Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 14/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 229 Reviews
                8/10 from 229 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  229 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dangerusb 1 review from this member

 My Partner and I have recently got into Caravanning (08 is our 3rd season) We tried a couple of sites in our first year, but then met up with some friends and arranged to meet at Laneside. And we have come back whenever we got the chance. We think the staff are the best we've ever encountered, always helpful. We also think one of the best views to be had in the area is the Roman ruins of Anavio behind and overlooking Laneside. By the way, to all the moaners who complain about the noise levels of the artics that pass in the night, if you ask Terry, he'll stand at the side of the road when they pass, going.'SHhhhh!'ha ha. I think it was Wordsworth who said, when he was away from the Lake District he felt exiled from it, and that sums up exactly how we feel when we're not at Laneside! I look forward to another summer season of leaning on me motor watchin the world go by. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Col. 1 review from this member

 The campsite was quiet at this time of year, as to be expected. The showers were great, hot and free! The place is very clean. Hope is just up the road and Edale round the corner for great walking. The 'Poachers Arms' serves lovely food. Good site, good pubs, great walking, would stay here again. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crazyfool 1 review from this member

 Good Points - Probably the best toilets/showers facilities I have ever seen, the site is very nicely laid out with flat pitching and close to Hope village.

Bad Points - The site is a bit too 'regimented' for the wild camper and overly floodlit for my liking. But the real problem is the traffic noise, pitching is feet away from a busy main road which happens to be the main route for the local Cement Factory trucks which run 24 hours a day. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adele24 4 reviews from this member

 After reading the reviews, I had high expectations of Laneside. Unfortunately, the minute we arrived those expectations were shattered.

Firstly, on searching for our pitch number we soon realised its location was like a car-park! We were packed in like sardines, not even having enough room for a table and deck chairs (we don't have an awning either). Goodness knows how someone with an awning would set it up in that tiny space!

The noise on a night was unreal.And I'm a heavy sleeper! Noisy campers woke us up at 2am, sheep baa-ing, cars on the main road, trains.Nightmare! I've just came back today and feel I need a weekend away to recover from sleep deprivation!

Anyway Saturday morning came.Eventually! and I was in need of an energising shower to wake me up. No chance of that! 4 ladies showers and a cue of 7 women all huffing and puffing, complaining that they'd been waiting ages. Many give in (inc myself) and I ended up washing my hair over the small caravan sink.

Location was o.K but it was a 15 minute cycle ride into castleton, so id guess a half hour walk. Hope and Castleton are gorgeous villages and worth a visit, but next time we'll try a different site.

The whole site didn't feel like a campsite. It was like a storage site as they were all so tightly packed together Nothing to do at all for kids, especially little ones.  


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ShaznCol 15 reviews from this member

 Very nice, quiet and well maintained site. Toilets and showers clean and plentiful, although not many campers on our long weekend stay. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Hope village a short walk away, with all necessaries - except Chinese restaurant was closed as owners were on holiday!

Ideal spot for hikers and interesting views for motorists too.

Hope pubs leave a little to be desired on the menu's, the Poachers restaurant is recommended by the site owners at the far end of the village. They also operate 'Linked' weekends for those living nearer to the site, where for a nominal fee, you can leave your unit on your pitch for the week between two consecutive weekend stays. (Check T&C's and availability)

Love the area and have much more to explore, would definitely return to this site, sooner rather than later. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vix1 4 reviews from this member

 We spent 2 nights at Laneside and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The campsite is in a perfect location, Hope is a short walk away where there is everything you need and you are in the centre of the beautiful peak district. There is a lovely walk into Castleton, starting from Hope. The campsite was very clean, probably the best showers I have been in (and they were free). There were plenty of sinks for washing up and these were under cover. The office/shop sold cold drinks and basics. The staff were very helpful with directions for walks etc.

The only problem I had with our stay was that there wasn't enough room for my son to kick his football about, near the tent. The site was very busy and we were crammed in like sardines. There is a play field but can only be accessed by going off the site & over the bridge. Children could play in the shallow river on site but there is no playground.

I would go back to this site but when it's less busy. It isn't ideal for kids but it is perfectly located and reasonably priced. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anita_JY 1 review from this member

 This site is a great location for backpackers as it is a short walk from the train station and near the village. We had a small tent so we were given a pitch next to the stream which was fairly quiet during our 4 day stay.

The toilets and showers were excellent as they were clean and gave plenty of cubicle room to change. The site seems very well organised and the owners were extremely helpful. They allow disposable barbecues and provide bricks to to stop damage to the grass. I would recommend a visit to the butchers in the village for supplies!
 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Safc utd 1 review from this member

 Just spent a great weekend at this site with my daughter and husband. Son-in-law being a novice camper was impressed with facilities very clean considering it rained most of the weekend. The staff were welcoming and very friendly the children enjoyed the ducks that wandered about the site and my bread and biscuits kept disappearing. Hope village a 2min walk away although we went into one pub for a meal but did not stay as found the staff very rude and unfriendly. This is an excellent site and will definitely visit again 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Shrubby 8 reviews from this member

 We won't forget the helpfulness of this site; we prefer not to book (unless we've been to the site before)as we enjoy the freedom this gives. We had moved on from a site we were not so happy with on a fabulous weekend (yes there was one!) when everyone had decided on an impromptu weekend away from Sheffield, consequently we had great difficulty in finding a pitch. The reception told us Laneside was full, but as we were about to leave a member of staff called out "You're only a small unit we could fit you here for tonight." He explained the pitch was small and usually used for car parking, but it did have an electric point.
We stayed on for 2 further nights moving to a larger pitch. All facilities were good, access easy, lots to do in vicinity, walking distance from Hope and local amenities. Despite it being a family site there was no excess noise. The fees were very favourable. Being in a small camper with no awning we would have preferred some screening e.G. Bushes for a little privacy but you can't have everything.
The atmosphere made it; campers were asked politely to conform to some well reasoned rules of consideration which worked while we were there - much better than the do this don't do that military regulations you can meet.  


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dannyparkin 3 reviews from this member

 Visited lane-side for the first time this summer. A very welcoming site with nice clean toilets and showers. The pitches were very small with not alot of grass area for children to play nearby the tent. A good location with only a short walk to nearby shops and pubs. And a very nice Chinese restaurant. Will be visiting again. 


Previous     229 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6399 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement