Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 14/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 227 Reviews
                8/10 from 227 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  227 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy b35 10 reviews from this member

 Arrived at site and was greeted by polite and friendly staff. Set up and checked out the usuall (toilets / showers / wash up area) all in very clean and well kept condition and although the site wasn't full we never had to wait or queue at any time during our stay. The site grounds were also kept very tidy.

As said before spar in hope village to get supplies /pubs etc. A short drive to castleton much bigger than hope has an amazing sweet shop that makes it's own fudge. It's an aladdins cave for everyone with a sweet tooth. A few gift shops and a great chippy as you head towards pevril castle. Quite a lot of pubs here and they all looked pretty good for food.There is also a information centre(nr the car park)with a free museum in. Small but informative.

Loads of places to visit peveril castle / speedwell cavern / peak cavern 'the devils arse' as it was called as well as blue john cavern.You can buy a joint ticket for peak cavern and speedwell cavern for around 43.

For those who like a walk get the green booklet from the information centre (44p) its a guide for climbing in the area we climbed mam tor / hollins cross / back tor / lose hill in around 3.5 hrs pretty easy walk. If you want free parking in castleton just park past the peak cavern car park (free every weekday just pay at weekends and bank holidays)

Back to the site there are some reviews that mention the noise traffic etc.And I can only agree. At all times of night you can get wagons thundering through and at around 3-4am every day on our visit a freight train passes through. We are not light sleepers but we left a day early because we were so tired with lack of proper sleep (bring ear plugs) it's just too close to the road and railway for me

Cant fault the site at all stunning location would go again if it were not for the noise so unfortunately it's not a site I will be visiting again 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Diane1068 9 reviews from this member

 Well we really loved this site, we were pitched on a hardstanding pitch bit like a road, some people may not like this but it didn't bother us. Free Wifi, my son was in his element able to connect to game and speak with his friends.

There is so much to do in the area you don't really need to use your car, the little village is lovely with a spar for everything you need. We drove into Bakewell for the farmer's market it was brilliant, all home made food especially divine soups (fantastic).

We did the walk up to Losehill, great walk with great views. It was The Hope Show whilst we were there another great day out, we ate at 2 pubs whilst there, the Travellers rest pub, turn right out of the site and just down the road the food was fantastic and the portions were huge, we also ate at the old hall which was not very good.

I can't recommend this site enough and we will be definitely returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Foxd 6 reviews from this member

 We spent bank holiday weekend here and despite the weather we had a lovely stay. The wardens were very polite and were especially helpful with information regarding the local area/walks.

The area:

There are some beautiful walks in the area but unfortunately the weather prevented us from completing them. Hope is a short stroll away with shop, cafe and pubs etc. Special mention for the cheshire cheese pub(on the edale rd and about 20 minute walk from site). We had a lovely meal here and they served 'real ale'. Its popular so try and book if you can.

Castleton is 2 miles down the road and worth a visit. You can walk by road or choose the more scenic route over the fields - just ask at the office.

The site:

We were in the adults only areas near to the office and very convenient for the toilets and shower block. The facilities were clean and tidy and i only had a brief wait in the morning for a shower. It also has good pot washing area.

The only negative for this site is that it is near a busy road and if your a light sleeper you may find this a problem however my earplugs did come in handy so not too much of a problem for me.

In summary this is a well run site with someone always to hand to assist you. Our pitch size was reasonable although we didnt manage to erect the sun(rain)canopy as well as the awning but no big deal. facilities are good and clean. Would recommend to others.

We will be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emm+Ess 2 reviews from this member

 When we first arrived we were very impressed. Very caravan-heavy, but plenty of tents and the pitches were nice.

Our pitch was in area 'Z' and we were camped very close to the road. We didn't think much of it, until time came to go to sleep. Traffic zooms up and down that road pretty much all night, at quite a speed as well, as a 50mph zone starts just about there and people accelerate into it.

I assumed that the road through Hope and Castleton would be quite quiet, but it appears to be a through road for almost every kind of traffic. We only stayed two nights but we were exhausted after being woken at 5am every morning with lorries going past at speed. It really spoilt the campsite for us.

There was also a massive floodlight that was shining pretty much directly on our tent all night, which drove me to trying to block it out with our chairs and some towels. Someone a few spaces down even moved their 4x4 to block it; I would have done the same if there had been room. It was very frustrating, particularly as there were plenty of areas that had no lighting whatsoever so I was glad of a torch. Surely the lighting is either everywhere or nowhere?

The shower/toilet block was great, can't really fault it, and the site was a good little walk from Hope, where the pub is good, there's a little deli that's good value, a Spar for everything else and a camping shop next door that sells gas and every other imaginable necessity!

However, I would highly recommend asking to be camped in the field near the river; the road was just so busy that it really ruined our stay. We couldn't sit outside and relax while cooking and eating, because the noise from the traffic was so bad.

Otherwise, it's a great site. Just ask to be as far from the road as possible. Then it would probably be the best campsite I've ever been to. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Calamityjane 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed at the site for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were pitched next to the river and stepping stones, which the kids absolutely loved. The road was a little noisy at night, but have heard worse ! It was really nice just talking a short walk into Hope village. We went to the Old Hall pub which was quite nice. As previously mentioned there is a post office, Spar and apparently a great butchers although we didn't get chance to use it. Will definitely be going back to this site,one of my favourites. Just the weather spoilt it a little for us, although the tent did well and the trees provided good shelter from the wind. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rosco6 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic site. Made to feel welcome as soon as we got there.

Toilet/shower facilities spotless and if carlsberg made them probably the best in the world !

A little more help would have been nice regarding size of pitch tho` the pitches can get larger tents on but having said that when asked on leaving they said they would always try to accommodate you. Having said that will definitely go again and recommend this site to all. Well done laneside campsite 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Broady 2 reviews from this member

 If like me you are new to camping and are looking for a good site with facilities I would recommend laneside. The facilities are good and clean with loads of hot water and at no extra cost. This is a busy time and would still be there now but never booked long enough in advance to secure my pitch:(. Hope village is nice and friendly with rail links to Manchester and Sheffield, the walk to Castleton is not far either by road or pathways (did both with my 7 year old son ) Hope has a spar, camping shop (closed Mondays) and numerous cafes and a pub (old hall, steak and ale pie is very nice ), a bike shop, an Indian restaurant, Chinese (who will deliver to the site ) We had 5 good days here and really enjoyed it and the beautiful peaks and will be going back again 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AHilly 3 reviews from this member

 This was the 4th time we've stayed at this site and have returned due to its location for walking, the clean toilets and showers and plenty of hot water.

There is some kind of sewerage station on the far right hand side of the site at the side of the stream which can pong. Although Hope is only a small village the road can be noisy if you are pitched next to it.

During busy weekends you can be a little cramped in on the main field but the newer recreation field towards the rear of the sites tends to have more space.

Worth walking to Castleton for the Cheshire Cheese pub for the ale and the food. The pubs in the village are fine and serve food but don't have much of an atmosphere. A handy camp shop & spar are also in the village that will offer you everything you may have forgotton or fancy for supper. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Double-Dutch 8 reviews from this member

 We didn't know what to expect when we managed to get into this site at more or less the last minute. Friends had told us it was noisy and cramped but I think we struck not exactly gold, but certainly silver.

Without immediately realising it, the friendly Warden directed us to a pitch near to the office which, we later realised, was an adults only area. This suited us perfectly! Looking down the field below it did look a little more cramped and I suspect it may have been noisier - although perhaps not at night time otherwise we would have heard.

Other reviews have commented on noise from the road but despite the fact I am a light sleeper, it wasn't a problem for me, and we were close to the main road.

Showers/toilets very clean, the shower block being heated. The toilets are separate to the showers - a personal dislike but for most this would not be a problem.

The area is brilliant for walking (as has been described in other reviews) and Hope is about 5 minutes walk away if you want a pub meal at night. Can't recall the name of pub but the first one you come to is absolutely fine for food.

In short we would definitely go back to this site again but I'd try to negotiate a similar pitch to the one we had before - just personal preference. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loobs 5 reviews from this member

 The facilities were clean. The situation fantastic. Great for walking and enjoying lovely pubs.

Only negatives were that the site is very close to a busy road and we felt that the pitches were very small and that we were packed in like sardines! The chap opposite was a real snorer!

The many rules and regulations, common sense ones at that, were emphasised but not enforced! Odd!

Hope is a beautiful village. The Cheshire Cheese is a proper old English pub and we thoroughly appreciated our welcome there! 


Previous     227 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4485 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements