Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 14/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 227 Reviews
                8/10 from 227 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  227 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coggs888 6 reviews from this member

 Came here for a long weekend and it turned out to be one of the best holidays we had that year.

The campsite is well laid out with plenty of room between other caravans and all are within distance of the toilet/shower facilities which were clean and well lit but could of done with a bit more heat as the weather was starting to get colder at this time of the year especially at night. The water was piping hot all the time and good spacious cubicles to get undressed and vise versa.

In short walking distance of hope village which has a few pubs and a shop and there's a good trek to get into castleton but a very enjoyable although somewhat uneven path as my mother in law found out bless her.

Great outdoor activities to behold at castleton with the caves to visit and the castle and also to climb Mom Tor which we all enjoyed doing. Close by via the car is the village of Eyam which is a must place to visit if you like old villages and also the link with the plague which my youngest son found really interesting.

The entrance to the site is excellent with amble space to pull up and register and a separate exit which I always feel all campsites should have but not all sites have the space. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lawsie 3 reviews from this member

 Of all the camp sites we've been to this remains our favourite, so much so it's our default destination for a few days in the tent. My partner and I have been three times this year, once in early April when ice was still on the ground, and then the last two weekends running.

We ended up there late on Sunday afternoon after a camp in the Lakes on Saturday and a late decision to abort a trip to Snowdon due to gales. We rocked up at Laneside at about 4:30pm, unannounced, and were greeted by the couple that own the place who could not have been more courteous.

Normally we book a couple of days in advance when we're sure of the weather, but last minute and indeed last second bookings are catered for if space is available.

The site is predominantly caravan oriented but there is ample room for a couple of dozen tents in our own area, nestled up by the river. Your stay will be sure to feature dinner guests from the very friendly ducks that live on or near the site. I counted 30 of them joining us for breakfast on Monday morning.

The facilities on site are superb. The shower/toilet block is free and of the highest standard. The reception office has the basics and anything more you need can be found in the Spar shop in Hope about 5 minute's walk away, if that.

A recent addition to the site are a couple of boules courts which have proved entertaining. An additional bonus for we of the iPhone generation is that there is a Wi-Fi connection available across much of the site. To me that's the cherry on the cake.

I read many other mentions about the road noise which I will note only as that yes there is a reasonably major road that runs past the site but I genuinely haven't been disturbed in any way by road noise. The river makes more noise than the road and I can't imagine many complaints being made about that.

Location wise the site is perfectly placed for touring the Peak. There are countless excellent walks to chose from, many straight out of the site. The Great Ridge walk is a superb walk and begins moments away from the site.

We'll continue to return to Laneside in future and recommend it to all.  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dollydog1 6 reviews from this member

 This campsite is lovely as it is in a beautiful location with lots of facilities. This is probably my favourite so far.

The size of the pitches is ok. The shop on site is really good and it has an icepack facility. The pot washing facility is good. The showers are big so if you go with little kids there is enough room for yourself and 2 kids. The water was always warm never hot and the area was always clean.

The stream at the bottom of the site is lovely and my 2 children really enjoyed paddling in it. There is a sheep field across the road which you can walk in which little kids would be thrilled at.

There is a shop in the village and a pub which we went in which is dog friendly. There are plenty of pubs which are dog friendly. One of the pubs had a board in the window saying ' Muddy boots and dogs welcome'

There are lots of activities to do around the area like walking, swimming, visiting caverns. There is Gullivers kingdom theme park which is about 45 minutes drive away. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matty10 1 review from this member

 I would recommend this site if you have dogs kids or generally like the rural pubs grub and beautiful close proximity walking for as hard or as eye pleasingly easy as you like

I take my kids plus dogs and walk a good 15 miles circular all terrain hike which is pleasing as it is rewarding,

The campsite fulfils all amenities top notch with clean standards and a respect that is noted despite dogs and kids

The site is big enough to have a nosey walk around without feeling like your somewhere you shouldn't be and showering is clean with good maintained shower block and toileting facilities. With washing up sinks all within one central location, 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy_Angie 1 review from this member

 As novices to the camping holiday we've just returned from a fantastic long weekend at Laneside.

On arrival we got a friendly welcome and were shown to our pitch. The facilities are just as described and it's clear the owners take a lot of care to maintain the site.

The nearby village of Hope is lovely and has a number of pubs, restaurants and a tea room, but the local are is so picturesque its well worth getting out and about and exploring a little.

We stayed with friends and between us the children ranged from 4 to 14 and whilst the site doesn't include playgrounds and the like the shallow river and nearby sports field (adjacent to the site) gave plenty of scope for the kids to entertain them selves.

We were on the lower field next to the river and this was a focus for the kids on site but without exception the no noise from 10pm rule was respected so we could rest up and recover from a busy day.

The shop on site was basic but anything you needed could be picked up within a short walk and a mobile chip shop calls on a Saturday evening.

All in all a great weekend and we can't wait to return soon. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stephanie Brooks 1 review from this member

 I used to stay at laneside when I was younger with my parents, I have not been back for a little over 19 years. I remember the site being a lovely site, and going back I was not disappointed. Its still a wonderful site.

My family and I had a great week and will be going back. The facilities are of a very high standard, and cleaned regularly. The owners and the wardens are really lovely too, only too happy to help out. It's also a well organised site.

The shop has the basic essentials, and it does not cost you to freeze your icepacks.

The village of Hope is about a 5/6 min stroll away with a spar, fruit and veg shop, camp shop, nice farm shop, and many pubs and tea shops. If you what chips from the van that comes on site on Saturday's get your order in early, as there was a bit of a Que.

Many reviews mention the road noise, we did not find it an issue at all. We are already planning our next visit. Can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scubaholic 1 review from this member

 My wife and I stayed here on Friday 12th for 2 nights, the staff at the reception were really helpful and accommodating.

The toilet and shower facilities were the cleanest we've ever seen and the fact that the showers were free was an added bonus. There was a noise curfew at 2230 which meant it was very quite by 2300.

The camp is within 5 min walk from several pub restaurants, take aways and shops ( the take aways even delivered ). A moblie fish and chip van comes on Saturday which looked very popular but we didn't use it.

Overall I would say this is the nicest camp I've stayed at and would recommend anyone to stay here. We were looking for a site not too far away from where we live so we can go Friday after work for the weekend.

This site puts you in the middle of beautiful walking country and look forward to having many more visits in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skyfox1884 1 review from this member

 This was our first visit to the site and the area, although I was on a school trip to Castleton some 30+ years ago and always intended to return.

I booked our pitch via the phone and have to say the service was excellent especially when I had to defer our visit due to hurting my foot. The site were very accommodating and fitted us in for the re-book at very short notice.

The reception was friendly and I particularly liked the personal guide to our actual pitch.

The site is well laid out and in lovely grounds and with excellent facilities - toilets, showers etc. All very clean, readily available at no extra cost and well stocked - unusual based on our experience of other sites.

The cost per night is about standard, but I would suggest good value for money based on the facilities etc.

The route through the site for traffic is one-way, which helps minimise unnecessary journeys and therefore improves pedestrian safety.

There were no rowdies on the site at all from what we could see and certainly near to our pitch.

We would definitely return to this site - I'm just trying to work out when. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Racey1979 4 reviews from this member

 Been to this site many many times now for the last three years as it is in one of our favourite areas. The site sits two miles from Castleton, a lovely little village with plenty of places to eat and drink. The site is run by a very friendly family who are always happy to help. The showers, toilets and washing facilities are always kept to a very high standard and the pitches are well maintained. The only negative about the site is that it is close to a main road and big lorrys use this to access the cement work which is a few miles away. These can make a bit of noise through the night especially if you are pitched close to the road. Theres nothing much you can do about this and it doesn't seem to put people off as the site is very popular. Overall an excellent site in a lovely peaceful location. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul@julie 58 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a very enjoyable weekend on this campsite. Was a bit apprehensive before we went because of previous reviews stating a lot of road noise. We had 3 nights here and I can honestly say I had the best 3 nights sleep for ages, no road noise at all at night, quite a bit during the day though but not bad enough to worry us. This was possibly because of the fantastic walking in the surrounding area, that and the fresh air. There is a nice 2 mile stroll up to Castleton along the side of the river and then a lovely little walk uphill to the top of Mam Tor, believe me the uphill trek is worth it for the views from the top are stunning. The site itself was packed (no room at the Inn so to speak) and we still had room for our van 6. 29mtrs, a full awning and sitting out space for eating, the reception houses a small shop and the managers are friendly and cant do enough to help. Toilet facilities are very clean. A 2 hour drive from home for us, we will be back soon. J x 


Previous     227 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4682 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements