finding as there are so many Sherwood Forest Parks/Campsites in the area, trusty sat nav was right though I should have just ignored the signs!

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jrayner 13 reviews from this member

Brilliant site. Well laid out, very pretty with the river running through it, two big ponds / small lakes and lots of trees etc. Pitches separated by small laurel hedges to give more privacy. Staff extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful.

This site is also ideal for campers with dogs. A good dog walk runs right round the perimeter, accessed at numerous points round the site. At the far end of the site, a gate gives access to a decent network of tracks and footpaths, largely through woodland, where well behaved dog(s) can have a good run. Brilliant!

Facilities were spotless, and plentiful. Small shop stocked with an eclectic range of camping equipment, essentials like milk, bread and bacon, but little other food.

We will definitely return to this site again. Loved it!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lostbud 1 review from this member

We visited this site for the weekend and was very very pleased. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We went with another family with kids from 5 to 9 year old and they loved it. The 2 play areas kept the kids occupied for hours.If not in the park they were on their bikes. There are lovely walks along the lakes and also in the woods.The toilets and washing up area was immaculate and hot water available all day. Brilliant what more could you ask for, 5 star all around.Fishing lakes very short walk away the staff even opened the tins of sweet corn at the till as we forgot ours,a little thing but was a great help and saved us the walk back to camp. Thank you so much and we will see you very very soon. All 8 0f us.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camper29 1 review from this member

Stayed here three times, really nice site, quiet even with our two kids! staff were really helpful. The playground for the younger kids is fine, the one for older kids seems a little run down but I guess that's because older kids use it?

Toilet/shower blocks are to a high standard, there are no pubs / restaurants on site but I think this is the way they like it.

Sat nav finds it difficult to find, including my relatives none of about 4 different sat navs found it easy to find!

Book well in advance as the pitches go quite quickly. All in all a very nice quiet break for a weekend or long weekend away!

It could possibly do with a larger shop and a chips shop (or something similar) on site but this inst really a problem.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrsX 10 reviews from this member

Visited this site at the last minute after having to cancel another site due to bad weather.

We chose to stay on the camping field, which is set slightly apart from the main site - A five minute walk to shower blocks, belsen points, shops and dish washing.

The only facilities available on the field are two taps, two portaloos and bins. I was shocked to see one family swilling out there wee bucket at the water tap. I suspect quite a lot of this goes on as people cant be bothered to walk to the disposal point on the main site.

We paid £15 per night per tent, which I think is pretty steep for one adult and one child in a field with very basic facilities.

The pitches are marked out and are very small. The pitches on either side of us were unoccupied, I think it would have been a very tight squeeze if they hadn't been.

All the staff were very friendly. The rangers came to my pitch about 10 minutes after I'd booked in, to make sure I was ok and had found my pitch and if I needed any help.

The main site is lovely, beautifully landscaped with a river running through (which my son fell into, something to consider if you have younger children who are used to having a little extra freedom on site). Plenty of ducks, geese etc to feed and entertain us - and make sure the kids take their fishing nets!

I've scored this site for the camping field, which is pretty poor really. If I went again I'd pay the extra for a pitch on the main site I think.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth £239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1513 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016