Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW   See Map
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <5 miles 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BRIAN AD 2 reviews from this member

After spending a great week in the Dales we were driving down for a weekend in London and were caught short by traffic. As it was getting late we headed to this site, we rang but it was answer phone but when we arrived there was a number for the warden who agreed to the two of us pitching our tent for 20, even though the rate is 14, and placed us next to the exit in-between 2 streams that flood whenever it rains.

It's nice to see that parks aren't just out to squeeze money out of you!

The washing facilities were below average but the price is above. Good location though.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alexandraormston 1 review from this member

We had a 3 night stay here and it is without a doubt the best caravan / camping site we have visited. It has beautiful well kept grounds, good sized pitches, excellent pristine clean shower and toilet blocks and the same applies to all pot washing areas.

It could be seen the staff work all round the clock to maintain this lovely holiday park. We will definitely return here and recommend it to others.

The shop was well stocked with camping and caravanning needs but the food / drink was very limited - we arrived Tuesday and there was no bread until Friday. No daily newspapers or alcoholic beverages. All in all a lovely enjoyable break at a top quality holiday park.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woldsgirl 1 review from this member

We spent just two nights here over Easter and thought it was one of the nicest sites we had been to.

Great for young kids on the site and for older kids Sherwood Pines park is only 3 miles away. The local village had a couple of nice butchers and a good little supermarket to buy the essentials.

The site was clean and well kept, the showers and toilets were immaculate (and I have very high standards) the shop was well stocked with all things camping and had sweets ice creams and soft drinks but very limited 'proper' food.

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrcresswell 1 review from this member

We arrived late on the 7th Feb which was a Saturday evening which was just our luck as it was my wife and I's first time out in our new motor-home 'Pugsly'. Lucky for us though we bumped into the warden Vic and his wife. They couldn't have been more helpful, they personally guided us to our pitch and shared some helpful tips on touring.

After a very comfortable nights rest we ventured to the toilet and showering block. We were so very impressed by how clean the area was. Sherwood forest holiday park sets a very high standard that I hope all parks will adhere to.

The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The shop is fully stocked and provides almost everything a tourer or camper would need.

We can't wait to go back there.

Thanks again to the warden and his wife.

Date of Visit: November 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jacky56 4 reviews from this member

Arrived to find entrance (bridge over river) flooded. The park representative told us we could get through no trouble. We did get through only to find when we pitched up that the caravan was full of water. Spent three days drying caravan out, but bedroom carpets absolutely stink and unless we can get this out when we have them cleaned will need replacing (a costly out of season break) The staff did not even check if we were ok. Whenever you spoke to the staff they were not very friendly.

The park seems to cater mostly for permanent pitches. Eg at the weekend when these pitches were full the shower blocks were lovely and warm, however during the week the heating was rarely on then they were freezing. Shop not really stocked for food.

Overall could be a nice site if a little more care was taken.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bourne2100 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this camp site for halloween.

Upon arrival reception staff were very helpful and directed us to the pitch perfectly.

The pitch itself was very spacious ( we actually booked 2, as I have a large tent).

The grass was dry while we were pitching (luckliy).

But once we had a shower or 2 the ground got very muddy and slippy, a downside of this time of year I know!

The showers and toilets were clean, although often wet! they were situated close enough to most caravans and tents! just across the way for us. Reception / shop sells most of what you may need while there. But there is an Asda or Tesco only 5 mins drive away!

There are lots of local things to do, a farm just up the road, and lots of small walk around the campsite. It really was a beautiful place. We went to a nice pub near asda, and had a nice hot meal one night. It was nice to be in a warm cosy pub!

Halloween night was great, All the children, and some of the adults got dressed up, and tents and caravans were decorated. We took the children around the caravans and tents to trick or treat! It was such good fun for them. They had gone to a lot of hard work to do a halloween walk through thing for the kids.

All in all a great getaway, I would love to go in the summer, to see all the sights and spend longer!

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Newtoallthis! 8 reviews from this member

Spent two nights on this site and we had a lovely weekend (me, husband and toddler aged 2)

The little park there was great for our daughter's age (slide, bridge, tunnel, swings, etc)

The pitches were all flat and quite well spaced ?(and numbered). The sell cable at the shop for 10pounds that plugs into the tele and gives excellent picture plus all freeview channels.

There's lots of ducks and geese around to feed and they come right up to you and the caravan/tent. There's a shop selling not only food basics but also camping equipment and the prices are really good too. (our little girl loved going for a little bag of 10p haribo)

We had really strong winds the weekend we we there (it had blown off our front gate when we got home!) but we were quite well protected by the trees.

We visited clumber park (5 to park but cheaper if you are a member of national trust) and that's all. There's a farm at the top of the road (5min drive away) from the site that we would visit if we went again (6.50 per person, 1 discount with a flyer from the shop).

Staff at the shop really helpful and friendly and there's a snack van selling burgers, chilli and chips etc next to the shop (opens at 5.30pm)

We would go back to this site it was peaceful, plenty of walks around - oh and the five fishing lakes are a big bonus for any fisherman out there!

The toilets and showers were spotlessly clean at all times of the day.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 24hour 1 review from this member

This caravan site is just great, the pitches are spread out with a choice of hard standing or grass. There are lots of small sites and all have their own name which are named after tree's.
The camp shop has a very basic range of food and a large range of caravan and camping equipment. I think the balance is very wrong, food is the main thing needed when camping!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Windy_nook 1 review from this member

Fantastic site, we were the 'lucky' ones nearest the loos and washing up facilities, opposite the play area, but really even that didn't put us off, the loos were clean the showers great.

Yes it was a noisy w/end but the kids couldn't use the playarea after 8.30, they should be in bed anyway (ok mine weren't, but they should of been!)

Nearby we ate at the Red Brick House, it was fantastic too, the staff were great and kid friendly.

I would recommend this site it was lovely.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Uptheiron69 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful site with handy shop in the reception, spotless toilet & shower facilities in various blocks around the site. 2 average kids play areas but the kids loved feeding the ducks & trying to catch tiddlers in the river.

There's a dog walk & a forest walk on the site which we found really handy.

The staff were always helpful & nothing was too much trouble. There's even aerial points on each EHU point. A site this size could really do with a bar or club house but this is my only real criticism.

The surrounding area is great, we visited the Sherwood Forest Visitor Centre & tried archery & saw the famous Major Oak.

Sherwood Pines is also worth a visit, a mountain bikers paradise with great walks too & loads of kids play areas.

Next to the site is Sherwood Farm Park with all kinds of farm animal & a miniature steam railway which our kids loved.

This is a great site in a fantastic location, we've already booked again for the end of September!

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth 239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5889 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0991