Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 14/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 229 Reviews
                8/10 from 229 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  229 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peteo 2 reviews from this member

 We didnt intend using this site but as we had made better time than we had planned we decided to walk a bit further. I knew of the site having driven past it many times so we thought we would give it a try. As it turned out we were very glad we did. The toilet/shower block were clean and very well maintained. The staff were welcoming and friendly. As it was in the week the site was very quiet, we found a lovely pitch by the river where we watched a Kingfisher darting up and down.

The village is in easy walking distance with a good shop, pubs etc.

The railway station is just across the road and is also well served with buses. A cheap all day family ticket called a Derbyshire Wayfarer is available and is very good value. Check out their web site.

Excellent site, well run and in beautiful suroundings. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nikki D 5 reviews from this member

 We arrived for a weeks stay on the Friday of the bank holiday. The day before our arrival was very wet, but luckily as we had a pitch with EHU and we were fine (the camping field was very muddy). Our pitch was more than spacious,(although pitches on the camping field did look very cramped), and although the first night the road noise bothered us, we did get used to it very quickly and it didn't bother the children.

The facilities are the cleanest I have come across and the staff are very helpful.

Even though the campsite was full, everyone observed the 10.30 rule.

The site is central to everything in the Peak District and a fantastic place to stay.

I would go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amanda1977 3 reviews from this member

 We've just come back from our second visit to this site & once again we thoroughly enjoyed it.

We found it to be clean & well maintained, and though it was full it was very well managed. Pitches are a bit small but we didn't find this a problem.

We were on the field by the reception area, just by the entrance to the site & quite near to the road but didn't experience any exceptional noise from the road.

The 'no noise after 10' policy was adhered to on both nights of our stay & I didn't see any large groups anywhere on the site.

Hope is a lovely village & there is plenty to do in the surrounding area. The pubs in the village are nice - the one at the far end (I can't remember the name!) serves lovely food & the chinese restaurant/takeaway was also good.

We'll definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Agincourt141 4 reviews from this member

 Pitches felt like you were crammed in a bit when we first arrived but we weren't disturbed by others or felt a lack of privacy. Its a great location for exploring the Peak District and the campsite itself was good for the kids who loved the shallow stream and playing field. Shops were walking distance and had everything. Pizza and chinese close by if you didn't fancy cooking. The camp is very secure, well lit and has CCTV. All in all one of our favourites and will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrbear 3 reviews from this member

 A very clean and well maintained site, surrounded by gorgeous scenery of the peak district.

Good facilities, including ample and clean toilet and shower facilities, covered washing up area, laundry and baby changing room, waste and recycling point, plus office / shop and public payphone kiosk.

We were in the top field with EHU facilities. In addition to this there are two more areas for caravans, a dedicated camping field for tents and an overflow area.

This campsite is well situated - a 10 minute stroll to the shops in Hope, including Spar and post office / newsagents, cafes, pubs and pizza shop. Only 2 more miles to Castleton, for the show caverns.

We made use of the supermarkets in Chapel en le Frith (Morrisons) and Buxton (Adli / Waitrose / Sainsburys).

As mentioned above, the scenery is lovely, and you are only a short drive from various attractions. We visited Bakewell, Buxton, Chatwsworth House, Ladybower Reservoir, Hathersage.

This was the first time we had visited this site and the Peak District and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We will definitely be returning some time. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Curlycaro 1 review from this member

 We visited the week before bank holiday weekend, for 5 nights, a tent and 2 adults.

Like most of you, we enjoyed this site, very clean toilets and showers, good washing up facilities, hot free showers that didn't have those smelly shower curtains either and plenty of room to get changed and dry. Washing room facilities were also good.

It was very busy, but school holidays, so was to be expected, and although we have a 5 berth tent our pitch was adequate but definitely not spacious, although we were told by other regulars that pitches in other fields were bigger. There's a no noise policy after 10.30pm and I have to say that on the whole everyone adhered to this rule.

The visiting ducks were always welcome in our tent, its set in the hope valley with lovely scenery all around and Hope is a 5 minute walk away that has 3 pubs, spar shop, fruit and veg shop, but the site does sell the basics such as milk / eggs etc.

Would recommend this site, there is lots to do in the area, and will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Phil7710 1 review from this member

 Returned to touring and just had 1st outing for 12 years. Lane side is quite a pleasant site well located by the river. There are all the usual features which appeared clean but a little privative. I thought that in the past decade or so things would have moved on from painted concrete toilet blocks.

There is traffic and train noise but to be fair most of the time it wasn't a problem.

The village is about 5 mins walk where there are shops, pubs, cafe, bus etc. Castleton is a level 2 miles walk / cycle.

Note that the pubs stop serving food 8 / 8:30ish - The cheshire cheese on the edale Rd is about 15 mins walk and is a quaint old pub with real ale and real good food. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Player08 1 review from this member

 First time ever camping and choose the Peak district thoroughly enjoyed it. Tried to book an additional night but due to the popularity of the campsite they were fully booked up, The shower/toilet block on the campsite was very clean they shut it every day at 11.00am for an hour to clean. We were in walking distance to the town Hope and 5 mins drive to the next town Castleton. Hope has two pubs, spar shop, butchers, camping equipment shop, chinese and a pizza shop. There's also a couple of cafe's.

Will definitely be going back there. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Summip0 8 reviews from this member

 We visited this site last year before we were memebers of UKcampsite but felt it deserved a good review.

We booked in advance, when we arrived we were offered a choice of pitches, it was very quiet and the spaces between each caravan was huge, so much so we had folding camper, awning, car and enough space to make our own garden with windbreaks - the kids had space for a paddling pool and an area for a blanket to play games on.

We were quite near to the main road and this annoyed my husband BUT I didn't notice car noise at all and I would say that it was probably the most peaceful site we have camped on.

The shower blocks were lovely and spotless and better, this site has to have the best washing up area I have ever seen - it was a pleasure to do the washing up.

The river that flowed at the bottom of the field that we stayed in was great, we all enjoyed paddling in it.

The site did seem to have a lot of older people staying and we seemed to the only couple with children at first and then a few more familes arrived but it wasn't a site where kids were running about playing with each other. We chatted to some lovely people.

We walked into Hope most days to buy from the butchers (lovely meat), the post office (lovely traditional sweets) and the spar (wine) so everything could be found in a short walking distance. The shop on the site was very small and didn't stock very much at that time so we didn't use it much.

The highlight of the campsite for the kids were the ducks and we all enjoyed feeding them, they visited throughout the day and were a pleasure.

We loved Hope so much we have just booked to go back again this week, unfortunately this site was booked so we have booked a different site and we hope it is as good as Laneside. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fudgettes 2 reviews from this member

 Spent two nights here. Nice campsite, good location (only a couple of miles walk from Castleton). Unfortunately, despite booking our grass pitch reservation a month in advance, when we arrived we were told to camp in a silly little graveled car park. After contesting, we were finally given the emergency grass pitch on a very windy sloping corner, which made our stay a little uncomfortable.

The toilet blocks were reasonably clean, washing up facilities were good. The camp shop came in handy. Even though there are strict rules of conduct on the site's website, a very rowdy group in a tent nearby kept waking us up through the night!

Though do expect to hear constant bleating, moo-ing and hee-hawing but it is relaxing and reminds you very much of where you are. (Much more relaxing than the noisy humans!)

We couldn't really hear the 'busy' road from where we were situated. 


Previous     229 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3450 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement