Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sharonwil27 1 review from this member

Just spent 4 nights at this campsite which was great lovely site. Had a meal at the on site bar the food is first class plenty on the plate. Shower blocks and toilets clean. Just a shame about the weather had one nice day so will be cleaning mud out of van and clothes. Will go again hope the weather is better.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Poochie1 1 review from this member

Stayed in one of the larger camping pods (2 adults plus a five year old} from May 24th for 3 nights. Be aware that you can`t park your car near the pods. There is a small car parking area next to the path that leads there, and wheelbarrows provided to get your camping stuff to the pods. Bring wellies and plenty of spare clothes as very muddy currently. Looks a bit unfinished There are no grassed areas between the pods but looks like the grass will grow there eventually. Overall very impressed with inside of pods. Spacious, carpeted and very warm as have oil radiator. We took our usual camping things and outdoor cooking stuff, but did see people taking small fridges and toasters. There is an overhang on the decking which shelters you a bit when cooking outside. There were 2 electric sockets in our pod, which was useful. Also 2 lights, but on one switch and at the far end of pod so not necessarily where you want them. The toilet block is quite a trek but looks like they are finishing off a new toilet/shower block next to the car park. Toilet block/ showers generally very clean considering site exceptionally muddy in places. There are some play areas on site and our child used the one next to the pot-washing, which was handy. There is a restaurant/pub on site but we didn`t use it. Ideal for visiting Ripon, Fountains Abbey and Middleham Castle.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peter howard 11 reviews from this member

Spent 2 days at this site and really loved it. We are only 20 miles from here but you could have driven 200 and you wouldn't find anywhere better!Great sized pitch with a massive field in front where many other sites would have pitched other vans but this site chooses to give you a nice view. Toilet block cannot be faulted and the wash up area first class. Barn Pub we found to be a bit dated but really friendly and nice hand pulled Black Sheep Bitter. Walked up to Lumley Reservoir on Saturday which is beautiful and well worth the half hour walk then ended up in the Grantley Arms a well earned beer. Expensive food but quality you cannot fault. After all we are on a weekend holiday!On Sunday we visited Theakstons Brewery which was brilliant. Overall we loved this site and will be back probably this year to do it all again. Don't know the lady who owns the site but she is really helpful and knows the area brilliantly. If you don't like this site it's time to pack up caravanning!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ANGEDAWS 23 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a very wet weekend at Woodhouse Farm. The site was quiet, being just after the bank holiday and on a weekend when really bad weather was forecast. The warden was friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. This is a big site but with a nice family friendly feel. There is loads of space for kids to play and the shower blocks and facilities are excellent.

My husband and son went fishing and had a reasonably good day. The warden told us that they have had a predator on the main lake so there arent as many fish about as usual. For this reason they didn't charge for fishing. Hopefully this is a temporary problem because sites that accommodate families who want to fish are fairly rare.

One word of warning, due to the wet weather the site was very boggy in places. Don't let this stop you from going but do take wellies and plenty of spare clothes for the kids. Our pitch quickly turned into a mud bath and we regretted not getting a hardstanding - but the weather was exceptionally bad.

In summary a great site with owners who obviously care and are to be commended for this. Sensible prices too. We will be back.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leeturner4666 11 reviews from this member

We have just arrived back from a lovely stay at Woodhouse Farm just outside Ripon. The facilities were first class, there is a climbing wall for the kids along with a fort and other play areas. The site is a little off the beaten track but it so secure and family friendly we were able to let our two boys off wandering around the site, they are 5 and 8 years old. There are big open spaces for them to play ball games, etc. There are a few chickens wandering around passing the time of day.

The toilets were lovely and clean and loads of hot water, the staff were really friendly and there is excellent wi-fi in the bar. We didn't eat in the bar but the meals looked delicious. The drinks prices are as you would expect, not over the top though.

The pitches are a good size and on the top paddock where we were, were flat and easy to negotiate, they have electric hook-up but are not fully serviced but there are plenty of water taps dotted about. It is a bit of a walk to the Elsan point but not too bad.

The site is a great place as a base, it is about four miles outside Ripon, just be careful which way you go as some roads are not suitable for caravans, these are clearly marked though.

Overall I would definitely recommend this site, it is peaceful, quiet of an evening, loads of open fields with a real friendly atmosphere, we loved it, thank you Woodhouse.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Wilky166 12 reviews from this member

Just spent two nights in our folding caravan at Woodhouse Farm.

Staff were brilliant, polite & helpful. The site is very secure and has security barriers both ways.

The facilities were excellent - clean, warm and plentiful.

There is a small shop and an on site restaurant. We asked permission for our dog to come into the restaurant with us and they allowed her in on the proviso she was well behaved; the food was excellent & reasonably priced. The atmosphere in the pub/ restaurant was lovely with an open fire.

There are free roaming chickens and we were lucky enough to see the baby lambs.

There is a large fishing lake on site too.

We will definitely be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Millet 31 reviews from this member

Lovely weekend spent at a lovely campsite.

I echo reviews previous to mine on the area and dog walks.

Site was quite as it is now approaching the end of the season, I would question about the toilet and shower block possibly be coming very busy at peak times if the camp site was full, but obviously, this was not an issue for us. (Shower block has under floor heating, a real bonus)

Lovely meal at the Wood house barn restaurant.

Very helpful staff, lots of grass and some play equipment for the kids.

Site does undulate somewhat, so make sure you take levelling blocks, in-case your sited on one of the more uneven pitches.

Can recommend this site for most people. We will return here.

Thanks Wood house for a good weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thighbones 1 review from this member

We stayed here for one week and found the staff friendly, and accommodating - we hadn't booked and arrived on a bank holiday weekend! We stayed in the paddock which was separate from the main camping areas, but it was fine. There is a bar and small shop on site and plenty for kids of any age to do. The facilities were excellent: clean showers & toilets, dustbins regularly emptied, no litter, dog walking area with bins. We couldn't really fault it - we only intended to stay a couple of nights, but decided to remain for the week as it was so good. I would recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Keithcdb 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic place, such a nice place to be. Very busy leading up to the bank holiday weekend but still felt like a secluded small site. Very dog friendly with lots off long walks and open fields. Our 3 year old daughter loved it here and we will be back very soon. The fishing ponds are lovely with ducks swimming and lots of nature to explore. Well done to the owners for keeping such a good site.

My only niggle is there was only one swing for the kids, not a massive problem but when your toddler wants a go on the swing well you will know what I mean.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mummymacca 1 review from this member

We have just returned from four nights stay here. On arrival we were early, so asked if possible to just park up and look around. This is a great family friendly campsite. Toilet/shower blocks are clean, warm and play lovely music 24hrs. I had to use the laundry room too once and found it to be clean and the shop stocked everything I needed. We did have trouble with a tent which parked up beside us being loud and rude. After having a word with the staff, the group was asked to leave as a few families had complained. My children loved that they could play safely out till gone 9pm. They enjoyed to two parks and games room.

Only downside I can think of was we were pitched quite a distance from the toilet block, during the night when one of the children had to go, It was very dark and no lights to help light the way. This is only a minor issue as it only happened once and could be rectified next time by requesting to go nearer the toilets.

We visited Forbidden Corner, Aysgarth falls, the chocolate factory, the teapot making factory, stockelm park and Ripon races. We had a 9, 6 and 1 yr old and everyone of the places we visited we thoroughly enjoyed as a family.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2040 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019