Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW   See Map
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <5 miles 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emmeline 1 review from this member

We arrived Friday and stayed 2 nights.

The pitch was ready for us and a very nice warden showed us where everything was.

We ending up on a pitch surrounded by caravans. At first I wasn't too bothered but they were not a very friendly bunch. The caravan lot seemed to only speak to other caravanners.

The site has a lovely river running through it. All the children were playing and splashing about in it.

The site has a children's play area, but is geared towards younger kids.

The site was clean and tidy at all times.

The shower block had no electrical point for a hairdryer. The showers themselves were luke warm and not very powerful. Made it difficult to wash your hair. Toilets were clean. Nice little shop, and a burger type van that comes on and sells food.

Overall had a nice time. But lacked atmosphere because of the miserable caravanners.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sjdyke2 1 review from this member

Excellent peaceful family site. Good facilities and shop full of essential camping accessories. The toilets, showers and washing facilities were excellent and kept extremely clean. The staff were pleasant, and the surroundings of the campsite were picturesque. Everyone should make a point of visiting the next door steam railway too - brilliant value for money and great for kids of all ages!

There were also excellent playgrounds on the park for children - younger and older were catered for.

Unfortunately the local pubs and restaurants were slightly too far to walk to which was a shame, as we did not want to need to use the car all the time.

The only complaint as such, was being woken too early by the noise of peacocks in the grounds and geese flying noisily overhead in the morning - though nature is far preferable to noisy people (of which there were none) !

This was our first 'family' camping experience and if they are all like this site we will be happy.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jan+bertha 3 reviews from this member

Well what a fantastic site in beautiful surroundings. All the pitches were well spaced some separated by hedges. The staff were very welcoming and we were met at our pitch by a ranger who informed us of all the facilities and their whereabouts. There is a lovely dog walk and fishing lakes. The nearest pub is about a mile and a quarter away and the nearest village is Edwinstowe about 3 miles away.

We will certainly be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kelly and Broydon 23 reviews from this member

We spent a weekend away with our children and friends in our tents.

The site is a lovely site set around several ponds with modern facilities and a good shop. The stream is lovely and offers a bit of fishing if the kids aren't splashing in it, which a bit of sunshine and you'll find lots of them in it. Close by are nice walks and large fishing ponds which you can pay to fish. Several nice play grounds for the kids to play in.

So far it sounds perfect but alas all this is for those who are not in the main camping field who have a long walk and a portaloo but do have pegged spaces which for us were allocated for some odd reason half way up the field away from perfection.

As it wasn't busy there was plenty of room to play football and cricket which we all loved.

Good location and Sunday offers a local Car boot in walking distance.

Would we come here again? no in the camping field (this is the same price as the lower site) and perhaps in the lower fields among the caravans but not our idea of ideal, sorry.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helen Sc 1 review from this member

Just returned from a weekend stay at this lovely site. My first comment has to be about the staff. They were cheerful and helpful at all times. Our jockey wheel broke and we were discussing it with the lady who met us to park up and give us all the info regarding the site. She proceeded to go back up to the office, browse the net, and returned shortly after with the name and address of the nearest supplier. Above and beyond her remit I would say. There were loads of staff around the site and I never saw one looking anything less than happy and they were all really helpful and sociable. The actual site itself is incredibly well maintained. The facilities were always clean. As a mum to a toddler it would have been nice to have a step in the toilet block so my little one could wash her hands more easily. But that really is my only tiny gripe. We were on Cedar which I would say is ideal for a family with very young children. The playpark was an absolute boon. We didn't actually leave the site but we are relatively local and I can advise that there are loads of things to do nearby. We will definitely be visiting this site again. A real gem!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tel and mand 7 reviews from this member

Just come back form weekend at Sherwood Forest caravan park, what a great weekend. The staff here are among the best you'll find could not have been more helpful, after guiding you to your pitch and pointing out where all the water points and amenities are they tell you that if you have any problems just to give them a call.

Site itself was extremely quiet even though there was a concert in Sherwood pines and the site was full off concert goers we had been warned there might be a bit of noise but I can honestly say we did not hear anything at all.

Facilities were spot on clean and plenty of hot water. Playground at north end of site has good equipment for younger children but playground near to centre is a little lacking only having a slide and climbing equipment. Overall this site is extremely good value.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Philp7 7 reviews from this member

We visited this campsite for our first weekend camping break of this year and loved it. Only about an hour from home.

True, we were blessed with lovely weather but still appreciated what the site and surrounding area had to offer.

Our site was right at the top end -on Oak - so was a bit of a way from the shop / reception etc but it really didn't matter. Our pitch was large and had EHU. It was a very short stroll to the fishing lakes. The toilet / shower / washing up block was a short stroll in opposite direction. Our only niggle was that there weren't a few more water taps dotted around our area.

I must make a point of saying how fantastic the staff are on site - from reception / shop to wardens. Very friendly and happy to chat. The shop is full of camping accessories at very competitive prices and as a result I spent a few pounds there.

Away from the site we ate at The Dog and Duck on the Friday evening and had an enjoyable meal. Our grand-daughter's chicken goujons and chips all home made.

We spent a good few houra at The Sherwood Forest Visitor Centre which is close by. However we were a bit disappointed by the Thoresby Market on Sunday- nothing special.

We will definitely return to the site and would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SunshinecamperDR 14 reviews from this member

Just had 4 nights at this campsite, lovely site, we were on lime, next to water. We have a kalahari 10 and we had plenty of room for trailor and car. Toilet block is spotless only little downfall is that the showers could have done with a seat or shelf to put your things on. There are plenty of places to walk and cycle, plenty of places to visit in surrounding areas only a short drive away, coop, asda, morrisons nearby. Friendly staff in shop/reception. 2 play areas for kids. Would have been ideal if there could have been a shallow part of water were kids could have gone in rock pooling etc. Would return again as its not miles away from us and ideal for a short break. Bonus was that we didn, t have to leave the pitch while 7pm on a Sunday.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: We bobbers 3 2 reviews from this member

Feel the need to write a comment about this fabulous campsite. This is now the forth time we have stopped here and this was no different to the other visits in every way, its just fantastic! We particularly like the pitch departure times as you feel your getting what you've paid for and ultimately you can enjoy your weekend to the 'max' by being able to stay until turned teatime on Sunday. The staff are lovely and helpful shame to hear that a warden couple had moved on since our visit in October but nevertheless as one door opens and all that.

Shop is always well stocked and very well priced, showers and loo's are as you want them - clean and tidy, but please guys take to trouble to clean up after yourselves after using these facilities like you would at home, the wardens aren't our slaves/maids. Excellent location for walking and cycling the Sherwood Pines is close enough to cycle to and from but you do have to use the roads for a short bit - take care!

Book and enjoy this site with confidence, trust me, you will enjoy it and come back.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Northern Pirate 1 review from this member

This was our first time at the site and we were a little apprehensive as we had also decided to travel a little further for our 'weekend' break.

Firstly the facilities are pretty much what you would expect for a 21st century campsite. Clean showers and toilets, dishwashing facilities, plenty of water points etc.

For us the biggest thing was the layout. The site is immaculately maintained and very beautiful. Lots of trees and well kept pitches and with the River Maun serenely meandering through the site it is very picture postcard.

We have a 3 year old son and we were pitched on the Cedar area with other families with young kids. About 10m from our pitch was a play area for under 12s which my little un loved and spent most of his time there. It has been carefully thought out as there is also only one way in or out of the play area which basically meant we were never worried about him wandering off.

Our pitch was the only non-electric in the pitch area so we were right by the tap and toilets, but even though we were there during bank holiday at no time did our pitch become the M1 for those going for showers and washing up. The pitches are a good size about 10m x 8m and you are expected to get your tent and car on there.

Another good point is that on a weekend or a bank holiday you do not need to leave until 7pm which was like an extra day to us.

The site is well placed for all of the Midland's sights. Alton Towers and Drayton Manor are 50 minutes drive away plus there is a little steam railway about 10 minutes walk from the site. We took our son to Sundown Adventureland which is a theme park especially for u10s and he loved it.

Locally there is an Asda, Plenty of Takeaways and Mansfield only a short drive for a bigger selection.

The site has a very strict self-policing code we found that this was adhered to with very little noise after 1030. One thing I also noted was that we spent an evening out and did not return until 1130 but you were still able to get on to the site. Security is not an issue as you are about a mile from the main road with the site on its own private road.

All in all a wonderful, friendly, family oriented site and we have already booked up to go again. I would recommend this to anyone with a young family.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth 239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6578 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016