Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Molandjack 4 reviews from this member

Really can't fault it. Just got back from our 4 day stay. 23 per night with electric. Staff all very friendly.

It is situated about 5 miles from Ripon, roads are quite narrow once turned off the main B6265 road. Take care.

We stayed in a large 6 berth tent, two adults and 2 children(aged 12 and 8 years). We were in the 'Top field' with electric, the pitch had more than enough room for our tent,with the car parked at the side.

The site has three play areas, all well maintained. Footballs, cricket and Frisbees a must to entertain the kids. All the kids/adults joined in for a game of rounders on the large bottom field.

Dog owners have a designated field for dog walking. There is also two lakes for fishing, and a bike track through the woods. The kids enjoyed going to see the friendly family of ducks, but beware there are some 'not so friendly' geese ! I got surrounded at one point, and actually ran around the whole lake just to escape them !

The shower/toilet block is immaculate, it has about 10 toilets and about 6 showers (all with curtains and a seat in), We never had to queue for them, and they were always spotless, showers were always hot, day or night, and always plenty of hand towels/loo roll.

The washing up area has about 7 sinks, quite small but manageable.(again always had hot water)

There is a shop on-site for your essentials, it closes at 5pm, and it's a 10mile round trip to the nearest shop, so make sure you have your shopping in. We found a morrisons just outside of ripon, which also had a cafe in, quite handy if you can't be bothered to cook one night(we all ate there for 17). There is a pub on-site which does meals, we didn't use it so can't comment.

Our only gripe was with our noisy neighbours the first night we arrived, they had quite loud music on, but they were told at about 10pm to turn it off. Not sure if this was by the owner or by one of the regulars, but they did anyway, (camp rules state be considerate between 10pm-7.30am to your neighbours) and as it's in the middle of lush countryside, the wildlife and the peace and quiet is probably what people go for.

We found lots to do out and about, Mother shipton's cave and York Dungeons were both excellent.

We would definitely would return to this site, and would recommend it to anyone.

If you prefer a busier site with amusements and shows etc this is not the site for you.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ol55jam 3 reviews from this member

We've just tried out our new Hi Gear Corado 6 tent at this site as 'first-time' campers, a small family of 2 adults and one 7 year old child. The tent was fantastic albeit slightly big, and the site was immaculate, clean and tidy with all the facilities required on lush, flast green grass with clearly signposted site allocations. The play areas for the bairn was super as she made great friends immediately.

The surrounding lakes were not so tidy with poor walkways (but you can live with that), and.Unfortunately, the Barn pub whilst selling the best real ale I have ever tasted, suffered from the most poor service.

The surrounding towns are great to visit eg Ripon, very scenic although drive carefully along the narrow roads, enjoyable though! We will return to this site and would recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emjay100 3 reviews from this member

Spent a weekend here with friends as our first camping trip in our new tent and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Located in rural countryside the drive to it makes it seem very remote and peaceful. Easy check in, given gate code and pitch no plus map to show where to go. The pitch was marked out and our large tent filled it we were very close to neighbours and were pleased that they were friends.

The tent field had a large open space in the middle to play in and a playpark at the end which we could keep an eye on from the top of the field, would not have liked being right next to it.

The play equipment was relatively new and aimed at 5years + fenced in. Very nice site staff who were keen to help, shop was well stocked with local food at good prices. Shower facilities excellent modern and clean and plenty of hot water and toilet paper.

Went for a lovely walk around the fishing lake which is very pretty. There were lots of mosquitoes around and got badly bitten so take insect repellent, it was gorgeous hot weather too whilst we were there.

5 minutes from Fountains Abbey and close to Ripon a thriving town it is in an ideal location with lots to do. Will definitely revisit for a restful weekend again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Carolemayo 3 reviews from this member

First visit to this site along with two other families in tents. Site very clean and tidy, bit of a walk to toilet block from top field, nice play areas. Rained but pitch was well drained. {lenty to do in area we visited Lightwater Valley. Pub on site and outdoor games for kids to use. Tent field quite busy, had a bit of an incident involving a youth relieving himself up the side of a tent with a seethrough panel -not what you want your kids to be seeing--was rapidly dealt with by staff !

Will be revisiting and have already signposted friends to this site !

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JimnJo 1 review from this member

Fantastic site, stayed here for two nights with our sons aged 3 and 9 and couldn't have asked for a better site.

Great pitch size perfect for our 4 person tent and car.

Toilet and shower blocks were kept clean with plenty of hot water and never a queue to use them despite it being the summer school holidays.

Play area for the children within view of our tent so we could relax whilst keeping a close eye on them.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

Only downside was the shop and bar could have been open longer considering it is the peak season.

We will definitely be visiting again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kathy76 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from this site with my husband and our two children under 7.

It was very clean. There is a bathroom for 2. 00 for half a hour. For kids a bath is good.

It was quiet.

The shop opens 9 till 12 then 2 til 5. So if you run out of anything its a pretty long drive to ripon.

The barn pub is closed on a tuesday which i was annoyed about.

There is not a games room of such unless you call a open barn with a snooker table and t. V a games room.

Not a bad site. Not much for teenagers. Make your own entertainment.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Teamjeynes 5 reviews from this member

A great site - stayed 2 nights on a busy weekend

Field was well sheltered from some fairly strong winds

Well-stocked shop; toilet block spotless; despite being busy didn't have to queue for showers (also spotless)

Staff were great - both friendly and helpful

Lots of young kids in the main area who looked and sounded really happy - for more peace and quiet the 'paddock' field was ideal

A great base for the walk around Studley Deer Park and Fountains Abbey

Recommended for families or loners alike

Will definitely be going back

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emma+nathan 1 review from this member

This was the first time we visited this site but it wont be our last. Easily the best site we've visited so far (we've visited 6 so far).The pitches were large enough for our tent and car,which is impressive as we have quite a large tent and awning (10m x 5m)

The people who worked there were friendly and extremely helpful, nothing was too much for them.

The site was clean and tidy, showers were kept spotless and the water was actually hot. The dog walk was just right for the kids as-well.

There were 3 play areas for the kids,well placed around the site,1 right next to the sink area so the kids don't get bored. We never visited the pub but our friends seemed to enjoy it;)

The only bad points I found was the shop shut at 5 and they don't sell cigarettes, also it's a bit of a trek into Ripon if you forget anything (5.5 miles)

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tobermory78 2 reviews from this member

The approach is through country roads that are quite narrow, if you are towing make sure you stick to the guidance on their website or you may come a cropper.

The site was well laid out for touring vans on hardstanding with good pitch sizes. There was a large tent field that seemed pretty packed and was buzzing with kids playing. There is a lovely good sized play area in the main tent field that attracted the kids and a smaller one near the wash area for the dinky's, both are well maintained. An older metal climbing frame stands in the centre of the caravan field.

Showers and toilets were all clean and tidy. The pot wash area is a bit of a disappointment, cramped with sinks that were so small our plates would not fit in them - how we laughed!

There is a pub on site - beer is on draught and a good pint was served. Food is standard pub fayre, but adequate. They do get busy at weekends, tables are booked and as the kitchen is small you could end up waiting some time for your food. However the luxury of someone doing the cooking and washing up with beer in real glasses is well worth it.

There is a shop that appears well stocked. Overall it was a good clean site with friendly staff, great for kids and we would visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Newportfamily 6 reviews from this member

We visited this site for a long weekend with friends and thoroughly enjoyed it.

We have 2 children aged 2 and 10 and they were more than happy to play in the centre of the caravan field on the climbing frames, playing football, riding their bikes etc, they were always where we could see them !

The site was lovely and peaceful even though there were lots of caravans and tents, there was a fab adventure playground in the tent field which the kids enjoyed !

There are some nice walks around the site as they have a fishing lake which the kids thought was great as there were baby frogs everywhere ! We visited Ripon which is a nice little town and Brimham Rocks which is a fab day out and very cheap!

The toilets and showers on the site were clean, although we did have to queue a couple of times but the site was very full. There is a small shop on the site if you find you have forgotten to bring something but there are also supermarkets in Ripon.

Overall a really good site and would definitely return.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1352 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019