Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 14/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 229 Reviews
                8/10 from 229 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  229 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Idf560 6 reviews from this member

 One of the best sites we have ever visited, a little road noise but that doesn't even get noticed after a short while especially with the river and regularly visiting ducks to relax with.

Very reasonably priced.

Safe and secure with adequate lighting and cctv.

Level and spacious pitches.

Clean and quiet.

Plentiful free showers.

Clean washing-up area.

Clean toilets.

A recycling area - much better than just rubbish bins.

Friendly and helpful staff.

This probably sounds like an advert for the site but honestly, we're not employees, we were just totally delighted with the site, the facilities and the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ledgers 1 review from this member

 Visited this site in June for a 'linked' weekend, which was great. Site very clean, showers spotless etc. Good washing-up facilities, although as I am tall, a bit back breaking as quite low. Office staff very welcoming, and very helpful. Our 5 year old son found very nice friends both weekends we were there, and fellow campers very polite, not at all rowdy and noisy. We were on the road side of the camp, and were not bothered by road noise at all - the sheep in the other direction made more noise!

Have booked to go again in July, and am looking forward to it. The site is not snobby, like the one in Castleton, neither is it full of louts like the one in Bakewell! Good crowd, having a good time QUIETLY!

See you there! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Molly7 4 reviews from this member

 Our second visit, definitely one of our favourites.

Excellent toilet, showers etc, private cubicles, not found very often, Always clean.

Good undercover washing up area and convenient toilet disposal.

Clean,tidy site, we were on a caravan pitch which was extremly adequate space wise. Hope has all the requirements you might need, walking distance even for my husband who has problem legs. Plenty of places to eat and drink.

Buses stop right outside the entrance and station is walking distance.

Nice to see the riverside area being developed into pleasant gardens etc, THERE IS NO LONGER A SEWERAGE SMELL! We were here the year before last but in all honesty it was not that great a problem even then. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flobec 2 reviews from this member

 Nice site but loud, quite a few people complaining to each other. Ideal for the family or groups who enjoy a lively holiday not minding noise and not wanting peace and quiet. Just stayed the 1 night, was quite glad to get off. Can imagine it being very crampt in high season.

But very clean and tidy and a warm welcome. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Funky-fil 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend at this site and really enjoyed it, despite it raining all day on Saturday! The site has excellent facilities and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Hope village is only a short walk away. Wasn't impressed with the Old Hall pub but the Woodroffe Arms is nice and the food was enjoyable and good value. For an excellent country pub and a nice pint of Black Sheep the Cheshire Cheese is only a 15 min walk - turn right onto Edale road by the Spar and keep on walking. The Spar has everything you'd need and the bread from the Bakery was nice.

The only criticism about the site is the way the tents are packed in. While you have enough space for table & chairs, your neighbours (next door and across the road) are quite close and it feels cramped.

As for noise, although there is a 'quiet' policy after 10.30 this isn't policed. We were kept awake on Friday night until 1 in the morning by a party of 4 families who had all their tents pushed together and had made a b-b-q / eating area in the middle (this also made the 'cramped' feeling worse). However, in all fairness, when we complained to the site manager the next day and he did have a word with them. The following night was quieter (probably helped out by the persisting rain).

With regard to traffic, yes you can hear it but it didn't disturb us.

Would use the site again but would probably avoid weekends and school holidays in the hope that the site wasn't full and the tents could be a bit more spaced out. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mallott 1 review from this member

 24 – 27 May 2008 Bank Holiday weekend (3 nights – 3 man tent)

• Location (to Dales): 9/10

• Location (to Hope and facilities): 10/10

• Showers/Toilets/Washing up facilities: 9/10 (heated shower room would be nice in unfavourable weather)

• Pitch size: 9/10

• Pitch spacing: 7/10

• Pitch views: 5/10

• Price: £46.50 for 3 nights: 2 people, 1 tent

• Overall: 8/10

Good, clean, well maintained site with excellent facilities and close access to drinking water points. Showers/Toilets are closed just before 12pm for about an hour for cleaning. The site was a little dusty due to the recent good, dry weather and unmade site roads in the western half of the park (where we were).

We were late booking (night before the bank holiday weekend) but they had space in pitch row Y (see pitches marked in yellow on the scanned site map image in photo’s section). The pitch was well maintained with a slight slope and easy to insert tent pegs.

Views from the tent were disappointing as we were surrounded by other tents - try and get in the separate area for the river views and extra distance from the main road (area to the top of the ‘K’ block) as shown in the bottom picture on the UKCampsite details.

The road noise becomes more apparent at night – particularly in a tent pitched anywhere other than R1 to R7 and the area mentioned above (but we weren’t bothered as we always take earplugs for a great nights sleep regardless). Again, try and book early and get a pitch away from the road.

The location to Hope and Castleton is superb though. Hope has all the immediate facilities you could want and I thoroughly recommend the Cheshire Cheese pub down Edale Road (an easy 10 min walk/stagger back to the site) which serves excellent food (make sure you book in advance as it’s v.Popular with locals and visitors alike) and real ales (Black Sheep, Swift Nick and DPA from Peak Ales were on tap when we were there).

If you fancy a change, Castleton’s a 1 mile walk along a footpath through fields from Hope village centre or a 2 mile walk along the main road.

Overall score: 8/10 (Points docked for road noise and relative pitch spacing). We preferred Lime Tree Park just outside Buxton overall (more remote/rural/pleasant surroundings despite more basic toilet block facilities and a bit further walk into Buxton town). 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy1884 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site and we found it very good, the hosts were very helpful, good shop with lots of local info, excellent toilet and shower blocks, good pot washing facilities as-well.
Didn't hear any road noise as mentioned in other reviews but we were not directly backing up to the road.
Good local services ,shops, pups etc and castleton has some good pubs too.
The area is lovely and great to discover the peaks and surrounding attractions.
One bad point they don't give you much space, really cram you in, but I can put up with that problem as the setting is excellent. Overall out of ten 8.5 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amanda1977 3 reviews from this member

 A really lovely place to visit. The site owners were friendly & helpful, and our daugher loved the ducks.

The toilet/showers/washing-up areas were great, nice & clean & warm.

The village itself was great - a few pubs, a handy spar & what looked like nice butchers, deli & bakery. The chinese restaurant / take away came in handy with a few fellow campers too.

Unfortunately it rained during our visit & as we had our 15 month old in tow we were pretty limited in what we could do (no taking shelter in the pub all day!) but we hope to book another stay in summer when the weather's picked up. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nickymoz55 23 reviews from this member

 Just got back from our easter break at lane side, staff still friendly and helpful, showers and toilets still clean, shame about them been very very cold although the weather didnt help as we had snow, rain, and high winds.

This is our second visit to this site and both times we have had bad weather ,we will go again but only if the weather forecast is sunny sunny sunny or I can have a hard standing pitch, as I didnt like been on grass with all the rain, the ground was very boggy and everything got sludgy, my little girl enjoyed feeding the ducks that came round our caravan looking for breakfast on a morning.

Hope is just a 5 min walk with a couple of pubs ,a camping shop and a spa, there is also a chinese resraunt which is very nice( we tried this on our first visit). There is a bus stop and a train staition not far from the site allthough its only a couple off mile if you fancy a walk into castleton. All in all we had a good weekend and will go back in warmer weather. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: _*naomi*_ 1 review from this member

 Just got back from an easter weekend at this site! and it was lovely by far my favourite campsite to date!

Showers were lovely and warm and were seperate from toilet block (only next door and toilet block had a couple of washing cubicles if you don't fancy showers before bed!) there was no playarea that I could see but as we were a party of 2 young couples it didn't really affect us. Staff were very friendly and chatty

Campsite is 5 min walk into hope were there are 2 pubs. I can only remember the name of 1 pub for all the bad reasons; the old hall (nicknamed the old hag by us as a tribute to the landlady) the food was nice but only if you don't mind waiting tw0 hours to get it with no apologies and rude staff serving

The pub further up the road is worth a visit for a drink but they don't serve food!

Our pitch on this site was along the side (backing on to the main road) and although it was quite a busy road the noise didn't really bother us.

The site was quiet probably because of the weather and we didn't have to book, could imagine it getting very busy when it starts to get warmer.

We will be returning later in the year! 


Previous     229 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2657 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement