Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 261 Reviews
                9/10 from 261 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  261 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cathasle 8 reviews from this member

Had a lovely weekend on this camp site. Lovely facilities. The toilet block was always clean whatever time of day it was and we never had to queue even though the site was busy. Showers had lovely hot water with push button to operate which doesn't last long but not a great problem to keep pushing it on. Play facilities for the children are great, smaller area for little children, bigger for the older children and a little wooden tractor. Plenty of space to play ball games. Play barn with a climbing wall and a variety of games tables. The play barn is right near the pub so parents can sit outside the pub whilst watching children in the play barn. The pub is away from the pitches and is not a loud noisy pub so causes no problems. As well as a menu for sitting in the pub which looked lovely and was reasonably priced they do take away meals such as pizza, chips, garlic bread, nuggets and chips, sausages and chips. We had chips and garlic bread which were lovely. We would have had a meal in the pub but didn't book and it was full. The children were able to bottle feed some baby lambs that were on the farm. Not far from the towns of Masham or Ripon. We visited The Forbidden Corner which was about 35 minutes away and is a great place to visit. I would definitely visit this site again.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulludford 5 reviews from this member

We called in as a last minute addition to our travel home and we weren't disappointed

We arrived pre arranged late in darkness and the warden was so helpful in getting us to our pitch near the toilets/showers

The site was quiet with only two or three other units so being near the toilets was not a problem and in fact a a huge benefit as the weather was forecasted to come in real bad - and it did - wind and rain howling throughout the night

The hook ups were modern and illuminated so easy to locate - the pitch was level on Tarmac which was a boon in the morning as it was still chucking it down

The toilet and showers are modern, clean and immaculate, plenty of hot water although the shower pressure was a little on the limp side - but no matter, the block was excellent with plenty of pot wash facs which we always use

The site is kept beautifully and is well drained, the grass kept immaculately and is on a farm off the beaten track but near enough the attractions of Ripon and the Yorkshire Dales

We intend to do a Dales trip early next year and this site will be on the itinerary

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MCavan75 20 reviews from this member

We have just come back from a weekend at this incredibly spacious site - I had no idea the site would be so large but this is because so much space is given to both pitches and also large open areas which is lovely. It appeared only half the site is used for touring, quite a few pitches are clearly seasonal and the statics are set at the back. We were pitched at the bottom of the far paddock and pitches 14 and 15 were particularly generous in size, those along the sides seemed closer together. This paddock has a huge grass area in the middle so you don't feel overlooked at all. Our childen enjoyed the play areas and scooting around the site. There are only 4/5 showers in the single block which appeared few for the size of the site, however on both mornings I was the only one in there at what I consider peak time so I guess they are adequate. Depending on where you are pitched you may have quite a trek to get to the showerblock which is at the site entrance. Friends of ours stayed in one of the pods and the setting of these in the woods is really magical especially at night when the path is lit up. You cannot drive to the pods so have to park and use wheelbarrows to transport your belongings. The pod parking area is next to the caravan storage area and is a bit off putting, I imagine the site plan to landscape this more as the pods are a new development, however once you are past this the woodland is lovely. The area is great for days out and we will most certainly go back as we live only an hour from the site, it will become a weekend bolt-hole for us. For a large site I find it quite friendly with other campers saying hello. The only thing that frustrated me was that I had to complete my whole booking on the internet as I could never get through on the phone - there is not an answerphone and the phone just rings endlessly. I do think it is important to be able to speak to staff when booking if you have specific questions or requirements and I do think this could be improved. Otherwise, a lovely place!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CW52 26 reviews from this member

Lovely site, Last time we visited was few years ago, Doesn't seem so strict now. Campers near us all enjoying themselves singing and playing guitar, around fires until late, but that didn't bother us, they were having a great time. One tent owner even had flashing lights on a flag pole attached to tent. ( though pleased I wasn't next to them)

We were in lower paddock and just wish there was toilet block down there, little bit of a walk to visit loo.

Our tent was right next to play area and had to ask some very noisy children to stop screaming, but it was 11pm!

Lovely clean toilet and shower block, but maybe should be more showers for such big site, as there were people waiting on a morning. Improved washing up area from our last visit, lovely clean new sinks, under cover.

Plenty space for children to run about, (and adults ) plenty of cricket/football games going on near us too. Activities organised by owner for Bank Holiday. Fishing on site too.

Didn't use Barn for food so cannot comment. Will definitely be back, but little nearer toilet block next time.

Note that site little way off beaten track, with narrow roads.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Anitacraig 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 2 night stay in a standard camping pod. What a great site. Very clean and tidy. Made very welcome by all the staff. Plenty for our kids to do(they are 5 & 8 years old). Had a meal in the pub, very nice and plenty of it.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HayleyW 1 review from this member

It was our first time camping, so don't have anything to compare it to, but we loved it! So much freedom for the kids and plenty room to run around. Site was very well maintained and clean. I felt totally relaxed letting my 4 and 7 yr olds go wondering round the site. Every other camper was very respectful to the surroundings and other guests. We will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debpalmer 3 reviews from this member

I love this campsite! They have spacious marked out pitches. Checked in early and the staff were very friendly as they were last year. Tent up and within a short space of time, our 7 yr old found a few friends to play with.

Very good place for the kids to run around safely. People really respect this site.

They have a barn with pool table, small kids climbing wall and table tennis table. It entertained our son for quite some time and this is located right next to the on site pub!

Showers are clean, hot and free.

Short drive to Brimham Rocks - great afternoon!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ScoobySnaps 10 reviews from this member

Excellent quiet family site - our best ever yet! Definitely hope to return. Great on site facilities in lovely countryside.

Nice quiet relaxed site. Not for parties or groups, or noisy late night drinking. Need to comply with site terms and conditions.

Our pitch was pre booked and positioned next to our friends as we requested. Sign at gate says no commercial vehicles, but thankfully we were allowed on site with our van as we confirmed we were not staying in the van.

Secure site: Was given our own access code to the barrier and a map with directions to our pitch in the middle paddock. Pitches are all around the edge of field.

Lovely owner, who tours the site, and we saw her approach some adults causing some noise disturbance with super loud remote control cars.

Toilet facilities great. (x5 shower cubicles) Fabulous washing up area behind toilet block with x6 washing up sinks with hot running water.

Onsite pub serving food. Also allows dogs and children, handy when it rains!

Didn't get chance to explore the site surrounding area, hope to return for local walk next time. Just a few miles out of Ripon and close to Brimham rocks and other towns/villages.

Thanks to the site for hosting a great weekend!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JillIanL 2 reviews from this member

Spent a weekend here at Woodhouse Farm, what a delightful site, and relatively easy to find even without a sat nav, well signposted on the Fountains Abbey road.

Friendly greetings from staff on reception and directed to a spacious pitch with EH, almost flat and with an empty pitch on one side for the whole of the weekend, although the site was busy with a mix of caravans, trailer tents and tents at no time did it feel crowded, and it was a very family friendly site. The site was very peaceful despite being busy and we even enjoyed the glorious dawn chorus on both mornings.

Toilets and showers were always clean and warm and I never had to queue, with loads of free hot water.

A bonus was the children's play areas which were well used by my grandson and lots of other children, and The Barn which is not only a restaurant it is a Black Sheep Brewery licensed bar, quality of the food was very good with good portions, and very reasonable prices and the Thatchers on draft was also very welcome.

The bar showed the world cup matches on TV but even though the England match finished late everyone was very mindful of not making any noise as they returned to their units.

Small on site shop sold delicious fresh bread and stocked a small selection of the usuals.

Didn't use the laundry so unable to comment.

Visited Ripon and Fountains Abbey during our stay and had a very enjoyable short break.

Would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sharonwil27 1 review from this member

Just spent 4 nights at this campsite which was great lovely site. Had a meal at the on site bar the food is first class plenty on the plate. Shower blocks and toilets clean. Just a shame about the weather had one nice day so will be cleaning mud out of van and clothes. Will go again hope the weather is better.

Previous     261 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4232 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019