Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <5 miles 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Christine.bostock@h 2 reviews from this member

Super site for familirs or couples with caravan or tent, plenty of space. Clean well maintained site, close to many attractions and places to eat. Staff always cheerful and helpful, we have visited several times and have never been disappointed. If you do not have children it is best to ask to be away from the playground enabling families to be together were they can watch over their children, we will visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louise Ensor 2 reviews from this member

This is a great campsite. We stayed on the overflow field which is a bit of a walk from the main toilet and washing up facilities.There is a stand pipe and 2 porta loo's in the field. They are spotless! Staff were very friendly and emptied the ample rubbish bins twice daily. The two play areas were OK my kids liked them but much preferred to find a game of cricket being played in the middle of the field.

We recommend both the Indian take away and the chinese take away in Edwinstowe which is a 10 min drive away. THere is a mobile cafe that is on site at various times which serves jacket potato's and burgers. Menu's for these are available in reception. The Sherwood visitors centre is well worth a visit to see the major Oak and to try and spot Robin Hood.

There were a couple of parties going on with loud music but we were not disturbed to much as at the other end of the field. The manager came to see the offenders the following day and was not amused. There is a 10.30pm noise limit.

All in all a fab campsite we will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scats.miller 41 reviews from this member

Great Site, lovely to walk around and plenty of walks just outside. Very attractive lakes inside and outside the site. Helpful staff on our four day stay, adequate shop and supermarkets not too far away. Showers were good and kept very clean during our visit. Pitches were ok some a little cramped but all well drained.

Went with a Rally so made use of the club-house on site. No noise audible after about 10.30pm

Site dog friendly with quite a long dog walk

Would visit again primarily to explore the surrounding area looks like there is a lot to see

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: S.a.s 4 reviews from this member

My partner and i(who are relatively new to camping) decided to take our young children on their first camping outing and chose this site as it was the nearest(in case of it being a disaster)

The first thing that struck me when we arrived was how well kept the site was,right from the entrance,they have all kinds of different trees lining the road to the reception. Booking in was quick and easy and the staff were very helpful,they showed us to our pitch(on the overspill field which was cheap at 12!) and instructed us how to set up regarding the tent/car position, as it turned out the overspill field was the best place for us to be, a bit more room for the kids to run around and we didn't feel as though we had to keep looking where they were. They basically loved it and got straight into playing with the kids chairs that we bought on arrival at the reception for 2.95

There are two play areas for kids,the one for older kids wasn't so great to be honest,but the little kids one was fine,all the toilets were kept clean and tidy and regularly maintained which was nice

One thing that was missing in my eyes was a bar,it would've been nice to have a drink on site, but all in all, it is a beautiful place to visit, with nice lakes and streams and was generally very peaceful with a helpful welcome

We`re gonna try and go again this weekend

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Claire_Leicester 7 reviews from this member

Our first time at this site and we stayed for a two night weekend break. We were on a hard standing pitch right next to the stream, which was lovely to look out on to especially with all the ducks there.

We really enjoyed the site and would recommend it highly. Even though it was busy, it wasn't noisy and always clean and tidy. We went for a walk to the Major Oak which was only about an hour away, but we went through some lovely tree lined walks.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. The shop stocked the basics but also has a great range of camping equipment and at really good prices.

The toilets were clean and well looked after (could do with modernising), but other than that they were spotless.

Would definitely recommend it to anyone want a nice quite break from it all

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rexel 17 reviews from this member

This site was bigger and better than we expected. I don't think the website does it justice. We were lucky and got a beautiful hardstanding pitch right by the lake with dozens of ducklings for neighbours. It is a mixed bag of a site; some statics, seasonal pitches, permanently sited tourers etc and the prettiness of the pitches varies widely. The site was clean and tidy and the vast majority of the more permanent units were well tended.
Our hardstanding pitch was a good size with hedged borders. The site office was well staffed on arrival and we were dealt with swiftly. There are 2 play areas on site, one for younger kids, one for older children. The lake and river are very pretty, but some of the water is fast moving and could be a worry if you are pitched close to the water with young children.
We stayed for a long weekend and Friday and Saturday evening were noisy with people out drinking, talking, listening to and playing music into the early hours. Sunday evening was much more peaceful. We also experienced some daytime noise from a nearby off road bike / scrambling event during the weekend. The site has one of the best dog walks I have come across.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jesssam 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here in mid June with the children and another family and their kids and have to say what a gorgeous place it is. We were on the overflow field which isn't quite level (but near enough) and the pitches were large enough for a Vango Tigris 800 and Outwell Hartford XXL, although they had no electric hook-up (We booked 3 pitches for 2 tents and really didn't need the extra room).
The overflow field is just that, a field with 2 portaloos and a water tap. Doesn't sound great but the toilets were cleaned twice a day and the centre of the field provided a great place for the kids to play cricket, football etc. It was quiet at night too.
The rest of the site is, however, beautifully landscaped being set around a lake and small river and is nestled between the trees. If you get the choice, book a pitch in the main area, it's more geared up for caravans but there are plenty of tent pitches with electric hook-ups. The main area is also a lot better served by toilets, showers and washing-up facilities. The nearest of these to the overflow field are about 4-5 minute walk away if you are at the far end. We took to driving into the main site with the washing up! When you got to them, the showers were very clean with plenty of hot water and no queues. The site operates a good system of asking guests to clean the shower floor after themselves which seemed to work really well.

The staff on site were great and tolerated the kids running and cycling all over the place.

The site shop is a little basic but has all the essentials and is cheap for camping gear.

Although we only used it for coffees and a couple of snacks, the take-away bar looked very popular and again was run by really friendly staff. There's also a cafe at the adjoining large fishing lakes which does breakfast at weekends.

There are a couple of kids' play areas on site but our children found wandering and playing by the shallow water a lot more interesting.

We used the site as a base to explore Sherwood forest and it is close to all the main attractions in the area.

All in all, this is a very nice site and we'd definitely go back.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jholtuk 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weekend at this site, and agree with previous reviews that this is a wonderful site, our new favourite 'local' ground.

The site is easily found but we do know the area so don't really know how easy it is to find if you are from further afield, the entrance to the park isn't particularly clear until you are driving through the gates.

Upon arrival the reception is clearly marked and the staff were friendly and helpful, we saw a few arrivals asking for particular pitches next to friends and these were accommodated when possible and it was already fairly busy. The shop located in the reception sells basics and camping / caravanning supplies and is pretty cheap for a site shop.

The site is absolutely beautiful with lakes, trees, streams and walks. There were 2 playgrounds, one for under 12's with a climbing frame, child swings etc on a wood chip floor (although as usual older kids can try to take over at times and no parents seem bothered to stop them) and another park at the other end of the site probably more suited to the older children with slides, monkey bars etc.

The pitches were generous and very level. The showers in the main site were always clean and warm, not very powerful but was enough. We didn't have to queue despite the site being pretty full.

We had a walk to The Dog and Duck, which is very nice and worth a visit. We didn't eat there but they do a 2 course meal for around 10 or 3 courses for 13 or somewhere around that price until 4pm and also have live entertainment.

The only real down sides to the site were the slightly poor pressure in the showers (although as said before they are adequate) and that there are loads of seasonals on site and a lot of them do look shabby which ruins some parts of the site which everywhere else is lovely.

We decided to stay longer on our last day (kick off time is 11am) and it cost us an extra 5 to stay to 4pm, this was sorted out without any problems.

Overall the site is very clean and tidy. Close to Sherwood Forest and other areas worth visiting.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joolzc 2 reviews from this member

Have just spent such an enjoyable bank holiday weekend at this lovely site! We were too late to book on the main site and ended up being on the overspill field, which turned out perfectly. My daughter spent the entire weekend playing football cricket or rounders in the centre of camp, making friends with kids of all ages, (which is what camping is all about!) we were able to relax while keeping an eye on her.
There is a little stream for the kids to play in and 2 playgrounds, but we never made it that far. There were 2 immaculate portaloos in the field and a drinking water tap. The pitches were generous and very level. The showers in the main site were always clean and we didn't queue once despite the site being very full.

We went to lunch at The Dog and Duck, which is about 5 mins drive away, lovely food, a bit pricey and you have to check out the decor. Edwinstowe is a lovely little town, with a supermarket to get all your basics.

It was my 61 yr old mum's first camping trip (she's more 5 star hotel) and she loved it, which has to be the best award we can give!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DianeandPaul 7 reviews from this member

Just spent last Weekend at this campsite. It was very easy to find. The staff are very friendly & helpful. The location is beautiful. Loved how the campsite is set out. As we only arrived Saturday we decided we needed a bit longer to stay on Sunday so it cost us an extra 5 to stay to 4pm on Sunday.
Very clean and tidy. Not far from Sherwood Forest which we went to. Will be going to this site again.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth 109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2394 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977