Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tonyb21 19 reviews from this member

Just returned from a three day visit to this site. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

The shop is good and has a really good selection of camping gear so if you forget anything you can buy it on site.

The site was very busy as it was Easter and there were lots of children. It is very safe for them to play - it is a large site so bikes and scooters can be used freely. I have never seen so many happy children!

There are a lot of seasonal caravanners on the site and I do feel that all the best pitches are taken by them. We were on Beech and I loved the fact it was divided by laurel hedges, but some of the pitches on Beech are not that big. We pitched our Vango Calisto 500 with plenty of room but our Montana 6 would not have fitted very well.

The toilet blocks were very clean but the one on Beech lacked any washbasins in cubicles which I personally like.

There wasn't any electric sockets in there either.

The site is in a lovely area - so close to Sherwood Forest and Clumber Park.

All in all we had a nice weekend.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dazzladee 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here over a weekend in March and loved it the site is spotless.Toilet block was really clean the pitches are a good size and the site is in a good location for local attractions (the major oak clumber park is a short drive and a good Sunday market is only a short 15min drive away). Staff was friendly lent us a longer hook up lead for a 10 deposit did not charge for hire. Our pitch was across from the playground so our two kids 5years and 2 and a half years so they were back and forwards all day so we could keep an eye on them all the time. The camp shop was well stocked for camping spares and moderately priced food wise it was a bit disappointing but it was mid March when we stayed so we are going back in August and October for a weekend.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Amaboverd 7 reviews from this member

We go to the site a lot as friends have a seasonal pitch and we only live 20mins away. Our kids love it, they can take there bikes and off they go, there are a number of areas among the trees were they have made small bnx tracks. The showers/toilets are always clean and warm, the shop is very well stocked and has a fantastic parts /camping shop. We go to the halloween weekend every year and everyone gets into it and dress up, there is a prize for best caravan etc and games for the kids, hubby likes to go fishing in the next field at farm park fishing ponds.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Camperdoodles 1 review from this member

We booked this site at short notice i. E. The Tuesday for the Friday and even though a rally was taking place the lady on the phone found us a spot on Beech. We arrived at 12. 00pm and were greeted at reception in a very friendly and helpful manner. We were given a map and told how to get to our pitch along with this a warden followed us down to make sure we found it ok and asked if we needed any assistance in moving our caravan into place. The pitch was a grass pitch which was very level large, enough for our awning and car on either side separated by laurel hedges on either side. We got set up and did the usual visit to shower/toilet block for a look. We can only describe them as immaculate very clean and very well maintained. Everything we needed was right by us water etc. This time we were lucky to be kid free but both agreed the kids would love it as plenty of playing areas for them. The on site shop was extremely well stocked and had everything you would need in case you had forgotten something or like us a new gas bottle. To sum up a wonderful relaxing weekend away with beautiful surroundings, peaceful and quiet. We are already thinking about booking again and highly recommend this place to anyone wishing to visit.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shelley-Dee 1 review from this member

Just come back from a weekend stay on a non electric pitch. The staff are lovely, friendly and professional. The non EHU field was basic with only 2 porta loos that were not great, there was no water in the sinks and it did get a bit icky, so we stuck to using our Kampa Kharzi which is only usually used a night.

Other than that its a cracking site. It was quiet after 10.30 but families were still sat out quietly chatting, which is nice. Site wardens are friendly and always on patrol. I thought it was more towards EHU and permanent residents, however it was a wonderful site and we will be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Lee clan 1 review from this member

This is the second year we have been to this site. We liked it so much the first time that we decided to book again and arrived with several family and friends this time. The site is always immaculately kept, clean tidy and well maintained. A nice playpark for the kids to play in lots of other facilities if you wish to make use of them eg fishing etc in the lakes and river. The toilets and shower blocks are kept immaculately clean and always loads of hot water. The washing up points just as clean and tidy. The wardens are so helpful on site. If there are any problems they are more than happy to help and come down to fix things they can fix in no time at all.

One of our grandsons 4 years old, had an accident in the playpark on Saturday teatime. He was pushed on the slide by an older child. As he tried to get off in a hurry to find his Mummy he fell and shattered his elbow. There was no end of people came to help and the wardens were terrific. Various people from the site phoned an ambulance, we were offered cups of tea by others. The wardens were up and down to the gates several times waiting for the ambulance to arrive. They couldn't have been any better. Thanks to them for all their help. We will definitely be using this site again as we could find no fault with it at all. A lovely site convenient for the forest any shops and local amenities.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thedrurys 3 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this site, we love it.

Campsite is clean & well run, all the staff are friendly & very helpful.

Facilities are great however toilet block on 'Beech' where we were could do with a hairdrier or a socket to use your own.

The washing facilities were a little cramped, but were clean

There was plenty to do for the kids, they quickly made friends. They went fishing & caught several fish which they

Loved.

The dog & duck is a quirky pub nearby, although you couldn't really walk to it.

Overall a great site, we will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hjf139 11 reviews from this member

Just had a fantastic three nights at this great campsite. Facilities lovely and clean, portaloos in hawthorn field always clean which meant there was no long trek to the toilet with a little on in the middle of the night!

Very friendly site wardens who kept the site spotless. Site brilliantly situated for biking at Sherwood Pines, and Sherwood forest Visitor centre.

Definitely going back to this site again, thought it was really good value for the money including the camp shop which sold everything from tent pegs to windbreaks.

Kids loved the lake and river it felt really safe for them.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheLincolnImp 1 review from this member

I have just returned from my stay on this campsite and felt obliged to write a review before even emptying my car. I am a new 'recruit' to the camping scene having spent the last ten years in tents at festivals rather than campsites. I've always found some sites either too close to the festival experience (filthy and crowded) or too far removed from my 'camping ideals' (stringent wardens, unfriendliness, bland surroundings). This site has slotted beautifully into the middle.

I camped in the 'Hawthorn' field with my dad, cousin and their partners. I was surprised at the size of the pitches: We had two and managed to get three tents, three cars and a van on them without feeling crowded.

The facilities were possibly best described as immaculate. On our site there were three portaloos for people to use which were cleaned almost incessantly all day long. The rubbish area was emptied equally as regularly ensuring a clean and sanitary stay. Away from our field there were a couple of toilet blocks and a well stocked shop as well. It may have been a five minute walk down to them, but the discerning camper often has pot washing facilities anyway.

The site itself is set in the most fabulous setting with meandering brooks and rivers weaving in and out of numerous ponds both fishable and ornate. The weather may have helped, but strolling around the camp I often had that 'where else would I rather be' feeling. Peacocks and swans roam the site freely as well just adding a little garnish to an already sumptuous setting. It meant a stroll to those facilities was always a nice experience, with a different route to take each time.

The staff were also a fantastic surprise for me. Instead of the stereotypical grumpy wardens we had friendly individual all too happy to help or stand for a brief chinwag. I arrived after our group and immediately encountered a chap on a golf buggy: he couldn't have been more helpful even if he'd put my tent up for me. Later on in our stay we had a friend join our group who had forgotten a tooth brush. The shop was shut. We'd all drunk too much to drive the short road to Edwinstowe. However a camp warden saved the day by producing one from her own personal caravan. Touches like this don't happen often and for me act as a shining example on the sites friendliness.

We enjoyed a game of football with some youngsters in the evening in the middle of the Hawthorn site. It is true they could squeeze more pitches in if they so desired: but instead they opted for a lovely space in the middle of the field for kids and adults to play. To describe the atmosphere as idyllic would not do a disservice to the people working hard to make this an attractive destination.

Away from the camp the quaint town of Edwinstowe is a five minute drive away, and on a Sunday there is a large car boot sale a few fields down. It's presence isn't noticable from the site, but for those looking for a bargain it is a shot stroll away: a stroll I guarantee you'll enjoy taking.

I do have to be objective and therefore I've racked my brains for a gripe to bring you as well. The only thing I can think of is I was kept awake by the noise of livestock a few fields over, something we discovered in the morning was a distress call as a calf had become stuck in a grill. I think when this is the only black spot on a site (and something out of their control) you get an indication of the quality of the area.

My recommendation? For a weekend break you really do have to visit this place. Everyone there works really hard to ensure that the standards of service eclipse the standard of the area, and they manage it. If you're a fisherman perhaps pack your rod, if you're a family then pack a football, and if you're a young couple in love then pack that surprise engagement ring. This place can cater for more or less anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Evelet 4 reviews from this member

We stayed in the non electric camping field (Hawthorn??). Beautiful field but pitches were very small (and needlessly so given the size of the field), there was a cold water tap and a portaloo but no washing up facilities and nowhere to wash your dishes. The nearest dishwasher area was a good ten minutes walk away. They hadn't even bothered to put some water in the portaloo sinks.

Otherwise a great site I think especially for caravans and if you like fishing! just don't stay in the non electric camping field! (beware if you have children, there are lots of caravan pitches near water)

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2831 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


Black Friday SALE
Black Friday SALE
OLPRO have masses of amazing Black Friday offers EVERY DAY throughout November. Prices slashed on inflatable awnings and tents





0.0996