Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 171 Reviews
                9/10 from 171 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  171 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Seanus 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in June for a weekend and our initial impression when we arrived was good. The Friday night was pretty uneventful but the Saturday night was pretty noisy. A lot of shouting, loud behaviour and kids and juveniles running around until well after midnight.

I am not of the school that thinks there should be a complete noise curfew come 11.00 pm - but just like a bit of simple respect for others. The noise we could hear was coming from another of the sites fields (thatís how loud it was!) and had it been closer to us I might have been tempted to have a word.

The facilities were pretty good with decent toilet and shower block. There is a pub on site which as other reviewers have said gets busy for meals. We didnít try it but had a look inside it. It was ok but I prefer to visit the local pubs of which there are plenty in the area thought not easy walking distance.

Lately I have noticed a direct link between on site club house/pub and quite a lot of noise late on in the evening to early morning. So for my part I will not be looking for these kind of sites again. No criticism necessarily, just horse for courses.

I donít know if it is just me but I donít think that people have the same respect for each other anymore, thatís the problem. So not really a problem with the site, more a small minority on it and that could happen anywhere, though in theory think it is less likely on a site without club or pub facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slinkycat 6 reviews from this member

 Just come back from our 1st trip to this site, and will definitely be going back. It rained most of the weekend, but that still didnt spoil our weekend. We had a pitch on the children's field in the bottom corner, and it was a perfect spot. Still only a minute away from the clean toilet block (water does come out in a dribble from the showers) and close enough to the park so that we could sit and relax and still be able to see our daughter playing. Enough space on the park for ball games, etc. We forgot to take alcohol, (I know, how could we!) and the pub kindly sold us a bottle of wine, and gave me glasses to take back to tent. Cant really think of any negatives about this park, the only one I could think of would be the shop was small and just kept the basics, (unfortunately didn't have either of the 2 things we were looking for, rice and gas for the stove). Reasonably priced at £34 for the weekend with EHU . Look forward to going again soon 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Songbird5314 2 reviews from this member

 We picked this site because of the lovely reviews.

We arrived at a busy time, and I appreciate it must be difficult for the staff (who were friendly) but we were shown to our 'pitch' by a young boy around 12-14 yrs old who didn't seem to know where to put us. The pitches weren't numbered, and whilst we were starting to unpack our equipment another family were put next to us, but told to 'wait a few minutes, to see how much space we took up with our tent'. I think the tents were too close together for safety and the only information we were given about the site was from other campers.

The toilets were very clean and the showers were free (hairdryer 20p. There was a toilet code to open the door, which we thought a little unnecessary and awkward for 'desperate' children.

There was a pub onsite that we didn't use, but were told it was very nice. The site also featured a pleasant fishing lake and several small playing areas.

Our visit was spoiled by a large group of campers and children that played football till midnight and drunken loud behaviour till around 2am. We tried ringing the owners without success and complained in the morning. I was told that the owner always checks the site at midnight to curb any disturbances, but I truthfully did not see/hear any evidence of this. When the group demonstrated that their behaviour was going to be the same the next day, I am afraid that we packed up and left early. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joleecamping 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from staying at this site. Came home early due to rain and the site not being what we expected.

The pub food was nice and bar staff very friendly. The toilets/shower block were new and clean. The site for us with two children under 3 was not ideal. It was very noisy still after 11pm and the play areas were not geared at this age group, so not alot to do. Probably best suited if if travelling in a big group as there is a large field to get together and kids to run around. Oh yes and the drive in is a little akward, along very narrow lanes. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debs70 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2nd time on the bank hol weekend. We were told we'd be on the overflow field when I rang. I was a bit disappointed as last time we were near the park which is great for kids (11 & 6). I neednt have worried, I think the overflow is better than the normal field! It was still near the facilities & the kids loved it in the games room ( although last time we visited we were told it would be refurbished, this wasnt the case.)
The staff are friendly & very accomodating. My husband had smuggled a bottle of champagne there in the car as it was my birthday on the Monday & they kindly chilled it for us over the weekend! Great bar ( karaoke nite on the Sunday) although I agree it could be bigger. Also they organised races for the kids (how many sites bother to do that?!)
Showers warm & free but I hope they put a curtain up in end one (only 1 without & I got it twice! Your stuff gets wet). Will definitely return & hope it is busy so we can go in overflow again! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Stuart1100 1 review from this member

 Due to work limitations last year ie couldnt get the same time off as the wife we had to find a local campsite.

We decided on this campsite and found it to be the best camping experience that we have encountered in our 15 years of this type of holiday.

Yes I admit that the bar and restaraunt facilities are limited by there size however book in advance and you will not be dissapointed cos the food and beverages on offer are top class.

We decided to rebook for our annual holiday 2 weeks ago and yippee they can fit us in wait for it to my amazement the girl taking our order recognised my wifes voice and said would you like the same pitch as last year quoting the exact pitch we stayed on.

Now thats what I call pesonal service cant wait to get there. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheWoodys 4 reviews from this member

 Having just returned from a few days at this site I have to agree with what has been said by others. Friendly owners who showed us to our pitch on this mostly level site. Great pub even though it is small, with the most delicious food and all at great prices. Toilets and showers spotlessly clean at all times, although the site was quiet when we visited. This is quite a big site and I am not sure I would want to visit when it was full but there again I'm more of a 'quiet site' person myself. However I imagine it would be great for families.

Will certainly go again and would recommend to others. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jlowe 1 review from this member

 Very welcoming and polite staff.

Clean and well kept toilets.

Very reasonably priced considering we are a family of six with what is classed as a 'large' tent at most other sites. Generous size pitches (we had electric hook up).

Despite the awful weather when we arrived, it didnt spoil our time.

About 10 minute drive to Ripon and Lightwater Valley Theme Park.

Will definitely go there again.

Went to go to the bar for a meal on the saturday night, quite a small pub on site. We were all hungry but the few tables they have were booked so we had to drive elsewhere. It would have been nice to have been informed on arrival that if we were wanting to eat at the pub to book on in advance to avoid disappointing. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Fishin + Campin 3 reviews from this member

 Top notch site !

Fairly level pitches with all amenities close to hand. Beautifully kept grass, toilets and showers. Lovely shop that sells everything including cigs and beers at not bad prices.

Meals in the bar/restaurant are very nice and competitively priced albeit the bar area is very small for the size of the site. Super friendly barman who will do anything to keep people happy, a real genuine nice fella. If you want a meal in here at night BOOK IN ADVANCE as all the tables will be reserved !

Fishing at the top lodge is great but if you want the biggiz fish the lodge at the top of the dog exercise area, as I have it from the owner the big fish were moved from the little lodge to the big one, there arent many fish in there but what there is are really nice big carp, I have personally seen them spawning in excess of 20 odd pounds.

I will definitely be back here, but next time I will go for a good week rather than a weekend as its a pain to get to for me personally.

But all in all a real cracking site and couldn't recommend it highly enough, wish it was nearer !?! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mudpaddle 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from our second visit to this top-notch site. The site is clearly sign-posted, which is essential in this rural area. The site owners are welcoming, and drove us to our pitch, selecting the least waterlogged one for us (it was raining lots!). We were on the camp field this time, close to the toilet block. Loos were very clean, and plentiful. Washing up facilities were clean with good free hotwater.

The site was quiet, and coped reasonably well with the rain -- some inevitable muddiness, but it all drained away quite quickly. Shop has basic supplies, 10p to freeze ice packs.

Lovely site, we'll be back! 


Previous     171 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1751 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December