Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nicola Miller 5 reviews from this member

Easy to find, but thats due to my great map reading. We arrived on Friday and found the laid out site very good, shop was well stocked and had plenty of good value caravan/camping items in, some considerably cheaper that camping/caravan shops. We were in a large group, 10 adults and 16 children all under 8, we arrived first and found that we were near a lovely river, they boys thought that was fab. Unfortunately the play park opposite was closed due to flooding, you could see that the park had been closed for a considerable time as the grass and weeds were high. I had telephoned on Thursday to confirm that all was well, no mention of a closed park. They children entertained themselves with bike riding, fishing etc, the toilet blocks were cleanish, the sinks on one morning were filthy, the showers were good plenty of hot water.

The waste water and loo disposal needs to be rethought, you have to physically lift the waste hog (bear in mind it is full) two foot of the ground, (impossible for a female) balance it on the edge and tip the waste water out, into something that looks like a upturned funnel. The thetford cassette was easier. After that the children were only allowed to fish. Wardens came round frequently and made sure everything was Ok.

Visitors to the caravan park have to pay 5, this I think is shocking, just to park the car.

The caravan park is walking distance to Sherwood Park Farm, if you go to the reception they hand out tickets to the farm and you all get in half price, for two adults and three children cost 13.50, the kids loved it.

We would go back again, hopefully the park would be open next time.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jdashmore333 14 reviews from this member

We arrived on the site (8 people and 2 tents) on sunday for 2 nights, first immpressions were 'fantastic'.

Its not the usual open field affair but plots of around 5x6m set out like streets with hedgerows dividing the plots.

When dark was approaching we went for a walk in the woods to collect some sticks for the dying bbq, wood fires are banned but the owner had passed a few times and did not complain.

We were up until 3-4am sat around our fire drinking and having fun.

Tuesday was soon upon us and as the weather had stayed mostly dry I went to book another night.

All in all we had a fantastic time, not a single complaint from our croud.

Very high standard of site with a river running through it, ducks everywhere, recycling facilities, plenty of water points/toilets/showers(free), EHU for every plot (though we dont bother) and at 16 per night it was only 12 per head for the stay.

Off to n yorkshire or the lakes this weekend and will review the sites upon our return.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rae_t 23 reviews from this member

A lovely site with flat roomy pitches. The on site shop was excellent as were the two childrens' playgrounds. Plenty of space for the kids to make friends in and run around and our toddler just loved watching the ducks bobbing down the river.

The site was clean and hidden from the road and only a shory walk to the pub! Toilets and washing facilities were cleaned very regularly and plenty of hot water - even when I had my shower at 11.45 at night!

The farm park next door was a bonus and the Sherwood Forest visitor centre was only a 10 minute drive away in Edwinstowe. We arrived when the Robin Hood festival was on so were treated to jousting displays, characters walking around the woods, story telling and lots more but it would have been a good place to visit even if there was no festival.

Our five year old cried when we left this site as she didn't want to leave. She's such a fussy madam so that's about as good a review as anywhere could get!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisa34 1 review from this member

3rd - 5th August 2008.For our first time camping, we were very impressed. Quite a tricky site to find, but well worth the reading of your map. A beautiful approach down a long lane leads you to the main site, where you will find signs to the reception area. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We found our pitch easily, and as we were right on the end field we were worried about not being near the toilets, we shouldn't have worried as there were toilet/shower block with indoor washing sinks at regular intervals all the way along the site. Our pitch was large enough to site my new 6 birth, bug style, suncamp evolution 600, with my car right next door. Ground is flat, and grass close cut. My boys (aged 11 and 8) imidiatly got out their bikes and went of to explore, and lots to explore there was.Loads of trees, woods, a river (ok to paddle in areas with the right shoes!)and woodland walks. In fact we did not see the boys untill they wanted feeding.Top result.If there was to be a down side it would be that there was no pub in walking distance, not that it bothered us so much.But a walk to one in the evening would have been nice. We stayed for 2 nights and could have easily stayed 3 more and still the boys would not have been bored. The play areas were a little under equipped but the woods and trees made up for that. All round a brilliant time was had by all and I would definitely recommend it. Even I was impressed with the toilet facilities, clean, and well supplied with loo roll (my worst nightmare)!

A good site and I will be going again!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Weswee 8 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site, myself, hubby and 2 year old son. We booked last minute and were in the field without facilities, which was huge and well enclosed. There were 2 taps with cold water and bins in the centre. This did not take anything away from our enjoyment. We are going again and would not mind camping in the same site.
We thought the site was beautiful. We went and checked in, the staff were so friendly. There were Peacocks roaming around which our son found fascinating. The whole site is absolutely beautiful, well maintained and ran. We felt the shop was fantastic value for money.
We asked about local attractions and were directed to the farm, which was a 10 minute walk, this was wonderful. 6.50 per adult but you can get 1/2 price tickets from reception. We had a wonderful day. Bag of food to feed the animals (50p), of which there were an abundance. We fed the ducks back at the site, they can be a little aggressive so be careful with little ones, the Canadian geese especially, one pecked my sons bum as we were leaving!
We booked to go again whilst we were there and have recommended it to our friends. A real gem. The only thing we heard people have a little moan about was the toilet facilities, and these were only the people who were camped in the same field as us. We did not find it enough of a bother to stop us going again. You can even order food to be delivered onto the site, even after midnight!
The site was lively, over 50 pitches in the non-hook up field,which were all marked out. It was not overly noisy and at 10.30ish it was like someone had a remote control and muted everyone. The serviced areas looked wonderful, very pretty. A lot of permanent residents, and who can blame them, it's awesome.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Psduk1 1 review from this member

We have just returned from our first visit to Sherwood forest and would recommend this site to anyone.

The site is clean, toilets and showers clean and there was always plenty of hot water available.

It is a really friendly site in a fantastic location.

The nearby Sherwood forest Farm Park ,next door to the campsite was a great day out too, made better by the 1/2 price discount vouchers available free from the site reception\shop.

We will definitely be visiting this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anvilhead 1 review from this member

Superb site tucked away from any roads in a very scenic location. The site facilities are very clean and well maintained, there is a very well stocked shop and the staff are very friendly, there is also 2 play areas for children.
The site is close to Sherwood forest Farm Park and discount vouchers are available in the site shop. We will definitely be back to this site . Full marks and highly recomended.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dev1 1 review from this member

What can I say?! This site is fantastic!

The best camping experience we've had. Very quiet, and pretty!

The staff were fantastic and willing to help out of working hours.

Toilets and Shower blocks were immaculate, the shop was fully stocked and Yvonne, although very busy is always lovely.

Thanks so , much, we will definitely be back x

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Longy67 1 review from this member

Just visited sherwood for the first time, only had one night to try the site out. Wish we had stayed longer and will deffinatley be coming back.

It is a very clean place with everything we needed for camping with a tent. There are plenty of washing facilities and with the toilet block located in the middle of the site, it's ideal .

There is a small park to keep the kids entertained for a while and some great walks (with or without pets)

Being prety local to the area we knew about what there was to offer reagarding shops, pubs etc .

And of course who can't forget THORESBY MARKET which is aprx 15 mins away.

Just one comment people should know, some of the ground that take tent's can be slightly hard and have pebbles underneath the surface, which can make putting the peg's in annoying. So make sure you take a good trusty mallet !

But on the whole GREAT!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jinnertomcat 4 reviews from this member

Just stayed at Sherwood Forest for a weekend. What a fantastic site. Friendly staff, beautiful setting, everywhere very clean, nice hot showers. The site was extremely busy on Saturday night and so I would guess that prior booking is essential. We will definitely stay here again.

I can also recommmend the Lime Tree Pantry Pie Shop in Edwinstowe - the lamb and mint gravy pie was delectable.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth 149.99 Win a OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3395 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


Black Friday SALE
Black Friday SALE
OLPRO have masses of amazing Black Friday offers EVERY DAY throughout November. Prices slashed on inflatable awnings and tents





0.1016