Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 14/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 227 Reviews
                8/10 from 227 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  227 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eee1 1 review from this member

 I was looking forward to visiting this site after reading some of the reviews and after being told over the phone that they were 'only a small campsite', but my first impression was one of disappointment. There are a lot of static caravans so making the overall ambience of the site very unpleasant and overcrowded.

When I first arrived I was offered a camp site squeezed between other campers, there was just no room I was then offered another one but was not allowed to keep my car next to it and had to park it in the carpark as they wanted to put a caravan there.

It could have been a relaxing site as it is in a lovely area with a stream that the kids can play in but it was noisy due to overcrowding and there were a lot of dogs. The main road is very noisy and busy. I think you need to choose when you go to this site very carefully, maybe not over any type of holiday as someone told me the last time they came it was not as busy as it was out of holiday time (but the static caravans would still be there). The site shop is very poorly stocked I think they expect you to use the local Spar shop.

The good points are the staff, they are very helpful. The showers, lovely hot water and clean. But I did have to queue and saw others doing the same.

It is close to Hope Village, there are not any shops to visit other than the Spar and a Farmers shop, so not very interesting but you have a good selection of restaurants and cafe's (the Courtyard Cafe was very good near the bike shop).

The train station close by takes you to Manchester. There is very good extreme off road mountain biking which you can cycle to and flat routes you can drive to.

Good walking you can drive or bus to. They have two boules pitches on site and a football pitch the children can use but you have to walk out of the campsite along the busy road.

I am rating this campsite on the overcrowding and road noise as it let it down. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CampingHampson 1 review from this member

 The campsite is in a beautiful area. The village is close by and has a lovely pub and handy shop. The site is very close to the road so that you can always hear traffic. There is a river that the kids loved playing in.

The pitches are very small so you are very close to your neighbours. We had to re pitch our tent as it is longer than the pitch and would have meant we opened the tent door onto the road.

The showers were fine as was the shower block. The pot wash area was lovely but was so low that it made back breaking work of doing the dishes. Might be an idea to have some lower and some higher sinks.

Based on the pitch sizes We would not return to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jacey 4 reviews from this member

 Wow just had a lovely 5 days at this site and loved it. Although full it was quite quiet although we did hear televisions which did spoil it a bit as we like to leave the tv at home.

Could hear the road but got used to it after a day or two. Local to the village it was handy for the pubs and shops although shops were a bit expensive so shall be going to larger town for main shop.

Countryside is super with lots of local walks for all ages. Hoping to get there again later in the year and hope to make a regular visit next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ninamarielouise 4 reviews from this member

 Went to this site for one night to join friends who had managed to get a pitch at the last minute due to a cancellation.

The site itself is fine, great facilities, everything you could need, however it is right next to a busy road meaning you can hear fairly heavy traffic from early morning till late at night.

Also, the pitches are very close together so that, when full, everyone is so tightly crammed in it's like holidaying on a council estate. It's very caravan-heavy too, not the best for tenters. We had to listen to our neighbour's very loud TV until late at night.

There is no space for kids to run around because the only free ground is gravelly road. This site is a far cry from the fantastic one we visited two weeks previously on the Lleyn Peninsular in Wales, which, although fully booked, only allowed tents around the outside perimeter of each field which meant everyone had tons of space and peace & quiet. This is how a campsite should be run, not ramming people in to make the most money possible.

Despite this, Laneside is obviously very popular, so clearly different people want different things out of a camping holiday. It's a great base to explore the many local attractions - including the brilliant Hathersage Lido. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: The Drifters 5 reviews from this member

 We were looking for a good campsite between my brother in Stockport and our friends in Matlock. Fortunately we found Laneside in Hope; right in the middle of the beatiful Derbyshire Dales.

The site was easy to find and because of my disability we were given a very large hardstanding a short distance from the shower block. The pitch was right by the side of a beautiful river.

The showers and toilets were very clean and tidy. Our hosts couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

The site is just a short walk from the centre of Hope where there is a wonderful pub with food, and a little further along s a little bistro tucked away which serves the best coffee and cream teas.

We have only spent a week there but will certainly be going back 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jodry 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned on Thursday and had a lovely few days at Laneside, think the warm, sunny weather helped. We were on electric pitches and I found the pitches a little cramped but the field near the stream is non - electric and that looked like more space.

Showers free and nice temperature, friendly staff who left you alone, not too many rules.

Our children loved the stream and played in it happily and used the sports field as well. Hope is a lovely village with a few pubs like other people have mentioned.

Did a walk on Wednesday up and across Stannage edge, there were 11 of us ranging from 9 year old nephew to 75 year old father and it was great, everybody enjoyed it. When we left the family walked into Castleton but got the bus back so the site is well serviced by public transport.

Really liked this site and would return 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stephensoncamping 1 review from this member

 We have just booked up for our 3rd visit to this campsite as we thoroughly enjoyed our previous stays in 2011 and 2012. The staff at the campsite are very helpful and even supplied a car battery charger for when the car battery unfortunately went flat. On our first visit we stayed on the regular tent pictures by the stream - we slept very well and found the facilities to be extremely clean. On our second visit we treated ourselves to electric hook up - at an extremely reasonable rate - and now consider ourselves as glampers! The campsite is in an excellent location, we enjoy eating at the 'Cheshire cheese' pub - amazing food but it is very popular so booking is recommended. There is an allocated area for games, where we have enjoyed playing boules and there is a field across the stream for children to play ball games. The newly refurbished campsite shop has all the essentials needed and offers an excellent freezer pack service. We are very much looking forward to our stay in August. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lolzilla 1 review from this member

 Found this campsite whilst driving through the Hope Valley in Derbyshire. It is quite a big site close to the river with pretty flat pitches, our pitch was well sheltered and pretty sunny. We know it was a very busy weekend when we visited but the pitches were fairly colse together and we would have liked more room.

Nearby the site is Castleton which has lots of pubs and a few shops, a few miles away in Bradwell is a chippy which was pretty good when we visited.

The facilities were fine, the water could have been a little hotter. It was quite noisy until 11pm but then it quietened down. It's a good base for walking in the Hope Valley with a railway line nearby, there is also a fairly busy road next to the site which can be quite noisy.

We liked the site but would prefer bigger pitches and less road noise. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Demmo 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Laneside as we wanted a short break close to home. Lovely clean and tidy site, plenty of ehu and fresh water taps and we had a great corner pitch with loads of room.

Met on arrival by the owners who showed us where everything was and gave us info on places to eat and drink [dog friendly].

Even though we were next to the main road the large hedge acts as a great noise barrier, slept peacefully without any on site noise.

We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dipseytopcat 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first caravan touring year so we chose sites nearby to where we live.

When we arrived at Laneside, we were met by friendly staff who were very welcoming and showed us where to pitch. The site has a small shop, but there is a spar within walking distance, for those items not stocked at the site shop. We found the facilities very clean, my husband was enthralled by the washing up stations, I have no idea why but he really like them, even through we did most of our washing in the caravan.

It was a short walk into the village, which has a nice pub which does food, also not far from Castleton.

Can't say there was any down sides, the site was fairly quiet when we went so I can't really comment on noise etc. We do hope to go back soon. 


Previous     227 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4788 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements