Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Laneside Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 14/03 To 10/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 221 Reviews
                8/10 from 221 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  221 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kontikiman 9 reviews from this member

Booked this site at very short notice and the lady who answered the phone was lovely going to a lot of trouble to ensure we didn't have to move pitch over a busy bank holiday weekend. We had a fully serviced hard standing pitch adjacent to the camping area which was flat and provided ample space for our 7 metre van and awning although rock pegs are needed.

As the site was full the showers/toilets were very busy at peak times and waits were experienced, however, the water was always hot and the blocks adequately clean. As an improvement thought maybe a secondary block would be a good idea. The disabled washroom was easily accessible and provided for all needs, the only down side being there did not appear to be any heating in the shower blocks which maybe an issue in winter and certainly was felt on a cold May evening.

The site is very well kept with a lovely river running through it, quiet and with friendly staff who go out of their way to help. The location is a five minute walk form the village and ten minute drive from Castleton. We would certainly go back again to enjoy this site.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplepeople 7 reviews from this member

Returned to the site after a 3-4 year absence and were not disappointed. Had the best pitch we ever had and were pleased to see the addition of flowers/planters. Staff really friendly and helpful. Only one little gripe. Hot water, there was plenty of it until about 7. 30 am but after that the showers/washing up water was barely tepid. The same happened about 6pm. I appreciate that the site was full so lots of water was being used but I feel there should be a constant supply of hot water on a campsite. Despite that though this is still one of my favourite sites and I will certainly be visiting it again soon.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cloggingchris 10 reviews from this member

We've visited this site before and will go back again. It is very handy for some lovely villages, good walks, and a good public transport system, with a station and bus stops very close. The toilets and showers were clean and well maintained. The wardens were very friendly and helpful. The downsides are that it is next to a main road, so can be noisy, but we soon got used to that. Our main issue were our pitches. We travelled in a group, and on glorious hot sunny days, all of our pitches were in deep shade from early afternoon due to some very high trees. So no sitting out in the evening for a leisurely BBQ - it was so cold we had to retreat inside the tents. We also had the dog poo walk next to our pitches, which although not a real problem, wasn't very nice, especially as non of us had dogs. Other than the pitches, we had a good time, and will return, but will ask for different pitches in the sun if possible ;-)

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wolfie2 1 review from this member

The Campsite is in a good location near to Hope and Castleton. The wardens are very pleasant and the toilet facilities very clean. However, our plot was almost always in the shade due to some high trees, and we were next to the dog poo walk which, although wasn't an issue as it happens, I think we should have been told about when booking. There are obviously people who keep their vans on the site and they seemed over fussy about the uptake of their plots which didn't make for a relaxed atmosphere. Especially for first time caravanners like my other half who turned up with the caravan to find that a regular had parked in our plot while he was strimming round his!Artificial grass and plant pots abounding on other regulars plots which seemed a tad over the top and a bit intimidating when you are just turning up for a relaxing weekend. Probably better for tourers to be separate from these and I would definitely prefer to be on the bottom camping field where there are table tennis tables and the river handy for the kids to paddle in.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Outandabout33 16 reviews from this member

We booked the site for 8 nights in sept, partly due to the fact that it had some self catering cottages attached that our friends could use.

Our other reason was the location, which I have to say did not disappoint, lots of great scenic walks close by and in short driving distance. Also good amenities within close distance, shops, pubs and transport links etc.

The site itself, for us was a little disappointing, due to the fact that it felt like the touring units were a little cramped in together with little personal space available also the grass looked like it needed cutting, but I suppose with them being so busy all the time they don, t get to many chances to do it !

Part of the site has static caravans on it plus there is also lots of seasonal pitched caravans, which seem to be in better looked after surroundings. We found all the reception staff friendly but have to say it, s not a site we would re-visit.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Simonanddeb 9 reviews from this member

Amazing site in the heart of the Peak district, staff very friendly and helpful, very clean site with excellent facilities and within walking distance of hope village, the old hall pub does really nice food and well worth a visit!

Not a lot for small children to do but good if you want a quiet weekend away!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nuttyredlisa 3 reviews from this member

This was our 5th year going back to Laneside and we will keep going back. The site and all its facilities are very well maintained, clean, and tidy, with a small shop on site and lots of local information leaflets, a laundry and baby change facilities. The staff are friendly and helpful. The pitches are all plenty big enough, grass and hardstanding, the grass is kept short, some with ehu and some without, depending what you want. Dogs are welcome, there is a little dog walk area. The location is perfect, a 2 minute walk into Hope, with a couple of great pubs, cafes and shops, a little longer walk, about half hour or 5 min bus journey and you are in Castleton, where there are more very good pubs, serving food, cafes and little shops, as well as the blue John mines. There are some stunning walks and the most beautiful scenery and countryside, walking on the flat or uphill. A walk up Loose hill and along the ridge to Mam Tor is definitely worth doing.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Salnsteve 19 reviews from this member

Many years since we last visited this site and it is much improved. The booking in on arrival was quick and the wardens were very friendly and having chosen our site when booking on line, we were given a map and directions to our pitch.

We chose a hardstanding pitch with all the bells and whistles. Grey block paving for unit, gravel for awning and a block paving area for sitting out on. Choosing our own plot meant we were well away from traffic noise. Behind us was a grassed area for tents and beyond a small stream.

The location is ideal for a short walk into Hope and longer walk to Castleton. There is a bus stop right outside the camp entrance too.

Our main gripe was the design in the shower cubicles. Although there was plenty of hot water it ran through the changing area before draining away.

I would recommend this site to enjoy all that this beautiful part of the Peak District has to offer. Most of the pubs welcome muddy boots and dogs.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Koakey 8 reviews from this member

As usual a lovely site, well kept helpful staff. For the first time we opted for hard standing a mistake we bent more pegs than we put in. We gave booked again but are going back to grass. Otherwise no negatives at all. G

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Irvine45 64 reviews from this member

We spend the May bank holiday here and it is a nice site, it was just let down by the toilet facilities in my opinion. They always seemed clean and there was a mop for the showers, maybe it just was the colour scheme. If they were modernised, this would be a first rate site.

The wardens were always friendly and the site was quiet even although it was full.

The location of the site is very good for the town / pubs. The Traveller's Rest is worth a visit if you don't mind walking in the dark. (There is a good pavement all the way).

Good walking area.

I would like to return to the site, probably once it has been improved.

Previous     221 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth 149.99 Win a OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 16 to 21 October, Birmingham NEC
Hundreds of caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3302 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016