Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 12/04/2021 to 04/01/2022
           11/03/2022 to 03/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 251 Reviews
                8/10 from 251 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  251 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kevah 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 6 nights from the first day of the season. What a lovely site. Nice clean toilets and showers. Station 5 minutes walk away. Bus stops outside site. 2 dog friendly pubs in village 5 minutes walk away. Stay here, you will like it as we did. Thanks for a great stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cookiekid 52 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this lovely site last weekend. We've been trying to book this site for 3 years, we finally made it this time. We were greeted by a lovely lady who showed us to our pitch and gave us a site map. Its well cared for and nicely laid out, plenty of space between units. The toilet and shower blocks were kept very clean with no queues whenever we went in. There are ample washing up sinks with plenty of hot water and draining space. The shop looked stocked up, although we did not need anything.

We wandered into to the village on Saturday evening, a nice ten minutes walk. There is the Old Hall Hotel which seems very popular, meals looked huge and plenty were eating. The other pub across the road, The woodruff arms, to me was run down with no atmosphere, so would not go there again.

Its a lovely 2 mile walk to Castleton, which had plenty going off on Sunday. We decided to catch the bus back to Hope, 1. 00 each, a bargain. Ye olde Cheshire Cheese pub, up Edale road is worth the walk. We sat in the lovely beer garden, which was a sun trap. All in all we had a fab weekend. We will certainly recommend this site to family and friends. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M+MGalliers 21 reviews from this member

 The clue is in the name - this is a caravan park, where tents are an afterthought!

The tent field is furthest from the facilities in a damp area near a river with a water treatment unit of some sort that hums all night. But that pales into insignificance compared to the noise of the road with the trucks thundering up and down it to the nearby quarries and the noise of the trains on on the mainline between Leeds and Sheffield. And, to top it all, there is an incredibly bright security light which is on ALL NIGHT in the campsite which blazes into the tent field. We could almost read by it in our tent! None of this made for a good night's sleep.

On the plus side, the site is clean, well organised and a very short walk to Hope which has plenty of facilities. The pitches are clearly marked, the welcome was friendly and the on site shop is well stocked. There is a freezer for ice packs (and some to borrow whilst yours are chilling) and a boules court.

The showers and loos are clean but there are only four showers for ladies and four for men which is not many for the size and popularity of the site and the block was pretty chilly even in July.

There are plenty of washing-up sinks but they are all incredibly low.

In summary, I would not recommend this site to anyone in a tent! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 190 reviews from this member

 Third time here and agree with all previous complimentary comments and so will only add a few not touched on recently. Hope village has everything in it i. E. Pubs, shop, take-aways however the best traditional country pub Cheshire Cheese is worth seeking out for its real ales alone, turn right before the supermarket and carry on for about 10 mins on foot along the Edale road. There is a bus stop outside the site entrance, we went to Sheffield on it, buses do run through the eve. Castleton is amazing for pubs, I counted five, there maybe more. Yes the toilets are outdated but functional and cleaned daily. We chose a pitch by the river to avoid any road noise 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vashka 16 reviews from this member

 Visited here with friends for a couple of nights in mid May. Great site in a fantastic location. We were in a motorhome and had friends in tents with us. We weren't happy with the pitch we had been allocated but the staff were so helpful in finding us a more suitable pitch. Staff were all really friendly and couldn't do enough to help.

Toilets nice and clean with really hot showers and washing up facilities good, nice clean well kept site. Easy walk into Hope and Castleton, would recommend the Curry Cabin in Hope for a nice Indian.

Third visit to this site over the past few years and would definitely recommend and will be visiting again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Steely Dan 3 reviews from this member

 I always have two things in mind when I write my reviews: would I go back to the site and would I recommend it to anyone else. In the case of Laneside I'm afraid it's no and no.

The location of the site could hardly be better. Situated in the glorious Hope Valley, only a few minutes walk from Hope village and with a railway station just across the road, it's ideal for a few days away. Unfortunately the layout of the site is a blot on the landscape and the owners have made things even worse by cynically cramming as many units as possible onto the site.

In fairness, the site was full on the weekend we went but that's not a bad time to judge a site. We were fortunate in having one of the better pitches and thank god we did. Even from our pitch we were surrounded by caravans and motorhomes. Cheek by jowl is an accurate description and looking out of our motorhome windows all we could see was other vans etc. I don't expect to be in splendid isolation when I go to a commercial site but I do expect a bit of space and privacy.

I'm afraid the owners of this site seem to only be focused on as many bookings on the site. Very short sighted plan IMHO.

Facilities are a little dated, excessive use of block paving is depressing on the eyes but the staff were friendly and helpful. Very small pitches and fairly expensive.

To add insult to injury, the local Indian restaurant the Curry Cabi. Managed to concoct the worse Indian takeaway I've had in 40 years, though both local pubs were good. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sand57 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent location for exploring the Peak District around Hope Valley. Well stocked shop on site. Friendly helpful wardens - especially when we accidently knocked down a fire hose post! Plenty for the kids to explore, and there's a football field adjacent but think the river is a more exciting area for the kids.

Showers and separate toilet facilities always clean and tidy and warm when needed.

The site is on the main road into Castleton so expect road noise which includes trucks. If this would bother you then request a pitch further back because this shouldn't stop you visiting this excellent site.

We will be returning.

I don't usually give 10/10 but this is such a down to earth friendly campsite that I felt I could not mark them down.

Last but not least - the delightful friendly ducks 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John belton 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at laneside for 5 nights. We found the facilities very clean nice warm showers. We couldn't fault the site. We found the wardens very helpful and friendly. The area is great for all types of walking. Local pubs are good for food and service. Overall a great 5 days. Would recommend the site and we will be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Used this site for walking in the area, we didn't book and there were plenty available when we turned up.

The grass on the pitch we were given was a little long. The site also runs along side the main road, so you do get road noise, which I did find a little distracting.

It's nice and handy for the village and footpaths. There is a nice butcher and shop in the village. The campsite also had a well stocked shop and information area.

The price of the site was a little high for the facilities on offer, but that aside, it was an ok site. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Currycampers 19 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, very friendly, helpful staff. Not very big pitches but this site is more about location. A 5 minute walk into Hope which has everything a happy camper needs. Great butcher, largish Spar, cafe, curry house, chinese and pubs for all tastes. Also a station to get into Sheffield or over to Edale. Situated just below Lose Hill and on the doorstep for Castleton and for Derwent reservoirs it's a credit to the staff that they keep it so beautifully when they could do a lot less and still pack it out. Perfect for us as we're just down the road but if we'd travelled from miles away it's the sort of site and location that puts a smile on your face. 


Previous     251 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3634 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement