Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 14/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 227 Reviews
                8/10 from 227 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  227 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Outandabout33 16 reviews from this member

 We booked the site for 8 nights in sept, partly due to the fact that it had some self catering cottages attached that our friends could use.

Our other reason was the location, which I have to say did not disappoint, lots of great scenic walks close by and in short driving distance. Also good amenities within close distance, shops, pubs and transport links etc.

The site itself, for us was a little disappointing, due to the fact that it felt like the touring units were a little cramped in together with little personal space available also the grass looked like it needed cutting, but I suppose with them being so busy all the time they don, t get to many chances to do it !

Part of the site has static caravans on it plus there is also lots of seasonal pitched caravans, which seem to be in better looked after surroundings. We found all the reception staff friendly but have to say it, s not a site we would re-visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Simonanddeb 9 reviews from this member

 Amazing site in the heart of the Peak district, staff very friendly and helpful, very clean site with excellent facilities and within walking distance of hope village, the old hall pub does really nice food and well worth a visit!

Not a lot for small children to do but good if you want a quiet weekend away! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nuttyredlisa 3 reviews from this member

 This was our 5th year going back to Laneside and we will keep going back. The site and all its facilities are very well maintained, clean, and tidy, with a small shop on site and lots of local information leaflets, a laundry and baby change facilities. The staff are friendly and helpful. The pitches are all plenty big enough, grass and hardstanding, the grass is kept short, some with ehu and some without, depending what you want. Dogs are welcome, there is a little dog walk area. The location is perfect, a 2 minute walk into Hope, with a couple of great pubs, cafes and shops, a little longer walk, about half hour or 5 min bus journey and you are in Castleton, where there are more very good pubs, serving food, cafes and little shops, as well as the blue John mines. There are some stunning walks and the most beautiful scenery and countryside, walking on the flat or uphill. A walk up Loose hill and along the ridge to Mam Tor is definitely worth doing. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Salnsteve 19 reviews from this member

 Many years since we last visited this site and it is much improved. The booking in on arrival was quick and the wardens were very friendly and having chosen our site when booking on line, we were given a map and directions to our pitch.

We chose a hardstanding pitch with all the bells and whistles. Grey block paving for unit, gravel for awning and a block paving area for sitting out on. Choosing our own plot meant we were well away from traffic noise. Behind us was a grassed area for tents and beyond a small stream.

The location is ideal for a short walk into Hope and longer walk to Castleton. There is a bus stop right outside the camp entrance too.

Our main gripe was the design in the shower cubicles. Although there was plenty of hot water it ran through the changing area before draining away.

I would recommend this site to enjoy all that this beautiful part of the Peak District has to offer. Most of the pubs welcome muddy boots and dogs. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Koakey 8 reviews from this member

 As usual a lovely site, well kept helpful staff. For the first time we opted for hard standing a mistake we bent more pegs than we put in. We gave booked again but are going back to grass. Otherwise no negatives at all. G 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Irvine45 71 reviews from this member

 We spend the May bank holiday here and it is a nice site, it was just let down by the toilet facilities in my opinion. They always seemed clean and there was a mop for the showers, maybe it just was the colour scheme. If they were modernised, this would be a first rate site.

The wardens were always friendly and the site was quiet even although it was full.

The location of the site is very good for the town / pubs. The Traveller's Rest is worth a visit if you don't mind walking in the dark. (There is a good pavement all the way).

Good walking area.

I would like to return to the site, probably once it has been improved. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kevah 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 6 nights from the first day of the season. What a lovely site. Nice clean toilets and showers. Station 5 minutes walk away. Bus stops outside site. 2 dog friendly pubs in village 5 minutes walk away. Stay here, you will like it as we did. Thanks for a great stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cookiekid 42 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this lovely site last weekend. We've been trying to book this site for 3 years, we finally made it this time. We were greeted by a lovely lady who showed us to our pitch and gave us a site map. Its well cared for and nicely laid out, plenty of space between units. The toilet and shower blocks were kept very clean with no queues whenever we went in. There are ample washing up sinks with plenty of hot water and draining space. The shop looked stocked up, although we did not need anything.

We wandered into to the village on Saturday evening, a nice ten minutes walk. There is the Old Hall Hotel which seems very popular, meals looked huge and plenty were eating. The other pub across the road, The woodruff arms, to me was run down with no atmosphere, so would not go there again.

Its a lovely 2 mile walk to Castleton, which had plenty going off on Sunday. We decided to catch the bus back to Hope, 1. 00 each, a bargain. Ye olde Cheshire Cheese pub, up Edale road is worth the walk. We sat in the lovely beer garden, which was a sun trap. All in all we had a fab weekend. We will certainly recommend this site to family and friends. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M+MGalliers 20 reviews from this member

 The clue is in the name - this is a caravan park, where tents are an afterthought!

The tent field is furthest from the facilities in a damp area near a river with a water treatment unit of some sort that hums all night. But that pales into insignificance compared to the noise of the road with the trucks thundering up and down it to the nearby quarries and the noise of the trains on on the mainline between Leeds and Sheffield. And, to top it all, there is an incredibly bright security light which is on ALL NIGHT in the campsite which blazes into the tent field. We could almost read by it in our tent! None of this made for a good night's sleep.

On the plus side, the site is clean, well organised and a very short walk to Hope which has plenty of facilities. The pitches are clearly marked, the welcome was friendly and the on site shop is well stocked. There is a freezer for ice packs (and some to borrow whilst yours are chilling) and a boules court.

The showers and loos are clean but there are only four showers for ladies and four for men which is not many for the size and popularity of the site and the block was pretty chilly even in July.

There are plenty of washing-up sinks but they are all incredibly low.

In summary, I would not recommend this site to anyone in a tent! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 183 reviews from this member

 Third time here and agree with all previous complimentary comments and so will only add a few not touched on recently. Hope village has everything in it i. E. Pubs, shop, take-aways however the best traditional country pub Cheshire Cheese is worth seeking out for its real ales alone, turn right before the supermarket and carry on for about 10 mins on foot along the Edale road. There is a bus stop outside the site entrance, we went to Sheffield on it, buses do run through the eve. Castleton is amazing for pubs, I counted five, there maybe more. Yes the toilets are outdated but functional and cleaned daily. We chose a pitch by the river to avoid any road noise 


Previous     227 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5781 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements