Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <5 miles 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kwijibow 1 review from this member

Debut camping trip for the family. Asked the lady on reception if we could have a plot near the loo's and play park. We were given both, excellent location. The site was quite large, but didn't feel unwelcoming. My son loved the freedom of 'scooting' about on the site and meeting new friends. The pitch was very large, if a little bumpy (this is our first trip as a family, so maybe user error was to blame?). EHU was powerful and directly between the tents, water taps every few tents or so. We had some heavy rain on the Friday evening, but didn't see any standing water around the tents. Showers were red hot, maybe too hot, but better hot than cold. Never struggled for a loo, pot wash or shower. Very clean site, lots of staff keeping the site in excellent condition. Shop was small, but stocked almost everything you would need. Very hard to find a negative. The site was very full Friday night with lots of BBQ and parties going on, but didn't notice any noise after 2230.

Would highly recommend this site for anyone, looking forward to going back soon.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Poppy71 3 reviews from this member

We have spent a wonderful 4 nights on this friendly campsite. We were caught by the tailend of hurricane bertha and were lucky just to be very very wet. Others were flooded and the staff came to everyone's rescue.

The toilet blocks were spotless, as was the laundry and potwashing areas.

The walks around the camp, next to the river, for dogs had bins at regular distances, so there was no mess.

The site shop was well equipped with everything a camper could need, and the prices were good.

From friday night there is a weekend snack hut. We left on the saturday morning and we had to have one of their delicious bacon butties after trying to get everything back in the car.

Can't wait to return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TimKing 3 reviews from this member

Just had a 6 night break on this site and can highly recommend it!

The site is well laid out, the pitches are good sized, with plenty of water and drainage points.

The toilet blocks were ok and regularly cleaned, I didn't use the showers.

We were on site during the freak weather (hurricane Bertha) and I have to say that despite the flooding, the staff took it in their stride and coped really professionally.

I only have one small criticism and this is no fault of the site staff at all, but we were on pitch 50, a very large corner pitch, but other site occupants thought it was ok to use our pitch as a thoroughfare to take a short cut! Kids riding bikes between our car and caravan, adults dragging water carriers across our front door!

That aside, highly recommended!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aimeerogers 1 review from this member

We stayed here this weekend and found it good for young families. Long camping field which was away from roads for the kids. Well stocked shop if you forget anything.

Shower block a bit of a walk away from the camping field but there was porta loos available down the middle of the camping field.

Only one washing up sink (that we could find) which made for a lengthy wait at peak times!

I don't think we would return back but more down to the lack of things to do in the area than the campsite. We went to Sherwood Pines one day and the miniature railway another.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jw7a28 5 reviews from this member

Just had a weekend here on the non electric tent site the hawthorns we took advantage of the 39 weekend offer check in Friday and out 7pm on the Sunday which is great value. Check in was great very friendly staff and a guy who shows you your pitch and explains the facilities etc. The pitch was good sized and although the site was nearly full there was no noise issues it was a friendly atmosphere. This site is well run and tidy the river and lake make it a very nice setting and we had a good weekend, however the camping field has no proper toilet block it had two porta toilets which to be fair weren't great, the toilet and shower blocks and pot wash are quite a trek from the camping field this is the only negative I can say. That said give this site a go its worth a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happycampers8081 3 reviews from this member

On arrival we were greeted by the very friendly reception staff. We were given a useful map of the site, indicating field names, pitch numbers, toilet blocks and children's play areas. A warden then followed us to our pitch (grassed EHU on Beech bordered by laurels!). He gave a brief intro on what was where which was again useful.

The grassed pitches on this area are approx 8m x 10m and you pitch your tent on the left with your car on the right. For our tent the main opening was 1. 5m from the road with neighbours left, right and opposite. It did feel like you were nearly on top of each other.

We were also unlucky in that the two families in the caravans opposite did not abide by the 10. 30pm noise curfew and their conversations and music were still audible at 11-midnight. This is not the site's fault though and didn't spoil our nights there.

The toilet block was close by and was clean and acceptable. The showers weren't great, in terms of power and spray but were hot at peak time in the morning and not overly busy even on a full weekend. Pot washing facilities were fine and clean.

The site shop was well stocked and as others have said the site is lovely with a river and lake running through it. Great for a wander at any time of day.

For us the only downside is that there is no field for kids to run around on away from tents and caravans. This means there is only the road, as for us the playground was too far for them to go on their own. While that's great for them scooting they need constant supervision as it is a road and constantly used during the day.

Overall a really nice site in a great location (nr Sherwood Forest visitor centre, Sherwood Pines etc) but with a couple of minor issues for us.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juliebelper 11 reviews from this member

My twins and I have just returned home following a 2 night stay at this fabulous site. As we took advantage of a couple of teacher training days off school, we found the site to be very peaceful and very quiet. Just what was needed. We practically had the lovely clean and warm toilets to ourselves on Beech. It does fill up over the weekend apparently. Our pitch was a very good size with laurel hedges on 2 sides and hedging behind for privacy. There are pleasant walks through the site, along the river and around the pond. The ducks at the pond are so tame and eager to be fed, will eat straight out of your hand. As the site wasn't busy we had an EHU pitch for a non EHU price and to be honest I would pay the difference to go onto these pitches anyway. The site has a disabled bathroom, using a RADAR key for access. The children's parks are good, although my boys only used the older children's one. The shop looks well stocked and the reception staff were friendly and very helpful, with a sheet of local shops and places to visit given with your booking sheet.

Sherwood pines was a great place to visit, 4 parking. Clumber park is lovely too. We finished off our trip with lunch at the Cake Hole cafe in Edwinstowe, wonderful cakes.

We will definitely use this site again and would highly recommend it.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wolfitman 11 reviews from this member

Superb. Excellent weekend package that enables you to have a full weekend as you do not need to be off until 7pm on Sunday. Spotlessly clean and tidy facilities which were never really under pressure even on a full weekend. Beautiful setting with two rivers and lakes to walk, relax and watch the World go by. I can't fault from the first call to book to having to leave yesterday, everything was 10/10.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Craig Harrison 5 reviews from this member

Well here I am at midnight at the site writing my review, something I've never done before, but then again I've never been somewhere so terrible.

The location is lovely and the potential is great,

Unfortunately despite the site rules saying how it's a family site and noise beyond 10. 30 isn't tolerated, that is a complete joke. We still have stereos and loud shouting going on. And until 30 minutes ago we even had a large group with a guitar singing loudly. Site security briefly popped down once, but it started straight up again, and they've not been seen since.

Would I come here again? Not a chance. In fact we're probably going to go home early as I don't really fancy staying any longer

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WENDY09 18 reviews from this member

What a lovely site, can only agree with the other reviews we had a very relaxing and chilled out time.

Craig one of the wardens was very helpful and always happy to chat with us, offering information about surrounding area.

The other campers on this site go out of their way to be friendly and we met 2 lovely couples who made our time here all the more enjoyable.

We must recommend a fabulous Tea shop in Edwinstowe 'The Cakehole' right next to a free car park, it was heavenly, tea served in china cups and the freshly prepared food is delicious with cakes to die for, set in a lovely courtyard in a little sun trap, Lynn & Bob the owners are a credit to customer service, and you must visit the loo for a surprise?? Number 1 on trip advisor!

We give this site 10 out of 10.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth 109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1313 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016