Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 261 Reviews
                9/10 from 261 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  261 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thebaths 10 reviews from this member

Windy roads leading to campsite but plenty of passing places, still a bit nerve racking though!

Check in was efficient but not what I would call friendly. Allocated a pitch and given a map. Generous sized pitch with water point nearby.

As other reviewers have said, there are plenty of play areas for the children and room for ball games etc So consequently did not see too much of our littlun.

Had a meal in the Barn. Starter of soup which was not too tasty to be honest. Husband had pate which was delicious and beautifully presented. The mains were gorgeous and restaurant standard. The only problem was with the door! Daft I know but it didn't have a 'door closer?' on it so consequently it was left to slam, constantly. Really grating after a while.

Went to the swimming baths in Ripon which are fairly small but a great way to dodge the torrential downpours happening outside. Had a lovely walk around the lake, chatting to the fisherman.

We had a lovely peaceful weekend. Met some lovely people with equally lovely, well behaved children.

All in all - lovely!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PAL1 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this park. The wardens are exceptionally friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. The site is uneven so bear that in mind when booking.

Toilets spotless and water very hot. Cannot comment on pub, however when we passed it always seemed full. The park is situated down some of the worst, narrow roads so follow the sites directions.

A good site for children with play areas. If you are travelling without children we would suggest you avoid this site and try one of the more peaceful Ripon sites.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BarnsleyBelle 12 reviews from this member

We have just come back from a superb weekend at Woodhouse Farm and cannot recommend it highly enough.

The scenery is stunning, the fishing lakes are a great attraction (although my other half didn't catch anything)and the woodland walks kept me and the dog fit.

The on site pub was really reasonable and was a great area to socialise since we were fortunately located on the second part of the overspill field and had very few neighbours.

I would definitely revisit but perhaps with my niece or grandsons because the facilities for children were wonderful.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joy114 1 review from this member

This was our first time camping as a family of four with our new tent, and we were relying on UKCS reviews for finding a family friendly site.

Woodhouse Farm is well hidden but using the directions on the sites website we had no problems finding it. On arrival the staff in reception were helpful and friendly.

We found our way over to our pitch which was spacious and sorted ourselves out. It wasn't long before the children wanted to explore and we found 2 well equipped play areas, clean toilets and showers, and an adequate washing up area. Washing up sinks were a little on the small side but not a major problem.

Two facilities I was really pleased with were the play area by the washing up sinks. This made cleaning up less of a chore. The bathroom also made our trip a lot easier, getting 2 small children in and out of showers can be a nightmare but being able to dunk them in the bath was wonderful.

We will certainly go back and explore the area a bit more. As we were only there for a weekend we managed to have a look at Pateley Bridge, Brimham Rocks and Ripley. The pub in Grantley certainly looked like it would deserve a visit.

The only downside for us was that our pitch was on quite a steep incline, but we have noted flatter pitches for our next visit.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Martin + Louise 4 reviews from this member

Just got back from a 2 night stay and enjoyed the site, good facilities which included 3 play areas for kids.

We were lucky enough to have one of the pitches on the lower paddock near to the biggest play area, 1 undercover barn with pool table and table tennis which was a hit with the kids. Reasonably priced bar with very friendly staff.

Shop was pretty good.

If you plan on eating at the barn book early, but there are loads of pubs nearby and a Indian take away 5 mins in a car, which was a new experience for us and was very tasty.

We went to forbidden corner for a day out which is about 20 miles away and was a fantastically strange day out.

The only thing was that it was a busy place, so if your after tranquillity this is not the place for you, if you have a family go for it as your kids will love it.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kar.en 12 reviews from this member

Excellent family site!

Probably wouldn't recommend at weekends/school holidays if you don't have kids but it really is a great place to go if you do. There are three separate play areas, a games barn with pool, table tennis and chess, woods to explore and build dens, a lovely cycle track and animals too. I only saw the kids when they were hungry!

Most pitches are slightly sloping but none of them are too bad. A good mixture of grass and hard standing and there is 16 amp EHU available.

Toilet blocks were clean enough and there were five showers, a wash cubicle and a family bathroom. Always plenty of hot water.

The only minor gripe is the washing up area - the sinks are very, very small and you are literally elbow to elbow at busy times. You also get quite wet!

All in all, a very good site and the owners are lovely and helpful. In a fantastic area of North Yorkshire with plenty of places to visit nearby (don't miss Fountains Abbey!).

We'll be back, whenever I need a break from my kids!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lisakev 1 review from this member

Just arrived home from a weekend at Woodhouse farm, its a great place to stay, massive pitches and well laid out, could possibly do with a few more water collection points as the areas are very large. The barn restaurant was amazing and fantastic food and the manager was a great host(even bought us drinks for waiting a while for food, even though we were in no rush)

My only slight concern was my 8 year old was having an amazing time but she is afraid of dogs and I had seen a few off leads (there is a dog walk and dog shower) That's down to the dog owners not the site. Would certainly go back, thanks for a great stay

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: William-moe 11 reviews from this member

What an eventful stay at Woodhouse Farm!

We had a nightmare trying to find the place, as it seems have previous reviewers, which is no fun when towing, however upon arrival, check in was very friendly and we immediately loved the look and feel of the site. On speaking to the owners we really should have just called the site and asked for their directions which would have taken us there as much easier route.

The pitch we had was spacious enough, caravan and tents all around a huge field with a climbing frame in the middle. There are also a couple of other play areas as well as an indoor one! My 7 year old son loved it and the fact we could just step outside our van and have an impromptu game of badminton, catch, cricket etc was fab.

The other campers were all very friendly too, something which isn't as common as it used to be!

On the foirst evening we had a walk up to the Barn pub/restaurant and had a drink and booked a table for the evening.

In contrast to previos comments, we all found the food to be delicious, very well presented and reasonable. Furthermore my son fell madly in love with one of the waitress's there so he was more than happy for mum and dad to call in the pub!

Despite this being a site with loads of children, we found it very quiet and peaceful at night.

Loads to do in the area although, if you have the weather, we found it was lovely just chilling out on the site with our son off playing with the many friends he made.

We too chatted to many people - an extremely friendly place.

The toilets were very clean - well used but clean, as were the showers. The family room is such a bonus too and always seemed to empty.

On the 2nd night, however, disaster struck and as I was stepping out of my caravan into the awning I tripped and ended up having to send for an ambulance to get to A & E. After a night in Harrogate Hospital it turned out I had fractured my elbow and chipped the bone - ouch!

The following day we were inundated with offers of help to pack up, which I'm sure was greatly appreciated by my hubby.

We loved the site and the area and have already booked to return, once my arm is out of the plaster cast.

I also think to some of the sites we have stayed in around this area, the price is very reasonable, considering all the facilities it offers.

Don't hesitate, get it booked!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robin54 18 reviews from this member

Spent 11 relaxing nights at this wonderful site all I can do is repeat what everyone else has said, everything was perfect,

At the weekends it was very busy the toilet block got well used but still not too bad.

Lovely walk around the fishing lakes and the bike track. Went to the club house a few times and found this a nice and friendly the meals were quite nice too.

We followed the directions so the journey was good we will be back.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jw5876 1 review from this member

I have now visited this site twice with my wife and 6 year old daughter. On the second visit we invited friends of ours because we had been so impressed with the site on our first visit. The amenities are extremely clean. The choice of playgrounds for children is excellent and my daughter had to be dragged away each meal time and bedtime. The site is located a short drive away from Ripon where we bought all our provisions prior to and during our visit, although there is a shop located on site which unfortunately was closed during the lunch period. The only negative is I think the pitches could be a little larger as the tent next to us was a little too close for my liking. During both visits the weather has been poor with strong winds and heavy rain but this has not put us off and we hope to be paying another visit shortly. In conclusion this is a great site with great facilities and is superb for families. Thank you for a really enjoyable visit!

Previous     261 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4942 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019