Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 171 Reviews
                9/10 from 171 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  171 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dragonsprisoner 4 reviews from this member

 A quiet and relaxed site within easy travelling distance of Ripon.

After a very easy check in we were given a map, our barrier number and directed to our pitch. Pitches are of a good size -plenty of room for our Kalahari 10 and an estate car to fit.

Our son soon disappeared to check out the play forts and playbarn. A big thumbs up from him! The play barn games (table tennis etc) requires a small deposit (refundable if no damages) for bats etc.

Toilet block was clean and tidy. After a heavy downpour the floor was a bit dirty from muddy footwear but seemed to be cleaned promptly once the rain stopped.

The small bar/restaurant was nice with good customer service. Food was nice and reasonably priced.

Good places to visit nearby were Brimham Rocks (great for kids to burn off energy climbing rocks - be warned there is a 5 parking fee, though) and Middleham Castle.

The only downside we can see to this site is if you're pitched in the middle or bottom paddock there's a bit of a trek to the facilities and ground may get a little boggy if there's a lot of rainfall.

Would recommend and definitely visit again! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LEEMTAYLOR 1 review from this member

 Visited this site and was impressed from the start.

The access was a bit tight on the final section getting but it was fine as I easily got my 2. 5mtr wide rig over the narrow bridge. The roads are narrow getting there but again fine.

The staff are friendly and the pitches are of good size and the site is well kept. The kids enjoyed the play area and the dog walking area is nice. The other weekend residents were pleasant and friendly.

The site facilities are clean and the staff attend to them constantly through the day.

All in all it is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chriscable 38 reviews from this member

 Firstly it is a challenge to get to this site from the main road and just hope you don't meet a unit coming the other way. Having said that it is great when you get there. Large site with many statics but loads of room for tourers and tents. We went at half term so it was busy but we never had to wait for showers etc. There is a really nice bar/ restaurant on site that we tried and it was very good. Also only 10 mins from Ripon and even less to Fountains Abbey A site we would return to and plan to do so soon. Staff very helpful indeed 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cathasle 9 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely weekend on this camp site. Lovely facilities. The toilet block was always clean whatever time of day it was and we never had to queue even though the site was busy. Showers had lovely hot water with push button to operate which doesn't last long but not a great problem to keep pushing it on. Play facilities for the children are great, smaller area for little children, bigger for the older children and a little wooden tractor. Plenty of space to play ball games. Play barn with a climbing wall and a variety of games tables. The play barn is right near the pub so parents can sit outside the pub whilst watching children in the play barn. The pub is away from the pitches and is not a loud noisy pub so causes no problems. As well as a menu for sitting in the pub which looked lovely and was reasonably priced they do take away meals such as pizza, chips, garlic bread, nuggets and chips, sausages and chips. We had chips and garlic bread which were lovely. We would have had a meal in the pub but didn't book and it was full. The children were able to bottle feed some baby lambs that were on the farm. Not far from the towns of Masham or Ripon. We visited The Forbidden Corner which was about 35 minutes away and is a great place to visit. I would definitely visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulludford 5 reviews from this member

 We called in as a last minute addition to our travel home and we weren't disappointed

We arrived pre arranged late in darkness and the warden was so helpful in getting us to our pitch near the toilets/showers

The site was quiet with only two or three other units so being near the toilets was not a problem and in fact a a huge benefit as the weather was forecasted to come in real bad - and it did - wind and rain howling throughout the night

The hook ups were modern and illuminated so easy to locate - the pitch was level on Tarmac which was a boon in the morning as it was still chucking it down

The toilet and showers are modern, clean and immaculate, plenty of hot water although the shower pressure was a little on the limp side - but no matter, the block was excellent with plenty of pot wash facs which we always use

The site is kept beautifully and is well drained, the grass kept immaculately and is on a farm off the beaten track but near enough the attractions of Ripon and the Yorkshire Dales

We intend to do a Dales trip early next year and this site will be on the itinerary 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MCavan75 20 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a weekend at this incredibly spacious site - I had no idea the site would be so large but this is because so much space is given to both pitches and also large open areas which is lovely. It appeared only half the site is used for touring, quite a few pitches are clearly seasonal and the statics are set at the back. We were pitched at the bottom of the far paddock and pitches 14 and 15 were particularly generous in size, those along the sides seemed closer together. This paddock has a huge grass area in the middle so you don't feel overlooked at all. Our childen enjoyed the play areas and scooting around the site. There are only 4/5 showers in the single block which appeared few for the size of the site, however on both mornings I was the only one in there at what I consider peak time so I guess they are adequate. Depending on where you are pitched you may have quite a trek to get to the showerblock which is at the site entrance. Friends of ours stayed in one of the pods and the setting of these in the woods is really magical especially at night when the path is lit up. You cannot drive to the pods so have to park and use wheelbarrows to transport your belongings. The pod parking area is next to the caravan storage area and is a bit off putting, I imagine the site plan to landscape this more as the pods are a new development, however once you are past this the woodland is lovely. The area is great for days out and we will most certainly go back as we live only an hour from the site, it will become a weekend bolt-hole for us. For a large site I find it quite friendly with other campers saying hello. The only thing that frustrated me was that I had to complete my whole booking on the internet as I could never get through on the phone - there is not an answerphone and the phone just rings endlessly. I do think it is important to be able to speak to staff when booking if you have specific questions or requirements and I do think this could be improved. Otherwise, a lovely place! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CW52 26 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, Last time we visited was few years ago, Doesn't seem so strict now. Campers near us all enjoying themselves singing and playing guitar, around fires until late, but that didn't bother us, they were having a great time. One tent owner even had flashing lights on a flag pole attached to tent. ( though pleased I wasn't next to them)

We were in lower paddock and just wish there was toilet block down there, little bit of a walk to visit loo.

Our tent was right next to play area and had to ask some very noisy children to stop screaming, but it was 11pm!

Lovely clean toilet and shower block, but maybe should be more showers for such big site, as there were people waiting on a morning. Improved washing up area from our last visit, lovely clean new sinks, under cover.

Plenty space for children to run about, (and adults ) plenty of cricket/football games going on near us too. Activities organised by owner for Bank Holiday. Fishing on site too.

Didn't use Barn for food so cannot comment. Will definitely be back, but little nearer toilet block next time.

Note that site little way off beaten track, with narrow roads. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Anitacraig 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night stay in a standard camping pod. What a great site. Very clean and tidy. Made very welcome by all the staff. Plenty for our kids to do(they are 5 & 8 years old). Had a meal in the pub, very nice and plenty of it. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HayleyW 1 review from this member

 It was our first time camping, so don't have anything to compare it to, but we loved it! So much freedom for the kids and plenty room to run around. Site was very well maintained and clean. I felt totally relaxed letting my 4 and 7 yr olds go wondering round the site. Every other camper was very respectful to the surroundings and other guests. We will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debpalmer 3 reviews from this member

 I love this campsite! They have spacious marked out pitches. Checked in early and the staff were very friendly as they were last year. Tent up and within a short space of time, our 7 yr old found a few friends to play with.

Very good place for the kids to run around safely. People really respect this site.

They have a barn with pool table, small kids climbing wall and table tennis table. It entertained our son for quite some time and this is located right next to the on site pub!

Showers are clean, hot and free.

Short drive to Brimham Rocks - great afternoon! 


Previous     171 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2281 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December