Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 14/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 229 Reviews
                8/10 from 229 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  229 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kp19770 4 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from 3 nights at laneside.

Pros : the showers and washing up area were spotless.You are 5 minutes walk away from the village which has many pubs and a great chinese.

Cons : The pitches are not marked out at all like it says on the website and we were all crammed in like sardines,you are also right next to the A6187 which is great when your woken up by articulated lorries at silly o'clock in the morning. There is a long walk to the toilet/shower block. Theres nothing for younger kids to do as they only have a playing field which you either have to walk through the river or leave the campsite walk along the main road and enter through a gate,which is all very well and good if you have older kids.  


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nic c 2 reviews from this member

 Have been visiting this site once or twice a year for nearly 30 years! Over this time I have seen it grow and it's facilities improve greatly, in fact the shower block & washing up area is one of the best around.

Anyone who has been there will understand if I say that on the top field to the right of the drive there used to be one row of tents against the fence and occasionally another one nearer the drive during busy periods. Now there are 3, maybe 4 rows!

Yes, the surroundings have improved since the water-treatment works closed - and you can now camp on that field, but there are still the boy-racers with their car-horns very early in the morning & the lorries from the cement works up the road.

All of this I have accepted because I love the area, and as I mentioned before, have visited many, many times before ( in fact I have probably paid for the new shower block single-handed ). Also, if you avoid the very busy periods you do get a little bit more space.

Last year there were rumblings about our Hartford L being 'about as large as we can take'. This has been rectified now, they are refusing to take it - say it is too big!

Our tent is not huge, it's a dome with 2 bedroom pods, and we are a family with 2 adults & 2 young children. Many families nowadays are extended families with often more children, and therefore require bigger tents. Family tents are getting bigger - fact! So it's about time more sites recognised this & altered their pitches accordingly while they still can - before everyone is put off camping. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Transtar 1 review from this member

 What an excellent site. Pitch was very spacious and amenities were excellent. The shower / toilets were great and always clean. Location was really good, 2 minute walk to Hope with 3 pubs all serving food. 10-15 min walk into Castleton again with numerous pubs all serving food. The reception staff were very helpful / friendly and knew all about the local area. Just one downside - the site is right next to a busy road and there is some traffic noise. You do get used to it and its the only downer I can think of. All in all definatley in my top 3 sites ! 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martdon81 1 review from this member

 We have been to a couple of campsites around the Derbyshire area. We found this one to be very relaxed. The facilities were good. They had plenty of shower cubicles and toilets, both clean. We were very impressed with the wash area for your pots. The only problems that we had with the site is that where the area allocated for camping was quite a distance from shower/toilet block.

The site has a rule of no noise after 10.30, but they had no warden to enforce this. We found that it was noisy still after this time. We got woke up by people at 2.30 in the morning playing in the nearby stream. We found that there was little for the kids to do, they played in the stream and around the site. Which got a little annoying at times.

The shops and pubs are a 5 minute walk away. They have several pubs, a Spar ( which was expensive) a Post office and a grocery store. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulneil 1 review from this member

 Hi I I'm not sure of how many people actually read the reviews i know I do and like to know what other people think of the place I'm thinking of going to.

This is a lovely site upon arrival you are greeted with a friendly smile. And then given a brief description of where everything is and of the site rules. The shower block is cleaned daily and are of high standards . The general area is quiet and peaceful and there are lots of things to do.

I will be definitely be recommending this site to my friends and also to all you who is reading this. We will most certainly be going back to the site . 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nickymoz55 23 reviews from this member

 This site is every thing you want if you are going away for a quiet break, perfect for myself husband and two year old. We enjoyed our stay that much we left our caravan there for a small fee so we could go back the following weekend, the chap who runs the place even let us leave the awning up so we can just go straight back without the worries of setting up again.
the showers and toilet blocks are the cleanest ive seen yet. The showers are free too, there is a small fee of 20p for the hairdryer.there is a new large spacious washing up area that is also well kept. the staff and locals who are there are most of the season are very friendly and happy to help new arrivals with pitching tents and awnings, the shop sells milk, instant bbqs, news papers , water, pop, sweets, crisps and tent pegs. I would reccomend this site to all. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pat + Lorna 1 review from this member

 This is the nicest site we know in The peak District - and we've tried all the major ones. Facilities excellent and though maybe not quite up the to very best we've encountered (Losehill, the Caravan Club Site in Castleton) it's a lot cheaper than Losehill and much better located.
 
Pro's: very friendly staff, spotless loos and the best (power) showers we've seen on any park. And NO COIN METERS - hate them.
 
Contras. - They have only 10 showers and at busy weekends you sometimes have to wait, though only a few minutes. There is a road nearby - but if you ask for a pitch away from this you won't be troubled. Also, as mentioned, some of the washing-up sinks have a low headroom. When we complained about this the wardens said that the top two sinks - work surface and shelter above - were set low for disabled and children and - right enough - the headroom on the other six sinks is fine. How about a sign ???
 
What keeps us coming back is the location. - It's a a very pretty site with fantastic views and only 5 mins walk to Hope Village. Recommend (a) The Poacher's Arms for food and (b) a 15th Century Inn, The Cheshire Cheese, Edale Road, Hope for atmosphere and real ale - See The CAMRA guide to the best pubs in Derbyshire.
 
Funnily enough - for a small village - there's also an ace Chinese takeaway

We give Laneside 9 out of 10 - and 10 if they would only put up a sign over the washing up sinks. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sadsetts 5 reviews from this member

 Just back from a very wet weekend at laneside.
This is a nice site in a very pretty part of the peak district, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the amenities are very good and were clean all the time we were there (which is pretty amazing because of the weather).

The river running through the site is like a magnet to the kids, and they were playing in and around it even in the pouring rain.
There is also a playing field on the other side of the river for the kids, but not a playground (which would be ideal for the younger kids).

Hope village (around 3-4 minute walk) is a lovely little place with pubs and a Chinese restaurant/takeaway. It also has a spar late shop for those essentials.
One note of caution. Do bring some food etc with you, because the spar is expensive, and the nearest supermarkets are in Bake well or Chapel en la frith (spelling??).

The site is next to the road, but the traffic noise wasn't really noticeable, and like most sites in the peaks the Manchester flight path is overhead, but again, the noise isn't noticeable.

All in all a very nice site, which I would go back to again. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Babydaisy1972 12 reviews from this member

 We went here mid June and the site was virtually full as well - and this was despite the weekend forecast for very heavy rain so would advise booking if you want to make sure of a pitch.

We had reserved two pitches - one for us and one for a friend and they had kept them free for us. The pitches are very small in my opinion and you are backed up to a wall with a road in front of you and the image of sardines in a tin kept coming to mind.

At the Reception the people were lovely - really friendly and helpful and they sell a few basic essentials like chocolate.

The toilet block was clean and hubby was especially delighted that the mens showers were seperate from the mens toilets as he hates using the mens toilets in the morning for a shower - I will leave the reasons why to your imagination!

Across a small stream was a playfield with goalposts for the kids and there was a tyre hanging across said stream which I and the kids swung happily on for some time.

The site is in a great location and there are several pubs within five minutes walk in the lovely village of Hope. There is a really nice fruit and veg shop, a deli and a co-op general stores in the village.

And of course the beauty of the Peak District is on your doorstep. We had a few problems with noisy neighbours late at night but this was soon dealt with. Don't think we'd go here again because of smallness of pitches and general uniformity of the site - I go away to look at lovely views not rows of caravans. But a very nice site for a base if you are going to be out and about a lot. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smida040 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived May bank holiday and the site was virtually full, not the most roomy of pitches in places but ours was very generous.
Bit of building work going on to make some boules courts but no real issue.

Reception, small efficient selling a few basic essentials.

Toilet block clean and despite site being full no problems here (didn't use showers as have own in van)

Despite the site being full it was actually quite quiet.

Field with goalposts for kids, also field to ride bikes.
Small river runs along part of the site which some children were playing in and makes a pleasant if short walk (depending upon the wind see later)

Excellent location, several pubs within five minutes walk. Fruit veg, general stores etc in the village. We visited various caverns which are only 5-10 minutes drive away. 


Previous     229 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6284 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement