Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 12/04/2021 to 04/01/2022
           11/03/2022 to 03/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 251 Reviews
                8/10 from 251 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  251 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mirkiov 7 reviews from this member

 The location is great as a walking base around Castleton. There is a nearby pub and Castleton (many pubs) is not too far away on foot either. The site is well maintained and has excellent shower/washing facilities. It is mainly a caravan park so it is a bit like a village(no stumbling around in the dark) and not a quiet field or woodland. However, it is surrounded by hills and greenery. A great place to explore the caves, hills, castle and pubs from but quite a noisy, busy and big site. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PIGGYMALLONE 1 review from this member

 We usually stay at quieter CL caravan club sites, but on this occasion none available. However I cold find no fault with Laneside, spotless toilets and showers, and plenty of them, free Wi-Fi connection. Although fairly large the park was quiet. Helpful staff. Will certainly visit again. ************** 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Prog 1 review from this member

 My girlfriend and I stayed at Laneside under canvas for three nights and were impressed with the site from the moment we arrived. We were given a warm and friendly welcome, and directions to our pitch were very clear.

The showers and toilets were spotlessly clean and were easily the best we've seen on a campsite. In fact, they put many a hotel to shame. The cleaning staff clearly put in a lot of effort to maintain such a high standard.

We were also impressed with the site shop which had good stocks of the basics and wasn't overpriced. The selection of ice lollies were most welcome during the heatwave we experienced.

The only small criticism we have is that the sinks for washing up are quite low which can be an issue if you're reasonably tall. I chose to kneel down rather than bend, much to the amusement of some of our fellow campers. :-)

We've booked again for a long weekend in August and look forward to visiting again. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Annyvials 7 reviews from this member

 We visited Laneside on the last weekend in May beginning June. On arrival we were welcomed and shown to our pitch by the owner. The pitch itself was electric hook up on grass and was quite big enough for our vw camper and an awning (if we'd had one). No sooner had we pitched and started to set up, but the plastic stopper in the new gas bottle got stuck and we had no tool to get it out. The owner came to our rescue with a pair of pipe grips which was extremely helpful. The site itself is quite small and is about 50/50 with caravans who appear to be permanent and those of us who drop by with maybe 9 or 10 statics.

We found the showers to be lovely and hot and the fact that you have to press the button a lot to keep the water running didn't bother us. The shower does spray a little so you have to be careful where you put your belongings. The toilets and showers are clean and dry and warm. There is a hairdryer in both toilets and shower facilities and 20p is more than enough to fully dry your hair. As mentioned elsewhere, the washing up sinks are a little on the low side and I'm only 5'3' but, again, not a huge problem.

We can't comment on the playground or football field and we did see a dog walking/poop area which is a good idea. In the locality there is a convenience store and post office justa 5 minute walk away if you can't get it at the on-site shop. There are a few pubs around which look nice and some beautiful walks and scenery inccuding Mam Tor and Kinder Scout.

Would we go back? Yes, absolutely. Clean, convenient and scenic. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ljamfam 33 reviews from this member

 We arrived just before the bank holiday and would never do that again. The place was packed. So much that when a tent pitched next to us we could nearly touch their guy lines from our motorhome window.

Small shop on site selling basics but village was only 10 min walk away to get newspapers and anything not in site shop.

Village has nice pubs and places to eat. Amazing walks direct from site or you can catch train or bus to places further along valley and walk back to Hope.

Pot washing sinks are very low. Could do with being raised up slightly.

Problem with water running from shower area into changing area of next door.

Would revisit but only mid week away from weekends and holidays and only because of the surrounding area 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HelenMcMellon 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed 4 nights at this site and found that caravans were the main focus of the site. We stayed on the Noe field near the toilets and showers which were always clean and plenty of toilet roll. The only problem I had with the showers were they were the ones that you have to push in and the water did not last that long and first thing the water was cold so you have to push it a few times to get hot water. The shop was very basic and did not seem to sell anything of use for us such as bacon and tinned meats. There is a spar in the village which is only a few minutes walk away and the Old Hall Team Rooms were really nice and they did a great breakfast bap however the full breakfasts were quite pricey. The pubs in the village were very expensive however there are a couple of takeaways one Chinese off the Woodroofe Arms and an Indian just opposite in the courtyard. The site overall was clean and well thought out but I would not recommend it if you are looking for peace and quiet as quite a busy site. The train station at Hope is only a few minutes walk which is one of the reasons we picked it. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Briddy 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Laneside for 4 nights and found it to be an excellent campsite. The wardens gave us a warm welcome and all the information we required on our arrival. Our pitch was level, as are most of the pitches at the site, and backed on to the river.

The small shop has a limited range of stock, but fresh milk and basics were available. The information point was well stocked with brochures of local places of interest

The showers were always hot and the shower and toilet blocks kept clean

The location of the site was most convenient for trips out to Chatworth, Buxton, Matlock, Bakewell and many smaller interesting vilages.

The village of Hope is about 400 metres away with it's Post Office, Convenience store, pubs and cafe. We took the 20 minute stroll aling the river to the Cheshire Cheese pub, where the real ale and food were excellent. Another 5 minute stroll takes you back to Hope village

All in all a very good campsite that I would not heitate to use again if we are in that area 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nuttyredlisa 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Laneside May Bank Holiday weekend. The owners were very friendly, they showed us a map of the site and a map of the village and explained where everything was, we were then shown to our pitch. The showers/toilets/pot washing areas were all spotless and water was hot. There's a little shop on site, and plenty of leaflets and info of things to see and do in the area. Hope is a 2 minute walk away, with pubs and shops, Castleton is a 20 minute walk, lots of little gift shops, pubs, cafes etc. Beautiful surrounding scenery and plenty of public footpaths and walks, its worth a walk up Lose hill and across the ridge to Mam Tor, stunning views!

Site is next to quite a busy road, but the traffic didn't really bother us. Will visit again for sure! 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

 This was our last trip for the present season, the weather could of been a lot better ( nothing to do with the site) however we arrived 5. 30pm as was promptly shown to our pitch (we were up graded to hardstanding mainly due to being twin wheel caravan, tend to rip soft grass up to be left with a badly looking ploughed garden). Pitch size was more than adequate, I managed to use my small 10m electric lead, fresh water and grey waste are centrally located close to the toilets. These made us smile and reminded us of being at school. They are clean and well stocked however the toilets and showers are separate so decided which you want to visit first, as you then have to come back out and in the next door for either or ( there is more than enouch of both to service the site without there ever having a queue to be formed.

We hope to return here when the weather should be more kinder and warmer for us to enjoy this site to its full.

P. S. If you like BURGERS we can whole heartily recommend BUDDIES of castleton ( left out of site 2. 4 mile 90 degree left 50 yards 90 degree right on left hand side). 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GandM 8 reviews from this member

 Not over-impressed with site. The Hard Standing area for Caravans and Motorhomes always seemed to be under water with very large puddles everywhere. The whole of the bottom part of the site (pitches J1/J2/J3/J4/J5/J6 etc. Badly need to be resurfaced as indeed does the area around the Office. It's very badly potholed.

Another problem is the lack of drinking water taps around this bottom area of the site. It was between 75-100 yards from our pitch (J4) to the tap, although there was a tap (stated 'not drinking water') next to the Motorhome Service Point. Showers and toilets are fine although it seemed to take a long time for the hot water to arrive in the shower. Had to keep pressing the button as it wouldn't stay on for more than a couple of seconds.

The entrance and exit to the site flatter to deceive as these are beautifully paved. Shame the whole site isn't like this!

Buses are great (with bus passes!). Bus stops outside site with services every hour to Sheffield & Castleton (Bus 272) and also to Bakewell.

Trains run every hour via Hope Station (less than 10 mins. Walk) from Sheffield to Manchester.

We've stayed at about 50 sites in the past 5 years and I would put Laneside in the bottom 10. Just my opinion. 


Previous     251 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3222 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement