Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW   See Map
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <5 miles 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikjc 1 review from this member

Another great stay for our easter weekend. Wardens to be commended for their continued helpfulness, nothing too much trouble. Shower /toilet block continually cleaned despite the site being very wet at times. Always in attendance and on hand, nevertheless the addition of a family shower/bathroom would be appreciated. The treasure hunt on Easter Sunday was enjoyed by all, young and old alike. Each and every child received a goody bag of sweets, much to their delight. The site itself is always immaculate. On this unfortunate occasion we were subject to torrential rain during the night, but the warden made it his job to inform each of the caravanners on the riverside location, to prepare for the worse and that he would be checking every hour to access the river level. This only made for a more exciting evening. A big thank you to all the team at Sherwood Forest Holiday park. See you again in August.

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Debsy 107 reviews from this member

Visited in between Christmas and New Year. V nice site - we were parked in front of the lake with the river higher and beyond - this is the year of lots of rain and flooding - it was unnerving to hear it raining torrentially at 2. 30 am with the thought of the river hurtling over it's bank, down the site and us being washed into the lake. Ha, fortunately that didn't happen.

Amenities were plentiful and fine and heated - yay. We left at 11am precisely - they came round at 10. 55 to check we were going - never had that before, but that's ok cos we were going (honestly - no we were!) - staff were fine, shop is caravan shop more than food shop (useful to know).

Sherwood Forest ok but I think the forests in N Wales and Scotland are better but that's just my opinion. The visitor centre was like something out of the 1970s but then I read that it's being taken over by the rspb and will be renovated by 2018 so I am assuming it will be 100% improved by then (and maybe the forest management)- it felt very tired. Although the cafe was fine! The forest is fine if you have young kids on bikes etc but it didn't feel quite wild enough for us.

The Dog and Duck - food lovely - you wouldn't want to walk there from the site as it's down one of those country lanes that are 60 mph (I think - it was fast anyway) with no pavement or lights and it's not that near either. The pub was like a country hotel with comfy cosy chairs, wood panneling in places and lots of Victorian Christmas decor - I am sure every area has one of these places, so imagine yours and you'll have it!

Liked the village of Edwinstowe - church is really interesting and ancient well worth a visit. A really nice guy called Greg told us all about it.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyasmum 33 reviews from this member

We visited this site in October and I think it would be very different in high season.

However, for us it ticked nearly every box:

Dog friendly

Friendly staff

Huge pitches - ours was a hardstanding on the edge of the small river, inhabited by ducks, geese and swans

Each pitch was bordered with laurel bushes for privacy

Pitch grass was beautifully neat and tidy. Pea gravel of hardstanding was raked to perfection between each set of campers

Washrooms were beautiful and HEATED

Washrooms cleaned and checked several times a day

Showers were hot and powerful

Shop well stocked and well priced for camping gear - but not much food in stock

Although there were a great many permanent caravans in other parts of the site, they were tidy and well cared for.

The site was very quiet with absolutely no road noise.

Nicely situated with off road walks and cycle rides to local pub and directly to route 6 of National cycle route (although for some reason, this was not pointed out by the campsite staff).

£20 per unit per night. I thought that this was rather expensive until we visited another site that charged the same but was far inferior in every way. I think that it is worth paying extra for heated washrooms at this time of year.

Dustbins and waste were next to pot washing area (which seems to be becoming rare).

Loads of local off road cycle tracks

Downsides:

The site was very dark at night; it would benefit from solar powered lights to guide way (the use of a head torch is vital)

A hairdryer

I would highly recommend this site off season and we will certainly be returning

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karenn2504 3 reviews from this member

Myself and two friends enjoyed a lovely weekend at this beautiful site. It helped that the sun shone all weekend so we just lazed around the site watching the wildlife on the lake. Our spacious pitch, with electric, was in a perfect position at the edge of the fishing lake. The toilet block was right behind us - very convenient for the night trips, and was not only spotless but also empty and warm! The site was clean, well kept and had a lovely relaxing atmosphere. Staff are very friendly too and we will definitely be back soon.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bilbo81 2 reviews from this member

Wonderful site, peaceful and relaxed. Clean and warm shower/toilet block. Friendly staff who helped us to our pitch as it was our first time. Brilliant that you can stay till 7pm on Sunday when booking for a weekend. Truly making the most of it. Had a wonderful time, Will definitely be back soon. 10/10

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 2yorkies 13 reviews from this member

Welcomed here after giving very short notice having been let down by a cs close by. Our pitch was a good size & flat by the lake. Choice of wash/toilet blocks which were kept clean & nice & warm, nice on cold mornings. Some walks from the site, & close to many more only short drives away. Some 1st class fish & chips from local village, Warsop, & they deliver! Thanks to the staff for turning a bad day into a good one.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sv246 22 reviews from this member

Visited for a weekend straight after school as its only an hour away or so I thought. Friday rush hour traffic is awful from the M1 junction so bear that in mind. On arrival reception was good and shown to the pitch with everything explained. We were on hard standing next to the lake which was nice. Be aware of noisy Ducks and duck poo! Water tap only a short distance away, ehu and TV point on each pitch so we set up quickly. We ate out at Dukeries Lodge in Edwinstowe which was about 5mins drive. Good food well priced especially with kids. Shop pretty basic( no wine!) but lots of camping / caravan gear.

Toilets warm and clean but dated with leaking pipe work on the shower and tears in the Lino.

Not many weekend type campers but loads of seasonal pitches. Some looked well looked after but others we're complete eyesores with collapsed awnings and algae green caravans. The kids play areas were basic and could do with a lick of paint, 8&9 yr olds bored within 10 mins.

All in all a pretty and quiet site but I doubt we would return as there is little to do on site and everything is a drive away.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barnabys 29 reviews from this member

Second time here really love this site set in lovely surroundings.

Good sized pitches mainly level

2 X toilet & shower blocks which were clean and plenty of hot water etc

On site camping accessories shop

Kids play area can be quite noisy at times but was quiet after 9. 30

Wardens patrolling regular so site runs smoothly

Great thing about the site is that you can arrive at 12 on Friday and stay until 7pm Sunday so no need to rush around first thing in the morning unlike other sites.

Only 1 minor negative is the mobile reception is very poor but you can't blame the site for that, there is wifi at a price.

Can't add anything else that hasn't been said in previous reviews.

We will definitely be back next year!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CarpenterClan 15 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site, we booked two nights attracted by the river meandering through the site, hoping we would be able to use a kayak on it, alas not as it was not deep enough. For us the site didnít quite live up to the reviews unfortunately. The site is long and narrow much like a street, with level pitches each side of the road with a couple of cul-de-sacs off. Most pitches have a Laurel hedge in between each other. We were directly opposite the toilet block, which had four toilets and two showers in the ladies. The site is very child friendly. There is a good dog walk around the site with bins. The shop looked quite well stocked and there was take away food available at weekends though it had a very limited menu. There is a fish and chip shop and other take away places a short drive away in Edwinstowe. There are a lot of caravans there that obviously stay there the whole time with little gardens around them and huge awnings, we thought these looked a little unsightly, perhaps they could bring in a rule that they get them cleaned once a year or something, they were very dirty. Most of the best pitches next to the river and lake were taken, it was almost completely full when we were there. What let it down for us was a few things, one being opposite the toilets, while handy it was also a meeting point for people chatting, another was as the site was full there were a lot of children and people sitting outside well into the evening so fairly noisy, another was our pitch was devoid of grass in the middle so right where you get in and out of the caravan was mud, with no awning and two dogs you can imagine the state of the caravan after two nights, a rule on breathable ground sheets lifted at night would help that problem. We had requested a hard standing but were told this was the last pitch available, which was a little confusing as once there we saw other pitches not occupied, grass and hard standing that possibly would have suited us better. The toilet/shower blocks were rather dated too, I liked that there was always toilet paper and soap and they were clean, and there was no extra charge for the showers. I didnít like that only one of the hand driers worked and that was cold so not terribly efficient, and the shower was not adjustable temperature wise, it was very hot, I would not have liked to take a small child in there, the spray was not very good and there was just two hooks to hang towels, clothes and toiletry bag on. A hair drier would have been nice too.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Newbi 1 review from this member

We have just returned from this site after a weekend visit. The site was attractive situated around a lake and first impressions were good. The toilets look tatty from the outside but are nice inside and there are several blocks. I can only speak for our closest block but there were only 3 showers, no hair dryers and no bench to leave your clothes etc on while you showered, only hooks which if find impractical.

We were very disappointed with the location of our pitch as we were surrounded by tents. We were directed by a friendly warden to our grass pitch and were the only outfit on our row at the time. We however soon became surrounded by tents pitched v close to us. I think the markers indicated pitches suitable for tent sizes rather than caravans and the tents were exceptionally close. One was perhaps 1 metre from our car and the other so close they hit our aquaroll opening their car door!

We also found the site to be the noisiest we every stayed on! Because the tents all seemed in groups their children were running around together shouting and screaming noisily into the evening. We have a baby and a young child who were trying to sleep whilst his noise was continuing. Admittedly the noise didn't go on too late but due to the pitch size was very close to our caravan.

All in all we found the experience a disappointment. We saw some lovely caravan pitches on the site that were in a quiet area and I would think that they should have designated caravan and tent pitches rather than mixing them together and allow greater spacing between outfits. We won't be returning based on this experience.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth £239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9393 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016