Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vanessa59 2 reviews from this member

Loved it! a very peaceful and relaxing site with excellent walking from the site and is also very close to Sherwood Forest. Friendly and helpful site office staff and the site had clean and warm toilet and shower facilities. We were given a superb pitch by the lake and regularly had visits from the roaming peacocks and our favourite little white duck!

The nearby town of Edwinstow had everything required for supplies with some excellent shops, which was fortunate as the site shop had very little to offer in groceries.

We will definitely look forward to returning in the future.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lorna-anne 1 review from this member

Our first time staying at this site and it was a fantastic time. The site was very welcoming and helpful.

Our pitch was close to the park so the kids could play and we could watch from the tent.

The showers/toilets were always clean

The discounted tickets to the farm park are very good value.

Would recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wimps 5 reviews from this member

Went for May day B/H weekend + got last hardstanding pitch next to kiddies playground.

We don't usually go for big sites like for this but being smack next door to the playground worked out well as we could keep an eye on the kids whilst chilling !

Good dog walk round the site through woods overlooking lake.

Great base for exploring Sherwood - we visited Sherwood Forest Country Park & Rufford Abbey. You can walk to the Farm Park up the road but we were put off by the price + no dogs.

All in all a good site if you have kids +/or dogs.

The site shop is very well stocked & reasonably priced but some of the reception staff could do with a bit of a lesson in cheerful hospitality (in my opinion anyway, maybe I caught them on a bad day).

We were grateful of the takeaway van on our 1st night after setting up late - very friendly service + good hot food.

Would probably return again if we got the right pitch.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Michelle L 1 review from this member

I chose this site as this was our first time using our Caravan since we upgraded from a Trailer Tent, and it was not too far away from our home.

We arrived later than we planned on Good Friday (since we had to visit the hospital first as one of my sons closed the boot of the car onto my other sons fingers - ouch - but luckily he was fine)! We called the campsite on route and they explained their office was open until 8pm, that was good.

We found the site quite easily as we had a Tom Tom and a local map which the site provided. On arrival we were greeted warmly by all the members of staff and shown our pitch - it was lovely, a stream running to one side of the pitch and the park on the other, which we had requested.

Whilst it was quite busy over Easter Weekend the kids loved it, they made loads of friends and we didn't see them until they were hungry or wanted cash for the campsite shop for ice cream or chocolate! That left us, the parents free to relax and take the dogs walking through the trails. The site put on an Easter Hat parade (which we missed, unfortunately), and an Easter egg hunt which was great.

Although we now have the luxuries of a shower and toilet etc, since the facilities were very close we opted to use them instead of all being cramped together in the caravan. Each time one of us went to the toilet / shower block they were very clean and lovely and warm. (we had discussed camping out in the toilet block on several occasions when the sun went down when it was cold but decided we shouldn't)

All in all, the whole campsite is lovely, very picturesque, clean and litter free. We saw lots of wildlife in the area and fished in the stream, but being beginners we didn't catch any fish. The whole family had a great week and the dogs were well worn out by the time we arrived home, I don't think they have ever been walked so much.

We would definitely book this campsite again.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jay Jordan 2 reviews from this member

Just got home from our 5 night stay at the Sherwood Forest Holiday Park. We are seasoned caravanners having stayed on some of the very best sites the UK has to offer.

The area is great for a week or weekend with some fine days out within a 10 min drive. Sherwood forest visitors centre (Major Oak) is free to park midweek, has a small children's fairground payable with tokens. Great walks along the forest paths and offers good food at a fair price.

Sherwood Pines is home to some of the finest mountain bike trails in England and has different tracks from family to expert, a fantastic day out.

The nearest pub I found was the Dog and Duck (5 mins by car). Food and service was fantastic but you may feel a little under dressed in jeans/t-shirt.

The site on the whole is very good and I'm sure any couple or family would be very pleased with their choice. But its not perfect. The staff are polite and helpful, as they should be. The on-site shop has a large selection of caravan equipment at good prices but only a very basic food selection. The site is well maintained with two play areas which are small and in need of some investment. With no play field, the many children (my daughter included) played around the site on their bikes and in the trees. By 9pm the site was quite apart from the odd call from the resident peacocks. Toilet blocks/showers were cleaned daily. Showers were hot but the push button type, one hook in the dressing area of the cubicle to hold all your clothes is not good enough. Not caravan club standard, if that's what you are used to. If you have family/friends visit for the day they will be charged £5 to park on site, this is more than you will pay to park at any of the local attractions.

To sum up a very good site that I would be happy to visit again for a weekend. Great for children and dog walks. 8 out of 10.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scanvol 1 review from this member

We spent Saturday 28th March at Sherwood Forest Holiday Park and it was very enjoyable. The staff were more that happy to help as this was our first outing with a caravan. We were situated in the Willow area next to the lake and my son who is two and a half and my daughter who is twelve weeks slept straight through!
The facilities were clean shower blocks, toilets etc. No rubbish about and what a well kept site for our maiden run out. Will we be visiting again in the near future. Last thing to note the freeview for us was perfect kept the children amused before bed!

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lolchris 20 reviews from this member

We travelled to Edwinstowe and saw the sign for the site. We decided to go and have a look, on parking we went to reception and asked if we could look round. Wow what a great site, lovely lay out for relaxing weekends. Fishing lakes, walks etc.

After looking round we booked for 13 March 2009 (Friday 13th!). On Friday the van was packed and ready to go. Unfortunately we had a call to say my father in law had taken ill and had to go to hospital. I rang the site and explained the situation and they transferred my booking to another available weekend. We have been caravanning for many years and never experienced this type of hospitality. It makes this site in my experience unique.

We cannot wait to go in April.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lyn hathaway 9 reviews from this member

Just got back from Sherwood Halloween weekend having taken our grandchildren for school holidays (but we stayed the week). Fabulous time, all caravans were decorated for Halloween and children loved going round trick or treating dressed in their outfits, adults too also joined in the fun by dressing up also. All in all a very good weekend

This is my favourite site, all facilities are spotlessly clean, staff especially Yvonne very helpful and the surroundings are abundance of wildlife which come to your caravans

Outside the site is the Sherwood forest pines and Sherwood visitors centre where you can visit the major oak and various other places that you can take kids to and guess what? they are all free and they are doing kids stuff (climbing and playing outdoors)instead of playing on computer games. They loved it

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Donnanne 6 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip and we wanted somewhere close to home in case it went wrong - luckily it didn't and everyone loved it. I'm sure most of that is down to the campsite which had everything we needed. Pitches seemed quite close together when we first arrived but we never felt intruded upon. The kids had a great time playing on the small parks but more fun just running through the trees and watching the river and we felt very safe letting them run around without feeling like we needed to be watching them every minute - everyone is friendly and cars on the site drive really slow so they were never in danger.

The facilities were very clean, plenty of hot water and they never felt crowded, even at night time when people were turning in.

The site wound down at about 10pm and luckily our children were worn out enough to sleep really well and really soon!

We'd definitely go again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JoMC 3 reviews from this member

We chose this site after searching on this website and were not disappointed – it is a lovely site – so thanks everyone for your reviews.

Toilets were clean, there were plenty of showers and lots of hot water. Pot wash was under cover. Our pitch was nice and flat. We were by one of the children’s playgrounds and it was just right for the ages of children we had with us.

There is plenty to do in the local area, we only stayed for two nights but went to the Major Oak, Bolsover Castle, Rufford Abbey and Hardwick Hall (on the way home), but we could have stayed for longer as we felt there was heaps more to do.

The only negative thing I could say is that it was a little hard to find, the postcode took us down a different lane and the signs were hard to spot from the direction that we came from (had to look backwards to see the big sign) but we got there in the end. In retrospect, we shouldn’t have relied on the satnav to find the way from the postcode but should have printed out a google map. (You can see the campsite on google earth).

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth £149.99 Win a OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3868 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


Black Friday SALE
Black Friday SALE
OLPRO have masses of amazing Black Friday offers EVERY DAY throughout November. Prices slashed on inflatable awnings and tents





0.1016