Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 261 Reviews
                9/10 from 261 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  261 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Njonz 11 reviews from this member

Have just spent a lovely weekend at Woodhouse Farm, we visit this campsite at least once a year and as usual we were not disappointed with this visit.

This time we took another family who had not visited this site before, they were really impressed with it and are already talking about going back next year!

We enjoyed a delicious meal in The Barn, with `Geoff the Chef` making an appearance at the end of the night and entertaining the children in the party with his drawings, he even encouraged them to draw some and then he displayed then on the blackboard above the bar, the children thought this was great.

As usual all the general areas, playpark, showers blocks etc were very well kept and the staff were, as always, very pleasant and approachable. Roll on next year so we can visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gareths1980 4 reviews from this member

Very clean campsite, a tractor comes round on a morning to collect your recyclables, which the kids loved to help with.

A few very good parks within the line of sight so no need to worry about the kids going to far.

The toilet/shower blocks were cleaned regularly and never very busy. The showers have a timed push button for water, which stays on a nice length of time and the temperature was perfect. There was plenty of hot water at the pot washing facilities, there are about half a dozen sinks however they are on the small side.

Itís about a 10 minute drive into Ripon, I would recommend a trip to ĎBig Bitesí if your hungry, the portions are very generous. And Lightwater Valley is only a 15 minute drive.

The bar/restaurant looked very tempting however we didnít use it. The menu sounded very nice and was reasonably priced. The on site shop stocks sweets, essentials, toys and some spare camping essentials in case yours breaks or you forget things.

I would recommend you stick the directions off the camp-sites website, as I used the sat nav and it took us through some very narrow windy roads.

I think we will be using this site again, and I would recommend it to anyone

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dishydeb 5 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site, spent a lovely weekend and the facilities are amazing loads for the kids to do, games room, outdoor play areas, outdoor games chess/connect 4 & table tennis. The Barn bar/restaurant were small but had reasonable priced meals and the staff and chef were very friendly and very child friendly giving them colouring books and crayons, chef is also an amazing artist drawing a lovely thankyou picture for the friends little one. The shower block/toilets were always clean best showers ever, water was lovely and warm. The pot washing area was nice and with the added drier racks gives you more room. They are very keen on recycling too.

Lovely area we spent the day @ Lightwater Valley - be warned about the whirlwind ride LOL. The food was expensive there and had to queue for a while so maybe a pack lunch is advisable. We spend a couple of hours in Ripon the Cathedral is lovely and we had the pleasure of seeing the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra too warming up for their evening event.

We will be sure to return to the site as there is loads more in the area would like to visit

And because the site is so lovely, why try anywhere else in the area. 5 star

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hairywol 29 reviews from this member

Visited this site with friends (on their own pitch) and our 5 year old grandson.

First - the good news.

The approach to the site is either by narrow roads or very narrow roads (the owners advise to follow their signs, not satnav). It is though well-placed for touring - and only five miles from Ripon.

Everything proceeded like clockwork on arrival. The reception is obvious and our booking was located in a moment by friendly staff. We got a map of the site with directions to our pitch, and a colour-coded tab with a barrier code (for exit as well as ingress).

Reception also contains a small shop that sells basics. It isn't open all day, but has useful hours in the morning and late afternoon/tea-time.

Prices were very reasonable at £17 for a basic pitch with electricity, which I noticed didn't go up too sharply even at peak times of the year. The site had endured some rain in the days prior to our arrival, but drainage does not appear to be a problem.

We were in an area called the Top Paddock (with electricity), a mixture of tents and tourers. It was grassy and level with good-sized pitches clearly identified and delineated. Walking around the site, no part of it was so sloped it would have worried me (& I do not like slopey pitches).

The toilet/shower bock was happily close by to us, but was perhaps a 4 min trek for those furthest away in the Bottom Paddock.

Both ladies and gents was kept clean and neither was ever too busy (& most pitches were taken); all cubicles are a generous size.

Campers can wash at a row of basins, or have a private cubicle to wash. The site provided liquid soap and paper towels as well as air hand-driers.

Showers are free and push-button operated. There is no temperature control but they were perfect for me - not too hot as some can be.

There are three playgrounds for young, quite young and older children. The elder one is quite elderly, but the other two are very good and well-maintained. Our grandson enjoyed himself immensely & made plenty of new friends, entirely within calling distance of our pitch. Dotted around the reception area is pool, giant chess and giant connect-four, so something to suit everyone.

Second - the really good news.

Up to now the site would be firmly on my favourites list, but I have not yet mentioned the small on site bar-restaurant.

I have used such places on other sites - or perhaps it would be fairer to say endured them. So while my hopes were high from the website description, my expectations were not. We were after all in low season.

I cannot speak of 'The Barn' too highly. It is a small rustic place, long and quite barrow with a bar located centrally on the opposite long wall to the door. One one side of the bar is an informal area for drinking and eating, the other side is set aside for meals and can be booked in advance. There are also tables outside on a patio area.

Although only open part-time on low season we had a wide choice of drinks including three Black Sheep ales (Bitter, Golden Ale and Riggwelter) which were all on top form ( and we tried them all repeatedly!). Children were also well catered for. Staff were friendly - even jolly - which added to the experience.

The well-priced food menu is pretty straightforward rather than exotic, but is entirely home-cooked (rather than pre-prepared and microwaved to order).

We had among us Mushroon soup, steaks, steak & ale pie and scampi; all were excellent and the chef took pride in the quality of his rib-eyes. Our grandson chose chicken nuggets from the children's menu and we were very pleased to see that these were made from real chicken breast rather than the usual reconstituted mush.

The centrepiece was a huge bowl of fantastic hand-made chips which, try as we might, we could not quite finish off.

Third - the bad news.

I have tried but I can't think of any.

I just wish I had found this place earlier in the season. I will certainly be back.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marcopolo 2 reviews from this member

Spent a nice weekend at woodhouse, 2 adults 3 kids and a dog. Camp was very spacious lots of space for kids to play, to big if truthful, toilets seemed like they were miles from the tent, they could do with another block near the bottom field or a portable loo.

Good location for exploring the countryside and getting to Ripon and Knaresborough were they are some good atractions to visit.

Overall we had a pleasant stay, the bar and restaurant on site were excellent, proper chips, and catered for the kids to.

Would recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mistapuk 2 reviews from this member

This review is just to say that we had a nice weekend at Woodhouse Farm. As many people have mentioned before me, it has a good amount of facilities. The staff are approachable, friendly and welcoming.

The toilets and play areas are good, showers excellent, although no curtains in any of them to stop clothes getting wet? Could possibly do with some more toys for the smaller ones, such as a roundabout for example.

The walks are nice and there's plenty of space which is brilliant, I wouldn't even entertain booking a site if it's like a car park - here there's a feeling of space and well laid out! A barrier system operates.

You need a car to get about, or walk, but it'll take a while! The country roads are a little bit hairy when towing, but take your time. Don't follow your sat nav - use the directions from their website, which are basically - follow the brown signposts to the site if you're towing a caravan! Sorted.

The electric was fine, we didn't manage to trip it and our outfit was pretty demanding.

My negative to our stay was the fishing which I was seeking for a day. A very, very, very poor show - the farmer's dog ran in the smaller pond - twice! The second time it nearly tangled in my line, so I had to move after that, the swim was finished. No bites before that. The large pond produced nothing either and very little surfaced, very unusually quiet. Tried to get advice from the staff before I went but they didn't know too much, only that it had carp in etc, but not to worry.

Back to the other features of the site and it has some outside games which are really good to see. It wasn't noisy at all and we were near the toilet block, there are some rules in place and everyone is asked to follow them which is good. There's a bar which I've not heard a bad thing about, but we never tried it.

Plenty to see and do in the area, we might go back, but not for the fishing.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Badgers rest 2 reviews from this member

We spent a fortnight here this month, what an amazing site. On arrival the staff were helpful taking us to our enormous pitch that was level. There were lots of units here but it never felt busy in the toilet block nor did we have to wait long for a hot shower.

There is a little shop on site and a cafe selling basic meals but does get very busy so book. You also get a code to come and go via a barrier and at night it was so quite as the 10 o'clock rule was followed.

The site is a few miles outside Ripon in a very rural area and a car is needed at all times. The area is beautiful with lots to do for all age groups come rain or shine, in the middle of the countryside but about hour and half to Whitby and the coast, so much to do that we didn't get to see everything and will have to go back for another visit.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ormy 1 review from this member

Fantastic friendly site. The children loved the fantastic play area in corner of our field and plenty of space to play family games. Never had to queue for the toilet or the showers and always clean. Rather small sinks in the washing up area but never had to wait to use them and they had a very useful play area right next to them. Owners were very effective when we had noisy neighbours one night and we have had no further problems.

The surrounding area is quite simply stunning and we were spoilt for choice for places to visit. We highly recommend the children's tour of Ripley Castle, the walks around Fountains Abbey & Studley Roger and Newby Hall has a fantastic play area & water fountain that the children loved running in and out of the water (a change of clothes is a must).

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tiddles2408 3 reviews from this member

Well what can I say, have been caravanning and camping for 20+ years and this has to be one of the nicest sites we have stayed on. We arrived to be greeted by very friendly staff, word of warning do not arrive before 1 pm as you are not allowed on site until then, this was advertised on the website so we didn't. We were allocated out pitch which was huge, more than enough room for our Kalahari 10 with extension and car. There are several fields, one they call the children's field, loads of room for ball games in that one. Vey quiet site at night which we like. There is a small bar/rstaurant on site, the chef is very funny! excellent food and reasonably priced. Best to book when busy but we chanced it one night and although we had to wait a bit for our food we we were more than compensated with extra portion size. Showers were clean and tidy and never had to queue.

The surrounding area is lovely, lots of rides on the Moors and Dales, and Richmond, Skipton, Harrogate well worth a visit, wasn't to impressed with Ripon itself and if you expect to go eat out in Ripon one evening be warned the only place we found was awfuland we walked out. Wenslydale visitors centre (1hr drive) really nice and at Masham the Black Sheep Brewery tour was good and they do food and that was lovely.

Now for my 1 minus and that's the dishwashing facilities they are really small but having said that my husband informed me that they had installed drier racks above the sinks whilst we were there, I meant to go have a look but forgot so don't know if this has made washing up easier or not.

Overall I would give this 10 out of 10. FANTASTIC site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Molandjack 4 reviews from this member

Really can't fault it. Just got back from our 4 day stay. £23 per night with electric. Staff all very friendly.

It is situated about 5 miles from Ripon, roads are quite narrow once turned off the main B6265 road. Take care.

We stayed in a large 6 berth tent, two adults and 2 children(aged 12 and 8 years). We were in the 'Top field' with electric, the pitch had more than enough room for our tent,with the car parked at the side.

The site has three play areas, all well maintained. Footballs, cricket and Frisbees a must to entertain the kids. All the kids/adults joined in for a game of rounders on the large bottom field.

Dog owners have a designated field for dog walking. There is also two lakes for fishing, and a bike track through the woods. The kids enjoyed going to see the friendly family of ducks, but beware there are some 'not so friendly' geese ! I got surrounded at one point, and actually ran around the whole lake just to escape them !

The shower/toilet block is immaculate, it has about 10 toilets and about 6 showers (all with curtains and a seat in), We never had to queue for them, and they were always spotless, showers were always hot, day or night, and always plenty of hand towels/loo roll.

The washing up area has about 7 sinks, quite small but manageable.(again always had hot water)

There is a shop on-site for your essentials, it closes at 5pm, and it's a 10mile round trip to the nearest shop, so make sure you have your shopping in. We found a morrisons just outside of ripon, which also had a cafe in, quite handy if you can't be bothered to cook one night(we all ate there for £17). There is a pub on-site which does meals, we didn't use it so can't comment.

Our only gripe was with our noisy neighbours the first night we arrived, they had quite loud music on, but they were told at about 10pm to turn it off. Not sure if this was by the owner or by one of the regulars, but they did anyway, (camp rules state be considerate between 10pm-7.30am to your neighbours) and as it's in the middle of lush countryside, the wildlife and the peace and quiet is probably what people go for.

We found lots to do out and about, Mother shipton's cave and York Dungeons were both excellent.

We would definitely would return to this site, and would recommend it to anyone.

If you prefer a busier site with amusements and shows etc this is not the site for you.

Previous     261 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7895 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019