Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <5 miles 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Janietee 3 reviews from this member

We picked this site because of the good reviews saying it was quiet and peaceful, and because of the location as we wanted to visit Sherwood Pines.

The booking was easy, with an email sent asking about availability which was replied to within 2 days.

We phoned and booked, paying the full cost as it was within a few days of the visit. Again this was very easy and quick.

When we arrived, we found reception and booked in. The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful and explained where our pitch was, and gave us a map of the site with the route to our site highlighted - I thought this was very useful.

We drove to the pitch and parked the car according to the instructions on the map - with the car on the right of the pitch next to the hedge with the tent to be pitched on the left. Luckily one of the wardens had followed us and let us know (in a nice way) that we needed to park the car on the right of the pitch as you looked at it and not as you were on it.

The pitches were marked out with small laurel hedges and the grass was bare where tents had previously been pitched but despite a torrential downpour as we drove to the site it was very well drained and had dried out with no mud at all. The pitch sloped very slightly (only a small amount) from back to front but this did not cause any problems at all and I suspect helped with drainage. They were plenty wide enough to pitch our Outwell Yukon River 4 tent and park our Land Rover Discovery next to it but they were not as deep as other sites we have stayed at. Again, this was not a problem at all but worth mentioning.

We were pitched close to one of the toilet and shower blocks. This was fairly new I think and had 2 showers, 4 toilets and 4 wash basins. The showers were the type you had to press the button for water but it lasted for around 30 seconds and was not a problem at all to keep pressing. The water was lovely and hot but the pressure was not really strong but it was enough. The toilets were kept clean and and well stocked all the time we were there. I was surprised at the number of campers who went into the building to use it at night, turned all the lights on and didn't bother to turn them off when they left. Maybe having a sensor or something would help? The first two nights we were there the site was very quiet as it was Wednesday and Thursday during term time and I never had to queue for the shower at all during these two days - in fact I didn't see anyone else in there. On our last night (Friday) it was a different story and there were queues as the site had got so busy but it was still very clean. The potwash area was just two sinks in a small room but it was fine all the time we were there.

The site itself has a lot of seasonal pitches and the people we met who owned some of these seasonal caravans were all lovely and very friendly.

The shop on the site is very good and the camping equipment we saw in there was all at a very good price. The food etc is also very well priced.

The site has a lovely river running through it and there are some fishing lakes just out of the back gate to the camp.

This is a lovely site and we will certainly visit again, but will make sure it is during the week as it got too busy for us on the Friday night. The problem was not the kids riding around on their bikes or running around - they were not at all noisy - but we were unfortunate to be pitched next to a family who did not seem to realise that tents are not soundproof and talked (very loudly) until after 1am and kept us awake. To be fair to the site wardens, they had been round at 10.30 to check everything was OK (which it was at that time) but this family were obviously regular visitors as they were quiet until the warden had finished his round, then they started. As this has not been a problem earlier in our stay we had no idea if we could call the warden out, but as we were leaving the next day we didn't want to cause any problems.

Our only other problem was the very noisy pump that pumped water from the river to the fishing lakes - it sounded like a farmers tractor very close by and ran all night on both the Wednesday and the Thursday night. I didn't see any reference to this in any other reviews so it was a bit of a shock. We picked the site because of the noise 'rules' and it was a surprise to be told on the rules that there was to be no noise at all between 10.30pm and 8am (which was one of the main reasons we had picked the site) but then to hear this loud generator/pump running all night. We were ready for it the second night and used ear plugs but it does seem a bit strange to have such an instrusive noise on a peaceful site and no mention of it in any other reviews.Maybe it only runs a couple of nights a month and we were just unlucky, but we would certainly ask before we book next time.

Taking everything into account, it is a lovely site and I suspect we were just unlucky. We will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KES69 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site.

We camped on the Ash field with the river in front and behind us, which was a beautiful setting. However when it rained (alot) the river rose quickly and flooding looked probable.

On arrival we were taken to our pitch which was helpful.

The facilities were lovely and clean although there was only one pot washing sink that was near to us, and the loos were a bit of a treck (glad we took the portapotti for nightime).

The cabin was really useful for chips, and the shop stocked lots of useful items.

Sherwood Pines is really close for a good cycling day out.

Would definitely go here again.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PhilMand 2 reviews from this member

We only stayed 2 nights as we were just passing through but it was thoroughly enjoyable and a lovely site. Staff were friendly and helpful and it was very pretty although I'm not sure what it would be like near the river in high Summer as it looked a bit stagnant and I wondered if you'd get a lot of midges.

Only downside was no mobile phone signal so made it difficult to arrange to meet up with our friends. Thank goodness for the old fashioned telephone box - lol.

Toilets and showers were spotless as you'd expect on a big well run site like this.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Russlee 2 reviews from this member

Visited in a group of 4 families

Very friendly and helpful staff in reception and shop.

Pitches were great, wardens ensuring noise kept to a minumum without spoiling any ones fun, we were often one of the noisy groups but were never made to feel we had to be silent just courteous to others.

Showers/Toilets very clean and warm with hot water always available.

Location great for Sherwood Pines and Edwinstowe is within walking distance.

There are plenty of places for the children to play, adventure playgrounds, trees to climb and lots of open space for football/cricket etc.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline1311 6 reviews from this member

Excellent site! Very well run, clean toilets and showers. We stayed in the Cedar area as we had a 2 year old and wanted to be near the park.

Excellent park, enclosed with only 2 entrances so great to be able to keep an eye on the little ones. We had a very good pitch, very spacious.

We visited Sundown Adventureland which is great and Sherwood Pines and Major Oak.

One thing about the showers, we found the water to be very hot and couldn't shower our 2 year old, had to strip wash instead.

All in all we would definitely recommend this site and will definitely be visiting again.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jan/phil+holly 25 reviews from this member

Returned from a 2 night stay [fri/sat] and very pleased with the overall experience.

Pitched on Beech, good position for all main facilities but grass a little bare in places and ground quite sandy, so not much grip for pegging out.

Warden showed us to pitch and explained basic layout of surroundings etc [very friendly even to our dog who when she is still in car is not always approachable].

Showers/toilets always clean and plenty of hot water, even in pot washing area.

All in all a pleasant stay and already booked for first w/e in June.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: How-camp-are-we 4 reviews from this member

A lovely site with lots of different camping areas for tents, caravans, residents etc. We were opposite the play area and backing on to the stream which was ideal for our children.

The staff were very helpful and completely 'on top' of everything, showing us to our pitch and even offering to help! The pot wash area was very adequate, the toilets and shower area were lovely and warm and spotlessly clean.

The showers are push button and although there was plenty of hot water and good water pressure it didn't last very long between pushes but that's probably me just being picky.

We only visited the shop on arrival to ask where to pitch but it looked very well stocked with food, drinks, sweets, toys and camping equipment.

We visited Sherwood Forest & Sherwood Pines where we hired out bikes for a couple of hours then went for a meal at The Dog & Duck just a few minutes drive away which is well worth a visit.

The pub is very quirky and has excellent service and food! Overall we would def recommend this site to anyone and thought the prices were very reasonable. I've always said I'd like to try different sites every time but I think we will visit this one again!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Morrms 13 reviews from this member

Visited here during Bank Holiday week. This is a very good value for money site.

Cost was reasonable, the pitch was fully hard standing with TV hook up - would be nice if some of these pitches had water and waste water.

Our pitch was right opposite children's park which was ideal for our two girls but had the opposite effect in the mornings when children were playing from 7:30 in the morning on the park and not quietly.

Very safe for the girls on their bikes although you do have to be careful as some children do not slow down for anybody. Site and facilities are clean, shop is reasonably priced.

The site is ideally located for all of the different elements of Sherwood Forest including Clumber Park which is fantastic to walk or bike around or sit and have a leisurely coffee.

We would return again but aim for a pitch not right opposite children's park. The pitches are a good size as well

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leeds Tink 2 reviews from this member

This was our first ever camping trip and I think we have been spoilt. Very well managed site with extremely helpful staff. Wardens were visible, friendly and did an excellent job of keeping the site clean and tidy. Toilets and showers were immaculate and even the portaloo’s on the tent field were kept clean and well stocked with toilet roll. Plenty of pot sinks around the site and a laundry room. Reception staff were welcoming and also manned the shop which sells basic provisions and camping items at very reasonable prices. Clumber Park’s main visitor centre is about a 20 minute drive away and there are lots of cycle tracks near the campsite so we will be taking our bikes next time.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lianners 9 reviews from this member

Great site, toilets and showers were always spotless despite the face that it was Easter weekend and the site was jam packed. Very helpful staff, showed us to pitch and very visible around site if there were any problems to report. Two playgrounds, of the wooden climbing type both are great, lovely woodland walk. Dog walk, very near fishing lakes. Well stocked shop.

It was very busy and the pitches were very close together, some noisy campers and lots and lots of children! However, it was a busy bank holiday and is probably much quieter at other times, they also were very good at shutting down noisy campers when necessary. All in all we had a great weekend, lovely weather and lots to do in the area, by car. We visited Sherwood forest and Clumber park and a car boot next door. Kids made loads of friends. There is a lot of open water so would need to keep an eye on younger children. We felt ours, 8 and 5 were safe to play in the woods but not too close to the water.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth £109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4111 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016