Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 12/04/2021 to 04/01/2022
           11/03/2022 to 03/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 251 Reviews
                8/10 from 251 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  251 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Broady 2 reviews from this member

 If like me you are new to camping and are looking for a good site with facilities I would recommend laneside. The facilities are good and clean with loads of hot water and at no extra cost. This is a busy time and would still be there now but never booked long enough in advance to secure my pitch:(. Hope village is nice and friendly with rail links to Manchester and Sheffield, the walk to Castleton is not far either by road or pathways (did both with my 7 year old son ) Hope has a spar, camping shop (closed Mondays) and numerous cafes and a pub (old hall, steak and ale pie is very nice ), a bike shop, an Indian restaurant, Chinese (who will deliver to the site ) We had 5 good days here and really enjoyed it and the beautiful peaks and will be going back again 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AHilly 3 reviews from this member

 This was the 4th time we've stayed at this site and have returned due to its location for walking, the clean toilets and showers and plenty of hot water.

There is some kind of sewerage station on the far right hand side of the site at the side of the stream which can pong. Although Hope is only a small village the road can be noisy if you are pitched next to it.

During busy weekends you can be a little cramped in on the main field but the newer recreation field towards the rear of the sites tends to have more space.

Worth walking to Castleton for the Cheshire Cheese pub for the ale and the food. The pubs in the village are fine and serve food but don't have much of an atmosphere. A handy camp shop & spar are also in the village that will offer you everything you may have forgotton or fancy for supper. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Double-Dutch 8 reviews from this member

 We didn't know what to expect when we managed to get into this site at more or less the last minute. Friends had told us it was noisy and cramped but I think we struck not exactly gold, but certainly silver.

Without immediately realising it, the friendly Warden directed us to a pitch near to the office which, we later realised, was an adults only area. This suited us perfectly! Looking down the field below it did look a little more cramped and I suspect it may have been noisier - although perhaps not at night time otherwise we would have heard.

Other reviews have commented on noise from the road but despite the fact I am a light sleeper, it wasn't a problem for me, and we were close to the main road.

Showers/toilets very clean, the shower block being heated. The toilets are separate to the showers - a personal dislike but for most this would not be a problem.

The area is brilliant for walking (as has been described in other reviews) and Hope is about 5 minutes walk away if you want a pub meal at night. Can't recall the name of pub but the first one you come to is absolutely fine for food.

In short we would definitely go back to this site again but I'd try to negotiate a similar pitch to the one we had before - just personal preference. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loobs 5 reviews from this member

 The facilities were clean. The situation fantastic. Great for walking and enjoying lovely pubs.

Only negatives were that the site is very close to a busy road and we felt that the pitches were very small and that we were packed in like sardines! The chap opposite was a real snorer!

The many rules and regulations, common sense ones at that, were emphasised but not enforced! Odd!

Hope is a beautiful village. The Cheshire Cheese is a proper old English pub and we thoroughly appreciated our welcome there! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Db123 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for a week.

The site is very well kept.

The toilet and showers are very clean and are cleaned 2 times a day by the very helpful Rebeca.

The camping field is level, has a shop on site but very basic esentials.

The village is only 5 min walk over the bridge.

And has every thing you need from a spa to 4 pubs and a chinese restaurant / take away and also will deliver to the site for you. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Uncomfy 1 review from this member

 Site facilities clean and user friendly. Situated close to the village as promised. Down side, we arrived Saturday early afternoon unable to pitch where we had requested several weeks previously, (the tents were packed in like sardines) we were given an alternative pitch which was so close to the road the back draft from the traffic blew the tent and the traffic noise was really too much.

There were several single sex groups some of which were noisy after 'quiet time'. We had booked for six nights and managed three. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elxx 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in May and had a lovely time. The site is well maintained, the staff are friendly and the toilets and showers were regularly cleaned.

We stayed in the camping field next to the brook and here you get more flexibility in the pitch space(although woken by the ducks!) when compared with the tent sites near the pedestrian entrance/road, which were more fixed in size.

Hope is a short walk away and the deli, butchers and SPAR all provide everything you need - the butchers in particular we thought were very reasonably prices and we had good quality steak.

The grilled hallumi starter and the beer battered fish at The Poachers Arms were amazing, although the food at The Cheshire Cheese was also great and the ambience a bit better (albeit a little warm)

We will definitely go back - we just want to try out a lot of other sites first! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GANGAN 7 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. Hope is a lovely small village, spar shop, great deli and watsons the butchers does great meat for your bbqs and 3 pubs all within 10 minutes walking distance, try the Cheshire Cheese just out of Hope, great food and lovely beer garden.

The site shops sells basics and really liked separate showers and toilets, the site itself is mainly flat and the tent pitches are all by the river. Our caravan pitch was great got the evening sun until nearly 9pm. Lovely river walk back into the village, will definitely return 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rbellamy 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this campsite over the weekend and we were positioned on the 'recreation' field next to the river which were really gorgeous pitches with plenty of space, great views and nice and close to the amenities.

Once we had walked through the other camping field though we were very glad of our spot as it did look pretty cramped in there although as we weren't in there I can't really comment.

Friendly welcome in the office which stocked basic bits and bobs. We were even pointed in the direction of some handy bricks for our bbq.

The toilet and shower block were spotlessly clean and a hot shower was very much appreciated as it was a bit on the chilly side. Never had to queue for a shower but I think a small one did build at peak times but that's to be expected.

Fantastic walking in the area and the walk to Castleton is a nice easy one. We ate out in the Cheshire Cheese Inn which was a bit of a disappointment, the menu was quite basic and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone with a gluten intolerance as my options were rather limited.

Would recommend the campsite and will likely be back 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Scats.miller 41 reviews from this member

 Visited over the Bank Holiday weekend as part of a rally. Great site,which although a little crowded has plenty of room on the pitches themselves. Friendly staff and an adequate shop.

Brilliant location and a short stroll from the village of Hope which has a well stocked 'Spar' ( Open 'til 10.00pm) and some interesting shops. Chinese takeaway is good and pubs excellent. Boot sale most Sundays in the summer in sports ground.

Castleton very close by with caves and great free museum. Definitely a place to revisit with lots to do around the area. 


Previous     251 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3292 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement