Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 12/04/2021 to 04/01/2022
           11/03/2022 to 03/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 251 Reviews
                8/10 from 251 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  251 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SKILINDYLOU 2 reviews from this member

 The campsite increase their nightly charges for bank holiday nights like most do. But not just the bank hol though, but the 4 days that include it too. The minimum is 4 nights, & then they charge a Bank Holiday supplement on top of that. Then the children charges on top of that & if you are a senior & expect a discount - you don't get that either! To charge extra for a Tues, Weds & Thurs after bank Holiday + supplements & kids charges make it VERY EXPENSIVE. 230 plus for 2 pitches, 5 nights Sat - Weds for 2 OAPs, 2 adults & 2 children aged 7 & 3yrs becomes a very expensive break.

Like another reviewer I was very disappointed with the ratio of tents to caravans - loaded very heavily against the tents. It looked like most of the vans are seasonal pitches so there is not that many electric hook up pitches for campers. Most campers were pitched down by the river, so not allowed to have electric. Ground was very soft & a bit boggy by the time we left our pitches. Vans & tents were squashed in quite tightly but the pitches were a reasonable size for our Explorers & extensions. If we had had our large Montana 6 I think it would have been a very different matter.

Couldnt really fault the loo & shower block other than it was freezing cold on a chilly summer day - winter must be awful! There was always plenty of hot water. Loved the wash-up area. Even some lower set sinks for kids & disabled.

The staff were friendly - even the warden out of hours. But watch the colour/date on your tent guy tag. The wrong dates had been entered & we were almost expected to pay again for a night.

There are lots & lots of dogs - far more than I would have expected, but that relates to the number of seasonal vans. Most dogs were on a lead most of the time as requested.

I was disgusted that the rubbish bins were full when we arrived at the start of a Bank Holiday. By the end of our stay 5 days later they were still full & overflowing with a mini skip added to hold it. Had this been a boiling hot summer the smell would have been awful. There is no recycling either - other than glass. Most people are now happy with separating plastic & paper too. It wouldn't be hard to set this up.

The full size footy pitch for the kids is up the road about 50 yds along an extremely busy Buxton to Sheffield route. Kids need an adult with them to do this. The grass had not been cut for a good while when we were there & a ball couldn't be kicked over it as it was so long. The river boarders this too so not safe for smaller unattended kids.

The shop has very limited hours & is only basic stocked - they didn't even have any water carriers when ours split. Bread & milk, chocs & ices & a few bits of food in tins & basic camping items.

Plenty of places to visit nearby with Castleton, Derwent Reservoir, Monsal Head Viaduct, Eyam Village.

Food at the pub just up the road - The Old Hall- is fab & reasonably priced & they have a quiz night on Tuesday evenings. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mike2248 1 review from this member

 This is the first time I have felt the need to place a review on this site. We have just returned from yet another fantastic weekend at Laneside, I have just read with some dismay the criticism directed towards the site. We have been visiting Laneside for some three years now as both as a couple and as part of large family groups. The facilities at the site are outstanding, the showers, toilets, and washing facilities are always immaculate, and in plenty supply. (surprisingly queuing for a shower when there are so many campers can happen!) The facilities for the children are excellent. There are two purpose built boules courts, and a full size football field for them to burn off as much energy as they want in complete safety.

There is a very well stocked and very reasonably priced camp shop supplying most things you ll ever need.

The staff what can I say Friendly, welcoming, can t do enough for you, they make our stay all the more special every time we visit.

Set in the beautiful peak district, close to all local pubs and amenities what more could you ask for. Highly recommend ! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevin blade 2 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site before, this was our second visit due to the fact it is near to where we live in Sheffield.

On arrival there was a friendly welcome and we were directed to our pitch.

The pitches are small but sufficient. The people on site were friendly and there was no loud noises at night. There are several local pubs in hope and it is only a short walk into castleton.

The facilities (showers, toilets etc) are clean and plenty of hot water and we never had to queue.

Over all we enjoyed our stay and would definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Secman 1 review from this member

 Had a great week on the site. It was recommended by friends who had stayed earlier in the month.

The owners were lovely and J and M were fantastic! I think they would have organised the weather if at all possible.

Facilities were great and the site was very tidy and welcoming, great for families. Close to Hope village with good shops and pubs.

Lovely area and beautiful countryside, great people, I highly recommend this family friendly site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eee1 1 review from this member

 I was looking forward to visiting this site after reading some of the reviews and after being told over the phone that they were 'only a small campsite', but my first impression was one of disappointment. There are a lot of static caravans so making the overall ambience of the site very unpleasant and overcrowded.

When I first arrived I was offered a camp site squeezed between other campers, there was just no room I was then offered another one but was not allowed to keep my car next to it and had to park it in the carpark as they wanted to put a caravan there.

It could have been a relaxing site as it is in a lovely area with a stream that the kids can play in but it was noisy due to overcrowding and there were a lot of dogs. The main road is very noisy and busy. I think you need to choose when you go to this site very carefully, maybe not over any type of holiday as someone told me the last time they came it was not as busy as it was out of holiday time (but the static caravans would still be there). The site shop is very poorly stocked I think they expect you to use the local Spar shop.

The good points are the staff, they are very helpful. The showers, lovely hot water and clean. But I did have to queue and saw others doing the same.

It is close to Hope Village, there are not any shops to visit other than the Spar and a Farmers shop, so not very interesting but you have a good selection of restaurants and cafe's (the Courtyard Cafe was very good near the bike shop).

The train station close by takes you to Manchester. There is very good extreme off road mountain biking which you can cycle to and flat routes you can drive to.

Good walking you can drive or bus to. They have two boules pitches on site and a football pitch the children can use but you have to walk out of the campsite along the busy road.

I am rating this campsite on the overcrowding and road noise as it let it down. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CampingHampson 1 review from this member

 The campsite is in a beautiful area. The village is close by and has a lovely pub and handy shop. The site is very close to the road so that you can always hear traffic. There is a river that the kids loved playing in.

The pitches are very small so you are very close to your neighbours. We had to re pitch our tent as it is longer than the pitch and would have meant we opened the tent door onto the road.

The showers were fine as was the shower block. The pot wash area was lovely but was so low that it made back breaking work of doing the dishes. Might be an idea to have some lower and some higher sinks.

Based on the pitch sizes We would not return to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jacey 4 reviews from this member

 Wow just had a lovely 5 days at this site and loved it. Although full it was quite quiet although we did hear televisions which did spoil it a bit as we like to leave the tv at home.

Could hear the road but got used to it after a day or two. Local to the village it was handy for the pubs and shops although shops were a bit expensive so shall be going to larger town for main shop.

Countryside is super with lots of local walks for all ages. Hoping to get there again later in the year and hope to make a regular visit next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ninamarielouise 4 reviews from this member

 Went to this site for one night to join friends who had managed to get a pitch at the last minute due to a cancellation.

The site itself is fine, great facilities, everything you could need, however it is right next to a busy road meaning you can hear fairly heavy traffic from early morning till late at night.

Also, the pitches are very close together so that, when full, everyone is so tightly crammed in it's like holidaying on a council estate. It's very caravan-heavy too, not the best for tenters. We had to listen to our neighbour's very loud TV until late at night.

There is no space for kids to run around because the only free ground is gravelly road. This site is a far cry from the fantastic one we visited two weeks previously on the Lleyn Peninsular in Wales, which, although fully booked, only allowed tents around the outside perimeter of each field which meant everyone had tons of space and peace & quiet. This is how a campsite should be run, not ramming people in to make the most money possible.

Despite this, Laneside is obviously very popular, so clearly different people want different things out of a camping holiday. It's a great base to explore the many local attractions - including the brilliant Hathersage Lido. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: The Drifters 5 reviews from this member

 We were looking for a good campsite between my brother in Stockport and our friends in Matlock. Fortunately we found Laneside in Hope; right in the middle of the beatiful Derbyshire Dales.

The site was easy to find and because of my disability we were given a very large hardstanding a short distance from the shower block. The pitch was right by the side of a beautiful river.

The showers and toilets were very clean and tidy. Our hosts couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

The site is just a short walk from the centre of Hope where there is a wonderful pub with food, and a little further along s a little bistro tucked away which serves the best coffee and cream teas.

We have only spent a week there but will certainly be going back 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jodry 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned on Thursday and had a lovely few days at Laneside, think the warm, sunny weather helped. We were on electric pitches and I found the pitches a little cramped but the field near the stream is non - electric and that looked like more space.

Showers free and nice temperature, friendly staff who left you alone, not too many rules.

Our children loved the stream and played in it happily and used the sports field as well. Hope is a lovely village with a few pubs like other people have mentioned.

Did a walk on Wednesday up and across Stannage edge, there were 11 of us ranging from 9 year old nephew to 75 year old father and it was great, everybody enjoyed it. When we left the family walked into Castleton but got the bus back so the site is well serviced by public transport.

Really liked this site and would return 


Previous     251 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3314 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement