Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 12/04/2021 to 04/01/2022
           11/03/2022 to 03/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 251 Reviews
                8/10 from 251 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  251 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Supall 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed for two nights and were put at the far end of Noe field, J8. Avoid this pitch at all costs, seemed fine when put there at 13.00 but at 18.00 when just having our evening meal the smell of sewage drifted across from the other side of the fence, I asked in the office what could be done and was told, nothing, hard luck for getting that pitch. So be warned.

Other than that everything else we have seen and read about site is spot on, great location, just avoid pitches around 'J8'

The only other gripe we had was people playing cricket opposite us on camping field. The ball hit our 'van (not hard) but when I asked them what they would do if they dented it, they shrugged and carried on. In my experience ball games and caravans don't mix! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trevexess 9 reviews from this member

 We visited this site on a weekend in June, the site was fully booked, very busy. It is also quite expensive when you consider my comments listed below.

It is a great location, with shops pubs and eating houses on the doorstep - However, the pitches are very close together and no dividing fences / hedges - also in my opinion the facilities are not good enough when the site is busy.

Only 4 showers each for male and female serving at least 100 pitches - not good - also loved the hardstanding quadrangle - sorry I mistook this for a car park but that's exactly what it looks like 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liz-1977 1 review from this member

 The owners could not have been more helpful and, like other reviewers, we found toilets and showers spotless even though the park was busy. Hope village with pubs and shops is a 5 minute walk - recommend bread and pies at The Hope Chest. We were particularly impressed with the village Chinese - really good food: phone up and they deliver to your tent!

They had just completed the new boules court when we got there - it's a great set-up near the river with benches and tables round so you can watch others playing. We played several times and enjoyed it - they don't charge to play and lend out free sets of boules. Only criticism: compared to French courts we've played on, it's a bit fast, but that's maybe a bit picky.

All considered a good place to stay with beautiful scenery all around and a good location for the High Peak villages and walks. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Claire1965 18 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, great owners, spotless showers and toilets great views. Great walks and maps available from reception.

Site owners allowed us to stay till 4.00pm on day of departure but they do that for all if not busy. Great pubs in village of hope. We used the Cheddar Cheese, not cheap but very very nice.

For a great pint of bitter try the Old Hall hubby said it was the best pint he had had in years. The town of castleton is lovely loads of eating places caves and walks. On the last night we used the indian restuarant in the village for a take out, no problems there it was great!

If I have a moan which I never have, the main road that runs along the site is noisy, must admit never had any trouble sleeping (thanks to the wine) but felt very vulnerable walking into castleton as it is a very busy fast main road.

This is no fault of the owners, they were great and would help you out at any time.

It was not the traffic that woke us in the morning it was the chaffinches, lovely! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Josiewales 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed just the 1 night as we were going on to bakewell for the weekend to meet friends. Have stayed here before though.

Nice location a stones throw from Hope with a couple of pubs and a Spar and only a 2 mile walk from Castleton. Don't miss the riverside walk back from castleton with wildlife plus spring lambs and donkeys (lots of stiles though)

Facilities are clean, bright and warm.

Pitches are a good size

We heard the traffic noise but this was not a problem.

Only gripe is when we arrived just after 1pm and the reception was closed till four and booking in and being allocated a pitch by mobile phone is less than ideal to say the least.

That aside we would come again just for the location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PHIL+CHRIS007 4 reviews from this member

 We camped here with our 3 children and pet dog, We got pitched by the river which was home to a few friendly duck's.

The site was kept clean, the toilets and shower blocks were clean and warm there was a nice pot wash area. There were different size pitches for tents and we were given a choice of pitch as they were not too busy. It was a bit of a trek to the toilets from the tent area but apart from this it was a really lovely site we would go back again. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Millygilly 1 review from this member

 We choose this site because of its great location, ie very near to Hope and excellent mountain biking routes from the site - we chose well.

On arrival we were greeted and given a choice of several pitches - we stayed on a hardstanding area near to the office and very convenient for the toilets, showers, washing up area - all of which were immaculate. One gripe is, the doors to the shower room were wedged open so it felt quite cold inside. To make up for this - the showers were nice and hot, although you have to position your clothes carefully to avoid them getting sprayed.

We stayed near to the river and enjoyed the peacefulness of this (beware few midges early evening - and this is March!).

We will definitely come back to Laneside, the owners were always very cheerful and approachable 


Date of Visit: November 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Capel curig 7 reviews from this member

 Nice site with good facilities for motorhomes.

Owners friendly and facilities nice and clean.

Hope is a lovely village with a good Spar shop within walking distance, a Chinese and Indian take-away and a couple of good pubs serving meals.

There is lots of walking in the area and the site has lovely views of surrounding hills.

This is a quiet peaceful site in a beautiful area with good facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alferbys 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for 9 nights. Good location, lots of walks in the area for the dog. Site is clean and tidy, we stayed on the hardstanding at the top of the site near the office and toilet / shower block.
Being new to caravanning (and reversing!) this was ideal for us as it is a large area with plenty of room, could be prone to be noisy being so close to the facilities but we had no problem. Extra toilets at the bottom of the site near seasonal tourers and statics where available if the main ones got busy or during cleaning times.
Bit windy at times, we thought we were going to loose the awning a couple of times(was however first time we'd put it up and that was only with loads of help from one of our neighbours!) also not easy to get a TV signal due to being in the valley but after some trial and error we managed to get the main bbc and itv channels.
Our only gripe was that when using the showers the water runs from one to another so when trying to get dry the floor can get unexpectedly wet, I had put a towel on the floor to stand on and only just got it up in time before the deluge hit! Toilets and showers always clean and tidy despite site being very busy. Overall we had an excellent holiday would definitely recommend 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Penfest 6 reviews from this member

 We stopped off at this site after picking our unit up at Wigan. We stayed for two nights we found the staff pleasant and friendly. Campsite very clean and tidy. The village of Hope is just a short walk away and has a good selection of shops plus three pubs.

Only downside to our stay was the road noise but we should have chosen our pitch more carefully. 


Previous     251 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3336 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement