Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 14/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 229 Reviews
                8/10 from 229 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  229 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 What a fine site, bigger than we expected and somewhat cramped but all in all very nice.

4 showers per sex was a right farce considering how many people are on site, this I thought was worthy of complaint.

On the plus side the staff were superb and the site was lovely and clean and tidy.

The walks nearby are very good indeed especially for Dog owners like us although you have to find the things, if the site office could detail some that would be superb.

Hope is just up the road and has the essentials but Castleton we thought was lovely with everything we wanted and more, just Two miles over the fields and a lovely walk.

Despite the silence rule after 10. 30pm we found one group of just Mums and loads of kids made a right row, no attempt to keep them quiet was made so I shouted, that seemed to do the job !

Over all a good site, very pricey for cramped pitches but that's our view, we will return but based on the above maybe bi yearly. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 9tiger9 14 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first visit to this site, what a good choice it was. The Wardens were excellent even when we had a site power cut at 01. 30 am, the chap was up and out, no fuss and sorted the problem. The showers, toilets and laundry room were spotless the water always hot. The grass kept well trimmed. The reception shop had most essential items if needed. Booking in was smooth and the chap also gave me a hand to site the caravan as there was a unit bang opposite us that made reversing onto the plot awkward (N2, please note this plot has a BIG tree behind it and shades it completely from the sun in the afternoon, but IS close to the facilities. Would we use this site again. Yes, we originally booked for 3 nights but ended up staying 5. They also give a discount to us elderly campers just ask when booking in. There is a couple of play areas if you have children and a shallow clean well paddled river. Dogs welcome( if you have a big dog then ring to check) In Hope village ( 400 mtrs from the site)Old hall pub does excellent food, there are butchers, spar, post office, cycle shop ect, For a chip shop you will need to go into Bradwell ( 3Km). 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: 1956terryl 12 reviews from this member

 We have just had a great weekend at Laneside. Very good facilities for our Motorhome, level site close to water supply and drive over for emptying waste water. There are free showers with instant hot water, it's on a push button and doesn't run for very long but is enough for rinsing off.

The owners were very friendly and we were shown to our pitch after filling up with water. There is a shop in the reception stocking basic essentials although we didn't use it. The site is well laid out, there is a mixture of statics, tourers on seasonal pitches as well as tents and vans there for the weekend.

Excellent access to Hope and Castleton either by footpath through the woods or following the road which has a footpath. There are several pubs within walking distance, I can recommend The Travellers Rest for food. We ate there on our first night, there was a good choice and prices were reasonable.

We will definitely stay here again, hopefully for a longer break. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cloggingchris 10 reviews from this member

 We've been to this lovely site several times before and will go again. We stayed with friends over the Bank Holiday weekend. We were in a tent, and they had camper vans. I found the pitches to be very well spaced - we were in the part of the site with hook ups and we had ample space. I did find that this part of the site was rather heavy on vans though, not many tents.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, an the on-site shop a bonus, selling the necessities such as bread and milk. There is a small shop a short walk away in the village if you need anything else.

The shower and toilet block is excellent, and always clean with plenty of hotwater, and the washing up area very good.

There is plenty to do - Castleton with pubs, restaurants, plenty of shops and 3 caverns to visit is less than an hours walk away, or a short bus ride. You can catch a bus from outside of the site to most areas of the peak district and there are lovely walks from the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Littlewhitebus 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a fabulous holiday at Laneside Caravan Park in the beautiful Hope Valley in Derbyshire. From the moment we arrived we knew we were in for a lovely time. The site itself was immaculately maintained and the facilities spotlessly clean with lashings of hot water.

The Owners and Wardens were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. In the office is a very well stocked shop with everything you could possibly need from chilled foods, fresh bread & cakes, toiletries and other everyday essentials.

The village is only a few minutes walk from the site, with 4 pubs and chinese and indian restaurants & takeaways. And mustn't forget the Old Hall Tea Rooms for full english breakfast!

There are plenty of walks around the Hope Valley for all abilities and we never needed the car.

Our pitch had views of the surrounding hills and the lovely weather made it perfect. The pitches themselves were ample and we had plenty of room despite the site being full.

We will definitely be back to Laneside and can't recommend it highly enough! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cezza65 1 review from this member

 Lovely site and would visit again. Clean, attractive and well maintained site. We had a hard standing pitch, but that was fine. Toilet and showers were clean. Only had to wait a few minutes to queue for a shower - but that's better than other sites we've visited! We also took our 2 dogs and it was great for them too! We wanted to go for a walk on the day of departure and we were allowed to leave our caravan on site for a few hours later - we were asked to make a donation to the charity box to do so! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purplepeople 7 reviews from this member

 I have reviewed this site before in a very positive light but unfortunately my view has now changed following a recent stay.

The owners/wardens seem to have chosen to ignore the fact that they do not allow gazebos or noise after 10. 30 as both of these things occurred during my stay. This seemed to attract a different clientele than in the past and I'm not sure that this site appeals to me any longer. I could cope with the cramped/undersized pitches before because there were so many other positive things to focus on but now it has become more difficult. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wmbrewin 2 reviews from this member

 Overall the site is very good.

We have just returned from a 4 night stay over the May bank holiday and found the site to be very clean, no noise at night, the staff were very welcoming and helpful.

We used a pitch with an electric hook up and felt the pitches were adequate although there was not a space for the children to play near the tent. There is a play area but away from the pitch therefore small children could not run around or kick a ball about while you relaxed, made dinner etc.

That said, we would return to the site and not bother with the electric hook up and ask to stay on the camp field near the play area as that appeared to have more room around the pitches.

Hope, a short walk away, had a few nice pubs (dog friendly), shops and places to eat.

Probably not the best site if you have young children and want to stay around the site all day as they may get bored but if you are out and about then it is highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SKILINDYLOU 2 reviews from this member

 The campsite increase their nightly charges for bank holiday nights like most do. But not just the bank hol though, but the 4 days that include it too. The minimum is 4 nights, & then they charge a Bank Holiday supplement on top of that. Then the children charges on top of that & if you are a senior & expect a discount - you don't get that either! To charge extra for a Tues, Weds & Thurs after bank Holiday + supplements & kids charges make it VERY EXPENSIVE. 230 plus for 2 pitches, 5 nights Sat - Weds for 2 OAPs, 2 adults & 2 children aged 7 & 3yrs becomes a very expensive break.

Like another reviewer I was very disappointed with the ratio of tents to caravans - loaded very heavily against the tents. It looked like most of the vans are seasonal pitches so there is not that many electric hook up pitches for campers. Most campers were pitched down by the river, so not allowed to have electric. Ground was very soft & a bit boggy by the time we left our pitches. Vans & tents were squashed in quite tightly but the pitches were a reasonable size for our Explorers & extensions. If we had had our large Montana 6 I think it would have been a very different matter.

Couldnt really fault the loo & shower block other than it was freezing cold on a chilly summer day - winter must be awful! There was always plenty of hot water. Loved the wash-up area. Even some lower set sinks for kids & disabled.

The staff were friendly - even the warden out of hours. But watch the colour/date on your tent guy tag. The wrong dates had been entered & we were almost expected to pay again for a night.

There are lots & lots of dogs - far more than I would have expected, but that relates to the number of seasonal vans. Most dogs were on a lead most of the time as requested.

I was disgusted that the rubbish bins were full when we arrived at the start of a Bank Holiday. By the end of our stay 5 days later they were still full & overflowing with a mini skip added to hold it. Had this been a boiling hot summer the smell would have been awful. There is no recycling either - other than glass. Most people are now happy with separating plastic & paper too. It wouldn't be hard to set this up.

The full size footy pitch for the kids is up the road about 50 yds along an extremely busy Buxton to Sheffield route. Kids need an adult with them to do this. The grass had not been cut for a good while when we were there & a ball couldn't be kicked over it as it was so long. The river boarders this too so not safe for smaller unattended kids.

The shop has very limited hours & is only basic stocked - they didn't even have any water carriers when ours split. Bread & milk, chocs & ices & a few bits of food in tins & basic camping items.

Plenty of places to visit nearby with Castleton, Derwent Reservoir, Monsal Head Viaduct, Eyam Village.

Food at the pub just up the road - The Old Hall- is fab & reasonably priced & they have a quiz night on Tuesday evenings. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mike2248 1 review from this member

 This is the first time I have felt the need to place a review on this site. We have just returned from yet another fantastic weekend at Laneside, I have just read with some dismay the criticism directed towards the site. We have been visiting Laneside for some three years now as both as a couple and as part of large family groups. The facilities at the site are outstanding, the showers, toilets, and washing facilities are always immaculate, and in plenty supply. (surprisingly queuing for a shower when there are so many campers can happen!) The facilities for the children are excellent. There are two purpose built boules courts, and a full size football field for them to burn off as much energy as they want in complete safety.

There is a very well stocked and very reasonably priced camp shop supplying most things you ll ever need.

The staff what can I say Friendly, welcoming, can t do enough for you, they make our stay all the more special every time we visit.

Set in the beautiful peak district, close to all local pubs and amenities what more could you ask for. Highly recommend ! 


Previous     229 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3801 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement