Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 263 Reviews
                9/10 from 263 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  263 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jinnertomcat 4 reviews from this member

Just stayed at Sherwood Forest for a weekend. What a fantastic site. Friendly staff, beautiful setting, everywhere very clean, nice hot showers. The site was extremely busy on Saturday night and so I would guess that prior booking is essential. We will definitely stay here again.

I can also recommmend the Lime Tree Pantry Pie Shop in Edwinstowe - the lamb and mint gravy pie was delectable.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camper_sylv 2 reviews from this member

Lovely looking site BUT if you are camping without electric you are put on a field 5-10 mins walk from the nearest toilet block. Not good if you need to go quick or if you get up in the night. They need to at least put a portaloo in that field!

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alistair 8 reviews from this member

A gem of a site on the edge of Sherwood Forest. This is a site with character. No flat boring fields here, just vans on different levels. We were by a pond with nesting coots, it was great. There are a lot of seasonals on here, and the folks in them are very friendly. The site has a great little well equipped shop. Wildlife in the area is amazing with toads, frogs, buzzards and owls. Nearby there is walking in the forest and also there is bike hire for the more energetic. A great site with so much going on on the doorstep. We will visit again soon.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmanotts 1 review from this member

Just got back from a one night stay at Sherwood forest. We chose this site as its our first time camping as a family and we only live 40 mins away. We loved the campsite and felt it had everything we needed. The toilets and shower block were lovely and clean and there were 2 good play areas for the kids. We were on Lime 33 and my only complaint is that we were pitched right next to the lake when they knew we would have a child under 2 with us and the rest of the campsite was pretty dead. But this hasnt put us off and we will definitely go back, but next time requesting a pitch away from the lake!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Geoffshumba 10 reviews from this member

An orderly site with a reasonable shop for basic foodstuff and camping / caravaning gear. The site is in nice surrounding with a river and lake, quite sheltered and peaceful. The toilet blocks (there are several spaced around)are clean and well looked after. Despite full occupancy they were not too busy. There is a pub a short drive away, but a Chinese and an Indian take away both deliver. The Indian does a range of food including pizza and English options. Indian dishes were chosen by six of us who had a range of meals - brilliant. The map looks complicated, but actually it is a doddle to find from the A6075, turn at the campsite sign, second right. I would be happy to go again.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Penshort1 1 review from this member

Just got back from a lovely weekend, our first time here. We are new to camping and thought we would try this site due to been just an hour from home. Very impressed. Lovely big pitch. Beach 10. Very close to toilets and showers, which are lovely and clean. Very good site for families, our two boys had a great time apart from been unable to kick a football. But then again we had gone for mountain biking in Sherwood Pines so it wasnt so bad. Defo go back for another long weekend. Just hope we dont get noisy neighbours who have no respect for others, as this was the case this time. Wont be put off though.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amandawilliams 8 reviews from this member

Just got back from sherwood forest. Had a lake side pitch lime 33 with electric. It was quiet and very private as we were across from the seasonal tourers. We were underneath the big willow tree. This has to be one of the best sites we have been to. The toilets and showers werent the best but they were cleaned regularly, also the mop for the showers had its head changed daily!.

The ducks, geese and swans kept my youngest(7) amused. She named the white duck freddy.

There is an asda, tescos and two co-op's close by and I would recommend ma hubbards for tea! 1.99 for gammon, 2 eggs,chips and peas.3.99 for half roast chicken, chips and peas.

We will be going back to sherwood forest hopefully later on in the season.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave, kay and kids 2 reviews from this member

This site is fantastic. Its that good we didn't move for a whole 4 days! And that's with a 2 and a 9 year old in tow! They were never bored. Lots of children to make friends with and a nice play area straight across from our tent. The shop is well stocked and the staff were nice and friendly . The showers were hot and clean. Pot washing area spotless and hot water all the time.

What more can we say just book and you will have a fantastic time. We will be back.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 2mnn 3 reviews from this member

I love this site! Good size pitches, clean shower blocks, plenty of hot water. 2 play areas for children & of course there are ducks to feed on the lake & a peacock roaming the site which will also keep the little ones amused. The shop on site is well stocked with basic fod stuff & camping provisions.

Very relaxing stay & helpful staff. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lyn hathaway 9 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Sherwood in a matter of weeks, beautiful campsite very peaceful and the wildlife is second to none. Stayed on Willow again, sad to have had to come home but will no doubt be returning again soon. The campsite is very well situated to visit all of the nearby forests including Sherwood Pines which our dogs love and we also visited Cresswell Craggs the gorge is out of this world also very educational for everyone.

Previous     263 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1778 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019