Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 12/04/2021 to 04/01/2022
           11/03/2022 to 03/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 251 Reviews
                8/10 from 251 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  251 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: DarkPoet 4 reviews from this member

 First time away in our VW Campervan (tent only in the past) & as we'd have to travel after work/school on Friday, we chose Laneside based on reviews here & that it's within 30 miles of home (South Manchester).

Easy to find, friendly welcome, excellent facilities including the best showers ever experienced on a campsite. Incredible amount of birdsong in the morning, can't say I really noticed the road noise but we were 3 rows back from the road.

Great facilities in Hope & a wonderful 2 mile level walk to Castleton through fields full of lambs. Perfect start to the season - other sites have a lot to keep to with 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wcpasman 4 reviews from this member

 We picked the kids up from school Friday and got there around 5:30. We where met with a very friendly welcome. We asked for a pitch by the river and where given free choose to pitch along that area.

We had no trouble with the road, the odd car or bike. But I think it shows camping in September has itís plus side, less traffic (and more pitches to choose from). The lighting seems to be a little hit or miss. A large flood light by the exit road (top end of camping field). And no lights on the long walk up to the toilet / wash area.

The shower / toilet & washing up block was great, very clean and well maintained.

Lovely 2/3 minute walk into Hope for the spar and a little look around the area.

We where in the perfect location to start our day in The Peak District. Spent a lovely day in Castleton, will no long drive home. Just back to this great campsite for pasta and toast? (donít let the kids choose tea).

The kids loved the space to run around and trying to cross the stream to the playing field was fun. But can see space being a problem when the site is full.

Will definitely be booking again. Good pitches, good toilet / shower block, very friendly staff, great location and good price. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Taysed 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed 2 nights at Laneside. We know the area well and yes its a beautiful area. We were pitched near to the road which is noisy, however for us the problem was the electric. We were sharing 16amp with 3 other caravans. Our electric hook-up didn't have a trip switch, this meant our trip switch was 3 caravans away, so every time the power tripped we had to run 3 caravans to trip back on. It wasn't good. The only electrical item we could have on was either the kettle or the microwave. We were offered to move or to leave and receive a refund. Our friends resolved the issue by asking if we could plug in to another hook up on the other side of the hedge which resolved the issue. The owners say they are in the process of upgrading these pitches however why put us there in the first place. Toilets and showers okay.

Pot wash area excellent and with waste water area very good. If you look on google earth or arial photos it looks like there is a water treatment plant very close by and when we walked around the site the night we arrived we could smell the treatment works. We couldn't smell anything in the day though. Once the electric was resolved we did enjoy the area. Remember ear plugs and ask how many vans are sharing your electric supply before you commit to booking. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Loll1 13 reviews from this member

 PROS:This is well placed site for exploring Castleton and hope valley (if you are a keen walker). No need to use your car again for weekend just explore by foot. Plenty of pubs serving good food in Castleton which allow dogs inside it takes about 30 to 40 minutes to walk or catch bus outside site. Showers and toilets clean and spacious. You can also get late checkouts if you want to leave later in day.

CONS: price, charge of £2.50 per night for a dog, and road noise. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy b35 10 reviews from this member

 Arrived at site and was greeted by polite and friendly staff. Set up and checked out the usuall (toilets / showers / wash up area) all in very clean and well kept condition and although the site wasn't full we never had to wait or queue at any time during our stay. The site grounds were also kept very tidy.

As said before spar in hope village to get supplies /pubs etc. A short drive to castleton much bigger than hope has an amazing sweet shop that makes it's own fudge. It's an aladdins cave for everyone with a sweet tooth. A few gift shops and a great chippy as you head towards pevril castle. Quite a lot of pubs here and they all looked pretty good for food.There is also a information centre(nr the car park)with a free museum in. Small but informative.

Loads of places to visit peveril castle / speedwell cavern / peak cavern 'the devils arse' as it was called as well as blue john cavern.You can buy a joint ticket for peak cavern and speedwell cavern for around £43.

For those who like a walk get the green booklet from the information centre (44p) its a guide for climbing in the area we climbed mam tor / hollins cross / back tor / lose hill in around 3.5 hrs pretty easy walk. If you want free parking in castleton just park past the peak cavern car park (free every weekday just pay at weekends and bank holidays)

Back to the site there are some reviews that mention the noise traffic etc.And I can only agree. At all times of night you can get wagons thundering through and at around 3-4am every day on our visit a freight train passes through. We are not light sleepers but we left a day early because we were so tired with lack of proper sleep (bring ear plugs) it's just too close to the road and railway for me

Cant fault the site at all stunning location would go again if it were not for the noise so unfortunately it's not a site I will be visiting again 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Diane1068 9 reviews from this member

 Well we really loved this site, we were pitched on a hardstanding pitch bit like a road, some people may not like this but it didn't bother us. Free Wifi, my son was in his element able to connect to game and speak with his friends.

There is so much to do in the area you don't really need to use your car, the little village is lovely with a spar for everything you need. We drove into Bakewell for the farmer's market it was brilliant, all home made food especially divine soups (fantastic).

We did the walk up to Losehill, great walk with great views. It was The Hope Show whilst we were there another great day out, we ate at 2 pubs whilst there, the Travellers rest pub, turn right out of the site and just down the road the food was fantastic and the portions were huge, we also ate at the old hall which was not very good.

I can't recommend this site enough and we will be definitely returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Foxd 6 reviews from this member

 We spent bank holiday weekend here and despite the weather we had a lovely stay. The wardens were very polite and were especially helpful with information regarding the local area/walks.

The area:

There are some beautiful walks in the area but unfortunately the weather prevented us from completing them. Hope is a short stroll away with shop, cafe and pubs etc. Special mention for the cheshire cheese pub(on the edale rd and about 20 minute walk from site). We had a lovely meal here and they served 'real ale'. Its popular so try and book if you can.

Castleton is 2 miles down the road and worth a visit. You can walk by road or choose the more scenic route over the fields - just ask at the office.

The site:

We were in the adults only areas near to the office and very convenient for the toilets and shower block. The facilities were clean and tidy and i only had a brief wait in the morning for a shower. It also has good pot washing area.

The only negative for this site is that it is near a busy road and if your a light sleeper you may find this a problem however my earplugs did come in handy so not too much of a problem for me.

In summary this is a well run site with someone always to hand to assist you. Our pitch size was reasonable although we didnt manage to erect the sun(rain)canopy as well as the awning but no big deal. facilities are good and clean. Would recommend to others.

We will be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emm+Ess 2 reviews from this member

 When we first arrived we were very impressed. Very caravan-heavy, but plenty of tents and the pitches were nice.

Our pitch was in area 'Z' and we were camped very close to the road. We didn't think much of it, until time came to go to sleep. Traffic zooms up and down that road pretty much all night, at quite a speed as well, as a 50mph zone starts just about there and people accelerate into it.

I assumed that the road through Hope and Castleton would be quite quiet, but it appears to be a through road for almost every kind of traffic. We only stayed two nights but we were exhausted after being woken at 5am every morning with lorries going past at speed. It really spoilt the campsite for us.

There was also a massive floodlight that was shining pretty much directly on our tent all night, which drove me to trying to block it out with our chairs and some towels. Someone a few spaces down even moved their 4x4 to block it; I would have done the same if there had been room. It was very frustrating, particularly as there were plenty of areas that had no lighting whatsoever so I was glad of a torch. Surely the lighting is either everywhere or nowhere?

The shower/toilet block was great, can't really fault it, and the site was a good little walk from Hope, where the pub is good, there's a little deli that's good value, a Spar for everything else and a camping shop next door that sells gas and every other imaginable necessity!

However, I would highly recommend asking to be camped in the field near the river; the road was just so busy that it really ruined our stay. We couldn't sit outside and relax while cooking and eating, because the noise from the traffic was so bad.

Otherwise, it's a great site. Just ask to be as far from the road as possible. Then it would probably be the best campsite I've ever been to. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Calamityjane 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed at the site for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were pitched next to the river and stepping stones, which the kids absolutely loved. The road was a little noisy at night, but have heard worse ! It was really nice just talking a short walk into Hope village. We went to the Old Hall pub which was quite nice. As previously mentioned there is a post office, Spar and apparently a great butchers although we didn't get chance to use it. Will definitely be going back to this site,one of my favourites. Just the weather spoilt it a little for us, although the tent did well and the trees provided good shelter from the wind. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rosco6 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic site. Made to feel welcome as soon as we got there.

Toilet/shower facilities spotless and if carlsberg made them probably the best in the world !

A little more help would have been nice regarding size of pitch tho` the pitches can get larger tents on but having said that when asked on leaving they said they would always try to accommodate you. Having said that will definitely go again and recommend this site to all. Well done laneside campsite 


Previous     251 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2055 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement