Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 14/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 227 Reviews
                8/10 from 227 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  227 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ljamfam 32 reviews from this member

 We arrived just before the bank holiday and would never do that again. The place was packed. So much that when a tent pitched next to us we could nearly touch their guy lines from our motorhome window.

Small shop on site selling basics but village was only 10 min walk away to get newspapers and anything not in site shop.

Village has nice pubs and places to eat. Amazing walks direct from site or you can catch train or bus to places further along valley and walk back to Hope.

Pot washing sinks are very low. Could do with being raised up slightly.

Problem with water running from shower area into changing area of next door.

Would revisit but only mid week away from weekends and holidays and only because of the surrounding area 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HelenMcMellon 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed 4 nights at this site and found that caravans were the main focus of the site. We stayed on the Noe field near the toilets and showers which were always clean and plenty of toilet roll. The only problem I had with the showers were they were the ones that you have to push in and the water did not last that long and first thing the water was cold so you have to push it a few times to get hot water. The shop was very basic and did not seem to sell anything of use for us such as bacon and tinned meats. There is a spar in the village which is only a few minutes walk away and the Old Hall Team Rooms were really nice and they did a great breakfast bap however the full breakfasts were quite pricey. The pubs in the village were very expensive however there are a couple of takeaways one Chinese off the Woodroofe Arms and an Indian just opposite in the courtyard. The site overall was clean and well thought out but I would not recommend it if you are looking for peace and quiet as quite a busy site. The train station at Hope is only a few minutes walk which is one of the reasons we picked it. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Briddy 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Laneside for 4 nights and found it to be an excellent campsite. The wardens gave us a warm welcome and all the information we required on our arrival. Our pitch was level, as are most of the pitches at the site, and backed on to the river.

The small shop has a limited range of stock, but fresh milk and basics were available. The information point was well stocked with brochures of local places of interest

The showers were always hot and the shower and toilet blocks kept clean

The location of the site was most convenient for trips out to Chatworth, Buxton, Matlock, Bakewell and many smaller interesting vilages.

The village of Hope is about 400 metres away with it's Post Office, Convenience store, pubs and cafe. We took the 20 minute stroll aling the river to the Cheshire Cheese pub, where the real ale and food were excellent. Another 5 minute stroll takes you back to Hope village

All in all a very good campsite that I would not heitate to use again if we are in that area 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nuttyredlisa 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Laneside May Bank Holiday weekend. The owners were very friendly, they showed us a map of the site and a map of the village and explained where everything was, we were then shown to our pitch. The showers/toilets/pot washing areas were all spotless and water was hot. There's a little shop on site, and plenty of leaflets and info of things to see and do in the area. Hope is a 2 minute walk away, with pubs and shops, Castleton is a 20 minute walk, lots of little gift shops, pubs, cafes etc. Beautiful surrounding scenery and plenty of public footpaths and walks, its worth a walk up Lose hill and across the ridge to Mam Tor, stunning views!

Site is next to quite a busy road, but the traffic didn't really bother us. Will visit again for sure! 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

 This was our last trip for the present season, the weather could of been a lot better ( nothing to do with the site) however we arrived 5. 30pm as was promptly shown to our pitch (we were up graded to hardstanding mainly due to being twin wheel caravan, tend to rip soft grass up to be left with a badly looking ploughed garden). Pitch size was more than adequate, I managed to use my small 10m electric lead, fresh water and grey waste are centrally located close to the toilets. These made us smile and reminded us of being at school. They are clean and well stocked however the toilets and showers are separate so decided which you want to visit first, as you then have to come back out and in the next door for either or ( there is more than enouch of both to service the site without there ever having a queue to be formed.

We hope to return here when the weather should be more kinder and warmer for us to enjoy this site to its full.

P. S. If you like BURGERS we can whole heartily recommend BUDDIES of castleton ( left out of site 2. 4 mile 90 degree left 50 yards 90 degree right on left hand side). 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GandM 8 reviews from this member

 Not over-impressed with site. The Hard Standing area for Caravans and Motorhomes always seemed to be under water with very large puddles everywhere. The whole of the bottom part of the site (pitches J1/J2/J3/J4/J5/J6 etc. Badly need to be resurfaced as indeed does the area around the Office. It's very badly potholed.

Another problem is the lack of drinking water taps around this bottom area of the site. It was between 75-100 yards from our pitch (J4) to the tap, although there was a tap (stated 'not drinking water') next to the Motorhome Service Point. Showers and toilets are fine although it seemed to take a long time for the hot water to arrive in the shower. Had to keep pressing the button as it wouldn't stay on for more than a couple of seconds.

The entrance and exit to the site flatter to deceive as these are beautifully paved. Shame the whole site isn't like this!

Buses are great (with bus passes!). Bus stops outside site with services every hour to Sheffield & Castleton (Bus 272) and also to Bakewell.

Trains run every hour via Hope Station (less than 10 mins. Walk) from Sheffield to Manchester.

We've stayed at about 50 sites in the past 5 years and I would put Laneside in the bottom 10. Just my opinion. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Emmersons 1 review from this member

 We visited this site for 2 nights recently. As we have young children we choose sites that have good facilities as it is a lot easier to use the site facilities.

The site is very well kept and in a very good area and location and the Staff could not have been more helpful

But

The showers are very poor. When we visited the weather was very cold and raining. The shower room was Freezing cold and the showers them selves only just warm.

Ended up using the facilities in our Caravan

Would we stop again ? Yes if they sorted out the showers 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Rachgoody 1 review from this member

 The site is lovely and clean and in an excellent setting. It only has 4 showers which is a pain when the site is so big and busy, could do with another block towards the exit part of the site. Apart from that will definitely use again, highly recommend this to anyone. The site shop is well stocked and Hope village has all amenities needed; Chinese was excellent and they deliver free to the site. Close to lots of interesting places, a good base for any walkers. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 What a fine site, bigger than we expected and somewhat cramped but all in all very nice.

4 showers per sex was a right farce considering how many people are on site, this I thought was worthy of complaint.

On the plus side the staff were superb and the site was lovely and clean and tidy.

The walks nearby are very good indeed especially for Dog owners like us although you have to find the things, if the site office could detail some that would be superb.

Hope is just up the road and has the essentials but Castleton we thought was lovely with everything we wanted and more, just Two miles over the fields and a lovely walk.

Despite the silence rule after 10. 30pm we found one group of just Mums and loads of kids made a right row, no attempt to keep them quiet was made so I shouted, that seemed to do the job !

Over all a good site, very pricey for cramped pitches but that's our view, we will return but based on the above maybe bi yearly. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 9tiger9 14 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first visit to this site, what a good choice it was. The Wardens were excellent even when we had a site power cut at 01. 30 am, the chap was up and out, no fuss and sorted the problem. The showers, toilets and laundry room were spotless the water always hot. The grass kept well trimmed. The reception shop had most essential items if needed. Booking in was smooth and the chap also gave me a hand to site the caravan as there was a unit bang opposite us that made reversing onto the plot awkward (N2, please note this plot has a BIG tree behind it and shades it completely from the sun in the afternoon, but IS close to the facilities. Would we use this site again. Yes, we originally booked for 3 nights but ended up staying 5. They also give a discount to us elderly campers just ask when booking in. There is a couple of play areas if you have children and a shallow clean well paddled river. Dogs welcome( if you have a big dog then ring to check) In Hope village ( 400 mtrs from the site)Old hall pub does excellent food, there are butchers, spar, post office, cycle shop ect, For a chip shop you will need to go into Bradwell ( 3Km). 


Previous     227 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5145 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements