Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 261 Reviews
                9/10 from 261 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  261 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tcat 4 reviews from this member

I don't think you can beat this site in the area for value for money. An on-site pub, excellent shower block kept very clean and tidy, play areas in several parts of the park, large camping fields, good sized pitches, fishing lake if you like that sort of thing, and walks from the site without having to drive anywhere: everything you want.

And we paid an extremely reasonable price for a big family tent (no extra charge just for having what is becoming the norm' sized tent) far below those of many sites offering far less in terms of on-site facilities.

We will be going there again, swapping our allegiancies from a nearby site by the river.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Avondale e 13 reviews from this member

This is our 2nd visit to the camp. A nice relaxing weekend. The camp was quiet so we were able to get a seat in the clubhouse. The weather was hit and miss so the camp was wet. The children could not play on the park because of the weather, but played with the large games on sight upstairs.

We visited Fountains Abbey which was enjoyable and went into Ripon. We also went to Stump Cross Caves, it was expensive and certainly not worth the half hour tour down the cavern.

Over all a good weekend very good camp and will go back again perhaps when it's better weather.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NSUTHERLAND 9 reviews from this member

Good size pitches, staff very helpful, excellent pub serving home cooked food. Showers are ok but not sure if they will have enough to cope when the site is full.

Considering we awoke to snow on 2 mornings we had a great time here. Vist Brimham rocks if you have never been - great day out.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julia66 1 review from this member

This site is one of the best I have ever been to, it is very clean and very well managed, the showers are clean and tidy, a well stocked shop, the play areas for children are brill best I have seen.
The restaurant/bar on the site, The Woodhouse Barn, is very nice. I would have liked to try a meal there but even though we had cut our trip to Ripon short and returned to the site at 5pm on a Sat night hoping to book a table, we were told it was fully booked. So if you want a meal on the weekend book real early. Maybe if they told visitors when they arrive at reception that, they might not be disappointed like we were. But thats ok because we will return to this site in the future.
The thing I like too about this site is that they dont cram you in like sardines there is plenty of space. Try the local made bread they sell in the shop as it is tastes great. Vist Brimham rocks which is a 15 min drive away, its £3.50 to park and its a great walk. And also Ripon is a great place to visit the Cathedrel is a very impressive building. All in all a great site.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rugbyrhino 1 review from this member

Having read the many reviews of this site we went for a weekend before the end of the summer and found the site to be very good in all departments.

The site is well laid out with plenty of space between the marked pitches, the toilet blocks were well kept and clean. Plenty of hot water always available. We didn't try the meals in the bar but they looked very good and the portions were large. The directions to the site supplied by the owners does take you down a couple of narrow lanes with sharp turns andthis may be a problem to those towing large caravans but the setting will make the trouble worthwhile. My only gripe if pushed would be the low number of washing-up sinks that can cause a wait following meal times. A great site that we will use again.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madmum70 1 review from this member

This was our first camping trip.
The toilets were kept very clean sometimes a bit cold after shower because windows always wide open.
The site was always very clean. In the shop you never knew who was serving, young children serving a lot. We went in the pub first night, told no take away food by young girl behind bar, then near the end of week my son was told they did do food so we asked again this time were told yes but only before 5:30. I think food should be served take away longer if the kids got hungry late on. Shop closed at 8:30 so I think this is something they should look at. The parks went down well with kids 6, 9, 11 and 13. The dog walking area could do with being extended a lot, smaller than we expected but at least he had a bit of a run. This is the first campsite we have been to, not sure if we will return, but we had a good time while we were there. Didn't use the launderette so dont know what that was like.   

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rich + Eil 7 reviews from this member

Moved on to here from a disappointing stay at a site in Richmond. Glad we did, this is a great site for exploring this part of the world.

I love fishing and the large lake was very picturesque and created a lovely walk with the dog whether it be early morning or at dusk. From my experience and talking to many of the anglers, the lake was not easy to fish but provided an excellent venue even if you did not "bag up".
The other "lake" only just qualifies as a pond!

The restaurant on site supplied good food and a good pint, I will definitely visit this site again as it also has a large play area for the kids.
There is a shop on site for the basics and more. The new toilets were very good and the ones that they replaced were still in use but need upgrading.

With the market town of Ripon close by and many other villages, the area has lots of pubs providing good food and places to explore.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dylew1 1 review from this member

This was our first time to this site (2 adults 2 children, 9&4) with a tent. 
We were very impressed by the site, everyone was very friendly. 
The site has a very relaxed feel about it, there are 3 separate play park areas, the largest having goal posts which my eldest loved.  One of the other play parks was beside the washing up area so ideal for parents washing up and children playing very close by. 
The pub is fab, brilliant food, although can get very busy, we booked and this wasn't a problem. 
Toilet areas were adequate, very modern, only problem here was not enough bins for paper towels, these seemed to be continually overflowing, a couple of extra bins would be a good idea and not make the place look as untidy as it could due to the overflowing bins. 
There is a great dog walk, everyone one seemed to have their dogs with them which was great, we had our pup Lola with us who entertained everyone and she was very popular on her first camping outing! 
The shop/reception was also very good, small but stocked everything you could require. 

My husband enjoyed fishing on the lake, a great way to get away from it all and in walking distance!  There is lots of places local to visit, we went to Ripon, Thirsk, Catterick (for Sunday Market at Racecourse - very good), and Knaresborough.  All in all we had a very relaxing fab time and couldn't fault the place, will definitely be returning next year.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debs70 6 reviews from this member

We thought we'd brave the inevitable wet weather ( Glastonbury weekend!) but actually we were very lucky, didnt rain too much until after we'd got tents down!
This site is lovely, lots for the kids to do,good washing facilities ( although there is room to fit more sinks in- only 3 at moment) plenty of clean, free showers & toilets & pub serving yummy food- what more could you ask for & all this in beautiful surroundings only 5/6 miles from the lovely market town Ripon. The only down side as someone else pointed out was the size of the site bar but we were informed that they were to undergo a refit soon which included extending it & also a new games room for the kids with new equipment.
We had 3 tents in our party & were accommodated very well by friendly, helpful staff. The units are pitched so that there is plenty of room for ball games etc.
All in all a great weekend, well worth the money& we will definitely return!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gordon1970 4 reviews from this member

We have visited this site now a number of times and are never disappointed. Fantastic site, great park and play field for kids. Staff are very friendly and always helpful. Pitches are very spacious don't feel like your on top of each other. Lovely pub onsite we havent eaten in pub but have got takeaway chips from there for kids which is great especially on a fri night when getting set up! Would definitely recommend this site and we will returning again soon 

Previous     261 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5697 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019