Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 261 Reviews
                9/10 from 261 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  261 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JacquiD4 3 reviews from this member

We visited Woodhouse Farm over the half term holiday for 3 nights with our two children, 9 and 4 and our dog. We were pitched next to friends in the middle paddock on a good sized pitch. I loved this site and would definitely recommend it to people with children and dogs.

On arrival the reception staff were really friendly and gave us a site map showing us our pitch. The site is well laid out and very spacious. The grass is well maintained and cut short before you pitch.

The main play area is a 2 minute walk and can be seen from most pitches, the kids loved it. There is also a games room inside a barn which is in the process of being completed, the kids spent hours in there playing table tennis, chess and large connect four.

The shower block and toilets were a 2 minute walk, they were always clean and I didn't have to wait at all for a shower which were lovely and hot.

The barn restaurant and bar is lovely, we sat outside and had a drink in the blazing sun, it was lovely, the children had take away chips, nothing was too much trouble.

The shop sells the basic fresh foods bread, bacon,eggs, milk and cheese, a small supply of tinned foods etc but this was not a problem as main supermarkets are only 5 miles away.

The dog facilities are great, there is a large field where the dogs can be let off their leads to have a run, there is also a woodland walk which is nice. There are lots of dog poop bins.

The owners of the site came on our last day and thanked us for staying, a lovely helpful couple.

My only small gripe is that the only electric pitches seem to be on the top paddock, could really do with extending this on to the middle paddock.

Overall a lovely site and we will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ElCappitano 3 reviews from this member

Just had a smashing 4 night break at this very cheerful site. The location is secluded (5 miles-ish from Ripon) but is wide open, happy and fresh. We had the kids and a couple of their cousins and they had a great time, never stopped.

The pitch was an EHU and the best we've had, loads of room. The boys, 14, also managed to enjoy themselves despite the games area being very basic - Table-tennis table, pool table and giant Connect4 and chess board (all good quality).

They also had a spot of fishing (picked up a couple of starter kits from Argos in Ripon for 20 quid) for a pound each - they caught nowt but some of the more experienced and 'tooled-up' anglers were landing some canny fish.

The younger children had the option of three play parks, which were all enough to keep them entertained, as was flying the kites which we bought from the on-site shop.

The site is a kick-in-the-backside away from some very nice places such as Pateley Bridge and once again we had a smashing day out at Brimham Rocks.

The sites amenities are clean (cleaned twice a day) and well kept. The shop is basic, however, there's just enough.

The only criticism would be that, although it sells charcoal it doesn't (or didn't when we were there) sell anything to cook apart from small, expensive steak burgers.

Also, despite being a licensed shop it doesn't exercise this by selling alcohol. It was explained that the owners wanted to push business toward the on site pub (which is a nice pub with seating outside etc.). Although I appreciate their intentions, in a tent, with the kids running around and playing, we'd rather cook, eat and drink outside. So a trip to a supermarket is required (nearest is Ripon).

These really are minor issues as, once you know you can cater for it. I must stress it didn't spoil our stay at all, in fact this site is definitely on the 'return' list.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mburke63 9 reviews from this member

Stayed here at the end of May over the Bank holiday.

The campsite is about half way between Ripon and Pately-bridge so if you need any fast food shops then you could chose between either towns.

Nearest supermarket is morrisons in Ripon.

The staff are very friendly and will give you any local information.

Excellent size pitches, could do with a few more service points for caravans, there is only one toilet and shower block which is ok but it is a bit of a treck if you are in the far field. The toilet blocks are clean and the water from the showers are warm.

You can order your morning paper from the shop. They also sell other items, milk, eggs, etc.

The dog walk is brilliant and takes you round the local fishing lake, if you are a fisherman you can buy a licence to fish there.

Would recommend

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philnliz 10 reviews from this member

Visited this site mid may for two nights, weather not too bad other than a little windy. Approached the site from the direction of Ripon - didn't read any of the previous reviews else I would not have followed my sat nav, as it was I went down some very narrow roads. It's a good job no traffic was coming in the opposite direction else I would have been in trouble.

As others have said there was a feeling of wide open space, the pitches were of ample size. The showers/toilets were both modern and clean my only complaint was that as we were in the far paddock, with two kids we were too far away from the toilets, so had to rely on our own facilities which once full we had a trek to empty, but this was our only gripe.

Found staff friendly, they even let us have a late stay at no extra cost. We didn't venture off site as their was no need because the children were more than satisfied with the playgrounds and we didn't see them for long periods and had a struggle on our hands to get them in at meal/bed time.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smartrad 7 reviews from this member

Great site,

Large Pitches.

Very friendly owners and staff.

Very clean toilet facilities and hot showers.

Our kids enjoyed bottle feeding the lambs.

Play area was a great success.

All in all, a definite return visit on the cards.

Make sure you follow the owners directions, as the sat nav takes you on very small roads.

Lightwater Valley nearby ( 15mins) is well worth a visit

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kimberley03 2 reviews from this member

We absolutely loved this site, first time we had ever camped and facilities exactly as you see on website, we would definitely go there again.

Staff were wonderful and very friendly. Surrounding areas very attractive, bluebells were lovely to see,and cant wait until the next time when we both are going to try sum fishing!

Only one criticism if I had to make one is, it is badly signposted and so hard to find, it added an extra 45mins on our journey but trust me once you are there you will not be disappointed.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Princealbert 4 reviews from this member

We visited this Family Site after reading all the glowing reviews. With 2 little ones in tow, the site did not disappoint. It is a very popular site and it was full during our week despite the gales!. It really does cater for families, boasting at least 3 busy play areas!

The tent fields are on a bit of a slope and the bottom field is a 'fair old' walk from the toilet/shower block which was always immaculate.

The shop is quite adequate but closes for lunch. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The Barn Pub and Restaurant was the jewel in the crown. The service, the food (and the Black Sheep) was of a standard never before seen on a camp site! In fact if there is an award for the best pub on a camp site, then David and Ros (Mine hosts) would win by a mile.

Now, we are pretty fussy about eating out because most of the time its 'out of a freezer and into a microwave' rubbish. The Barn breaks the mould! It serves outstanding food. Apparently, David tells me the young chef is a bit of a 'Jamie Oliver' and makes everything himself. It shows. You need to book in advance though. Or you will miss out! His reputation is spreading fast!.

The only real negative we encountered was, as previously mentioned, the tiny sinks which are not washing up sinks at all, they are actually hand wash basins (that was a big mistake) I know it's camping but Alison, put some proper sinks in please.

Oh, and this is a bit bonkers but don't arrive between 12. 00-1. 00pm because the reception closes for lunch! We got caught in a huge tailback because everyone thinks they can pitch up at noon!

Get there after 1. 00pm or you'll have to do like we did. Go and sit outside the Barn with a Riggwelter (or two)!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helencree 12 reviews from this member

Fabulous, an excellent site with great facilities. The owners have thought of everything and more. The pitches are very generous and they even come around in the morning to collect your recycling.

The children (even the teenagers)had a great time in the bluebell wood making a den, we hardly saw them!

There was lots and lots of space for us all to play ball games, a good cycle track and 2 great fishing lakes.

We tried really hard to think of something they could improve on, but we failed.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: A13hed 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic, enjoyed a very pleasant stay at woodhouse farm over may day bank holiday weekend.

Stayed in family field on very large well marked out pitches that surrounded a huge open play area that the kids used from waking to going to bed. The kids also enjoyed the freedom of going to the play ground on their own knowing they were insight and earshot of parents.

Toilets showers and pot washing are of a very good standard, the only complaint being that the hot water to the pot washing sinks got to scalding temperature during daytime when showers were not in as much use,

Had a fantastic day out at nearby thorp perrow arboretum, there are 85acres of woodland and lake, a brilliant bird of prey centre with live displays and cafe,

Also brymor ice cream farm on outskirts of masham well worth a visit :overall:

Excellent site, very good facilities, pleasant staff, cant wait to go again.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulandkaren 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site in April during the Easter holidays. The site was clean, tidy and we had a very spacious pitch for our tent with ehu.

Lots of open space to play ball games as well as children's play area. There was also some under cover activities in a barn - pool, table tennis, chess which the kids loved and would be great if the weather wasn't so good.

The on site bar sold bar meals which were reasonably priced and of a good standard.

Toilets well maintained and clean.

Only slight criticism was the washing up sinks were so small that when trying to wash dinner plates we kept pulling the plug out and difficult to wash large pans.

Had a lovely week and will definitely be returning.

Previous     261 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4368 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019