Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW   See Map
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <5 miles 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sally18 2 reviews from this member

This was our first time out in our new caravan and we had a lovely long weekend on this site. The toilets blocks are very clean and washing up facilities are excellent. We were sited on a very large pitch next to the children's park which was ideal for the grandchildren to play but may be a bit noisy just for adults. However, the site has many other pitches in different areas which would be much quieter. The shop has all the essentials you may need and reasonably priced accessories. All the staff were friendly and helpful making it a very pleasant few days.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Webbo4 1 review from this member

FANTASTIC. A pleasant drive through to the park itself. A friendly welcome. Toilet /washing up area and Shower rooms were clean. Our children made friends very easily as we were very near the park area and we could watch them from where we were sitting. The shop was reasonably priced. We did not bring a electric hook up cable long enough but, the reception staff offered us an extension cable without charge, due to the person next to us camping directly in front of the electric point. Which I thought was lovely. There is a lovely walk if you have a dog. Very close to Sherwood Pines which we spent most of the day walking with the dog. There are plenty of places in the surrounding area if you want to eat off the site. Will go to this Holiday Park again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulncathy 3 reviews from this member

Super site. Reception/shop well stocked with basics and some reasonable camping equipment. All staff very friendly. They will give you a site map, but also ask for one on the local places (all very close). We only managed Sherwood Pines (Cost is only 3 for the days parking), but it was great and will be back. They also offered us half price tickets for the local farm park.

All facilities very clean and no queues experienced. Glad we took the bikes for the kids as the site is quite large in its layout along the river.

There was a nearby generator running on our first night, but having mentioned this to the staff they contacted their neighbour and it stopped at 10pm the next night thankfully as it was a disturbance once it went quite.

We'll definitely be back (and we don't often say that).

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Spudulike 3 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site.

Our main reason for our visit was the fishing which I have to admit is very very good, it was just a short walk from the site if you are camped at the bottom end of the site (Pine etc)or you can drive down the Farm Park track and park closer to your peg.

The site is kept very clean and tidy, there are quite a few permanent pitches of which some have been left neglected and are unsightly.

The shower blocks are clean but when the site is full the 2 showers each M/F are insufficient.

I was very surprised to see that the entrance to the site was left open all night (apparently broken)this was even more apparent when a car was seen driving through the site suspiciously. The Friday night we came back from a night out with friends and locked up as usual. The following morning we discovered someone had been into our awning and taken our cool box (full) talking to a family group later they to had had items stolen, cookers, alcohol etc. This we reported to reception who offered to help out with milk and gas. The cool box (empty) and empty beer cans etc were discovered on the farm track later in the day.

All in all we had a very good stay especially the fishing and friendly atmosphere. Spoilt only by the theft.

There is plenty too see and do in the surrounding are, Sherwood forest, The Great Oak and various close by pubs etc

TV hook ups available due to poor signal but not the standard antena connection. I had my satellite dish and had excellent reception.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Monks 15 reviews from this member

What can I say, this is our third visit to Sherwood Forest and it never disappoints. We stayed for 3 nights this time in Beech area where we haven't stayed before. The showers, toilets and pot washing areas were cleaned everyday and the staff were helpful and friendly.

We planned to visit Rufford Park in the area but the children just wanted to ride their bikes and play on the playground. It is so child friendly! We did go to Edwinstowe for Fish and Chips and visited the local bakers. There are lots of traditional shops in the village, butchers and bakers and a small co-op for essentials (there is an ATM machine).

This time of year there are loads of blackberries around the site and we had a lovely walk picking them and stopped to feed the ducks and swans on the lake.

We love this site and plan to visit again soon.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tour de Wales 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here 4 night during August.

After a long drive we realised that we would arrive on the site at after office hours 5pm so rang ahead, a member of staff was available when we arrived and gave us a good welcome our pitch number and details, it was a busy weekend and the site was full (local event at Sherwood forest)advisable to book before hand.

Unfortunately the pitch was under big pylons immediately contacted reception and they went out of there way to relocate us although it was tricky as the site was full. Excellent service here !

The site was in a lovely peaceful location next to a lake with ducks and swans on lots of walks in woods to explore.

The shop was not that well stocked with basic essentials and only open office hours,but was reasonably priced, there is a local shop in the near by village we used for supplies.

The showers blocks are dotted around the site are clean with plenty of hot water. There was a mop and bucket so people can dry the floor after using the shower.

Portacabin toilets were supplied on the overflow field as it was a good walk to the main block.I cant comment on these.

We found this a quiet site and at 10.30 the on site warden came around to ask people to keep the noise level down and ask if everything is OK.

We had 4 good nights sleep here no problems would consider this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pink palace 5 5 reviews from this member

A lovely site and very child friendly. I was sited next to the river and had ducks come to visit 3 times a day and would feed out of my hand. Lovely safe play area for children.

Showers were clean and spacious. Shop on site was very handy and had good basic essentials. Laundry room was very good.

Nearby was a short walk to a farm that had rides and a petting corner and a cafe serving excellent value food and drinks. It would've been good if there was a few sign posts to this farm as we came across it by luck rather than direction.

No local transport links to or near site but taxi numbers were available on notice board.

Definitely coming back.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bigglesam 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site for two nights, the set up of the site is great, toilet blocks clean, water lovely and hot and plenty of facilities. The washing up areas are fine as well. Children's play areas were good. We took siblings, niece who is 2 yrs old and a dog.

We were on the non electric hook up field for tents, the pitches were large and reasonably flat. There were portaloos and bins in the centre of the field and two taps for water. The wash room and washing up facilities were about a 5 minute walk away, depending on which end of the field you were situated at.

The negative part for this review which is not mentioned on any of the other reviews read is that there is a train line at the bottom of this field, our pitch was next to the train line and haulage trains run on it, the last train was about 11.30 pm, we had two trains after 10 pm which woke up the 2 yr old. If you want a peaceful nights sleep try a tent pitch somewhere else on the site!

The camp site is close to a Farm yard which is open for kids, Sherwood forest - major oak, Nottingham, White Post Farm and other attractions.

In addition and on a positive note, there was a large group of very noisy people on the site who were asked to leave the next day having kept most of the site up, so the policy of quiet after 10.30 pm is robustly imposed - if your a large group who want to make noise don't go to this site!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Carolineplumb 2 reviews from this member

First time campers & found this beautiful site.

Really good value, good team on site to help & nothing was too much trouble. We were right next to the cleanest toilet block I have ever been in. It was cleaned 4 times a day. Hot water was abundant & bins were collected daily.

Site was immaculate, with play areas for children & fishing for the older children!

Noise was kept to a minimum & after 10pm,apart from general chatting, it was silent.

We had the most chilled out 5 days & would definitely return.

Please visit the Dog & duck at old clipstone, the place is amazing so much to look at & the food is reasonable & tasty. Also Derbyshire is not far.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrskeating 17 reviews from this member

We are regulars to this site and although only live 30 minutes away always feel like we are 'on holiday' when we stay here! we have always had a really nice break here, with spotless toilets and showers, friendly staff and nice pitches.

There is so much to do using this site as a base, south forest swimming baths is a lovely little pool for kids, and do nice meals too.

Rufford park and sherwood pines are both a short drive or cycle away too, and although the parking is a bit pricey, free amenities once in.

We don't usually bother visiting local pubs but have been in the dog and duck, and once you get used to the bizarre decor, its a lovely place to have a cosy pint or meal.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth 239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8010 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1094