Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 263 Reviews
                9/10 from 263 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  263 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WENDY09 18 reviews from this member

What a lovely site, can only agree with the other reviews we had a very relaxing and chilled out time.

Craig one of the wardens was very helpful and always happy to chat with us, offering information about surrounding area.

The other campers on this site go out of their way to be friendly and we met 2 lovely couples who made our time here all the more enjoyable.

We must recommend a fabulous Tea shop in Edwinstowe 'The Cakehole' right next to a free car park, it was heavenly, tea served in china cups and the freshly prepared food is delicious with cakes to die for, set in a lovely courtyard in a little sun trap, Lynn & Bob the owners are a credit to customer service, and you must visit the loo for a surprise?? Number 1 on trip advisor!

We give this site 10 out of 10.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jeffi2006 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for 4 nights and I have to say we all loved it great value for money at 21. 50 pn for a family of 4. All apart from a refurbishment on a toilet block that was not finished, having said that apart from the walk we never had to wait. The site is very well maintained and really peaceful and we were next to the play area !.

All in all we will be returning

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Carolinamoon87 5 reviews from this member

My first time camping in a long time and I got to take my amazing nieces with me. The site was pretty with beautiful (albeit noisy) peacocks.

Loved walking around just because and Sherwood forest wasn't too far for us either so we managed to find something to do during the day.

At night we grabbed a chippy from nearby town and tucked in.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Toasty 1 review from this member

This is our second visit to this site. The location is good, away from busy roads, quiet and peaceful, yet within easy driving distance of shops, pubs and places to visit.

Check in is easy with helpful wardens to show you to your pitch and explain facilities. There is a well supplied shop, it also sells lots of camping gear, tables, chairs, gas canisters etc, useful if you have forgotten something.

The toilet/shower blocks are clean and include a pot washing room.

A couple of playgrounds for kids and dog walking area. The whole site is clean and tidy, a small stream runs through it leading to an attractive pond area.

There are a variety of different pitches, some in a more open area, others partitioned off using hedges.

On this visit over the Easter bank holiday, there was an issue with electrics in an evening. They kept cutting out leaving those in tents sat in the cold and dark. Disappointing, but the wardens did try hard to resolve the problem.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jan/phil+holly 25 reviews from this member

Visit this site regularly for w/e trips so don't always leave reviews, but as it was our first outing of this season just thought we would like to remind other campers how good it is. Very friendly reception checking in procedure and as always friendly warden who meets you at your allotted pitch. As always the toilets/shower blocks are kept very clean and the waste bins etc are regularly emptied/checked, but as we have previously mentioned in our reviews, the only slight criticism would have to be the toilet/shower facilities blocks are a little dated and in need of a refurb, but definitely clean and fit for purpose. Small on site shop selling basic essentials and good range of camping accessories at very competitive prices. Just like to mention our claim to fame, we were the only TENT on site this w/e [28th -30th], but the weather was excellent for end of march.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alibearb 2 reviews from this member

Nice site, easy to find and great for Sherwood Forest activities. Good pitch size and even though we went on the Easter Bank Holiday it didn't feel overcrowded even though the site was full. Shop sold a great range of caravan and camping gear at keen prices but not much else in the way of food and drink although there is a large Morrisons about 15 mins drive away. I think the biggest let down of the weekend was the continuous power cuts starting around 8pm onwards, with no information and a really rude 'well if you don't like it go home tomorrow' attitude from one staff member - unbelievable really on an otherwise nice site.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steverav1 1 review from this member

Just arrived back from a weekend here. What a lovely site. We were pitched on riverside section on a hardstanding pitch nice and level and plenty of space.

Only 1 downfall is lighting on a night time. It was pitch black at 10pm could have really done with some lights for walking to shower block also entrance to the site isn't lit up at night either, I went straight past it just as well didn't have the van on the back

Apart from that a cracking site and will be going back soon

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robert 2000 1 review from this member

My wife and I have been trying for a year to visit this site but due to towing car problems have not been able to until last weekend when our youngest daughter wanted to celebrate her 18th birthday with a sleepover with friends. So with hopeful hearts and positive minds that we would actually get away we set off for our adventure.

As my wife had to work until 6 pm, I took the van over on Friday afternoon on my own, the trip from Derby to Mansfield was an easy pleasant drive and the local map that accompanied my booking conformation was a great too. A lovely warm welcome greeted me and I was given a very comprehensive site map and directions to our pitch. The pitch it's self was very generous and I have never seen so much space on a pitch before. I went home to pick up my wife and our 6 year old German Shepherd dog we arrived back in the dark so she had to wait until the morning to see the view for herself.

On the Saturday morning we awoke and sat in bed drinking a cup of coffee and watching 'Duck TV'. We were very lucky enough to be overlooking the lake and the view from the caravan side window was second to none as we sat and lazily watched the ducks, drakes, coots and moor hens swim around and chase each other.

After getting up, another cuppa and more 'duck tv' and a walk round the dog walking circuit, we headed out to explore the area (with a little from the local map) and stopped off at Sherwood Pines activity centre where you can walk, cycle, 'Go Ape', buy bikes/accessories or just sit and chill with a lovely cuppa (we fully recommend the latte, ours were very hot and warming on a cold November day) and a piece of cake, sandwich or hearty meal.

Sunday morning saw us tuning into more 'duck tv' with new additions of 4 Canada geese. The site is so quiet and relaxing that we found ourselves up early and looking to the local map to plan our trip to Sherwood Forest visitor centre. We set off with Bracken for a pleasant walk in the Autumn drizzle that turned into lovely sunshine for the length of our walk and coffee break (well worth visiting too, car parking is 3 at weekends but keep your ticket with you and if you spend 15 or more in the gift shops or cafe you can claim this back off the bill). Back at the camp site we had time enough to spare to view the shop which although not fully stocked (due to the time of year) gave a great insight into delights that left my wife with a very long wish list, this includes new super king sleeping bags (she says I pinch most of it!). My wife was also impressed by the thought that had gone into the children's section as there were pocket money priced items to buy (wooden necklaces/bracelets and matchbox style cars) there were also puzzle books to keep the mind busy and boredom at bay when the weather is being unkind.

The best way to describe this site would be to say 'It is Nottingham's Best Kept Secret' as it is/does what it says on the tin and we are already planning many more trips back again in 2014.

Thank you to the everyone - Wardens, Ducks, Coots, Moor hens and Geese for a wonderful, peaceful and very pleasant stay. Merry Christmas and see you in the New Year xx

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sctait 7 reviews from this member

We arrived slightly early on Friday. The reception was very welcoming & we were directed to our allocated pitch where two wardens helped us to position our van on the generous pitch.

The Riverside area of the site had a number of hard standing pitches separated with laurel hedges sharing a EHU & TV hook up post. There were a lot of caravans that seem to be sited for a period with all sorts of accoutrements such as gazebos & verandas saying that all sited vans where clean & presentable unlike other sites I have been to. There where a variety of pitch types all over the site & I thought the general appearance of the site was impressive. The site looked to be well cared for with cut grass & pruned bushes. The bins were never overflowing & plentiful. The two toilet blocks I used were always clean & in good order. On walking around the site I noticed at least another 2 toilet blocks. There was a small shop which provided basic supplies it also incorporated a camping accessory shop.

I had a problem getting a TV signal & by the time I got from the shop back to my pitch 2 warden were looking into the fault Which turned out to be my cable!

There are 2 great play parks for kids although one was very waterlogged when we visited. There was also a tyre swing over the river & a rope swing near the camping field. The walk around the lake was a cut grass path with no litter or dog mess and it gave great views over the other end of the camp site. We didn't explore the woodland walk this visit.

The area around the campsite has a lot of attractions, Sherwood Pines, South forest swimming pool, Major Oak visitor centre, Rufford & Clumber parks & Thorsby tank museum to mention a few.

Although we only live 30 mins away we will return to this site again.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Marcuslw 7 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a rather rainy over night stay at this site.

On arrival we were greeted by one of the wardens who showed us to our pitch he was very welcoming and helpful

The facilities were all warm and very clean we could not fault them

The site shop is well stocked with camping equipment and basics food wise all was reasonably priced

We will visit again hopefully in better weather

Previous     263 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


346 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019