Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <5 miles 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jon 69 2 reviews from this member

Superb !

We just got back from Sherwood Forest Holiday Park and will absolutely 100% be going back again.

The Park is very well sheltered and gives the feeling of seclusion.

The river and lake that run through the grounds add to the scenery as do the peafowl and ducks that inhabit the grounds.

The showers, toilets and wash areas are kept clean and tidy.

Park rules about unruly behaviour and loud music etc after 10:30 pm are sensibly enforced, as are rules about walking dogs in the area provided.

The on site shop had the basics food etc and a wide range of camping / caravanning accessories available.

There are a couple of children's play areas on the site and make sure you take fishing nets as the kids will spend hours fishing for sticklebacks etc in the stream with them.

There are several large supermarkets within a 10 minute drive and quite a few places of local interest, listed on their website, within easy travelling distance.

The site staff are friendly and infact allowed me to use their computer for about 30 minutes, to check on the internet for other local sites, as we had not booked for long enough and they were absolutely full for the bank holiday !

All in all a friendly, well run, clean, tidy and scenic site.Open 12 months of the year.

Absolutely one to book mark and visit on more than one occasion.

The perfect place to site a Tourer, with quite a few already sited.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kinza123 32 reviews from this member

Just spent a week at this site, the weekend with husband and dogs then the midweek with friends.

We booked our pitches in January to be sure we would be together and we were opposite the small play area. Grass pitches and a bit muddy but we were fine.

The kids had a fab time, cycling all round the site. We were warned about bike theft and kept them locked in the tents and my awning.

All pitches had EHU.

No noise after 10.30 pm was observed by us and most others, but unfortunately someone had a tv in the awning which was on till past 11.30.

Close to loads of attractions, we visited Wheelgate and Sherwood Pines, but as we only live 30 minutes away we were very familiar with the area anyway.

Tesco is 5 miles away in Ollerton.

Shop has basic food (not much to be honest) you can order a paper before 3pm and the camping equipment is brilliant and cheaper than some camp shops.

The wardens and all staff were absolutely lovely, friendly helpful and so pleasant to talk to.

There are rope swings in various parts of the trees, I think most of our kids fell off them at some point, they aren't too safe, but we didn't mind as it was lovely to give them some freedom.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Boynielaad 6 reviews from this member

Beautifully landscaped and very attractive site. Well run and maintained.

Free showers. Whilst the toilet block was small (2 cubicles and 2 showers) there were other blocks and the majority of visitors were in caravans and, therefore, had their own facilities.

Excellent value as well.

Close to Sherwood Forest visitor centre (10 mins drive)

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nellanoo 2 reviews from this member

This is a really great camp site. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly and all of the facilities are well maintained.

There is a shop on the site where bread and milk can be bought and a few other groceries but not much. It has an extensive range of camping items, so if you forget something do not fear. I believe newspapers can be ordered here too. In the price of the pitch rental they have hook up facilities, which we didn't take advantage of. However they were happy to freeze my ice blocks every day and even charged my mobile phone for me.

The campsite fills up and is noisier at the weekends, it made getting the children to sleep difficult, but that was only at the weekend and it is our only criticism.

We stayed for 7 nights in a 4 man tent, 2 adults and 2 children, aged 7 and 3. We were situated near the river and the younger children's play area (a godsend!). If only we had known we would have taken the children's bikes as, ALL the children had bikes with them that they ride around the campsite on the tarmac roads and it appeared safe, as long as you locked the bikes up at night.

This campsite is a 5 minute drive from Edwinstowe village where the Sherwood forest visitors centre is, so perfectly situated for Robin Hood fans. There is a CO-OP in Edwinstowe.

It's about a 10 minute drive into Mansfield which has a large swimming pool with slides, as we found out one particularly wet day that we couldn't face being in the tent any more! We didn't explore Mansfield any further.

We had supper one night in the Dog and Duck pub just down the road from the campsite, pretty good food and some dishes are reasonably priced. It is walkable from the campsite, it would be a leisurely 15 minute walk.

A great campsite, beautifully landscaped and such friendly service, value for money, worth a stay.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Monks 15 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip and this site had been recommended by a friend who had stayed here before in caravan.

I was really pleased with this site, the staff were very helpful, the children's playground was good for the children, we were in view of the playground and our children had so much freedom, playing on the playground and riding their bikes. The toilet and shower block with pot washing facilities nearest to our tent was new and very clean.

The shop on site sells the basics, bread etc but we had a drive into Edwinstowe and went to the co-op there, there is a bakers in Edwinstowe and the buns are lovely!

We had booked in for 3 nights but enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night. We really enjoyed our little holiday and can't wait to visit this site again. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bill + kay w 3 reviews from this member

Me and my OH plus our 4 year old niece have just had a very pleasant stay at this site, our pitch was as close as you could get to the kids play park without falling over the fence. Yes I know it could get noisy at times but what do you expect on a site that caters for familys.

The wardens were really friendly and helpful always taking time out to stop and chat.

The on site shop stocked almost everything you would need and was pretty cheap as well, the site is kept very clean and tidy and the showers are spotless with loads of hot water at all times of the day or night.

There are numerous supermarkets nearby should feel the need to shop and most of the local takeaways deliver to the site .

All in all a good all round camp site and well worth a visit

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Banno 4 reviews from this member

Very good site, excellent well maintained facilities, friendly helpful staff, we were pitched near to the under 12's play area along with other families so great for us - our 3 boys enjoyed playing with the other children, fishing with nets in the stream and riding around on bikes. Sherwood Forest a couple of miles away - and we visited at the time of the Robin Hood Festival which was brilliant.

Couple of things to be aware of - pitches quite close together but quiet after 11ish, in the family zone area you are pitched on either side of the roads that run through the campsite so be aware if you have very young children but drivers were very slow and aware of children playing - people had priority really. Quite fast flowing stream in one area so again just to be aware if you have young children. Also on the second night the tent next door to us and one further up had their bikes stolen. A common occurance the site owner said - courtesy of the locals from a nearby estate! again just to be aware - if you're gonna bring expensive bikes keep them chained up!

Don't let that put you off though, it is a lovely site, in a great location, fantastic for kids. I am sure we will revisit

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chez1010 1 review from this member

Loved this site ,so pretty. Was on riverside right near children's play area and very short walk to toilets and shower block.

Toilets always clean. Was next to little river and had baby ducks visiting every day. Shop good had all basics,good camping stock reasonable prices. Staff lovely Plenty to visit near by. Asda not to far away. Basic site but very nice

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a long weekend at Sherwood forest (sat - tue).

The site was quite easy to find, there is a large sign at the end of the lane that leads down to the start of the drive to the site.

On site the reception was well signed and its there that you book in. Reception is also the shop, and wow what a shop it is ! extremely well stock with just about everything you could ever need. From food to caravan spares there is a vast selection and very very reasonable.

Our first night was Saturday and this seemed to be quite a noisy night, so noisy that I had to go out and have a polite quiet word with said noise makers at 11.15pm as nobody in our caravan could get to sleep.

The next morning whilst making chat to other people on the site it was brought to my attention that during the night someone had gone around the site and helped themselves to 15 push bikes. This made me slightly uncomfy but was compounded by the fact that someone had reported the bikes being stolen to reception, but when we booked in noone from the site saw fit to let us know.

(I know this is a problem up the road at clumber park so was not extremely surprised)

GOOD POINTS.

Lots to be honest. Pitch site can only be described as massive.

Toilets and showers where spotless the site it self was spotless.

Plenty of play area for the kids, the site it set out very well.

Mmm bad points seem to be bigger that good points, I'll type the good points up in bigger text that should do it.

All in all a very good well thought out and planned site.

We had a very enjoyable stay and this is one of those sites that you have to go back to we will be doing !

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adiekate 13 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd visit to Sherwood - last year we went in September and we were 1 of only 2 or 3 tents on the site. This time it was a tad busier but no less enjoyable.

The pitch we had was right next to lake just behind shop/reception - we've only been camping 2 years but this was best pitch we have had. (if you ever go see if you can pitch on willow area).

We hope to be going again in 4 or 5 weeks this time with partners grandkids.

Only a couple of points - could do with waste bin next to washing up point near reception plus a couple of benches outside same shower block wouldn't go amiss.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth 109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2331 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016