Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 14/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 227 Reviews
                8/10 from 227 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  227 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Plossl 7 reviews from this member

 I really liked this site, yes the road is a bit noisy, but you get used to it the longer you stay. Can't fault the area for walking (although a few more cafes that open early morning would be nice) and photography
The facilities were always kept clean and any problems were immediately seen too. There is lots to do in the area even for non walkers as Sheffield is only half hour away

Will I go back. Probably will be in October 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucious Demorte 1 review from this member

 This years summer holiday was spent at this interesting site. On arrival we were met by a friendly lady who provided us with a map and told us which pitch we were allocated

The pitch itself was of a decent size, especially since they have allocated a certain amount of pitches specifically for six berth tents. The only issue with the pitch was with drainage, with the amount of rain the area received whilst we were on the site, it was disappointing not to have a soakaway into the nearby river. As it was, a neighbouring tent provided us with a garden fork to aerate the ground and let some of the deluge drain away.

The facilities at Laneside felt well looked after and were always clean, there was never a queue for the toilets or showers, nor the sinks for the washing up. The office was open and manned for most of the day and it was quite nice to be able to swap over our own ice packs for free as well as having the provision for hiring their own packs, again for free. A small thing, but one that made us smile.

Laneside is an attraction not just for campers, but also for wildlife, a number of ducks have made there home here, along with the family of bank voles that made their home under our groundsheet for the duration of the stay.

The local village of Hope really is only a stones throw away, 5 minutes at most if you've over done it with the hill walking. The Spar there is open until 10pm and has a good supply of food and drink as well as other items, the neighbouring newsagent has a post office which was useful for postcards etc. The is also a Hitch and Hike shop which has pretty much any basic camping item you'll need.

The only downsides were a lack of any activities to do on site 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hobbes66 1 review from this member

 We have just got back from camping (2 adults 1 child aged 7) and I really enjoyed this campsite. It was the cleanest site I have been to and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The toilet/shower block is cleaned daily. The fact they didn't have a playground didn't matter as my daughter was usually to be found in the stream with her new found friends, or in the adjacent field (with goalposts for a good game of footy!)

The only downside was the road and if we could not be assured that we wouldn't be next to the road next time then we wouldn't go again. The noise was awful, with big lorries ALL night. Such a shame. It was lovely waking up to the ducks that roam the site, and the sound of the sheep in the next field.

If you are a heavy sleeper or are not situated near the road then I will highly recommend this lovely site. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping milly 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for two nights over a weekend. The site was full on both nights we have a large six man tent and felt the pitches were very small and cramped. The facilities were excellent the toilets and showers were kept very clean and never seemed that busy. The washing up facilities were spotless. The staff were helpful, a bread van goes to the site at the weekend and the bread was excellent. Very close to the local village less than a five min walk there were two pubs, a spar, tea/coffee shop and take away there. Site was close to a main road which was noisy at night. The toilet block was a good walk from the tent area we were in which could affect families with small children. Very dog friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: MADGE1 3 reviews from this member

 Pick the right weekend when we went lovely weather this is a great site well kept and big everything was lovely and clean will definitely be going back very soon.Nice walk into Town centre plenty of shops and Pubs good take away.

Went to the church fair on the Saturday picked up a bargain. There is also good dog walks, but I would of also like somewhere where I could of let him off the lead for 5 mins as he as a lot of energy to burn up. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Olidais 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a three night stay at this campsite. Our group consisted of two families including children, ranging in age from 2 - 7 years and 2 dogs staying in two tents.

On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful and pointed out our pitch and the toilets, showers etc.

We weren't pitched on the tent field, rather the recreation field near the boules courts. The first thing we noticed when we opened the car doors was the smell which we thought at first was the river but later realised it was coming from a vent pipe in the river bank which came from the on site waste water pumping station. Although the smell wasn't constant and tended to be there if the breeze was in our direction (it was worse when the pumps were going) it certainly wasn't pleasant.

We found it difficult to get the tent pegs into the ground as it is very stoney, probably to help with draibage but no good for pegging tents down.

Our pitch backed onto what looked like an old metal factory fence (not very pretty) and beyond that the river. The fence was only a few yards long so after that the river bank was open for falls and trips into the river, although the bank is sloping it is still steep enough for little ones to tumble down about 15 feet towards the river. Not the ideal place to site families with small children! The older children used the paths down to the river, which was shallow enough for paddling and fishing nets and found a tarzan swing that someone had put up which gave them hours of fun.

It was quite a trek to the toilet and shower blocks especially with young children who can't hold on very long, but for that we were actually glad we weren't on the tent field as that was even further away from the toilets! The showers, toilets and washing up facilities are superb. Especially the larger shower cubicles for families were extremely useful. There is a laundry with ironing facilities and a baby bath, although no hot water in there to fill it! Be warned the washing up water was dangerously hot with no warning signs, even on the low sinks advertised for children and disabled people, please don't send children, even older ones of 11 or 12 to wash up on their own, the water is really really hot.
The site didn't have a children's play area which seemed odd for a site of this size but we found a nice one about 3 minutes drive to Bradwell.

There is a no noise after 10. 30 rule which everyone seem to obey which was nice as there were no older children running around late on and no late barbecues etc. However the rule seemed a little redundant due to the noise from the main road into Hope and Casstleton which runs past the site and the train tracks which run about 300 yards away and the odd plane from East Midlands airport all of which didn't die down until about midnight.

The site is in a really good location for walks and attractions, such as The Caverns and Peveril Castle at the pretty village of Castleton, Ladybower Resevoir, Padley Gorge and is only a half hour drive from Bakewell, Buxton, Chatsworth, and Kinder Scout. It is and ideal base for walkers. The little shop is fairly well stocked and even sells spare pole sections for tents should yours decide to break.

I have to mention the Travellers Rest pub 500 yards down the road (turn right out of the site and the pub is on your left just after the traffic lights. ) It serves excellent meals which are very reasonable, accepts dogs (they have to stay on the wooden floor but that is no problem) The staff are extremely friendly and the large well tended gardens with a wooden children's play are certainly worthy of a mention.

The area is lovely and the site is large and clean with good facilities however we have crossed it off our list for further visits to the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fifi77 7 reviews from this member

 We visited for 2 nights and the area and location is good but we weren't very keen on the site. With the location they have, next to the river with the hills all around they could make it so much nicer but we were disappointed with it - it isn't really an attractive campsite, lots of gravel and not any landscaping or plants/flowers to give it any character. The pitches are small and close together and there seem to be a lot of rules compared to other sites (although I haven't been to other sites in this area).

The facilities were very clean and there weren't any queues although there may be on bank hols etc. As there are only 4 showers in the main block. It is quite a noisy site, with lots of young children.

On the plus side the village of Hope is a short walk and Castleton just a couple of miles (20 mins-ish walking) so there are pubs and shops, and also the train station if you want to catch it somewhere and walk back. The area is really beautiful and the location is great but we wouldn't return to this site. However. Lots of people obviously like it as it was fully booked when we were there! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Star01966 1 review from this member

 Just spent three nights at this site, it was very clean, lots of space round the tent. Only down side if any was no play park, but saying that our six year did make a lot of friends with the other children. The no noise after 10.30 was brill, very peaceful, apart from the road!

Not sure if would visit again, but could not fault with the location or the site.

The walk into Castleton was a joy, and the surrounding walks looked great, but the weather was not kind to us, so could not sample any more the time we was there.

The walk into Hope village was lovely, and the well stocked Spa, meant that we ate well during our stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: David McCrudden 5 reviews from this member

 We visited this site in early July, being 2 adults & 1 small dog, arriving on Wednesday morning. The reception was manned by a very helpful lady who showed us several pitches where we could set up. The site was quite empty at first. There is a static section and several seasonal tourer pitches. The showers were very clean at all times with plenty of hot water. The washing up area had about 8 sinks with 2 low ones for children and disabled campers. A word of warning, the water is very hot!

The reception had a small shop and useful information room. There is a very short dog walk, we found it better to cross the road and go into the fields via a public footpath along the river, where we saw kingfishers on 2 occasions.

From Friday afternoon the site began to fill up, and eventually was completely full. The tent part seemed to be very crowded, but as we weren't pitched there I really don't know how much so. Even though the site was full, we were always able to get use of showers etc.

The local village was Hope which is a short stroll away and has 2 pubs, there is another pub the other way about half a mile. There is also a SPAR which seems to sell everything and was being refurbished, take a bag as they are charging for them (rightly so), there are a few cafes too and a post office which sells papers etc. Castleton is a 2 mile walk away from Hope accessed from behind the church along paths through fields, which can get muddy. This is a lovely place with several pubs and cafes. There is also a large free visitor centre with a large exhibition about the Peak District, and good information area. The staff were very helpful, even coming to tell me we could take our dog round with us. We were there for over 2 hours.

We can recommend this site but not for those who like a bit of peace and quiet, that is not to say that it was rowdy. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julietbec 3 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from a weekend at this campsite and had a fantastic time. We were in a small tent and had a pitch on the main tent field. The one fault I could find with the site is that the pitches are quite small, although we had plenty of space really. However, it was a big advantage when arriving late on a Friday after work to have a marked pitch though- sometimes arriving late you find all the good places have gone, but not here.

The facilities were very clean and althought he site was full were never too busy. The washing up sinks were surprisingly spotless, and there were 6 of them so again there was always space.

The shop was not well stocked, but it is only a 5 min walk into Hope to the Spar, which is open 7-10. There are also some great pubs there. On a weekend morning a bread van comes round. We got some delicious (though pricey) fresh bread which was really handy.

The site was really quiet after 10.30- people seemed to really take notice of the request for quiet, and although they were still outside because of the lovely weather, there was barely any noise. We got a fantastic night's sleep both nights.

On Saturday we did the 2 mile walk into Castleton, as suggested on the site's website. It was a lovely little walk, easy terrain and great views. They told us at reception where to go which was helpful, and it was lovely to be able to go out all day without the car.

All in all a fab weekend, and we will definitely be going back to this site. 


Previous     227 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5984 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements