Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 14/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 227 Reviews
                8/10 from 227 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  227 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vashka 16 reviews from this member

 Visited here with friends for a couple of nights in mid May. Great site in a fantastic location. We were in a motorhome and had friends in tents with us. We weren't happy with the pitch we had been allocated but the staff were so helpful in finding us a more suitable pitch. Staff were all really friendly and couldn't do enough to help.

Toilets nice and clean with really hot showers and washing up facilities good, nice clean well kept site. Easy walk into Hope and Castleton, would recommend the Curry Cabin in Hope for a nice Indian.

Third visit to this site over the past few years and would definitely recommend and will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Steely Dan 3 reviews from this member

 I always have two things in mind when I write my reviews: would I go back to the site and would I recommend it to anyone else. In the case of Laneside I'm afraid it's no and no.

The location of the site could hardly be better. Situated in the glorious Hope Valley, only a few minutes walk from Hope village and with a railway station just across the road, it's ideal for a few days away. Unfortunately the layout of the site is a blot on the landscape and the owners have made things even worse by cynically cramming as many units as possible onto the site.

In fairness, the site was full on the weekend we went but that's not a bad time to judge a site. We were fortunate in having one of the better pitches and thank god we did. Even from our pitch we were surrounded by caravans and motorhomes. Cheek by jowl is an accurate description and looking out of our motorhome windows all we could see was other vans etc. I don't expect to be in splendid isolation when I go to a commercial site but I do expect a bit of space and privacy.

I'm afraid the owners of this site seem to only be focused on as many bookings on the site. Very short sighted plan IMHO.

Facilities are a little dated, excessive use of block paving is depressing on the eyes but the staff were friendly and helpful. Very small pitches and fairly expensive.

To add insult to injury, the local Indian restaurant the Curry Cabi. Managed to concoct the worse Indian takeaway I've had in 40 years, though both local pubs were good. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sand57 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent location for exploring the Peak District around Hope Valley. Well stocked shop on site. Friendly helpful wardens - especially when we accidently knocked down a fire hose post! Plenty for the kids to explore, and there's a football field adjacent but think the river is a more exciting area for the kids.

Showers and separate toilet facilities always clean and tidy and warm when needed.

The site is on the main road into Castleton so expect road noise which includes trucks. If this would bother you then request a pitch further back because this shouldn't stop you visiting this excellent site.

We will be returning.

I don't usually give 10/10 but this is such a down to earth friendly campsite that I felt I could not mark them down.

Last but not least - the delightful friendly ducks 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John belton 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at laneside for 5 nights. We found the facilities very clean nice warm showers. We couldn't fault the site. We found the wardens very helpful and friendly. The area is great for all types of walking. Local pubs are good for food and service. Overall a great 5 days. Would recommend the site and we will be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Used this site for walking in the area, we didn't book and there were plenty available when we turned up.

The grass on the pitch we were given was a little long. The site also runs along side the main road, so you do get road noise, which I did find a little distracting.

It's nice and handy for the village and footpaths. There is a nice butcher and shop in the village. The campsite also had a well stocked shop and information area.

The price of the site was a little high for the facilities on offer, but that aside, it was an ok site. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Currycampers 18 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, very friendly, helpful staff. Not very big pitches but this site is more about location. A 5 minute walk into Hope which has everything a happy camper needs. Great butcher, largish Spar, cafe, curry house, chinese and pubs for all tastes. Also a station to get into Sheffield or over to Edale. Situated just below Lose Hill and on the doorstep for Castleton and for Derwent reservoirs it's a credit to the staff that they keep it so beautifully when they could do a lot less and still pack it out. Perfect for us as we're just down the road but if we'd travelled from miles away it's the sort of site and location that puts a smile on your face. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave n H 1 review from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay at Laneside, the site is clean and very well maintained, all the staff were friendly and helpful.

All the caravan owners on the site made us feel welcome( thanks for the cake ). We explored the local area's with still lots more for us to do. Lots of great walks with nice watering holes when thirsty. We are just about to book our next camping trip, it will definitely be at Laneside. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sunburnden 9 reviews from this member

 Large site with clean shower toilets etc, recycling bins and small shop, handy for Hope village and Castleton but if taking the river walk through the fields be warned some of the sties are very high and not dog friendly, we had to lift a heavy Labrador up n over them in the pouring rain, we were filthy, wouldn't walk that way again, would visit the site again 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Philh67 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks stay at Laneside and to be honest could not find a negative to write about. Easy booking, very friendly wardens, helped position caravan. Site has small number of fully serviced pitches next to the main washroom opposite the reception. Area is great for walking direct from the site in all directions. Or a short drive takes you to Bakewell, Buxton, Chatsworth, Castleton for caverns and Mam Tor.

Hope is about five minutes away walking down the path on the road or 15 minutes if you walk the river route. In Hope there is a Spar, a butchers, a grocers, a post office, two pubs, an Indian and Chinese takeaway and other shops, small but just about all you need to be honest.

Laneside itself is a great site and I would definitely recommend it. Site is kept very tidy, there is a small shop in the reception that has a reasonable range of items.

All in all a great no hassle week in a beautiful setting on a great site. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tedkev 1 review from this member

 Laneside is in the perfect location for walks and cycling in the Peak District the village of hope is just 5 minutes walk away and is served with several pubs and local spar shop that supplies all your needs. Also there is a lovely Deli that does freshly made sandwiches and jams etc also check out the greengrocers next door.

Downsides to Laneside are just 2

The noise from the road is constant from 4 in the morning as is the train

Also the site toillets and showers are very dated and very cold although the water is lovely and hot the room temperature is cold

The Staff are excellent and very helpful

Just needs some TLC 


Previous     227 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5313 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements