Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 261 Reviews
                9/10 from 261 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  261 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bassy347 3 reviews from this member

Visited Woodhouse farm over the Easter school holidays for 6 nights.

On arrival we were shown to our pitch, which to our great surprise was huge, ample room for our 8 Berth family tent, front ext, windbreak, car and all that goes with camping.

Pitch was flat and in good condition, located in the children's field, which was brilliant as we had our 4 year old son with us, and we could sit outside our tent and watch him. Although it was Bank holiday, it was busy, but we were never bothered by noise.

I have to agree with previous reviews as regards the toilets (men's). Soap dispenser not filled, waste paper bins over flowing, Showers were fairly cold. On the plus side, and there were lots of them, the Family Bathroom, was really nice and clean. The site is very very dark on a night, there is no low level lighting from the camping fields upto the toilet blocks, so make sure you have your torch to hand if your in a rush!. We had a dog with us and it was a shame that we were unable to go into pub.

The area is great, loads of areas to visit. - I would go back to this site, due to friendly staff and the size of their pitches.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ali&John 10 reviews from this member

We all thoroughly enjoyed our trip to this site, itís been a couple of years since we have been.

The owners are friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. You get a true feeling of Yorkshire here. At one point they were taking one of the campers and his two small children to Harrogate hospital as his wife had been rushed in with suspected meningitis! How nice of them is that, you donít get that sort of service at any campsite!

We enjoyed a trip in to ĎThe Oldest Sweet Shop in Englandí at near by Pateley Bridge.

Due to bad weather we decided to come home a day early, the owners kindly offered to keep the night in the bank for our next visit, that we are already planning.

The toilet block was always very clean when we went and they have a fantastic family bathroom and laundry facilities.

Kids loved the fresh air and all the space!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daz3223 7 reviews from this member

Would agree with the previous reviewer regarding no dogs in the on site pub and restaurant but when we were there the toilets were clean enough apart from the paper towel bins over flowing once although we did leave site before the Bank Holiday weekend.

Nice little site this with good rules regarding noise in the evenings. Plenty of wildlife for anyone interested including rabbits, birdlife etc.

Found a nice little pub on the way to Masham serving real ales and they allow dogs in so spent a couple of evenings here and it's the first pub you come to on the way to Masham but can't remember it's name, sorry.

If I was to return to North Yorkshire again it wouldn't be a problem for me to stay here at all.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Two_in_a_tent 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at Woodhouse for the Easter Bank Holiday weekend. The site was quite busy but with plenty of room on the 'overflow field' where we were staying.

The site is easy to find as it is well signposted from the main Ripon road.

The 'pro's' of the site are that it is in a lovely area, easy to find but off the beaten track, close to the lovely city of Ripon and Fountains' Abbey, has a handy shop for the basics, has an on-site pub / restaurant, play areas for the kids, dog walking field, a covered washing-up area, modern toilet block and plenty of hot water, beautiful fishing lake and plenty of grassy areas for children to play.

The 'con's' are that the toilet block is not well maintained and remained uncleaned for at least 24 hours on a busy bank holiday weekend, resulting in smelly and dirty toilets, overflowing bathroom bins and soap dispensers which remained empty for the full 4 days. The showers remained quite clean as users were encouraged to clean up after themselves, and more often than not did so by mopping the floor after use and removing shoes before entry etc. But the toilets and sinks remained a problem.
The only other con I would mention is that because the pub serves food, dogs are not permitted. We estimated that this alienated about 35% of the campers that weekend (those of us with dogs) from taking part in their Easter quiz, which was a bit of a disappointment.

The proprietors are currently installing an electronic barrier system for entry to the site. In my opinion this money would have been better spent on creating a separate dining area within the pub, thus creating a 'muddy boots and dogs' area which can be hygienically separated from the food area and therefore accommodating all. And perhaps providing some extra staffing to clean the toilets.

We enjoyed our weekend thoroughly, but dreaded what we might find each time we had to visit the bathroom!

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donnanne 6 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite and really friendly staff - our little girl locked our car keys in the car in the middle on unpacking and they couldn't have been more helpful looking up numbers for us to ring for help and letting us use their phone.

When we arrived we were walked round the site so we could pick where best to pitch and the pitches were a great size and in October it wasn't busy so we could spread out really well.

Good, clean facilities, decent showers and there is also a family bathroom you can hire though we didn't. There was also a games room with large connect 4, floor chess, pool table and TV.

The area is wonderful, definitely recommend a trip to nearby Brimham Rocks and the pubs in Ripon are great with wonderful beer and grub.

We'd definitely use this campsite again.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisiley 3 reviews from this member

We took our first ever camping trip to woodhouse farm, and I have to say, a good time was had by all.

We are a family of four with two young children (aged four and 18 months) and my four year old thoroughly enjoyed her first camping experience. It was a little more difficult to entertain the little one as the play area really was more suited to slightly older children.

The surrounding area was lovely, and there is a nice little walk to the fishing lake (difficult with a pushchair in the mud though!)

The toilet blocks always seemed clean enough, and there was never a very long queue to use the facilities. We were at the far side of the field though so it was a bit of a trek, especially when your four year old is desperate for a wee!

We went to the little pub/restaurant on site for a drink one afternoon. It seemed very nice. Didn't eat there there though. Looked very busy on an evening!

Ripon was a lovely town, and there are some lovely little villages nearby which are also worth a visit.

Overall, we liked the site and will probably return sometime. Although I want to explore many other sites first! I've been bitten by the camping bug!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: XXjojoXX 10 reviews from this member

Brilliant, we absolutely loved it and will be going back again. Considering it rained so bad, the week before we went there was no mud what so ever. The owner was very helpful, and the campsite was very well maintained. The pub is lovely and the food is so nice, the portions are the biggest we have ever seen.
The comments about the noise, we never had a problem with any noise, I suppose it depends who decides to go camping the same time you do.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Christopherjackie 7 reviews from this member

This is a first rate site and one which I would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone.

We booked at the last minute and had a request that we be able to site our caravan with our friends who were arriving the day after us. This was no problem.

The best advice I can give anyone coming to this site is follow the instructions of how to get to the site from the sites own website as Sat Nav will not get you there.

Upon arrival it was very easy to book in and we paid via card which is so much easier than carrying cash around.

We went for a meal in the pub on the Saturday night butmake sure that you book a table as it fills up. Its also very warm in the pub.

Great food though.

We had a lovely walk around the fishing lake which is on the site and felt totally at ease.

The site is approximately 6 miles from Ripon and its local market , Cathedral and shops. There is both a Sainsbury's and Morrisons supermarket.

There is a A and E department in Harrogate. I only know this as my son fell off his bike and banged his head. I would add this was his own fault and nothing to do with the campsite.

We will definitely return and are already looking at dates to revisit the local area and this camp site.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melrob2000 3 reviews from this member

Arrived on the last weekend of the school holidays so I expected it to be very full! Although it was quite busy, we didn't feel hemmed in at all. Tents are pitched around the outside of the fields so there is plenty of room left for the kids to play ball games where you can see them. The staff were very friendly but not imposing. The showers and toilets were kept very clean. My only minor gripe was that we were pitched a very long way away from them! Another tip is to leave your clothes outside the shower cubicles as they get soaked!

All in all we had a great weekend. The kids loved playing on the swings and it felt safe enough to let them wander there on their own. The onsite shop is fairly priced and stocks the essentials. The pub is quite nice with friendly staff.

We will certainly be paying another visit to this campsite. Fantastic value for money!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flapjack 1 review from this member

Stayed here for 2 weeks in august with 2 children (5 & 2) camsite is lovely. It is a large camp-site with quite a few fields however the owners/wardens & staff treat everyone very friendly and always have time for you. We stayed on the childrens field which had swings, slide and climbing frame as well as a basketball net and a huge playing field which was great for us with the tiddlyins. There was also a couple of other play areas on site.

The pitches are all very spacous. The shop is stocked with all you need for emergencies and is well priced and gets fresh bread daily which is lovely and local sausages, burgers etc also very nice Morrisons or sainsburys nearby for anything else you need.

Although we didn't fish we walked around the fishing lakes quite often with the kids which was a lovely short walk.

Toilet & shower block always clean. Even in rain and bad weather (and we had plenty of that - our second week it rained all week) laundry facilities took money and not tokens which is very handy. Family bathroom (with bath) was clean and nice to bath the kids when they got to dirty to scrub in the showers (very frequent with my kids)

The pub on site sells local fresh homemade food which is tremendous although I think she thinks she is feeding sumo wrestlers with the portion sizes :) you can eat in (book to avoid dissapointment) or order a takeaway either way you will get delicious food at reasonable prices. The ale is very nice too.

There is so much to do in this area for all ages you will be hard pushed to visit it all in one holiday.

Overall a very well organised, successful and relaxed campsite with an excellent atmosphere and owners who will go out of their way to help you. We will definitely return again.

Previous     261 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6146 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019